BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 1776 I Street, NW, Suite 900

    Washington, DC 20006 (202) 559-0339

  • 3540 Crain Hwy, #203

    Bowie, MD 20716

  • 3708 Bladensburg Road

    Brentwood, MD 20722

  • P O Box 197

    Brentwood, MD 20722

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 342-0085(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8-6-13 Spartan Plumbing sent a plumber by the name of ***** to my home to fix a broken pipe releasing water in the furnace room. He fixed the immediate problem and took the pressure reducer and placed a temporary solid pipe until they get the pressure value. Since then, I have called several times for someone to come out and replace my pressure reducer. Why call someone else when they were the one who took it? I know I have to pay for them to come out. I don't understand why I am getting pushed away like they never took the pressure reducer. I have gotten the run away. I spoke to ****** several times and he responded by indicating he would call me with dates and never did. I called and gave him dates that I was available and those dates have come and gone. I called to speak to a manager and was told that the manager stepped out. I don't know what else to do so I wrote the BBB. Businesses should know when they are not doing right.

Desired Settlement: I need answers about the part that was taken, information about what needs to be done now and when will the repair get done.

Business Response: I spoke to ****** ******* in regards to her plumbing matter. The issue is going to be resolved on November 14, 2013 per her request. We are sorry about this situation; we value our customers and the service that we provide to them. We have taken the corrective actions in our organization to insure that this type of situation does not occur again.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 9, 2013 my sister *** ***** contacted Spartan Plumbing Heating company to come out to my home to estimate the heat, and to see if I can get the heat to come out from my furnace. When a technician came to my home on February, 2013 of Saturday, the gentleman didn't do anything and we have been using Spartan Plumbing service for over (3)years know. *** ***** ***** told the gentleman what was the problem he didn;t bother to fix anything and he suggested that we contact another plumbing company to clean the furnance and to put oil in the furnance as well. I was dissatified with what the gentleman stated, and came out to my home and didn't do anything and charged me $85.00 for referring me to another company.They advertised no payment for arriving, and senior citizen discount, he didn't give me a senior citizen discount and they are having false advertisment. I'm complainting against Spartan Plumbing Heating company and I want them reported and investigated business policy and false advertising, and requesting a refund for the payment given to them in cash. I would like if my sister *** ***** be contacted her information is in the complaint as an alternate telephone number which is *************.Thank you very much and hope to hear from you soon!The ***** Family,

Desired Settlement: I want Better Business Bureau to report Spartan Plumbing Heating &Air Conditioning for false advertising, and I would like a settlement of $500.00 back and asenior citizen discount which they advertise also. With another time the company got $450.00 for a service only costed $145.00 for the job and I didn't get a senior citizen discount the time either, this was on January, 2013. Spartan Plumbing company dosen't honor their policy and services,they never return customers calls.The companyisfake

Business Response:

 We did a boiler check up for a ** ***** *****  on February 9th.  We charged him 89.00 and we gave him a senior citizen discount bringing the charge down to $79.00. He paid by credit card without complaint.  We have no record of referring him to anyone and we would have noted this on our invoice as is standard practice.  Right after we did the work we recieved close to a hundred phone calls from ** ***** who says she is his sister complaining that she wanted his money back.  We were polite to her despite the fact that she harassed us with phone calls. However  but her information was not accurate and she was harassing us by phone for many days. We told her to have her brother contact us if he had a complaint.  He did not.  In her complaint she states that we referred her to someone, that it was oil, that we did nothing and that he paid by cash and that he was charged $85.00 dollars.  None of these things are true.  ** ***** ***** paid by credit card, he was charged $79.00 and we completed a boiler check up for him, it was not an oil furnance and as far as  we can tell we did not refer him to anyone as it is standard practice for us to note this on our invoice.  As far as we know, the customer we worked for, ** ***** *****, had no complaint with our service. If he had contacted us with a complaint we would have  addressed it.

 PIease let me know if you think we should have done anything differently. I have copies of the work order and the invoice signed by ** ***** ***** if you need them.

Sincerely yours,

 

 

***** *********

Vice President

Spartan Sewer Raider Inc

T/A Spartan Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

(************

www.spartanman.com


Consumer Response:


Nature of Complaint: Advertising Issues - No Detail Provided
Problem:
This complaint is a rebuttal complaint responded from the business Spartan Plumbing. My complaint ID:*******, a link was forwarded to my email and the Business Spartan Plumbing company stated, that *** ***** ***** had a boiler repaired and they requested $89.00 and no senior discount was ever given. Spartan overcharged *** ***** ***** and he paid them cash and they returned again to fix *** ***** furnace never got proper heat, the company was contacted several times and the owner was requested and she never returned the calls. I'm *** ***** ***** legal Assistant and this matter is not completed nor resolved if I don't get a resolution between May 13, 2013 and May 19,2013 I will report Better Business Bureau (BBB)to Federal Law Regulatory, and I will be attempt to file a Civil lawsuit against Spartan Plumbing Company. I'm replying to there'll responds and *** ***** ***** never gave them a credit card for form of payment and no telephone calls were never received from the manager nor the owner *** ***** **********. I'm requesting a refund of $500 five-hundred dollars in a certified check and to make sure both family members are contacted with whom this complaint was originally filed in March 20, 2013. I left a distinct message with the Director ********** ******** and I hope this message be relayed by tomorrow of May, 2013.*** ***** ***** and *** **** ***** does not agree with Spartan Plumbing response, nor excepting to close this complaint. We are looking for a full refund and to receive a letter from the company for poor service, not honoring their Advertisement and not returning our telephone calls, we will not use this service again!This complaint is to forward to Washington, DC office in Eastern location.

Desired Outcome
Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:


-----Original Message-----
From: ********************
Sent: Thursday, May 2, 2013 11:48am
To: ******************
Subject: Complaint #*******

 Dear ** *******,

 We did a boiler check up for a ** ***** *****  on February 9th.  We charged him 89.00 and we gave him a senior citizen discount bringing the charge down to $79.00. He paid by credit card without complaint.  We have no record of referring him to anyone and we would have noted this on our invoice as is standard practice.  Right after we did the work we recieved close to a hundred phone calls from ** ***** who says she is his sister complaining that she wanted his money back.  We were polite to her despite the fact that she harassed us with phone calls. However, her information was not accurate and she was harassing us by phone for many days. We told her to have her brother contact us if he had a complaint.  He did not.  In her complaint she states that we referred her to someone, that it was oil, that we did nothing and that he paid by cash and that he was charged $85.00 dollars.  None of these things are true.  ** ***** ***** paid by credit card, he was charged $79.00 and we completed a boiler check up for him, it was not an oil furnance and as far as  we can tell we did not refer him to anyone as it is standard practice for us to note this on our invoice.  As far as we know, the customer we worked for, ** ***** *****, had no complaint with our service. If he had contacted us with a complaint we would have  addressed it.

Now, his sister is again making a complaint demanding $500.00. She is not the customer we worked for and she has no accurate knowledge of the transaction.  We take legitimate customer complaints very seriously.  If ** ***** had a complaint, we would make sure that he was happy.  However, we feel we are being harassed and targeted by someone who we have never done  any business with, someone who was never a Spartan customer who is making false statements.

 PIease let me know if you think we should have done anything differently. I have copies of the work order and the invoice signed by ** ***** ***** if you need them.

Sincerely yours,

 

 

***** *********

Vice President

Spartan Sewer Raider Inc

T/A Spartan Plumbing, Heating and Air Conditioning

*************

Consumer Response:

****************************
7:52 PM (12 hours ago)
to me
    From:****************************
            To: ******************
            
            Re: Spartanman & Plumbing Company/Respond
 
            
            To Whom It May Concern:
 
 
            I left you a message regarding the respond from the company is the response from the last conversation, are you in the processing this complaint,
            at this point what does Better Business Bureau do, there has not been no resolution and we spoke I'm expecting the bureau to Report this company
            and they continue to lie about their service I reported this company to your attention and I want actions taken.
 
            Please contact me when you receive this email.  Thank you very much.
 
 
            Sincerely,
            *** **** ********* ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1