BBB Accredited Business since

Majestic Moving & Storage, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (202) 270-4608 View Additional Phone Numbers 2009 Beaver Rd Ste F, Hyattsville, MD 20785

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Majestic Moving & Storage, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Majestic Moving & Storage, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2004 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business incorporated 02/27/2009 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1507820.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ovando Thelwell, Owner Mrs. Kanika Thelwell, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Kanika Thelwell, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Ovando Thelwell, Owner
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

According to information provided by the firm, it currently does local moves.

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 2009 Beaver Rd Ste F

    Hyattsville, MD 20785 (202) 270-4608

  • 2221 N Emerson St

    Arlington, VA 22207 (703) 538-6683


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Majestic Moving scheduled my pack, move, and unpack for December 31st 2014. They had said that ordinarily they do the packing the day before and the actual moving and unpacking on the scheduled day, but in this instance they would do it all in one day. I asked if they would be able to do all of it in a single day and they assured me that they would be able to as the houses are just down the street from each other. Packing and moving are part of their standard contract. They offered the unpacking service for an additional $375. On the day of the move they only had one truck which they filled up halfway through the day. The first truck was unloaded at the house in the afternoon and they went back to pack more and load it up again. By 7pm they had still not returned and the house was full of furniture that was still wrapped and nothing had been unpacked. My wife and I finally went and unwrapped all the furniture ourselves. When the movers returned to the house I was asked "Exactly how much unpacking do you actually want us to do?". The movers were noticeably worn down and by 10pm at least one of the team members had left because he had a party to go to. There were frequent comments about how much stuff we had even though it was the same amount or less than had been present when Majestic did the original walkthrough and estimate. They started doing things like overturning closets worth of stuff onto the floor of the new closet with it spilling out into the hallway so that I couldn't open my front door. At 10pm the team leader told me they were going to go. I asked about the unopened boxes in the office, my childrens' bedrooms, and elsewhere throughout the house. The only boxes we had asked them not to open were some of the kitchens ones. The team leader told me "It is late and everyone is very tired." I asked if they were coming back tomorrow and he said no. That night I unpacked many of the boxes myself, found signs of rushing such as throwing all of the contents from the bathroom into a single boxes with liquids leaking. Another box had contact lenses and draino in it. In the morning I looked outside and found my toddler's toys from the basement as well as part of my 7 month old's bed sitting in the backyard covered in frost. In the kitchen things that were in a box labeled living room had been placed into kitchen cabinets so we had to go through all the cabinets trying to find things. It would have been easier if they had just been left in the box. When I contacted Majestic about this I was in touch with Kanika T*******. She did not reply to emails initially (she said she was sick). When I did speak with her she said she would get back to me. When she did not get back to me I called and was told she was at lunch and would get back with me. When she hadn't called back that evening I called again. After several days she offered to reimburse me $190 to cover the unpacking they hadn't done. I told her that I not only wanted to be reimbursed for the unpacking that hadn't be done, but I wanted to be reimbursed for the unpacking that had been done badly enough that it actually took me additional time and money to remedy. She said she we ask the owner. When I had not heard back from her 24 hours later I informed her I would contact the BBB. Three days after that I still have not heard back from her and I am writing this letter. It appears to me that they should not have estimated that their team had the energy to move the whole house in a single day, that they should not have offered an unpacking service for a same day move, and that they should not have charged me for the service when it became obvious that their workers were too worn out and were doing what Kanika referred to in her email as work "that did not live up to [Majestic's] standards". I don't want to pay for the unpacking that they didn't do, and I don't want to pay for the unpacking that they did badly to the point of damaging my children's furniture and creating more work for me.

Desired Settlement: My house full of things was moved from one place to another and it looks like nothing was broken, so I have no complaint about that. I would like to be reimbursed for the unpacking service that Majestic was unable to properly provide.

Business Response:

From: <>
Date: Tue, Mar 24, 2015 at 1:13 PM
Subject: Complaint ******** Majestic Moving and Storage
To: *******

Majestic Moving and Storage
**** *** **** March 18, 2015
Arlington, VA *****
US DOT: *******
ICC MC: ******

Re claim number ********
This claim was settled with the customer. We refunded the customer for the unpacking service he was unhappy with.

Kanika T*******
Majestic Moving and Storage

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Majestic Moving & Storage, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)