This business is not BBB accredited.

CIBT, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 802-0550 Fax: (703) 903-9890 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 International Dr Ste 600, Mclean, VA 22102 View Additional Email Addresses http://cibt.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Products
 - Visas for all types of travel including business, tourist, work permits and more
 - Australian Electronic Visa (ETA)
 - US Electron System for Travel Authorizations (ESTA)
 - Passport renewals, new, child's and more
 - Document legalization
 - Translation services



BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CIBT, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on CIBT, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2012 Business started: 06/01/1989 in VA Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated 06/01/1989 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Donoghue, President / CEO Michael Barclay, VP, Online Marketing Mr. William Garrahan, CFO Mr. Andrew Lewis, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Donoghue, President / CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew Lewis, Marketing Director
Business Category

Passport & Visa Services

Method(s) of Payment
American Express, Discover, Master Card and Visa

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1600 International Dr Ste 600

    Mclean, VA 22102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1650 Tysons Blvd Ste 1350

    Mc Lean, VA 22102 (703) 903-1400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    60 East 42nd St

    New York City, NY 10165

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    180 N Stetson Ave Ste 3170

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    180 N Stetson Ave Ste 3170

    Chicago, IL 60601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Greenway Plaza, Suite 275

    Houston, TX 77046

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 montgomery street, 700

    san francisco, CA 94111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    555 Montgomery Street, 700

    San Francisco, CA 94111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5757 Wilshire Blvd STE 570

    Los Angeles, CA 90036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2016 Delivery Issues
11/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* itinerary redirects to this website for visa information. According to this website passengers with a permanent resident status or I-551 stamp on their passport DO NOT require a transit visa to Canada. The passengers were turned away from the lounge by the airport personnel because according to them a Canadian transit visa is required.

Desired Settlement: Refund + costs incurred because of having to reschedule flights.

Business Response:

We have attempted to contact **** via email on 3.6.15 and again on 3.17.15 to get further information to research his concerns.  It is not possible to provide full information based on what **** provided in his concern. 

Our website is updated on a daily basis based on the most recent visa requirements, however they are subject to change at any time based on the issuing country. Additionally the full details of the itinerary are required to provide a complete response to this request.  Our website also clearly states that traveler should check with the airline they are flying.

9/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cibt could not locate my grandsons application that I filled out along with my own and submitted on their web page. I then printed, signed them and sent these copies over night in time to be submitted to the Russian Consulate for Visa's. Due to the staffs inability to locate his application, though they found mine, we were NOT able to make the trip. We were assured by the supervisor at cibt that we would have our visa's. This was right up to the time we were on our way to ****** airport. She told us that they could fly them in from New York in an hour. However, 20 minutes from our reaching the airport I received a cell phone call that it was not going to happen. I immediately became physically ill. Having my grandson see me sick on the side of the road was embarrassing. I have tried in vain to get reimbursement for what I lost in fees and penalties. Know one has responded to my emails or phone calls.I was credited back the fee for the visas(not total amount)but I believe this credit is an admission to their over site in locating that application as it was there all the time. The staff was not familiar with the process to locate this applications. One of their staff members was able to locate it after I called out of frustration and talked with her. She seemed startled after I said something that clicked for her and she put me on hold for awhile. But she was able to locate it. This had been going on for more then 2 weeks. This delayed the submission of documents to the Russian Consulate. Visas were received 4 days AFTER trip began.

Desired Settlement: Regain the money I have lost due to cibt's oversite. I did not lose ALL my money I paid for this tour. But it amounts to almost half of the total cost. I had travel insurance but this type of issue was not covered and I could not file a claim for any loses. This fee was lost also.

Business Response:

*****,

 

It was nice to speak with you today.  Regarding the complaint from ****** **** ****** we have been working on this since October 24th.  We have left multiple emails and voice mails and have had difficulty connecting with her to review the complaint. 

 

We have finally made contact and she is providing us with additional information and I expect this to be resolved soon.  Attached is the last update I received from our VP of Operations dated 11/21 – nearly a month after the complaint was filed.  I confirmed with him, prior to sending you this, that they are still working the issue.

 

Please let me know if you heed any additional information.

 

Lesley

 

 

VP, Online Marketing

 

p.  ###-###-####

m. ###-###-####

  

CIBT The Global Visa and Passport Professionals

Australia | Austria |Belgium | Canada | France | Germany | The Netherlands | Singapore | Spain | Switzerland | UK | USA

 

From: ********* **** 
Sent: Thursday, November 21, 2013 9:03 AM
To: W*****, Lesley
Subject: RE: Another BBB Complaint

 

We are negotiating on how much we will give customer. Part of the issue was her providing wrong vouchers to begin with.

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: this is not true. I sent Greg D** an attachment of the additional charges I am requesting.

He received this attachment on Nov 7, stating that he would forward to management. I have heard nothing since then.

Also if you review the time line of the submitted documents, they (cibt) had them for a whole week before they where examined

for any errors. The issue turned out to be that my grandson is a Junior as per his passport states. Cibt did not discover this more then

a week after they had this passport on Aug. 20th at 10:01 a.m. It was on Aug. 28-29th when I was notified of this, hence the phone call from

Russell on the 28th. saying that 'junior' was not on the invitation letter and the email back to him on the 29th.,with the correction. The invitation letter

that was in error was received in their office on Aug. 22 at 9:54am. Why were ALL documents not validated? Why did it take a week to discover this? 

 The responsibility of cibt to examine all documents for accuracy falls fully on them. Why was this not determined until Aug. 28? 


Regards,

****** ******








Business Response:

 

This was resolved, full refund to customer by Oct 2013, of $908.10.


9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CIBT demands a credit card before providing service and chooses to charge an unsubstantiated amount. I received a 30% credit only I had **** intervene. The company ignores its posted service charges. Its poor service and poor management make it impossible for me to ever use the company again.

Desired Settlement: The company ought to leave BBB since it does not follow any form of customer service

Business Response:

 

Hi

 

I want to apologize again for the delay in response but also for the service failure from CIBT.  My team in ******* certainly did not deliver on your request causing inconvenience to you.

 

I have refunded all the monies paid as of today, typically the credit takes up to 72 hours to appear on your card statement.

 

Again my apologies and I hope that you consider using CIBT again in the future.

 

Regards

 

Eric

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visas ordered 12/26/13. Visas delivered 1/10/14. Invoice dated 1/8/14 incorrect, charged in full against our credit card. Multiple attempts to get invoice corrected finally resulted in second incorrect invoice 1/24/14, with only partial credit awarded. (1/8, 1/13, 1/14, 1/15, 1/17, 1/23) Repeated attempts (email and phone to both VA and NY) requesting remaining corrections have not been answered. (2/10, 2/17, 2/22, 2/25) The original invoice was padded with overcharges, unauthorized rush surcharges and replacement fees, the most blatant of which was the listing of $140 for $100 Kenyan visas and $120 for $100 Tanzania visas.

Desired Settlement: We request accurate billing adjustment to reflect correction of Kenyan visa fees and Consular Processing Fee. Also reimbursement for a portion of CIBT 'service' charges ( which amounted to more than the total actual visa fees involved.). 'Service' includes accurate and prompt billing which, after over two months of repeated requests for corrected accounting, has not been delivered.

Business Response: Hi
Total credits of $484.21 have been applied, we refunded his disputed amounts which totaled this, not $580. I have emailed him to apologize and advise of credits. Eric

Business Response: Company states it contacted complainant directly and provided  monetary adjustment. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory enough.

However, the fact that our concerns had to be brought to the attention of the BBB indicates the seriousness of our complaint.  We approached the company multiple times and were responded to repeatedly with inaccurate information and heavy innuendo that their 'confusion' was our fault.  Our application was clear and correct.  Our response to the multiple, inexplicable overcharges was clear and immediate.    Having to wait three months and  ultimately having to appeal to BBB for correction of  the overcharges guarantees that we will not use their services again.  
Regards,

**** ******

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Russia (unlike China) requires a complicated application on line. (It is the only way it can be purchased.) Visa Central seems to have an "in" with them. At the start, they list several different charges -- without giving a total. I did not know that all those charges would be charged to my credit card. It was, and the total was $512.00. (I only paid about $160.00 for my China Visa)Visa Central has an office in ******* Texas (from which they sent back my Passport with the visa in it). I guess I have no one but myself to blame, but I don't believe I would have reserved my Russian River Cruise if I had known ahead of time of the $512.00 cost of getting that visa.

Desired Settlement: Yes, it would be nice to get some of my money back, but I think someone needs to investigate this business. It is deceitful, at least.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** *****

9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on CIBT, Inc
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart