BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Universal Movers LLC

Phone: (301) 685-5462 View Additional Phone Numbers 14650 Southlawn Ln, Rockville, MD 20850 http://www.universalmovers.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Universal Movers LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Universal Movers LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Universal Movers LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 12, 2011 Business started: 09/08/2010 in MD Business started locally: 09/08/2010 Business incorporated: 09/07/2010 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 2077375.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dean Pinto, Office Manager Mr. Moshe Pinto, Owner Mr. Omri Pinto Sr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Pinto, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Moshe Pinto, Owner
Principal: Mr. Omri Pinto Sr., Owner
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Universal Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

  • 14650 Southlawn Ln

    Rockville, MD 20850 (301) 685-5462 (888) 823-0340 (301) 661-6787

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 661-6787(Phone)
  • (888) 823-0340(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2014 Delivery Issues
10/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I contacted the moving company for a quote. We received the quote and were pleased with it a month before we moved. We were quoted $340 for a large 2 bedroom move. We paid the deposit. My wife called to confirm the move on Wednesday September 4th. We were assured that everything was still on schedule, and that we would receive a phone on Friday the 6th to confirm. That did not happen. On Saturday, September 7th a small box truck arrived. My husband and I were shocked. The driver *****(****) said that they sent the wrong truck. Ar this point we were in a bind because we only had the weekend to move. My wife and I showed them what was to be moved. All of the boxes were labeled. Orange labels with 2nd bedroom, White labels with MB written on them for Master Bedroom. And boxes for the Kitchen. I was told by ***** that because it was a small truck they would have to make 2 trips. Before we started ***** said that we needed to sit down and go over the contract. He said the starting time was 9:30. I was told that I had to sign there packing price sheet before they started. I told him that we only wanted what we already had packed up to be moved and that we did not want additional packing. He says that it was requirement because they have to protect our property from bedbugs. And that they could not move leather couches without them being shrink wrapped. I have plenty of pictures to show that we already had our boxes secure, we used Rubbermaid bins with the exception of a few cardboard boxes that were already taped up. We had to tell them several times to stop taping things up that were already taped. Also, they repeatedly kept shrink wrapping items that were separated and not to be packed. I told the two helpers several times. They even taped my trash can which only opens when you step on the pedal. Even our brand new boxes of dishes and glasses that were shrink wrapped already with the price tag one them, they still taped it up. (I have pictures). Long story short they finally finished at around 3:45. ***** said that he was going to write everything up, he gave us the bill and it was over $1100! He said because they had to tape everything and packing materials. I was livid! He began to say that the company needs to change their policy and not to get the BBB involved. And that they do this bait and switch all the time.I told him that I wanted to speak with his supervisor. He called him and the supervisor was very rude and would not allow me to speak, I told him what our quote was and that now they are charging us three times the amount. He said why dis we sign the firm then? I told him I was told we had to! He called me a liar. I showed our quote to *****. I gave the phone back to *****. ***** told him that we were saying that we were going to contact the BBB. He dropped the price to $855. Which we fill is still to much if they hadn't been taping everything they would have been done on 4 hours instead of 7 1/2. I would like to send all of my pictures as well.

Desired Settlement: I only want to be charged for 4 hours of labor minus my deposit of $85.

Business Response: The customer didn't even pay the full amount.

Universal movers charge him 85$ diposite 
And 320$ on cash .
So before he complain he better check if he pay for the service he got.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scheduled an appointment was set to arrive between 1-3pm. I hadn't received a call or anything by 2pm so I called their dispatch department and they claimed they would call me back with information.I waited 20 min without anyone calling me, so I called back and they informed me that they were running late because the last job was bigger than expected and that this was their busiest time of the year. They had told me that the movers would not be at my place until 5pm. When it got close to 5pm, I called again because no one had contact from anyone to let me know they be there soon. They had then told me its going to be another hour (arrival time would be 6pm). Then again around 6pm I called again and that they would be another hour till they arrived. Each time I called, they kept making comments like we will be there tonight as if they were trying to get me to reschedule. The movers arrived at 6:50 to start moving. They told me that they would give me a good deal on the packing materials since they were late.They charged me $141 for 1 box, 4 rolls of tape, wrapping my mattress in plastic and to cover my items in their pads/blankets. By the time the they finishing the moving everything it was nearly 10pm. The head mover claimed they would give me a discount on this and signed the paperwork to finish the job. I signed it and asked them to have them call me before charging my card. He said he would make sure. The next morning, they charged my card without calling and then I called them and they never apologized for the 5 hour delay or to do anything to make up for the time. I told them that I wanted a discount since i ended up waiting nearly 7 hours for them to even show up and start and that we were not even finished to 10 at night. They said they would talk to her manager and call me back that afternoon or the next morning. Once again, no call back. I called back and she wouldn't do anything and just keep saying reasons for their delay, blaming the last customer or they time of the year. If they are that busy, then they shouldn't scheduling me for that time and the acting like its everyone else's fault. By the end of everything, they only will refund $50. They said it should be refunded within 5 min. I am still waiting for the refund 8 hours later. (this outcome came from today)

Desired Settlement: Better discount, such as an hour, or free packing materials used and ownership of the issue. Instead I felt like it was everyone else's issue that they didn't come on-time.

Consumer Response:

**** ******** ****************************
4:04 PM (2 minutes ago)
to me
******
>
> Thank you for taking my call.  After placing the complaint in, the company had contacted me back and resolved my issues with the service I received. They had apologized for the poor customer service and items that were said that made me dishearten with their service.
>
> Thank you
> ***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Universal Movers for our move on April 2nd, 2013. First, the time was agreed for 1-2pm, they were to arrive. They arrived at 3pm. Then they were very careless about our belongings, throwing boxes that were clearly marked fragile. They added a 3rd moving guy without our consent which we had to pay extra for. One mover was on his cell phone half the time and not working when he was on the job. Then they were told there would be an extra stop, at the last minute we were told to pay $75.00 more for the extra trip to storage. These men were very unprofessional. The final problem was that they did not finish the job. It was 8pm and they said they had to leave but the job was not done. We had to finish the job.

Desired Settlement: I paid $520.00 for their horrible service. I want atleast half of my money back because of the stuff that was broken and for us having to finish the job.

Business Response: Universal movers are very sorry abut our customer experience if the customer send us picture of the damage item we will know better for how much money we should refund him 

Out Custer can send the picture to ************************

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Universal Movers is attempting to apolgize for the poor customer experience.  Damaged items were not the only aspects of our poor experience.  Our movers arrived at close to 3 pm, when they were scheduled to arrive at 1 pm.  We also received a call on the day of our move offering a different price with an additional mover.  I am glad we did not accept this offer because we would have been screwed over even worse.  In conversation with one of the movers, he mentions that he is working "on the humble" as he said.  HE WAS NOT AN EMPLOYEE OF UNIVERSAL MOVERS.  HE WAS APPROACHED WHILE WALKING ON THE STREET AND ASKED IF HE WANTED TO MAKE SOME MONEY.  In attempt to sort of make up for being late, a suggestion was given to the supervisor or leader of the movers to go back to the old apartment before they left and he says they cannot because they have to go home.  Sorry to say we do not have pictures to share of damaged items.  This is our first time using a moving company and we hoped we would not have this to deal with.  I can promise you that our next move will not be assited by Universal Movers.

We have discarded the damaged items, the glass collection that was over 30 years old is in the trash.  We are still looking for some reimbursement, not just for the damaged items.


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: universal mover believe the customer is always right and refund ****** ******* for amount of 260$ like she ask for .

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues