BBB Accredited Business since

O'Brien's Glose Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

Phone: (610) 391-8300 Fax: (610) 391-8311 View Additional Phone Numbers 7066 Snowdrift Rd, Allentown, PA 18106

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that O'Brien's Glose Moving & Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for O'Brien's Glose Moving & Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on O'Brien's Glose Moving & Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1977 Business started: 01/02/1928 Business started locally: 01/02/1928 Business incorporated 07/14/1967 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission
Commonwealth Keystone Building, 400 North Street, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (215) 965-3721
The number is 759100.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ricky T. Christ, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ricky T. Christ, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers Relocation Service

Alternate Business Names
Allied Van Lines O'Brien's Moving & Storage

Additional Locations


    1050 US Highway 22

    Lebanon, NJ 08833

  • 130 Redners Way

    Leesport, PA 19533

  • 7066 Snowdrift Rd

    Allentown, PA 18106 (800) 729-9340 (610) 391-8300

  • PO Box 236

    Allentown, PA 18105


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Truck driver assigned by O'Brien's was unprofessional, crude, and had absent quality control in the packing of my home goods for moving from Pennsylvania to Florida. I was told by this driver that he would pack a toaster oven that I had forgot to back..."no problem". On arrive to Florida, the packed boxes were placed where ever the driver and his helpers felt like placing them, even though each box was clearly marked as to which room they were to go! I had valuable antiques that were scratched and broken. Items that I backed would not be covered...even though the antiques were backed excessively well because of their value. The toaster oven was thrown in the bottom of a clothing wardrobe ...not packed!! The truck driver actually lied about not packing it!! It was broken and the handle busted off. While the truck helpers were setting up two twin beds in the guest bedrooms ...the new wood floors were gouged. Not scratched, but gouged. The company chose to believe the truck driver rather then me even though I can provide sworn statements as to the pristine condition of the floors prior to the delivery of the furniture. The wood floors in the master bedroom were also scratched.. I pointed the floors pout to the truck driver but he said they did not do it. I tried to work with the company (******) but they denied my claim. This is not an honest company, and this truck driver lied about the floors as well as the toaster oven. His demeanor in general was much less then professional ... border line scarey

Desired Settlement: Pay to have floors repaired and pay for toaster oven. I have lost over $700 in valuable antiques due to the sloppiness of this company.

Business Response:

****** ******,

This is in response to the complaint filed against O'Brien's Moving & Storage.  We moved ***** ******** on 3/26/14 and delivered her goods on 4/2/14.  We were unaware of any damages after we completed the move. Nothing was ever mentioned to our driver at the delivery and nothing was noted on her paper work that **** ******** signed the day of the delivery. Our driver Edward H**** has been with our compnay for upwards of 25 years. He stated to the claims adjuster that he did not damage her floor and does not remember anything about a toaster oven.  This was a interstate move which means that all claims must be processed with our corp.  office. We are an agent for ****** Van Lines as such the claim was sent to them to handle. Please find attached to this letter all corespondence pertaining to this claim. If you read the documents attached you can see that most of her claims were declined. Due mainly to the fact that she never claimed any damage on the day of delivery and many of the items were packed by owner, which we can not assume liability for.   

Based on what our driver has told us reguarding the move, we do agree with the response from our corp office. **** ******** was provided with information to pursue an arbitration program as an option to her claim. As of this date I am not aware if she in fact contacted that department or not.

Thank you for your time.

Aurora * A***

Acoounting Manager

O'Brien's Moving and Storage



Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I showed the floors to the driver the day the furniture was moved in.  He and his two helpers set up beds in the bedrooms.  Floors were in excellent condition ***** to movers arriving.  Driver did not deny scratching or gouging the floors.

I did not know when I signed the papers that it included the floors.  I also did not know when I signed those papers what condition ANYTHING was in....the driver shoved them in front of me...told me to sign them a threatening manner....the driver was crude and rude.


***** ********

6/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired OBriens to move us in May of 2013 after they gave us a detailed estimate. Long story short, they couldn't fit our items into the truck despite the fact that the sales person walked through our entire house to give us an accurate quote and we got rid of multiple items before we moved. We lived in a small rancher and their "expert" packers couldn't make it work. Their solution was to bring a truck AFTER our home closing the next day. The house needed to be empty and ready to hand over to the new owners first thing the next morning. They could not understand why that was not an option. We had to rent our own truck from **** *****. I was 7mo pregnant at the time and couldn't help my husband. He wound up loading heavy items, on his own, until 1am. O'Briens refused to refund us the $150 we paid out of pocket for the job they didn't finish. That seems like a small amount of money to make a customer happy, especially when my husband's labor was free. I have never been so angry and felt so cheated, which is why it took me so long to write to the BBB. We had a 2 day move, they loaded on day one and unloaded the next afternoon. The workers were great until it became an issue that they couldn't fit all of our items. They became unprofessional jerks who unloaded our items into the wrong rooms (all boxes were well labeled and couldn't have been misplaced). We have also not been able to find 3 boxes - 10 months later. We exchanged multiple emails, they offered us a discount, but also charged us an overage, meaning we paid the same amount we were quoted and they didn't actually complete the move that we hired them for. They refused to refund our comparatively small out of pocket expense.

Desired Settlement: I want other consumers to know that this company does not honor their quotes. Though responsive to my complaints, they did not provide solutions that were acceptable or feasible.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint filed against O'brien's, - Our Salesman went out and did an estimate which included an inventory of all of the items the shipper showed him as what was to be rmoved. On the day of the move two trucks were sent out, one was a straight truck which was more than large enough to move the amount of items that were estimated and the other vehicle was a cube van solely for the purpose of transporting personnel. The customer added many more items well outside and above of what was shown to the salesman as there were many items moved that were not listed on the inventory the salesman had done at the time of the estimate. Not only did our crew fill the large turck, but they also filled the smaller truck. The customer did send me pictures of what was left behind in the garage and the majority of what was left were items that were not packed or were flammable/combustible/corrosive containers which we cannot legally move.

We could not send someone until the following week because it was our peak season and every truck and man was dedicated to do other jobs. When the shipper insisted she wanted to be reimbursed $150.00 for renting a truck to move the remaining items themselves, I explained to her that not only were the majority of the remaing items things that we could not legally move, but had we been able to come back out, we would have had to charge her to do so, and that charge would have cost her far more than $150.00 rental fee she was asking for.

That is how we left it and we had not hear anything else from this customer since June of 2013.

Thank you for your time.

******* ******

Claims Manager

O'Brien's Moving & Storage

###-###-#### ex ***


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I'd like to assume that **. ****** is thinking of a different job that was performed by Obrien’s because his facts regarding our job are incorrect.  There was ONE truck that came to our house on loading day.  The driver and 2 movers all sat in the front.  This one truck was loaded, in my opinion poorly so all the items didn't fit, which is the crux of the complaint.  After we were informed that they couldn't complete the loading or get another truck out that day to finish the job, my husband and I went to **** ***** to rent a ****** truck.  That truck was loaded solely by my husband for hours the night of 5/23/13.  In addition to the ****** truck, both of our  SUVs were packed to capacity with what was left behind.  

****, our sales person, walked through our entire house including the basement and attic.  I specifically asked what would happen if the movers couldn't fit all of our items on the truck, he said that the size of the truck was "more than enough" to handle our move.  I know what was in my house, I know what was taken out before we moved and it is an outright lie to say that we added anything above what was estimated, period.   A customer should not be responsible for the incompetence of the loading or estimate.  We are not professional movers.  We hired a moving company and relied on their expertise when accepting the quote. 

This complaint does not include any flammable/combustible/corrosive containers, much of which we took care of in advance.  We had no expectation of those items being removed by Obrien’s and they made up a VERY small portion of our total move.      Many of these items were removed and recycled long before our move date. The truck we had to rent ourselves held many more items that were not, in fact, illegal for Obrien’s to move, they just ran out of room. I believe that this company makes it common practice to under estimate a job in order to be hired and then tells the customer that they are out of luck for any overflow (physically or monetarily)  if they don't except a supposed solution. 

We had our move and settlement the same day.  As explained, we could not wait until the following week for Obrien’s to move the rest of our items.  The house no longer belonged to us by 9am on 5/24/13. 

The price of our estimate was to cover a complete move.  Obrien’s did not complete the job, through no fault of the customer.  This is not about $150.  It is about a company not doing the right thing to rectify a problem.

After the first few calls on the day of the move, all of our correspondence with this company was via email.  I wanted to make sure everything that was said was in writing.  The first email from our sales person was very apologetic and gives a far more honest portrayal of what happened that day.  However, there was an implication that we were being difficult by not accepting their "solution".  There were too many items left behind to have loaded and moved the morning of our settlement before 9am.  Obrien’s was being unrealistic (as they apparently were regarding our estimate) and offered a "solution" that simply could not work.  Because they offered this "solution", which we told them was no solution at all, they absolved themselves from further responsibility.   I have all of the emails that were exchanged and I am happy to provide them to the BBB for review.


*** ******

Business Response:


I have spoken to *** ****** our Claims Manager about this claim.  He is certain that is how this job went. Although I find it quite strange that this customer would now send a complaint into your office almost 1 year later. We did not agree with this customer's request to be reimbursed for $150.00 back in May of 2013. Which she was told.  Now she decides to write to the Better Business Bureau to complain about O'Brien's services. If she was so upset by our decision to not pay her claim, I can't believe why she would wait 1 year to let us know that.


I'm am sorry that this customer feels like we did not complete her moving services. We did move her belongings and complete her move to the best of our ability on that day as Tim ****** explained to you in his previous letter. For the inconvenience of not being able to fit all their items on our 1st truck - the salesperson **** ********* deducted $170.00 off the the total amount due on 5/24/13. The total charges for the move were $1,696.65 and we accepted a payment of $1,526.65. taking off 10% for  the issue with the truck as payment in full. This was and will be the only refund the customer will be given.

Thank you for your time.


****** ****

Accounting Manager

O'Brien's Moving & Storage




Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This response from O'Brien's just confirms what a mess it was (is) to deal with this company.  I don't know ****** ****.  I've never spoken with her, but she clearly did not read any of my correspondence thoroughly.  I have clearly stated, more than once, that I do not want, nor do I expect any money back from this company. There was no request for reimbursement as part of my letter to the BBB.  From the original complaint:

Desired Settlement:  No settlement requested - for BBB information only 

I simply want the BBB to be aware of this issue, because any sucker like me could go to their website and see all 5 star reviews (not surprisingly, my review was not posted).  Again, as I stated previously, the gap in time of the event and me writing to the BBB was mainly because I still felt deeply cheated and angry about the situation and I had a brand new baby to care for very soon after the move.  In short, I had understandably more important things to worry about at the time.  The delay does not change the facts, nor the wrong that was done, nor the consistently terrible service. 

**. ****** is wrong, period.  I was there, my husband was there, **. ****** was not and the basic fact can't be changed just because he says so (there was ONE moving truck from O'Brien's). 

I just want to reiterate that the amount we paid was in excess of our actual estimate, we were not given a discount in actuality because we were charged an overage to the original estimate, which was then removed to show that they were giving us a discount.  There was no reimbursement for our excess cost (the truck) that remains (in our minds) O'Brien's responsibility (though again, not asking for money at this point).  We paid the full amount of the estimate without ever having the work completed.

That is the entire point . . . we paid the FULL amount for a job that was NEVER COMPLETED.   I don't understand how this could be an acceptable way to run a business and other consumers should beware.

Again, not about $150, it's about the principle.

Because I haven't requested anything, I don't need another response from O'Briens reiterating that they did nothing wrong.    We'll agree to disagree and my complaint will be on record with the BBB, which was the goal.

Thank you,

*** ******