BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roto Rooter Sewer-Drain Service offers plumbing, drain cleaning and septic tank pumping services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BDR Solutions LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BDR Solutions LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BDR Solutions LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1945 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 04/29/2015 Business incorporated 01/28/2015 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA115016.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Roeder, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Roeder, Owner
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Roto Rooter

Additional Locations

  • 1180 Winola Road

    Clarks Summit, PA 18411

  • 2 Keystone Industrial Park
    Bert Collins Drive

    Throop, PA 18512

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Roto Rooter about my clogged bathtub, which at that point was draining. When Chuckie came out I told him of the issue of the tub clogging, draining and clogging again. I told him it was now draining and that we had him come out to ensure it wouldn't clog again. He went to the basement to look at the pipe for the tub, which you can't get to the pipe from the basement, and then proceeded to snake the drain. When he was done he told me the pipe was leaking and needed to be replaced. I then paid him $100 and he left. I then had to call Roto rooter back because the tub was now not holding water at all when filling the tub for a bath. Ryan came out this time and told me the pipe was broken. When I asked how he thought the pipe broke he told me that the pipe wasn't able to hold up against the snake and that chuckie had broken the pipe while snaking it. When I called Brian the supervisor about it he told me he would talk to both Ryan and chuckie and get back to me. I never received any phone calls back and had to keeping calling to find out what was going on. My husband finally had a phone call with Brian, Ryan and chuckie where they told my husband that I had lied about everything that had happened. Chuckie claimed he went under our house in the crawl space to look at the pipe, which you aren't able to access that part of our home without going outside and crawling under our back steps. He also told my husband that he informed me of the broken pipe and I told him to proceed with snaking it, which also never happened. Ryan then told my husband that he never told me that chuckie broke the pipe. I then called Robert the manager and spoke to him saying how I was upset about the lies being told and that I wanted my $100 back that I had paid. He told me that a service was provided in which I told him that the service shouldn't have been done if the pipe was leaking. He told me he would talk to chuckie and get back to me. I didn't hear anything for two weeks and then he sent my husband an email saying that they were sticking to their story. We had a home inspection done including the pipes of the house and they were in perfect working order with no leaks. We also had another plumber come out and tell us that the pipe broke from the snaking. I'm very upset that I'm being called a liar and all I want is my $100 back for a service that was done wrong. No one at Roto rooter wants to take responsibility for their actions and we keep getting the run around.

Desired Settlement: I want my $100 back for the service that led to damages to my home.

Business Response:

We have already been in contact with this customer. I realize he is not happy about the owners decision perhaps doesn't understand but these charges are justified and the issue has been address. The customer will not be receiving his money back because we did do the work. I am attaching the correspondence for your convenience. There are 3 attachments

Sally K***,

Office Mgr. - *** ****** **** ****** ******* ** ***** *** ******** * *** *** ******** * *******************

6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially contacted Roto-Rooter to resolve a backed up sewer line at my rented property on *** ******* *** in ***********, PA. A technician from Roto-rooter was able to clear the blockage at 75'-3" on 3/20/14 using a power snake, but in less than two weeks, the problem returned. Still under warranty, I called the technician who returned the next day to again clear out the blockage. At this time, we were advised by the technician to contact Roto-rooter again, and schedule a camera and locator service to identify exactly what and where the problem was. I called that day, spoke with a woman at Roto-Rooter who scheduled the service for 4/15/14 and at that time, I verified with her on the phone that this service would guarantee to identify exactly what and where the problem was, she confirmed that it would, and i agreed to payment prior to service. On 4/15, the camera and locator service was completed. I spoke to the man who performed the service before and after completion, he told me there were two breaks in the line at two separate locations, wires running through my line in another, and that it would need to be repaired. I immediately called a contractor and scheduled the excavation and replacement of the sewer line based on Roto Rooter’s findings and recommendation. In summary, the contractor called me after completing the excavation and asked that I come on site, as there were no breaks in the line and nothing to replace. I again spoke to the technician at Roto-rooter, who advised me then that if there were no breaks in the line, it must be the gaskets inside the pipe had rolled and that the line needed to be replaced. He offered me his personal guarantee that there was something wrong with my line. I reluctantly gave the contractor the go-ahead to replace the pipe. Three days after replacing the line, the sewer backed up again. The problem was never on my property, the terracotta main that connected to my line was broken. At the end of this entire ordeal, there was no reason to dig up or replace my sewer line as the issue was never my pipe. I paid for a service that was guaranteed to find exactly what and where the problem was with my sewer line. I was informed I had two breaks and wires running through my line. That was incorrect. After I dug up the line to find the pipe intact, I was then told the rubber gaskets must have rolled, and that was the issue. That was also incorrect. I have contacted the manager several times who claims he spoke to the owner of the company. He never once returned my phone calls, but did speak to me every time I called him. He advised me that as per the owner, they are in no way responsible for the incorrect evaluation of the technician which resulted in the unnecessary excavation and replacement of my sewer line.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of the locator and camera service cost provided by Roto-Rooter, in addition to reimbursement of the contractor cost to dig and replace the sewer line.

Business Response:

*****

On March 20, 2014 we were called to the property in question for a blocked sewer. As you can see by the enclosed copy of the invoice the sewer was blocked at approximately 75'. Then on April 10th we were called again for the same problem, we went out again and opened the blockage at no additional charge to the customer, however at this point we suggested to camera the sewer line to see what the problem was as we couldn't get the snake past this approximately 70' spot either time. The homeowner agreed so on 4/15 we sent a camera technician to do said job. The camera showed a spot at 40'and a spot at 70' which the camera could not get past. Both spots appeared to be protruding gaskets from the schedule 35 sewer pipes. The technician then told her that these 2 spots should be dug and repaired because if not the sewer would continue to block. We charged the homeowner for the unblocking the sewer and to camera the sewer. Both charges are legitimate. A copy of the video was given to the homeowner. As for the homeowner and the contractor installing a whole new sewer line that was their doing. The video clearly shows two bad spots not an entire bad sewer line. A copy of the video can be sent to BBB if you want.

As for the terra cotta spur being bad in the street we would have no knowledge of this because as previously stated we could not get the snake or the camera past 70'.


Hoping these addresses all the issues I remain at your disposal for further questions.


Sincerely,


****** *********


 


**/***



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on BDR Solutions LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)