BBB Accredited Business since

Blake & Sons Moving & Storage,Inc.

Phone: (301) 610-5310 Fax: (301) 610-5314 View Additional Phone Numbers 14225 Comus Rd, Clarksburg, MD 20871 http://www.blakemoving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blake & Sons Moving & Storage,Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Blake & Sons Moving & Storage,Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blake & Sons Moving & Storage,Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2000 Business started: 03/28/1995 in MD Business incorporated 03/28/1995 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 1031132.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas E Shioutakon, President Ms. Sharon Davis, Office Manager Ms. Shannon Shioutakon, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Shannon Shioutakon, GM
Principal: Mr. Thomas E Shioutakon, President
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Movers - Office Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Supplies Movers

Alternate Business Names
Blake and Sons Moving & Storage
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2014 I contracted Blake & Sons Moving & Storage to move my large pieces of furniture from my home to an apartment. Because my husband and I had separated, two crews were requested to move each of our furniture into our respective apartments. Two crews arrived at the house on November 14, 2014 to move us. My husband’s crew arrived first, followed by my crew. The first crew finished first and then my crew finished. All in all, the move took about 4-1/2 hours. Because the crews only took the large pieces of furniture, they left boxes and other unpacked items at the house for us to finish packing. It was not until later that afternoon that I remembered that I had left a small change purse that had belonged to my stepfather on the corner of a small table in my bedroom. The change purse contained 3 gold coins dating back to the 1860’s. Altogether they had an estimated value of approximately $3,000. I went back to look for the change and was unable to find it. I realized then that I had forgotten to put it away. I looked all over the room and the house and was unable to find it. I called Blake & Sons to let them know that it was missing. However, I told them that I would continue to look for it as I unpacked my boxes. I also asked my son and husband if they had seen the change purse. Neither had. While my husband and I are divorcing, I had no reason to suspect him because it was not a contentious divorce. After a week of unpacking and looking for the purse, I called Blake & Sons to let them know that I believed that someone in his crew had stolen the change purse. Unfortunately, I had no proof that one of the men had stolen the change purse, but there was no other person other than the crews, my husband and son who had come into the house. To further complicate matters, I had never documented nor photograph the coins to prove that I had indeed owned them. Mr. S*********, the owner, said he had spoken to the crews. He said that everyone denied having stolen the change purse and that there was nothing else that he could do. I did call the police to report the theft. They sent an officer who wrote up a report. A few days later I called Mr. S********* to let him know that all I wanted was the coins back. I suggested he give an envelope to each crew member for someone to put the gold coins in and drop it off in a safe place, no questions asked. Mr. S********* would then be able to return the coins to me, no questions asked. Unfortunately, I never heard back from Mr. S*********. While I realize that this would not have occurred had I remembered to put the change purse away, I feel that Blake & Sons was responsible for having an employee who is a thief. Ironically, I hired Blake & Sons because Mr. S********* had emphasized that his employees were long-time employees and that he had confidence in their integrity and honesty. Unfortunately for me, someone in his crew turned out to be very untrustworthy. As a result, I felt it was important to notify the Better Business Bureau of the incident with Blake & Sons Moving & Storage.

Desired Settlement: To have my coins returned, but that is highly unlikely,

Business Response: We are very sorry that *** *******'s coins were not located.  As she indicated in her complaint, she did report that the coins were missing, and we spoke with each member of both crews who performed moves for her family.  Each member indicated that they did not take coins or any items from the home and all were willing to submit to a lie detector test and comply with any police investigation.  We have no reason to believe that any of our employees are thieves, and are confident in their integrity and honesty.  Our rating with the BBB as well as our reputation in the industry support this. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blake & Sons Moving & Storage,Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)