This Business is not BBB accredited

Pool Service Company Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 528-3400 View Additional Phone Numbers 4320 Lee Hwy, Arlington, VA 22207 http://www.poolservicecompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pool Service Company Inc include:

  • Failure to be transparent about ownership, location, or products/services offered

Factors that raised the rating for Pool Service Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pool Service Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 1983 Business started: 01/19/1968 in VA Business started locally: 01/19/1968 Business incorporated: 01/17/1974 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2701034218 A.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license
Phone Number: 410-230-6231
op@dllr.state.md.us
The number is 34956.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frederick Frey, President Ms. Anness McCardle, Accounts Manager Mr. Charles D. McMahon, General Manager Ms. Nancy S. McMahon, Vice President and Manager HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frederick Frey, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Charles D. McMahon, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Anness McCardle, Accounts Manager
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

We are currently attempting to develop additional information on this company.  The Bureau has sent at least two requests for detailed information about the firm’s marketing practices, services, and/or other relevant background information.  The Company has not provided the items and/or modifications requested in our correspondence at this time.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3164 Spring Street

    Fairfax, VA 22031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4320 Lee Hwy

    Arlington, VA 22207 (703) 528-3400 (888) 574-5407

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired "poolservice Company" to clean and close/cover my pool for winter. Poolservice company sent a team to clean my pool on Aug 14, and I paid the service fee of $992.14 (Invoice #**********). They told me that they will come again within one week to take the old pool cover for repair and then cover the pool. I wanted to dispute the second charge (Invoice #**********) for closing my pool, because they never completed their service. first, they did not come to continue their work within one week, instead, they came to my house about two weeks later (on Aug 27). Secondly, they did not "Blow out lines & Check Customers Closing Items used at winterization" as itemized in their bill. Actually, my pool has not been used for the whole summer. there is no need to do the closing. so the charge in the bill is not reasonable. they also told me that the pool cover was old and needed to be repaired and would come another day to finish their work. they only stayed for about ten minutes and just took away my old pool cover. I have been contacting them through emails many times; however, no body responded to my email. About two weeks has passed away before they told me (on Sep 12) the cover could not be repaired. and I had to buy a new one. On sep 13, Poolservice company came to my house for estimation. On Sep 17, they told me the total cost for the new cover and installation will be $3600. I clearly told them that I can not accept the price (see my email on Sep 17 to them). Poolservice company has not contacted me since Sep 17. On Oct 2nd, I sent an email to **** ***** and **** **** about my dispute. however, no body came back to me. My pool has been wide open for several weeks due the incomplete work by Poolservice Company. As you can imagine that there were tons of leaves falling down to my pool. My pool has been getting dirty. I have to hire another company to clean my pool and complete the works that Poolservice company has not completed before further damage will be made to my pool. My second request is that Poolservice Company should pay the additional cost that I paid to the second company for cleaning and covering the pool, which is $110. My third request is that Poolservice company needs to withdraw the negative report to credit bureau. My credit score has been lowered due to their service issue.

Desired Settlement: 1) cancel the bill of invoice #********** 2) pay back $110 that I paid for the second company to complete the work 3)withdraw the negative report from the credit bureau

Business Response:

Facts:

8/23/13- The client requested to have Poolservice close their swimming pool for the winter.

8/26/13- A Poolservice closing Technician arrived to find the pool appeared to be already closed for the winter. When speaking to the client regarding this, the client was insistent that the Technician close the pool.

8/27/13- The Technician returned to the client’s house. He removed winterization plugs, blew the swimming pool lines, reinstalled plugs, and added winterization chemicals.

8/28/13- Poolservice invoiced the client for the work requested and performed. (invoice #*****)*

 

8/29/13- Poolservice emailed the client to arrange for pick up and inspection of their Mesh Safety Cover. This is a service that must be requested. We do not require any client to have their Mesh Safety Cover inspected.

8/30/13- The client must have allowed it, because a Poolservice crew picked up the client’s Mesh Safety Cover and delivered it to our warehouse for inspection and a repair estimate.

9/11/13- Poolservice performed the inspection of the Mesh Safety Cover.

9/13/13- Poolservice offered to make repairs to the cover for a price of $2176.50. Price was to include (in addition to actual repairs) a charge of $115.00 for pick up and inspection, and $80.00 for delivery.

                   Poolservice also proposed a new Mesh Safety Cover for a delivered and installed** price of $3380.00.

9/16/13- The client declines both options regarding the Mesh Safety Cover, but does not indicate whether or not they want the old one back.

9/17/13- PSC responds to the client saying that we are not able to meet the competitions prices and that we will return their cover if they want it back.***

                   (At this point, it is not clear to Poolservice how the client would like to proceed.)

10/2/13- Client appears to indicate (in email) that they would like to have their Mesh Safety Cover returned (unrepaired)

10/7/13- Client’s Mesh Safety Cover was returned to client.****

 

*Poolservice will gladly forward a copy of the invoice as well as our webpage where the pool closing services and associated charges are prominently displayed.

**The installation price for this cover was elevated because the anchors, to which Mesh Safety Covers attach, were completely removed when the client had their swimming pool deck replaced (by others). Instead of simply hooking the new (or old) cover to existing anchors, we were going to have to drill 34 fresh anchor holes, through the pool deck, to a depth of 15”. We then needed to install pipe supports for those anchors. This is necessary because the Mesh Safety Cover manufacturer says that for the deck materials on this client’s pool deck, we must use this 15” pipe and anchor procedure. Once that was all done, we could then proceed to install the Mesh Safety Cover, itself.   

*** Oftentimes a client will have us dispose of their old cover rather than pay the $80.00 delivery charge. This is especially true if they have purchased or are planning to purchase a replacement. We do not assume that the client wants their old cover back, unrepaired. Instead, we ask them to let us know how they wish to proceed.

****Key point: Client was never invoiced for the pickup, inspection, and delivery of their Mesh Safety Cover. These fees, if invoiced, would have amounted to $195.00.  

 

Poolservice’s position in this is that we delivered services requested by the client and invoiced the client as appropriate. Our prices for pool closing services and associated winterization chemicals are prominently displayed on our website, at http://www.poolservicecompany.com/residential pool closing.html. We acknowledge that there was a delay in getting the client’s Mesh Safety Cover in and out of our warehouse. Because of this client’s dissatisfaction with that delay, we decided not to charge the client the $195.00 in fees for the pickup, inspection, and delivery of their Mesh Safety Cover. That $195.00 more than covers the $110.00 they wanted for the extra cleaning of their pool.   

Poolservice stands behind its billing practices, and although imperfect, we work to keep them fair and appropriate. When there is a mistake, we own up to it and fix it. There is no apparent billing mistake, only a misunderstanding between Poolservice and this client, with regards to expectations from both parties. We are not inclined to reduce the closing invoice. The client’s assertion that their credit score has been lowered by our reporting is incorrect. As of 1/10/14, we have only gone so far as to send a 15-day notice of collections. This account has not yet been reported to any credit reporting agency. If the client were to pay the original invoice (#*****), PSC will waive the finance charges that have accrued to date and notify our collections attorney that the debt has been paid.  

 

Regards,

 

               

sig-frog.gif

 

 

******* ** ****** **

president

office:  ###-###-####

     cell:  ###-###-####

     fax:  ###-###-####

 

http://www.poolservicecompany.com/

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******
I am rejecting this response because:
Regards,

**** *****
Hello sir

Thanks for trying to help me solve my complaint (#*******) against the poolservice company. I am glad PSC takes a first step on this compliant. However, There are many “facts” mentioned in Poolservice response letter that I don’t agree.

First, they said that I insisted them to close the pool even though the pool has already been closed. I disagree with what Poolservice said here. It is common sense that nobody will ask the technician to close a pool which already has been closed. Under no circumstance, I will insist them to close my pool if I was told that the pool already has been closed. Poolservice either ignored the fact that the pool was already closed, or misled me.

My pool has not been used for the whole summer. There is no need to do the closing.  On 8/27/2013, the technician came to my house, and added some winterization chemistry because the pool was polluted due to the fact that the pool covered was removed by Poolservice, and the pool was wide open for a month before Poolservice told me that the pool covered cannot be repaired and a new one is needed.

The technician did not "Blow out lines & Check Customers Closing Items used at winterization". I need to see their working journal with my signature on it which can prove they actually came at 27/08/2013 to reclose the pool if they insist they did it.

I respected people’s service and I did pay Poolsevice for cleaning my pool on Aug 14 (the service fee of $992.14  and Invoice #**********). 
However, I have no intention to pay the service that Poolserice has never provided.
 
Poolservice did admit that there was “a delay in getting the client’s Mesh Safety Cover in and out of our warehouse” and
Poolservice also admit that “only a misunderstanding between Poolservice and this client”. But from what I have experienced with PoolService, I have not seen any professionalism from this company (Poolservice) in that: 1) no commitment to what they promised.  They said that they would come to continue their work within one week; However, they came to my house about two weeks later. 2) No communication. I have been contacting them through emails many times about my old pool cover; however, no body responded to my email. On Oct 2nd, I sent an email to their managers about my dispute. however, no body came back to me. My pool has been wide open for several weeks due the incomplete work by Poolservice Company. As you can imagine that there were tons of leaves falling down to my pool. My pool has been getting dirty. I have to hire another company to clean my pool and complete the works that Poolservice company has not completed before further damage will be made to my pool.
 
In summary, I rejected Pooservicce’s response 

Best wishes

8/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: - Invoice dated 5/28/2013 claimed in writing that our pool was vacuumed by a Poolservice Company Technician. It was not. I vacuumed the pool. - Poolservice Company representatives said that in order to resolve a chlorine demand issue that we could either (a) dump about $500 worth of chlorine into the pool or (b) drain 2/3rds of the pool and then refill the pool, which they estimated would cost about $100 in labor. We elected option (b), but we were basically charged over 300 percent the estimated labor costs. The invoice dated 5/28/2013 totaled $550.65. (This was in addition to the several hundred dollars that we had already paid Poolservice Company to supposedly open our pool in April). - We called Poolservice Company about these billing issues in June, and they said would call us back but never did. - In July, we mailed a check (number 4708) for $300 payable to Poolservice Company with a note indicating that the billing issues had been not been resolved and that no one called us back regarding those issues. -We received a returned phone call from ***** at Poolservice Company on July 17. ***** indicated that we were likely due a billing adjustment, and that he would call us back. We never heard back from him. -On August 5, 2013, we received a "past due" invoice dated August 1, 2013, that included the $550.65 charge plus a $15 "finance change."

Desired Settlement: A returned phone call and an appropriate billing adjustment. And, the removal the $15 finance charge on the invoice dated August 1, 2013 as well as any record that our account is "past due."

Business Response: **. ******, My name is ***** *******. I am the general manager and one of the owners at Poolservice Company. I am providing the written response to ID #*******. This problem was resolved with **. ***** ********* over the phone on August 7th, 2013. The customer was given and $225.49 credit and the finance charged was removed. The customer agreed this was a fair outcome for the situation and was pleased. If you have any further questions please email me back or call my cell phone ###-###-####. Thanks again. ***** *******  ***** *******General Manager of ServiceDirect: ###-###-####Office:  ###-###-####  Fax:       ###-###-####http://www.poolservicecompany.com/