BBB Accredited Business since

Ward Pest Control, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (703) 248-3631 400 N Washington St Ste 101, Falls Church, VA 22046 http://www.wardpestcontrol.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company also does commercial & residential pest control.They can do animal trapping,termite treatment, home & building inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ward Pest Control, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ward Pest Control, Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ward Pest Control, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ward Pest Control, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1975 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 11/17/1997 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS)-VA
102 Governor Street, 1st Floor, Richmond VA 23219
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/pesticide
Phone Number: 804-786-3798
Fax Number: 804-786-9149
The number is 703474-4442.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Ward, Owner Ms. Donna Ward, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Donna Ward, Owner
Principal: Mr. James Ward, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services Animal & Wildlife Removal Building Inspection Home Inspection Service


Additional Locations

  • 400 N Washington St Ste 101

    Falls Church, VA 22046

  • 4625 Old Dominion Dr Ste B1

    Arlington, VA 22207

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/23/2014 Delivery Issues
9/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2011 Ward Pest Control was hired to seal our house off so that bats would not return to our attic. In March 2012 we contacted Ward Pest Control because the work performed was not effective; the bats returned to our house. We waited until October 2012 to have the house resealed since the bats cannot be removed during mating season. The gentleman who assessed our house to determine why/where the bats were entering the house from stated that the original work performed by his company was incomplete and that several areas that should have been sealed off were not. He walked us around the house and demonstrated the areas of concern. The work was completed free of charge under the company one year warranty. We waited a month then another person from the company came to our house and confirmed that there were no bats in our attic anymore. We then hired another company to remove all insulation and sterilize our attic (this was necessary considering the considerable amount of guano in the attic). Another company was hired to blow in insulation with an R factor of 56. We also hired someone to install a new set of attic stairs since the company that sterilized our attic thought it best to start fresh. Now we have bats back in our attic and guano beginning to cover our new insulation. I contacted Ward Pest Control and discussed the situation. They claimed that only the work performed in 2011 was warrantied and the work completed in 2012 was not under warranty. They offered to have me pay for them to do the work again and to pay them to replace the new insulation. I view the work completed in 2012 as new work that should be warrantied since it was not even completed in 2011. I also believe that a confirmation that the house is bat free should mean something. I spent over $3,000 to make my house sanitary and now it is filling up with guano again - especially since I have to wait until October again to have the house sealed properly.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ward Pest Control to seal my house properly and replace the insulation free of charge. I only replaced the insulation after having faith in their service and confirmation that the house was bat free. I would not have paid two different companies to do such intensive work if there was question of the efficiency of the services provided.

Business Response: August 26, 2013

Dear **. ******,

Thank-you for forwarding ** *******’s Statement of the Problem and her Desired Settlement (ID *******). In reply:

** *******’s statement relating to the dates, and what Ward did to remove and exclude the bats was essentially correct. When she called the office the end of July to report that the bats were back, she spoke with a trainee who has a “prompt sheet” to read from. Looking at her service record, the trainee told her the warranty work was done in 2012, and there was no further warranty, that she would have to pay for additional work. ** *******’s complaints should have been referred directly to the Office Manager, or Senior Service Representative, rather than having been handled by the trainee.

Our technician went to ** *******’s on August 1, following our normal operating procedure to check all customer problems and complaints, without our prior knowledge that **. ******* had contacted the BBB. He reported to the office that the rake board had continued to warp, opening up previously closed areas. He told ** ******* that Ward would redo the exclusion at no charge. There will be no warranty on this work.

The house was “bat free” after the warranty work, but it is impossible to declare a house “bat free” indefinitely. As a house ages, the wood weathers, and the rake board along the roof-line increasingly separates from the house. Maintenance of a home dictates that a professional replace the rake board/s, fitting it/them tightly to the house, thus not leaving any possibility for bat or rodent entry.

Bats usually hang in the same places in an attic, close to the entry points, and their quano collects below those areas. If asked by homeowners, Ward recommends cleaning up the guano, removing (if possible, but not necessary) the insulation in those areas only, and sanitizing the area. We do not recommend replacing all of the insulation in an attic for a bat problem; companies that do are over-selling. On the August 1 visit our technician told ** ******* that we could not replace the insulation because it is blown-in, but we willclean up the guano and treat and sanitize the area. There is no need to replace the insulation and Ward respectfully declines to do so.

The exclusion and cleanup is currently scheduled on September 5, but we will be asking to change that to September 30 because of the maternity period. As stated above, there will be no charge to ** ******* for this work and there will be no further warranty. The original price of work was $695.00. I’m not sure I understand the noted Purchase Price of $860.00 Or the Disputed Amount of $ 1500.00.

We sincerely hope that this reply will put this matter to rest.

1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service