BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 3750 Donnell Dr

    District Heights, MD 20747 (301) 736-7867

  • 10609 Dumfries Road

    Manassas, VA 20112

  • 11015 West Avenue

    Kensington, MD 20895

  • 11607 Nokesville Road

    Bristow, VA 20136

  • 11770 Baltimore Avenue

    Beltsville, MD 20705

  • 13800 McLearen Road

    Herndon, VA 20171

  • 13813 Connecticut Avenue

    Silver Spring, MD 20906

  • 1501 Ritchie Station Court

    Capitol Heights, MD 20743

  • 22465 Indian Bridge Road

    California, MD 20619

  • 2631 Shirlington Road

    Arlington, VA 22206

  • 2950 Gallows Road

    Mosby, VA 22042

  • 300 Mill Street Northeast

    Vienna, VA 22180

  • 300 Old Game Preserve Road

    Gaithersburg, MD 20879

  • 3179 Draper Drive

    Fairfax, VA 22031

  • 3215 52nd Avenue

    Hyattsville, MD 20781

  • 3895 New Rodgers Road

    Levittown, PA 19056

  • 460 East Swedesford Road

    Wayne, PA 19087 (215) 752-4882

  • 4650 Eisenhower Avenue

    Fairfax, VA 22034

  • 5 Old Lancaster Rd.

    Malvern, PA 19355

  • 501 Callowhill Street

    Philadelphia, PA 19123

  • 5335 Beech Road

    Marlow Hgts, MD 20748

  • 6104 Allentown Road

    Camp Springs, MD 20746

  • 6120 Little Ox Road

    Fairfax Station, VA 22039

  • 6875 Lee Highway

    Arlington, VA 22213

  • 6880 Commercial Drive

    Springfield, VA 22151

  • 7805 Old Alexandria Ferry Road

    Clinton, MD 20735

  • 8001 Snouffer School Road

    Gaithersburg, MD 20879

  • 830 Wheeler Way

    Langhorne, PA 19047

  • 8410 Westphalia Road

    Upper Marlboro, MD 20774 (301) 420-9212

  • 847 Trailview Boulevard Southeast

    Leesburg, VA 20175

  • 8621 Sunnygate Drive

    Manassas, VA 20109

  • 8704 Cherry Lane

    Laurel, MD 20707

  • 8935 Telegraph Road

    Mason Neck, VA 22079

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10303 E Warren

    Denver, CO 80247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11402 Cherokee St

    Northglenn, CO 80234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11402 Cherokee St.

    Northglenn, CO 80234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1540 Altura Blvd

    Aurora, CO 80011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15413 E. 18th Ave.

    Aurora, CO 80011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16845 Mt. Vernon Rd.

    Golden, CO 80401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1733 S. Wadsworth Blvd.

    Denver, CO 80232

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4120 S. Federal Blvd.

    Englewood, CO 80110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5353 E County Line Rd

    Littleton, CO 80122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5815 Arapahoe Ave.

    Boulder, CO 80303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6405 O'Dell Place

    Boulder, CO 80301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7650 S. Broadway

    Littleton, CO 80122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8444 N. Pecos St.

    Federal Heights, CO 80260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/21/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
12/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 3, 2015, I was working from home when I received a courtesy call from Nate from the CubeSmart location in Lombard. The number he gave me to reach him was ###-###-####. Nate advised me that my **** credit card was about to expire. I told him that the card will renew and that the number would not be changing and that he should not have any problems with the auto pay. Nate begged to differ and therefore I told him I would call **** and get back to him which is exactly what I did. I called ******** ******* immediately upon getting off the phone with Nate and they confirmed exactly what I told him. I called him back but he was not there so I left a message asking him to get back to me to bring this issue to a close. Nate called me back and I passed on the information that I referenced above that ******** ******* gave to me. I am assuming CubeSmart keeps copies of these types of conversations but if not, I KNOW ******** ******* does and that I will be able to verify that I called to make sure that there would not be any problems with my card. Ironically enough, I have several items that auto pay to this card and I have not had a problem with any of the others...only CubeSmart. In addition to the problem with the auto pay, I am filing this complaint because I was extremely ***dissatisfied** with the tone and tenor of the discussion I had today with the woman who called me (Fran). I tried to explain to her that I had already gotten a courtesy call and that I had followed up on the credit card issue but instead of listening and attempting to assist, she was condescending and kept repeating the same irrelevant information to me as if I had not heard her the first time. When I asked for contact information for the President and CEO, she got really indignant and referred me to her Regional Manager, indicating that she did not know who the President and CEO was. The man she referred me to was Nate J**** at ###-###-####. I called and left messages at that number twice and I also located contact information for the President, Christopher M*** and called left a message on his vm at ###-###-#### ( I was transferred to his vm when I entered the last 4 digits of his last name). At this point, I have two complaints. First, I made several calls to address this issue with the first "courtesy call" I received so I would like a full explanation for why there is an issue AT ALL with the auto pay. Second, I did not appreciate, one iota, the manner in which Fran handled herself or the call with me today. And I want file a formal complaint regarding the poor service.

Desired Settlement: I want a phone call from someone who can let me know what happened with the action I took in response to the first courtesy call. I also want to know what the company's policy is for handling rude employees and finally I want to know what the status is of the personal property I have in the storage space I am renting. I have not had any problems prior to today; I responded IMMEDIATELY upon getting the initial call and I don't appreciate the constant waste of my time over this nonsense. I took care of the call and Nate called me back to confirm everything was set. This is ridiculous. Fix your processes and stop wasting my time!!!

Business Response:

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern PA

Attn:  ****** ******

RE:         Case No: ********

Dear *** ******:

I am sending this letter in response to the Customer Complaint described above.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to address and resolve our Customer’s claims and concerns.  We sincerely apologize to *** ****** for any negative experience she may have encountered.

It is my understanding that the store was in the process of offering a credit to *** ****** for any inconvenience.  We appreciate her feedback and will use this as an opportunity to improve our services and procedures.

               If you have any questions or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Suzanne ** S*****, RP

Paralegal

CubeSmart

Direct Dial: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  *******@cubesmart.com

cc: Customer’s Storage Unit


2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cubesmart's employee tried to make me sign a contract with them, without reading it. They banned me access to my property that evening stating that I could pay extra for 24 hour access. Within the first 24 hours, I cancelled services with them. The employee told me cubesmart doesn't do refunds what so ever. I then contacted the corporate office and tried to get in touch with a manager. Rhe next day monica called back and said they would refund most of my money. I wasn't happy about not receiving a full refund, but I was willing to accept it. That was the 5th or 6th of January. I have been waiting two weeks or more now and no word , I called and was told it would take another six to eight weeks, now that isn't acceptable. I want a full refund now, not a partial, and since I paid cash, I want my refund in a normal and acceptable time frame, that isn't being met.

Desired Settlement: 118$ that's what I paid

Business Response:

January 22, 2015

BBB Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania

Attn: ****** ******

RE:         Case No: ********

Dear Ms. ******:

I am sending this letter in response to the Customer Complaint described above.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to address and resolve our Customer’s claims and concerns.  While we empathize with the Customer for any negative experience he may have encountered, our teammates at the store have worked with Mr. Bendele to resolve his refund. 

Additionally, as part of the move in process, Customers must acknowledge each paragraph of the rental contract before signing and accepting the terms and conditions.  We sincerely hope that this experience will not impede his future business with our company and we apologize for any inconvenience he may have incurred.

               If you have any questions or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Suzanne H. S****** **

Paralegal

CubeSmart

Direct Dial: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  *********************

cc: ****** ******, Esq.

11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company claims on its website (www.cubesmart.com) that it is a BBB accredited business; yet when I searched for "CubeSmart" on the BBB's website for Northern Illinois, none of the CubeSmarts listed was in fact accredited - and one of the non-accredited CubeSmarts had an "F" rating.I was hit with a $110.00 lien fee when my $38.00/month storage fee was 32 days late. The employees here claimed that I was told about the lien fee at the time I signed up both via a contract and via an electronic contract that all customers sign along with the paper contract. I did not remember this warning having been given; and when I viewed every page of the electronic contract, there was absolutely nothing stated therein regarding the $110.00 lien fee.I was able to talk the employees into reducing the lien fee to $55.00 but I am still unhappy with this "settlement". In the weeks leading up to the lien fee being added to my bill, I was telephoned 3 or 4 times by CubeSmart employees; never did they state what the phone call was about or warn me of the impending massive lien fees or anything. I could easily have gone into their office a day or two earlier and paid the bill if I had known about this fee coming up. I was also never notified by email that any massive fee was about to be levied.The health issue is regarding the lack of publicly accessible toilets being available for 7.5 hours every day (the office is open from 9:30AM-6PM and there is a toilet inside the office for public use). There is no place to use for a toilet once the office closes and so people using the facility have been seen urinating throughout the facility on numerous occasions. Women using the facility should not be forced to suffer this kind of humiliation, or should the men. Product_Or_Service: Self-storage space rental

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund 1) For CubeSmart to stop advertising itelf as being "BBB Accredited" when it isn't;2) A full refund of the $55.00 in lien fees they stole from me;3) Advance notice by telephone and email at least 48 hours in advance of a lien fee being levied and at least 30 days' notice by phone, email and letter in the case of an auction being scheduled, with option of making a payment plan;4) Provide at least a "portapottie" for the customers to use during business hours when the

Business Response:

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania

Attn: ****** ******

1411 K Street NW, 10th Floor

Washington, DC 2005


Complaint ID:  *********


We are in the process of investigating the above complaint and will respond once our investigation is complete.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to address and resolve our Customer’s claims and concerns.  While we empathize with the Customer for any negative experience he may have encountered, our teammates at the store have worked with *** ******** on several occasions to help him manage his account and as a one time courtesy the administrative lien fee was waived.


CubeSmart is accredited with the BBB, but only in the Metro Washington and Eastern Pennsylvania areas.  Additionally, CubeSmart provides a restroom as a courtesy to our customers during regular operating hours at the facility. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

Suzanne *. S*****, RP


Paralegal


CubeSmart


www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  ss*****@cubesmart.com


 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Though it is true that CubeSmart did rescind the extortionate "late fee" they attempted to charge me, they have not repudiated the practice itself; in fact the CubeSmart rep with whom I spoke when we resolved my case actively defended the practice of charging enormous "late fees" of something like 80% to their customers for being late on their rent payments.  That, in my view, is nothing short of piracy; and is a particularly repulsive business practice as it targets the poorest members of our society as well as elderly folks who can't afford the doubling of their storage fees and who, as a result, have their most cherished property stolen by the very people whom they entrusted to secure it, via the storage industry's notorious "treasure hunt" auctions.  This practice of offering desperate people such things as a "first month free" piece of cheese and then accelerating the time limit before an auction is held proves to me quite conclusively that the storage companies are quite consciously and deliberately setting a trap for the unwary, unemployed and poor citizens who will be unable to pay the extraordinarily high "late fees" they get blindsided by and who will therefore become unwilling victims of the industry's piratical "treasure hunt" auctions.  

There is no doubt that the very next time that I am unable to pay my storage fees on time, CubeSmart will once again hold my property hostage, and will once again demand a ransom payment far above and beyond what I agreed to pay them to store my property.  So I can not accept their "settlement" of the issue, as nothing at all has been settled.  They need to abandon this execrable practice of robbing the poor once and for all; renounce the practice publicly and change their rental contracts with all their current and future customers to reflect this change in order for me to consider the matter settled.

As a last comment: why on Earth does the Better Business Bureau take a complaint lodged in *******, IL and farm it out to a region 900 miles away?  Has the midwest become such a national backwater that what happens in ******* must not stay in *******, but must be sent a thousand miles away in order to be adjudicated?  Your practice of handling cases this way leaves the public with the mistaken impression that the local businesses complained of have a clean BBB record and no complaints at all; this, too, smacks of a deceptive business practice.  The BBB is supposed to expose the venality of unscrupulous businesses so the public can make an informed decision as to whether or not they should patronize a local business; the way you handle these cases you are covering up for the local affiliates of national chains like CubeSmart and are misleading the public.  Instead of allowing us to warn our fellow citizens about the foul business practices of local affiliates of the CubeSmart chain, you block our attempts to do so and place the onus solely on the chain's corporate headquarters.  What are the citizens to make of this deceptive practice the BBB itself engages in?

Sincerely,

**** ********








Business Response:

The customer can reach directly out to me if he prefers as we have resolved and credited his account as a courtesy.

            Thank you.

Suzanne S*****, RP

Paralegal

CubeSmart

5 Old Lancaster Road

Malvern, PA 19355

Direct Dial: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  *******@cubesmart.com

3/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A very suspicious break in occurred in my storage unit, no others were broken into and when I contacted corporate officers they agreed, then refused to at lease reimburse my insurance deductible. I lost irreplaceable items and was given the run around for months.Their so called weekly floor inspection should have identified that my entire lock casing was bent, the wall around my door was clearly damaged, my lock was cut and they claimed not to notice.It's very suspicious that employees have full access to security cameras.

Desired Settlement: $1000 deductible$4000 punitive damagesA full investigation of my break in and retraining / correcting of their so called weekly floor inspection, because my entire lock casing was bent, clearly damaged, my lock was cut and they claimed not to notice during their weekly floor check.

Consumer Response: Then, I would like to be reimbursed for my deductible of $1000 at least.

Thank You
**** *****

Business Response: February 18, 2014

Dear **. *****:

We are in receipt of your correspondence, dated February 11, 2014, which included **. *****’ concerns in connection with her storage space at CubeSmart Facility *** located at **** ******* ****** ******** *******, MD ***** ('“Facility”).

CubeSmart received **. *****’ claim on or about December 26,2013. After reviewing the facts of this matter, we concluded that we cannot submit to **. *****’ demand for compensation for damages. Accordingly, CubeSmart sent the enclosed denial letter to **. ***** on or about January 6, 2014 outlining the reasons for the denial.

We wish we could have been of greater assistance to **. ***** in this matter. Please do not ' hesitate to contact the Legal Department at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on May 11th, 2011 I rented a storage unit from cube smart, in April of 2013, I told them I will be getting my things, I was told that they pro rate the monthly fee. I thought that meant that they would refund me the money for the time I didn't use the unit. I paid my bill using automatic withdrawal, so it was never late.When I got my things on October 20th 2013, they told me oh no you have to call and tell us the day you are moving out so they can stop the automatic payments and only charge me for the time I will be using it that particular month. I also called them in late sept. 2013, and no one bothered to tell me that I would have to do it that way. I spoke to them today asking about the refund and they said I left my unit a big mess. I did not.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the amount of time that I didn't use the unit, which would be about $46.00 my unit was $71.00 and change a month including tax, and my things occupied the unit for 9 days.

Business Response:

 

November 4, 2013

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern PA

Attn: ******* *******

1054 Oak Street

Scranton, PA 18508

RE:         ID Number:        ******* (“Complaint”)

Dear **. *******:

I am sending this letter in response to the customer Complaint described above.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to provide a positive experience to our Customers. 

We would like to extend our sincere apologies to ********* ****** for any negative experience she may have suffered at our facility.  We have conducted an investigation of this matter and are in agreement with **. Forbes.  Due to the misunderstanding, **. ****** has been issued a refund for the difference in her time the unit was not occupied. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

460 E. Swedesford Road

Suite 3000

Wayne, PA 19087

Direct Dial: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  **********************

Follow Us:
Facebook:  http://Facebook.com/CubeSmart Twitter:  http://Twitter.com/CubeSmart


 

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am confused there isn't any area where I can provide the info that I did not receive the check yet, so if you can tell me what I need to do or send me the link where I can advise on that.  Sorry I don't remember receiving that email previously

Regards,

********* ******

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)