BBB Accredited Business since

Universal Movers LLC

Phone: (301) 685-5462 View Additional Phone Numbers 14650 Southlawn Ln, Rockville, MD 20850


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides complete moving and storage services.  Local, long distance, domestic moving, storage, and more.  Serving both commercial and residential accounts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Universal Movers LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Universal Movers LLC include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Universal Movers LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 12, 2011 Business started: 09/08/2010 in MD Business started locally: 09/08/2010 Business incorporated 09/07/2010 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 2077375.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dean Pinto, Office Manager Mr. Moshe Pinto, Owner Mr. Omri Pinto Sr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean Pinto, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Moshe Pinto, Owner
Principal: Mr. Omri Pinto Sr., Owner
Business Category

Movers House & Building Movers

Alternate Business Names
Universal Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

  • 14650 Southlawn Ln

    Rockville, MD 20850 (888) 823-0340 (301) 661-6787 (301) 685-5462

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2016 Delivery Issues
3/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I move from Virginia to SC an hire Universal Moving & Storage to complete the move of my townhouse furniture to new location. Original price was 2750 dollars for everything up to 5000 lbs. I had: 1. One king be, 2 night stands and small dresser. 2. One queen bed and 1 night stand; and small dressers. 3 One small dresser. 4. Two bookcases with glass doors an books. 5. One desk an one computer desk. 6 One file cabinet. One china cabinet, table and 6 chairs. 7. Two office chairs. 8. Clothes. small items for kitchen an sport. 9. Documents in boxes. 10. Refrigerator an sport goods, 2 bikes. 11. One couch an love seat. 12. One massage chair. All items were boxes in my own boxes up to 95% at least. Only large items needed wrapping. Items were picked on 6/26, an only yesterday, on 7/8 were delivered. Many items are missing and others came damaged. I was promised that my things will not be moved, but will be delivered in the same track as they were picked. It was not the case. Track came with mix of items for multiple destinations. With service I have the following issues: I have the following concerns with the service that was provided: 1. Not all my items were delivered on 7/8. Please confirm via email when remaining items will arrive. 2. I was billed before delivery is complete an with No authorization from me. I provided authorization only to be billed for first deposit in the amount of $275 dollars. Total price was $4828 that was charge on 7/7, I do not believe it is right to be done PRIOR to delivery. I was charged for 7960 lbs, and I do not believe it is right weight. Scaling per representative was one on 7/7, however, no documentation supporting this was provided. I only received form with written numbers an I believe they can write anything they want, but this has to be confirmed by firm from the weight station, I think it is highly over-estimated. and also included packing material ($450), were they used a little of plastic to wrap big items and reusable blankets. The original propose stated that packing an unpacking included, nothing was state about additional charges for materials. Representative promised to send paperwork over email on 7/9, but did not do it. 3. Please provide the confirmation on the weight you charged me for. 4. Some of the items were damaged due to bad unprofessional handling. Misha (representative who handled inventory)literally broke leg of the ; I am not sure what was the reason to have it removed, as another leg he left attached. Now , this leg cannot be reattached. Please confirm if you will be fixing it, or if I should proceed and have it repaired an your company will reimburse me for the repair. 5. Piece of back panel on piano is broken as well. 6. Finish on the piano got damaged I guess due to inappropriate storage conditions. 7. I was charge for materials, while in document below it is state, that this is all included in price. 95% of everything was packed an boxed. We had only large items for wrapping. Even that was not one appropriately an got broken, items got scratched an dirty. 5. One dresser had broken front panel. I disagree with charges for packing 6. Expensive kitchen stools got damaged, because, they were mishandled an were not wrapped when picked up. I just ordered two new ones to match to I already have. Finish on my two old chairs is completely damaged. Please confirm if you would like to repair or you would like me to handle repair an send you the bill. PS The total price for new stools with swinging seat including delivery was $524 dollars. I would nee to send my old chairs to Massachusetts for repair, which will be costly as well. 7. I am missing my office chairs an one of them is for $800 from healthy back store. Please make sure to deliver it in good shape. Overall all experience was extremely disappointing ...not to mention terribly long delay with delivery.

Desired Settlement: I would like the following: 1. To receive all missing items in goo shape. 2. Charges to be adjusted for wrapping materials as they were included in original proposal. 3. Receive confirmation for weight or if not, would like to be responsible only for originally promised price. At this point I am disputing charges with my credit car company. 4. Damaged items to be repaired.

Business Response: Universal movers customer service will call the costumer on Monday in order to resolve the complaint 

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The actual amount I was charged far exceeded the estimate I was provided. In addition to the $380 I was quoted, there was $159 in additional packing fees. At no point did the workers inform me prior to wrapping any pieces of furniture that there would be an additional fee, or ask prior to wrapping whether I would like the pieces to be wrapped beyond the blankets that are included in the hourly fee. Additionally, one piece of furniture that was wrapped in blankets and plastic has a significant scratch on the top, so either the wrapping was insufficient to protect it during the move, or the scratch occurred due to damage by the movers before it was wrapped or after the wrapping was removed. I contacted the company by email on Monday, April 13 to notify them of this issue. I sent a follow-up email on April 14, and received the following reply: "Hi *---- (name redacted), I was out of the office and I just saw your email. Let me find out regarding the charges and I will let you know, Sharon" I did not receive another reply following that email. I sent another reminder email on April 16 and received no reply.

Desired Settlement: Because I did not authorize the additional packing materials, I would like to be refunded $159 for those unauthorized fees I was charged. Additionally, I would like to be appropriately compensated for the damage to the piece of furniture that was significantly and noticeably scratched.

Business Response: Universal movers will refund 159$ 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Sarah Dickinson

 

From: ***** ********* <***************************>
Date: Mon, Apr 20, 2015 at 5:45 PM
Subject: Complaint ******** resolved
To: *******@mybbb.org


Good afternoon *****,

Per our phone call this afternoon, I wanted to notify you that Universal Movers has offered to resolve the issue in my complaint ******** to my satisfaction, and that complaint may be designated as resolved.

Thank you!
***** *********
************


1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received moving services from Universal moving on 15 Jan 2015, and I have many issues with the services they provided. When the movers arrived, the Foreman, named Rambo, introduces himself and then he asked to use my restroom in the apartment I am moving out of. He stayed in my restroom for a while and then came out like nothing was wrong, but after the job was completed, I came back to the old apartment to clean, and found my toilet clogged to the brim with ****! He clogged my toilet to the point that maintenance had to be called to unclog it, but that's not the main issue. I was required to place a $110 dollar deposit that would either be returned or deducted from the total cost, and throughout the whole day, Rambo assured me that for a small job like my apartment, the cost will not be over $400, so I said great! So once in the new apartment after the move was complete, he says to me, "you're going to like this" and he showed me the final cost of the move which came to $466, but minus the $110 for the advance deposit that I placed, made the balance due total at $356. As I stated earlier, Rambo assured me of this price all throughout the move, so I checked my account a couple hours later and I saw that they deducted $356 from my account, and the advance deposit still read "on hold", so I assumed it would be placed back into my account the next day. I woke up, checked my account and the $110 dollar advance deposit went from "on hold" to an actual withdrawal! I called the company and explained that they owe me $110, but she stated some transportation cost in which Rambo assured me that the cost would be included in the $356 price, so I explained all the issues I had with the service: They forgot the packing paper to pack my kitchen items, so they had to use my CLOTHES to pack the items, and Rambo said if they didn't they couldn't move my kitchen stuff, even though it was there fault for leaving the paper! Also, they broke the hinge on my desk and didn't tell me about it, and just sat the broken hinge on my futon as if I wouldn't notice. So, I emailed the company with pictures of the receipt where it states the $356 balance due, along with my deposit of $110, and the pictures of my broken hinge. I asked in the email that I'd like the damaged property form to file for my broken desk, but I have yet to receive a reply. This company must assume that I'm going to let this slide; however, I'm willing to go as far as I can with this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $110 and also compensation for my broken office desk, which values at $50.58.

Business Response: Hi sir please contact me at in order to resolved the issue **********

Thanks 
***** 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

12/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Universal Movers to move our house from DC to *******, California. We were assured that Universal handled the move and didn't subcontract to other companies. We hired Universal for a full service move, to pack and move our items. The packers did not pack our things properly (did not use dish boxes, or padding) and many items arrived broken and damaged. THe packers did not come prepared with enough boxes and we had to supply the boxes and moving materials and wound up packing 2 of our 4 rooms. In addition the movers who arrived with our items were not employees of Universal but were a subcontractor of an undisclosed company (they would not tell us who they worked for). The movers refused to move the items into the rooms where things belonged as promised, nor did they assemble furniture as promised. Additionally, the movers hired 2 drunk people from our local park to help move the items from the truck into the house and when we objected, the mover threatened to leave the stuff on the sidewalk and drive away. The moving crew was abusive and threatening from the moment they arrived at our house and refused to let us inventory the items being delivered - stating that it was not their problem if we received all our property or not. We are missing 7 boxes of items, and a television. Additionally, the mattress was not packed in a box and arrived wet and dirty and unusable. Dishes and art work arrived broken and damaged. The entire move was a disaster and people should know that Universal Movers does not deliver the services they say they will provided.

Desired Settlement: We are willing to pay half of our $5000 moving bill - $2,500 only. they did not provide the packing service we were billed for ($800), and many of our items were damaged (mattress, $1,000, and artwork and dishes $800) or did not arrive (7 boxes and a TV - estimated value 700).

Business Response: We will contact the customer on Monday in order to resolved the issue 

Business Response:

Omri P***************@**********

10:31 AM (1 hour ago)
tome
The customer dispute 75% from the bill ($3604).

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I was sent a notice stating that there is a response from Universal Moving but I do not see a response here just a few words thrown together. 

Can you please send me the business response - the only response I see here does not make sense.


Regards,

******** ******








9/13/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/22/2014, my wife and I had contracted with Universal Movers LLC, to provide a local move from ******** **** Md to *********, MD. This move took over 10 hours. The drivers were sent to **** Pa, instead. This company attempted to charge us for this mistake. The flat rate of $120/hr was for a 3 hour minimum. The movers were slow, spent a lot of time talking on their cell phones instead of doing their job as described. What should have been a simple move turned into an extremely stressful and very exspensive project. We were overcharged, we are finding broken items, and feel that this company should reimburse us for at least half of what we paid for this horrible service. I have moved several other times and have never experienced such terrible service. Most of our belongiinga were packed. There was no reason why this move should have been the disaster it turned out to be!

Desired Settlement: I want at least half of what I paid for this lousy service refunded to me which would equal a refund of $639.50

Business Response: I will contact the customer on Monday in order to resolved that issue 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Universal Movers LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart