BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

ASG Security

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 623-4000 View Additional Phone Numbers 12301 Kiln Ct, Beltsville, MD 20705 http://asgsecurity.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Home intrusion security systems with cloud-based and local storage capabilities with remote video viewing
Home energy management systems (smart home technology) 
Whole home fire monitoring services
Commercial intrusion security systems with local and cloud-based storage capabilities, with remote video viewing 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ASG Security meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Alarm Security Group (ASG)  at its headquarters and all its company-owned locations throughout the United States is a BBB Accredited Business. This means they support BBB's services to the public and meet BBB Accreditation standards everywhere they do business. A BBB Accredited Business since November, 2011.  This Company is BBB accredited at all of its locations throughout the United States.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ASG Security include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 101 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

101 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 28 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 23
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 67
Total Closed Complaints 101

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 03, 2002 Business started: 06/01/2002 in DE Business started locally: 06/01/2002 Business incorporated: 06/01/2002 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William E Rose III, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William E Rose III, COO
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Surveillance Equipment, Sales & Service Access Control Systems Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Alternate Business Names
Alarm Security Group, LLC Laredo Alarm, an ASG Security Company San Angelo Security San Angelo Security, an ASG Security Company TNT Security TNT Security, an ASG Security Company USA Fire and Burglar Alarm USA Fire and Burglar Alarm, an ASG Security Company
Additional Information

This Company is BBB accredited at all of its locations throughout the United States.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 628-2106(Phone)
  • (301) 210-2839 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The product was advertise to provides wireless and remote capabilities, during the initial consultation on 9/29/13 it was determined that my area was unable to work as advertise wirelessly. Our initial order was cancelled and a request for refund was made on 10/1/13. It is now 10/30/13 and no refund has been received after numerous calls and speaking with ***** the manager and *** in the finance dept. We were provided a UPS tracking # and after starting an investigation to track our refund check with UPS of $235.76 on 10/30/13 the UPS representative informed us that we need to contact the shipper for further details and could not provide us with any other information regarding this matter. This type of service is completely unacceptable and I'm only glad we didn't actually start our security monitoring service with ASG. If this is any indication on how they provide services I shudder to think, that I almost put my family and household belonging safety in this company hands.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund immediately. It took ASG 2 days to cash our check and it has taken us over a month to get our money back. ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS

Business Response:

AFter learning that UPS had lost the package, we mailed customer another check via USPS.  Attached is confirmation that customer is in receipt of check

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: History: Months ago I inadvertently set my alarm off in the middle of the night. I reset the alarm and went back to bed. Hours later a police officer arrived at my door, stated that my alarm was going off (it wasn't) and told me to call the alarm company (ASG Security). The officer told me that the alarm company had called me several times (they had not) and there was no response from me. I called the alarm company and got no response. I went back to bed. The following day I contracted with another alarm company. It was clear to me that ASG Security was not properly monitoring my system - not to mention making false statements to the police to appear as if they (ASG Security) had been actively monitoring my system and knew what was going on. As far as I was concerned, ASG Security breached my contract with them in that they failed to properly monitor the system as they said they would. When I cancelled my contract with ASG Security I was advised that there would be a cancellation fee of $136.00 for the remainder of the time on my contract. I explained that I did not feel that I owed that fee as it was ASG Security who breached the contract. ASG Security would not change their mind. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. After filing my complaint with the Better Business Bureau I was contacted by an upper level manager from ASG Security. This individual, while not admitting ASG Security did anything wrong, advised me to disregard the $136.00 cancellation fee stating that it wasn't worth pursuing. I would have this man's name; however, in good faith I disregarded the $136.00 charge and discarded everything relating to ASG Security as in my mind this issue had been resolved. Fast forward several weeks where I was contacted by ***** **** of Commercial Auditors Corporation, a bill collector. I explained to *** **** the situation, still believing that ASG Security was operating in good faith as well. *** **** stated she would look into the situation. On October 29, 2013, *** **** contacted me again and advised that ASG Security claims that I still owed them $136.00 and demanded payment. I stated in my original complaint to the Better Business Bureau that buyer beware. If you need a security system that requires careful monitoring ASG Security did not provide that service with me. Now, if you have to deal with business issues relating to ASG Security buyer beware. ASG Security does not operate in good faith either. I found while shopping for a new alarm company that there are several available that provide better services. Look somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: That this $136.00 fee be waived IN WRITING and any issues relating to my credit be corrected.

Business Response:

This account was erroneously sent to the agency.  I have contacted them and asked them to remove the account from their list as it was sent in error.

***** doesn't owe the $136 billed.  His account has been closed in good standing and he owes us nothing further.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had a hard wired, unmonitored alarm system in our home since 1996. We have not had a single problem or false alarm issue in all the years the system has been installed. In April 2013, we decided we wanted to be hooked up to a monitoring service. We called ASG. ASG bought the company that originally installed our system in 1996. A salesman came out to our home in April 2013 to discuss options. He said that we could install a new wireless box, that could use the currently installed hard wired contacts on all our doors and windows. He said there was no need to replace the hard wired contacts. He said that everything was wireless now, and much more reasonably priced that what we had paid in 1996. We agreed to purchase the wireless control panel, 1 wireless door transmitter, 1 super switch for 8 zones and 2 wireless smoke detectors. For a total cost of $440.79. We signed up for monthly monitoring, which included a maintenance agreement. The system was installed on April 16, 2013. On July 9, 2013 we got our 1st false alarm, 1st floor window at 4:27 am, 2nd false alarm August 18, 2013, 1st floor window at 2:11 am, and a 3rd false alarm, 1st floor window, on August 31, 2013 at 2:09 am. We have had service calls on August 20, August 27, August 29 and September 5, 2013 all to diagnose and fix this issue. None of the service calls fixed the false alarm issue. On September 5, 2013 after the last service call, we were told that all of the window contacts and door contacts needed to be replaced, at a cost of $40 each. We have 18 windows and 2 entry doors. The total estimated cost is $800. We contacted the service manager to tell him our displeasure of the $800 additional cost, since we were told just 4 months prior by the salesman that our system was fine. And we never had a problem with the old contacts before the new system was installed. This appears to be a bait and switch scam to me, since we told by the salesman in April that our old system would work fine with the new wireless technology. The service manager apologized for the salesman misleading us, but said ASG would not pay the $800 to correct the problem. And we can not cancel our contract because the contact we signed was for 3 years. We were not told the length of the contract, but it's our fault for not reading before we signed.

Desired Settlement: We want either the system to be fixed for free, since it appears that what ASG installed is faulty, or a total refund of the original installation price of $440.79 and to be let out of the required 3 year monitoring contact. We feel that if a hard wired control panel was replaced for the wireless control panel, this would fix the problem. We never had a false alarm problem before ASG installed their equipment. All that we desire as an outcome, is a alarm system that works as promised, for the amount we agreed upon with a signed contract in April of 2013.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the customer's complaint and, working with the local branch, the sales department has contacted the customer in regards to meeting their needs.  I will continue to monitor until completion.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: - I did not receive what I asked for. - Information about a permit for an alarm system was not disclosed. We received a fine from ****** County. I talked to your company to figure out what could be done to help pay for this is. The complaint was under review. I called multiple times getting the run around. No one has ever responded to me. My billing was increased $5 a month and I was never notified. ASG did not have permission to withdraw and increased amount from my bank. Now to cancel the service it will cost me $275.

Desired Settlement: I just want to cancel my service with no charges.

Business Response:

I reviewed the customers account and there is a note from 2.21.13 by the (then) resi sales manager, advising they had spoken to the customer regarding the alarm permit.  The note stated that the customer had signed a document re: the alarm permit and that the customer had already paid the fine.  In regards to the increase of rate, the contract signed by the customer explains our right to increase the rate,a and the process by which the customer may dispute the increase, should he choose.

Since the customer is cancelling before the term is up, we have agreed to settle with the customer for $275.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For three weeks, I attempted to schedule/reschedule an appointment for door sensor repair. My door sensor would respond late when opening and closing doors. I was actually able to open most doors in my home and walk through my entry way without disabling the alarm. I made and rescheduled 2 appointments with ASG within a timely manner and, on my 3rd attempt, I requested if a technician could come out on a Saturday. An ASG representative said that he would have a technician manager contact me and schedule an appointment. I never received follow up call from ASG. A week later while I was in route to work, I received a call from my children that a man was at my door. I also received a call from the technician that he was at my home to repair the alarm. Unfortunately, as mentioned before, I never received a call to schedule an appointment from ASG. So, the technician arrived at my home unannounced. I returned home and informed the man that I was unaware of the appointment but I did allow the repair to take place. The man was very polite, efficient, and helpful. He attempted to repair the sensors and everything seemed to work when he finished. But the entire system stopped working that evening. At this point I could not even set my alarm. The following morning (9:30am), I contacted ASG concerning my malfunctioning alarm. I was told that a technician would called me in the next 45 minutes. -No call received. 11:45am I contacted ASG concerning my malfunctioning alarm. I was told that a technician should have call me by then and would contact me in the next 45 minutes. -No call received. 1:15pm, I received a call from **** the technician and he said I could override the alarm system, but we both agreed that it still would not work properly since the door sensors do not work. He also told me that he would not be able to fix it unless I pay a $150 after-hour/weekend fee. I immediately contacted the ASG office and informed them that it would be unfair to pay $150 for all of the current inconvenience. The ASG representative contacted the technician manager and agreed to waive the $150 fee. She also informed me that **** would call me immediately. -No call was received. 3:00pm, I contacted ASG again and told the representative to make a notation that I would call on Monday to cancel all services with ASG and I would also file a claim with the Better Business Bureau. The representative was very polite and apologetic. At 3:30pm, I received a call from **** the technician asking for my address. I informed him that I did not need his services anymore and that I called and informed the ASG office. He said, "Yeah, they just called me and asked me to call you so I can come and fix it."

Desired Settlement: Refund my $27.06 check.

Business Response:

The account has been cancelled per the customer's request.  We have agreed to release the customer from the balance of their agreement.  We will mail out the requested refund shortly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel. The authenticity or validity of a contract is in question. Original contract was signed October 29, 2009 and was for three years. Contract expired October 29, 2012 and from then on I was on a month to month service. During that time the monthly service fee changed from $35.67 to $44.73 and then to $50.10. I was notified April 1, 2012 that the monthly fee was going to be raised to $ 41.32 although it really went to $44.73 and never notified of the $50.10 fee increase. On May 30, 2013 I called customer service, who verified I was not on contract and could cancel anytime. They then transferred me to **** ****** who offered to reduce my monthly fee to $30 per month if I signed another 3 year contract, I told him to send me the contract, I asked about possible fee increases and he stated if it happens to call customer service. I received the contract in the mail and after reviewing it decided not to renew and continued month to month. I was told by **. ****** if I wanted to cancel I just needed to email him my notice of cancelation. I did this on July 12, 2013. On that day I received a series of unprofessional emails from **. ****** ***. On Saturday August 10, 2013 I received a final invoice for $694.00. I called the number on the statement and it went to a voice mail and I have heard nothing back.

Desired Settlement: There is no reason for this final invoice, I fulfilled my contract obligations and no further fees are required. The request for further funds is unethical and unfounded. Once this is removed I do not want any further contact with this company.

Business Response:

Upon review, we find that the invoice was sent to the customer in error.  The customer's account will be cancelled in good standing and they owe us nothing further.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately three weeks ago the alarm in my home was inadvertently set off in the early morning hours. The alarm was immediately reset - which would not require a call from the alarm company or a police response. Well over an hour later the police showed up at the door, stated the alarm was going off (it wasn't), and advised us that the alarm company had called three times with no answer (which it didn't). Obviously the alarm system was not being properly monitored - and when a mistake is made by ASG they lie to the police to cover it up. I changed my security company and ASG had the gall to charge me for early termination of the contract when they were the ones who violated the terms of the contract with no or poor monitoring. BUYER BEWARE. It is a FOOL, in my opinion, for anyone to trust their security or that of their loved ones to ASG. If you need proper monitoring find another company.

Desired Settlement: Cancelation of the fee for cancelling my service with ASG.

Business Response: I called ***** and advised him that due to the small balance of the agreement, we would not pursue.  Customer was grateful.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello: BBB We just bought a House and needed and alarm system, I went and google and found ASG and then I went to the BBB web page and it seem like it had a great review. I called and the seller came to the house, he told me some great thing about the system and I agree to make a contract with them, BUT I told ***** the seller that I wanted to recycle my old sensors and that the 3 sensor that he offer i wanted them one in the window and one in the side garage door and the last one in the actual garage door, ***** said that he was going to come with the seller to explain and that they could make it happen (***** didn't show up) so the technician came and my mother was home because i was at work, and he install only one sensor and replace the rest, i come home to find that they didn't follow the instruction that i gave the seller, and i call ***** and told him, plus the system was not working properly, and he say that the guy would pass thru the house and put the rest later that week and we schedule an appointment, this time i was there and he fix the alarm and put one sensor, he told me and made a call in front of me letting the company know that he needed a special sensor no appointment was made then(was again the seller made a no show after saying he would ). time flys by and i call ***** to see what happen and he says he was suppose to come today did he show up? i said no and he said ill call him, he calls back and say the sensor was not order ill make sure myself that the sensor is order and ill put it myself in the van an appointment was made for a Friday, we call the company and complain and said that we wanted out of the contact and they say we are sorry, we will get you the sensor, we said you got a day, they said we do what we can and we said if not on Monday we want to cancel with no cancelation fee. Monday came and they said we can cancel for free you sign that it was all good (making this complain i notice that the paper explain that a sensor is missing and its call overhead contact). i go to the bank and i find out that the company took the monthly fee is out and the then took 10 dollars more and this another problem there was no money there so i get charge by the bank, that how i know. i get a call from the company asking if i was going to stay or not and i ask them about the ten dollar, she say im going to put steve so he can explain by the seller didn't tell you this before, i say tell him to call me tomorrow after 12 because i work that day. no calls yet and its 1:35pm, the seller didn't even know when the money was going to be taking from my account when i ask him, i don't even get a mail with the notification of when i have to pay...

Desired Settlement: I want to have NOTHING with them, no CONTRACT just a bad memory that will fade with time, i want my old sensors back if they cant do that i want to keep the ones i have with no extra charge, and for them to pay my bank for the fees and the rest of the money that they took without authorization back to my account. they didn't keep there end i don't want to have to pay for that i kept my end, i cant stay with a COMPANY that does not make me feel SAVE.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and the customer's complaint.  I called the customer and she expressed that she no longer wanted the services.  I explained that in order to release from BOC we would need to pull the equipment and she said that was fine.  I have contacted the local branch office to call customer to set up a service call to remove the system.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

p.s. I talked to **. **** that was the name he gave me and said that i can cancel with no cancellations fees if i agree to let them take the equipment. And i agree. thank you for your help in resolving this matter. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2002, we had a security system installed and monitored by ****; the company has recently "merged" with ASG Security. Our house, located at ***** ***** ***** ****** **** ****** ** *****, was sold in September 2011. We prepaid for an entire year of monitoring, and on September 12, 2011, notified **** of the sale and requested a refund for the remaining months on our contract, as per a previous discussion with them. I had also mentioned it in an email to my Realtor. I had totally forgotten about the refund for months! Later, when I spoke to them I was told they had no record of my request. I re-sent the information and ****** told me "she would speak to *** "(the owner). This went back and forth for months, in part because we would travel and I would forget about it. They continue to send monitoring bills, now under the name *** ******** ******* / ASG Security, for the house we have not owned in over 2 1/2 years!! We continue to tell them that we no longer own the house and we are awaiting a refund. As the **** ****** phone number has not existed (at least not for our house) since September 12, 2011, we don't understand how the system can send out an emergency call, and therefore "monitor" it. I have sent them several notifications, including all the email correspondence between us. I also sent them a certified letter April 17 and have proof of delivery- but no refund. After receiving the most recent bill from them (Invoice Date May 4, 2013 / Account Number *******), I sent them a fax and said that "You have left us no alternative but to report you to the Better Business Bureau, unless we receive our refund by June 3, 2013." [ACTUALLY, ALTHOUGH I KNOW THE 12 MO. MONITORING SHOULD HAVE COST @ $300, I HAD FOUND AN EMAIL RECEIPT FROM 7/16/2011 FOR $249, AND THOUGHT PERHAPS, FOR SOME REASON WE HAD PAID FOR JUNE AND JULY SEPARATELY. ] I NOW SEE WE SENT A CHECK (# ****) TO ***** ******** ***** *** (****) FOR $305.28 TO PAY FOR MONITORING FROM JUNE 1, 2011 TO MAY 31, 2012; THE CORRECT REFUND, PRORATED FROM 9/13/2011 TO 5/31/2012 (260 DAYS) IS: $217. 46.

Desired Settlement: A refund RIGHT AWAY! What might be worse than a report to the BBB is a ******** campaign against **** /ASG Security!

Business Response: We have spoken to the customer and agreed to refund their money.  Refund process started on 6/21 and customer should receive their refund soon.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been a customer with ASG for a few years and decided to upgrade Feb 2, 2013. My sales man came out to the house for me to sign papers. He stated that basically my old account would end, so since we pay a month in advance I would have a refund for the month of February sent out to me. And we were signing papers for a new contract. Which I paid for installation as well as the new monthly fee that day. On Feb 5th the tech came out to install and that night my alarm kept randomly going off. I eventually had to bypass my backdoor as well as my down stair windows in order for the alarm to stop going off. So I only had my front door as well as upstairs protection. It took ASG a few days to send the tech out, which he thought he fixed the issue and he didn't. Later that evening I had the same issue. So it took ASG several days to send the same tech back out. And he installed wireless connections to the windows saying my old wires were not compatable with the new system. And once again I had my alarm going off randomly saying my door or window was open. SO once again I had to bypass them and did not have proper protection. I was calling ASG and was not getting anywhere with customer service so I finally called ***, my sales guy and told him i wanted to cancel everything because I was not happy with the service nor customer service, they were not providing proper service which was what I signed up for. SO finally someone called me back a day later stating theyd send the tech back out, but I was not available and told them I just wanted it canceled because the tech had already come out a couple times. It took me persistantly calling and calling them to get a response from a lady named ******* (not sure of spelling) who got it approved through a ****** or ***** ******** (again not sure of spelling) that they would cancel my service as well as I would get my refund for the credited Feb month as well as the installation and the month I paid for. I had not received anything so on March 4th, 2013 I called and talked to a lady who said my account was showing it was still activated and I was not entitled to a refund, but she saw on my account where it was approved to get a refund. So she wanted to forward the info to her boss ****** to look into the matter and contact me back. I didn't hear anything from ****** so on the 6th I called and was told she was on a conference call and Id have to leave a message, so I left a message and she did not call me back. I called again on the 8th and had to leave a message. I also received another bill from ASG for the month of March, and the lady I spoke to about the bill (before I was transferred to ******'s voicemail) said my account would not be closed until I sent in a faxed or emailed letter stating I wanted it closed, so therefore I was still gonna get charged until I did. Which since I was told by ******* that they were going to close my account and was never told I needed to email/fax anything in it should not be my fault and continue to get charged for something they said they would close for me. When my new company came in to install their equipment and he opened the box panel thing, a wire fell out, the wires were a complete mess, (the new tech said he never seen anything that bad before), but there were exposed wires all over the place in there. It was no wonder my service from them did not work as well as catch on fire.

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund for my Feb credit as well as update fees and the new service monthly charge. I want the new charges to be taken off. As well as I want an apology for the lack of customer service to respond in a timely manner. As well as it is completely unacceptable for the boxes to have exposed wires (which I have several pictures of). The company should be sued! And hopefully this will not happen to any future customers.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and touched base with the customer.  Refund check was received by customer yesterday and I apologized to the customer and wished her well with the new company.  Customer was very polite and thanked me for the call.  Money has been refunded and accounts been cxlled in good standing.

Consumer Response: Thank you very much for your help in getting this issue resolved.  

*** *****
[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled service in July 2012, and was charged $39.41 in the months of December and January. I have contacted ASG Security's customer service twice and spoke to ***** on 1/30/13 and was told I would get my refund in 5-10 days. It has been almost 6 weeks and I called on 3/12/13 and was transferred to many people none which helped with why I haves been refunded my money.

Desired Settlement: Just refund my money is all I want.

Business Response: Notes on the account state that the check was mailed on 3/15.  You should receive shortly.  Please let us know if you do not receive it within the next 3 business days.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
1/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/27/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1