BBB Accredited Business since

CubeSmart

Find a Location

Phone: (215) 752-4882 Fax: (610) 293-5721 View Additional Phone Numbers 5 Old Lancaster Rd. , Malvern, PA 19355 http://www.cubesmart.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CubeSmart meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CubeSmart include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on CubeSmart
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/1998 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher P Marr, President Ms. Jeannie Cox, GM Mr. Steve Gallagher, Controller Ms. Brianne M. Jackson, Paralegal Ms. Dana Johnston, Communications and Social Media Associate Ms. Jessica Shellaway, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dana Johnston, Communications and Social Media Associate
Principal: Mr. Christopher P Marr, President
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers


Additional Locations

  • 3895 New Rodgers Road

    Levittown, PA 19056

  • 460 East Swedesford Road

    Wayne, PA 19087 (215) 752-4882

  • 5 Old Lancaster Rd.

    Malvern, PA 19355

  • 501 Callowhill Street

    Philadelphia, PA 19123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10303 E Warren

    Denver, CO 80247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11402 Cherokee St

    Northglenn, CO 80234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11402 Cherokee St.

    Northglenn, CO 80234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1540 Altura Blvd

    Aurora, CO 80011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15413 E. 18th Ave.

    Aurora, CO 80011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16845 Mt. Vernon Rd.

    Golden, CO 80401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1733 S. Wadsworth Blvd.

    Denver, CO 80232

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4120 S. Federal Blvd.

    Englewood, CO 80110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5353 E County Line Rd

    Littleton, CO 80122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5815 Arapahoe Ave.

    Boulder, CO 80303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6405 O'Dell Place

    Boulder, CO 80301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7650 S. Broadway

    Littleton, CO 80122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8444 N. Pecos St.

    Federal Heights, CO 80260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on May 11th, 2011 I rented a storage unit from cube smart, in April of 2013, I told them I will be getting my things, I was told that they pro rate the monthly fee. I thought that meant that they would refund me the money for the time I didn't use the unit. I paid my bill using automatic withdrawal, so it was never late.When I got my things on October 20th 2013, they told me oh no you have to call and tell us the day you are moving out so they can stop the automatic payments and only charge me for the time I will be using it that particular month. I also called them in late sept. 2013, and no one bothered to tell me that I would have to do it that way. I spoke to them today asking about the refund and they said I left my unit a big mess. I did not.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the amount of time that I didn't use the unit, which would be about $46.00 my unit was $71.00 and change a month including tax, and my things occupied the unit for 9 days.

Business Response:

 

November 4, 2013

BBB of Metro Washington DC and Eastern PA

Attn: ******* *******

1054 Oak Street

Scranton, PA 18508

RE:         ID Number:        ******* (“Complaint”)

Dear **. *******:

I am sending this letter in response to the customer Complaint described above.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to provide a positive experience to our Customers. 

We would like to extend our sincere apologies to ********* ****** for any negative experience she may have suffered at our facility.  We have conducted an investigation of this matter and are in agreement with **. Forbes.  Due to the misunderstanding, **. ****** has been issued a refund for the difference in her time the unit was not occupied. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

460 E. Swedesford Road

Suite 3000

Wayne, PA 19087

Direct Dial: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

www.cubesmart.com | Email Account:  **********************

Follow Us:
Facebook:  http://Facebook.com/CubeSmart Twitter:  http://Twitter.com/CubeSmart


 

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am confused there isn't any area where I can provide the info that I did not receive the check yet, so if you can tell me what I need to do or send me the link where I can advise on that.  Sorry I don't remember receiving that email previously

Regards,

********* ******

6/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The advertising on CubeSmart trucks states "Free use of this truck when you rent from us." The sign implies you can use their truck, however, when I went to reserve a truck I was told the free usage is ONLY when a consumer needs the truck to store stuff in their storage facility, not if the Consumer wants to use the truck to remove stuff.This is bogus "bait/switch" advertising. When I called to complain, the Mgr stated their website reports when you can use the truck. What CubeSmart trucks should really say is: "Free use of this truck when storing stuff with us." Account_Number: *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Free use of their truck for at least half day. I have been renting from them for a year now, have been timely with my monthly payments, and do believe I am deserving of at least 4-5 hrs to utilize one of their vehicles.

Business Response:

RE:         ** ******* *******

               Customer Service Issues

 

Dear *** *******:

 

I am sending this letter in response to the customer Complaint described above.  Our Customers are very important to us and we make every effort to provide a positive experience to our Customers. 

 

We would like to extend our sincere apologies to *** ***** for any negative experience that she may have suffered at our facility, and we would like to offer to *** ***** use of the facility’s moving truck at no cost to *** ***** for the 4 to 5 hour period requested.  *** ***** may contact the facility to make arrangements to use the truck. 

 

Please note that the date and time of *** *****’s use of the truck is subject to availability, and *** ***** will be required to sign the truck Rental Agreement as a condition to her use of the truck.  Notwithstanding, we will make every effort to accommodate *** *****.  

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

******* ******* ********* ********* ****** ***** ************ **** ***** ******** ***** ******** **********************

 

cc: ****** ******* ****

Customer Storage Unit ***

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

I do appreciate the CubeSmart providing me with free rental of the truck for 4 hrs.  This shows they are concerned about their customers. However, I will end up not being able to utilize their vehicle after all because following rejection of our intial request to utilize their vehicle, we had to find an alternate vehicle to use.  Therefore, we put money on a rental truck and will lose our money if the truck is not used on the day (3/22) we confirmed.     ****** ***** 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********* *****

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service