BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Quality Services Moving & Delivery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Quality Services Moving & Delivery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Quality Services Moving & Delivery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 01/11/1994 in VA Business started locally: 01/11/1994 Business incorporated 12/03/1996 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 819924.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Graves, President Ms. Ann Bretzke, Vice President Ms. Ellen Knowles, Claims Department Mr. Kevin Smith, VP of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Graves, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Ellen Knowles, Claims Department
Business Category

Movers Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving & Storage Company Delivery Service Moving Services - Labor & Materials

Alternate Business Names
Quality Midwestern Holdings, Inc. Quality Services Moving Quality Services Moving and Delivery
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 10595 Furnace Rd Ste 140

    Lorton, VA 22079 (888) 776-6846 (703) 495-8900

  • PO Box 116

    Newington, VA 22122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2013 I contracted the services of Quality Services Moving & Delivery because my wife and I were moving to Brazil. I payed them $10695.00. They came to my house in August 2013 and packed all my household goods to ship in a twenty foot shipping container from port in *********,Maryland. Once the container arrived in ******, Brazil, their agent in Brazil was to pick the container from customs and deliver it to our destination. My wife found out that Quality Services' Brazilian agent was dishonest, so my wife got our container herself from customs in ******, Brazil and she also hired someone to deliver it to our destination. Since I did not use the services of their Brazilian agent in Brazil, I am suppose to get a refund. In 10/18/13 I sent an e-mail to Mike S***** Vice President of sales at Quality Services Moving & Delivery about my refund. His reply was quote " I will check on your file,to see if an audit on all of the charges / payments has been completed, and notify you of the findings." end quote. Since I did not hear from him almost a year later, I decided to call him and he did not answer his phone.When I finally got a hold of him he gave me excuses about I should get a cancellation receipt from their Brazilian agent. I told him I had no dealings with their agent and that is not my job, he should get that receipt himself. I tried calling Mike S***** many other times after that but he never answered my calls nor my e-mails.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Quality Services Moving & Delivery to give me a refund as soon as possible.

Business Response:

In response to shippers complaint ID #******** and our investigation into the matter we find the following.

While we provided packing and loading services for shippers household goods (hhg), we did not arrange the delivery of shippers hhg to Brazil.  The *** arranged the delivery to Brazil.  The *** hired the Brazilian agent to deliver hhg, unpack and remove debris at destination.  The Brazilian agent is not related to Quality Services Moving , nor a representative of Quality Services Moving.  While **** ************* elected not to use the Brazilian agent for her delivery of hhg this is a matter that needs to be taken up with the ***.

Regards,

***** K******

Claims

Quality Services Moving

10595 Furnace Rd #140

Lorton, VA 22079

###-###-####

*****@qsmoving.com

www.qsmoving.com

           

This electronic communication and any files transmitted with it, or attached to it, are confidential and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, legally privileged, protected by privacy laws, or otherwise restricted from disclosure to anyone else. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited. If you received this e-mail in error, please return the e-mail to the sender, delete it from your computer and destroy any printed copy of it.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:When I payed Quality Services Moving, it was for door to door service. They are responsible for every aspect of the moving and the companies they may have used. I only had dealings with Quality Services Moving and I do not know any company named ***. As I said in my earlier e-mail to BBB, Mike S***** was suppose to be checking on my refund but now they are changing their story. This is becoming very much like a dishonest business practice.


Regards,

*** *************








Business Response:

In looking into this matter we found that *** ************* acknowledged via email receipt of a refund.  Should you need additional information please let me know.

Regards,

***** K******

Claims

Quality Services Moving

10595 Furnace Rd #140

Lorton, VA 22079

###-###-####

*****@qsmoving.com

www.qsmoving.com

   

This electronic communication and any files transmitted with it, or attached to it, are confidential and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, legally privileged, protected by privacy laws, or otherwise restricted from disclosure to anyone else. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited. If you received this e-mail in error, please return the e-mail to the sender, delete it from your computer and destroy any printed copy of it.

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** *************

9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quality Services Moving and Delivery came to our house in Virginia and loaded their truck with all of our belongings on July 28. We were told that our stuff would be delivered to our new house in Texas between 4 and 10 days. Today is day 11, and the movers still do not have a driver to deliver our belongings. Every time we call them they tell us that we will get a call back, but they never do. All of our furnishings and clothes are still on the truck in VA, and one of our vehicles that they are supposed to deliver is still in VA as well. They can't seem to tell us when we will have our stuff. We are living in an empty house, sleeping on the floor and eating on paper plates. Even our child's albuterol machine is on the truck. I am afraid that the boiling heat in the truck is also affecting our electronics (tv's) and perhaps even our nice wood furniture. Can they keep our stuff indefinitely?? They can't even get a driver for the delivery. What can we do???

Desired Settlement: We want all of our furniture, belongings, and car delivered in good condition asap!

Business Response:

*** **** advised us that he would be driving to Texas.  He was not sure of his arrival date in Texas because he was traveling with his children.  *** **** was asked to let us know when he arrived in Texas.  When he notified us he was given a 4 to 10 day spread for his household goods delivery.  We do not send a truck on the road until the customer is at the delivery address.  *** **** spoke with our long distance dispatcher on August 8, 2014.  The dispatcher told *** **** that the truck should arrive in Texas  Tuesday (August 12, 2014) or Wednesday (August 13, 2014).   *** ****’s household goods were delivered and signed for on August 13, 2014.

 

We were surprised to find that *** **** filed a complaint.  There were multiple communications throughout his long distance move.  On Saturday, August 9, 2014, *** ****’s parents came to our warehouse facility and was given a one-hour tour.  During the tour they witnessed the loading.  They were very pleased with our services, complimented the professionalism of our crew members and told our drivers to be safe on the road.  Upon leaving they thank us for allowing them the opportunity to take the tour.   

 

If you have any questions or need additional information please let me know.

 

Regards,

 

Ellen K******

Claims

Quality Services Moving

10595 Furnace Rd #140

Lorton, VA 22079

###-###-####

******************

www.qsmoving.com

 

     

This electronic communication and any files transmitted with it, or attached to it, are confidential and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, legally privileged, protected by privacy laws, or otherwise restricted from disclosure to anyone else. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited. If you received this e-mail in error, please return the e-mail to the sender, delete it from your computer and destroy any printed copy of it.

6/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 4, 2013, Quality Services Moving was contracted by ****** movers to pack my home for shipment to Hawaii. At the time of hire I requested a Quality Control Specialist be present during our move to manage some high value items and insure our shipment would meet all moving carriers insurance guidelines. Day of move, a two man crew arrived when the day prior I was promised a three man crew which would include a Quality Control Specialist. Prior to allowing the two man crew to begin work, I requested Quality Services Moving send a Quality Control Specialist to oversea the packing process. To address my request, they sent a manager acting on behalf of Quality Control, along with a manager in training. During the packing there were several items in original manufacturer packaging. I requested these item be shipped in any means that would fully comply with the moving carriers insurance guidelines. This would include unpacking the items and repacking them. After further inspection by the Quality Services Moving manager, one specific item was authorized to be shipped in original packaging. As such Quality Services Moving accepted full liability for the packed item just as they had packed it themselves.

Desired Settlement: Upon delivery to my location in Hawaii, the item in questions(an entertainment unit) was damaged. After filing a claim against the damage item, ****** Movers the original moving company who contracted the packing services out to Quality Services Moving, denied the claim stating the item was packaged in it's original packaging and therefore did not meet their insurance standards for transported goods. Ultimately it was QSM who made the decision to ship and therefore they remain liable for damages

Business Response:

*** *******,

 

We are responding to Complaint Notice ******** filed by ***** *****.  In our investigation into this matter we did not find a customer/shipper by the name ***** *****.  We have no record of this person.  If you have any questions please don't hesitate to let me know.

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

Claims

Quality Services Moving

10595 Furnace Rd #140

Lorton, VA 22079

###-###-####

******************

www.qsmoving.com

 

 

 

 

This electronic communication and any files transmitted with it, or attached to it, are confidential and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, legally privileged, protected by privacy laws, or otherwise restricted from disclosure to anyone else. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited. If you received this e-mail in error, please return the e-mail to the sender, delete it from your computer and destroy any printed copy of it.

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: All pertinent details for Quality Services to locate my customer file were filed within the original BBB complaint. Quality Service and Moving is simply stalling in an attempt for the time limit to run out on submitting complaints against this carrier. In case Quality Service and Moving overlooked the original shipping file number is ***********.  The should be able to locate the file easily via this file number.  Shipment was a spouse military move and the shipment was for my household goods. Quality Service and Moving is well aware of the situation and have been supplied multiple copies of my Power of Attorney in the matter but simply refuse to respond or action a claim against them.


Regards,

***** *****








Business Response:

*** *******,

 

Thank you for forwarding a new Power of Attorney listing ***** ***** as a representative of military member ****** **** *****.  In our review of **. *****’s documentation we did find an expired Power of Attorney.  Due to the expiration of such, by law we were not able to speak nor provide any information to **. ***** regarding **. *****.

 

**. *****’s shipment is a Defense Personal Property Program (DP3) shipment that has to follow Surface Deployment and Distribution Command’s (SDDC) guidelines and regulations when filing a claim.  The Transportation Service Provider (TSP) for this shipment is ****** Forwarding.  Per SDDC all claims are to be submitted directly through the TSP as required via the move.mil website.  All claims are settled by the TSP regardless of what companies are hired to service any or all portions of the shipment.  If a TSP deems a claim is due/valid they will close out the claim with the shipper and notify all parties involved of their retribution due to the TSP.   When the TSP advised **. ***** his claim was denied, his next step would have been to go to the Military Claims Office (MCO) with his rebuttal.  Upon the MCO’s completion of their review, the MCO would notify the TSP of a change, if any, to the claim. 

 

Quality Services Moving has no knowledge, authority or ability to address **. *****’s claim and/or claim rebuttal.  **. ***** needs to address his concerns with the MCO.  This is a matter between **. *****, TSP and MCO not the Better Business Bureau.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated. 

 

Regards,

 

***** *******

Claims

Quality Services Moving

10595 Furnace Rd #140

Lorton, VA 22079

###-###-####

******************

www.qsmoving.com

 

 

             

 

 

 

This electronic communication and any files transmitted with it, or attached to it, are confidential and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain information that is confidential, legally privileged, protected by privacy laws, or otherwise restricted from disclosure to anyone else. If you are not the intended recipient or the person responsible for delivering the e-mail to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited. If you received this e-mail in error, please return the e-mail to the sender, delete it from your computer and destroy any printed copy of it.

 

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Quality Moving and Storage were supplied, multiple times, appropriate Power of Attorneys but simply refused to only respond. Mistakenly one, out of seven, Power of Attorney's was expired but immediately replaced within 24 hours of Quality Moving and Storage notification. Zero acknowledgement or action was ever received after an updated Power of Attorney was provided, nor has Quality Moving and Storage responded to the six previous, non-expired, Power of Attorneys.

Furthermore Quality Moving and Storage outline process only applies for the active military member and fails to acknowledge the civilian complaint as filed. The household goods moved were the civilian spouses, not the military members. As such traditional means for grievances still apply.  As a civilian, military guidelines have no application or jurisdiction for my complaint.  Fundamentally it's Quality Moving and Storage who failed to properly pack and secure my goods per my instructions. Their negligence has lead to damage which can solely be contributed to Quality Moving and Storage not any other forwarder or ****** Movers as outlined in their rebuttal.

Regards,

***** *****








9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several aspects of my moving agreement with Quality Services Moving (noted in both the moving estimate of 5/17/13 and a company email from 5/20/13) were not fulfilled. Specifically, a dedicated truck was not provided for our move, and a 2-man crew did not assist with the move-in. Instead, the household goods were combined with items for other moves, which resulted in damage to a desk and several kitchen items. The "crew" in ****** consisted of one adult male (his sixth grade brother was also present). Please note that the reason for filing this complaint now involves a mistaken billing by Quality Services Moving (QSM), which was detected by my credit card company. I attempted to clarify this situation in emails to the company on July 7, 2013 and July 8, 2013, as well as a call to the company's office. Neither **** (*****************), the vice president of the company, nor ******* ******* (********************), moving consultant, responded to my requests for assistance. Consequently, I believed I could not trust QSM or their representatives any longer, and so I waited to file this complaint until all bills had cleared from the credit card used in the transaction, after which I cancelled the account.

Desired Settlement: The bill should be adjusted to account for the fact that the services were not provided as promised.

Business Response: September 17, 2013 **. ***** ******Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DCWashington, DC 20005                 RE:          ****** ***** *****, Complaint # ******* Dear **. ******, This letter acknowledges receipt of your letter regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  In review of **. *****’s complaint, a thorough documentation review in connection with his move was performed.  **. ***** was then contacted by our Vice President of Sales to discuss his concerns and an amicable agreement was reached.  **. ***** was happy with our response and the resolution to this matter.  He will be contacting your office to withdraw his complaint. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated. Sincerely, ***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ###-###-####F: ###-###-####
****************** Relocation Intelligence™ 

8/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently re-located from Washington, DC to ****** *******, Fl, and I had selected Quality Services Moving, Inc. (QSM) as the carrier for this move. This selection was based on the estimate provided to me in February 2013, when estimator ** from QSM came to my ******* **** condo to visually inspect my belongings. I made it clear on the phone beforehand as well as in person that I was seeking a "not to exceed" estimate and nothing *** said on the phone or in person lead me to believe I would be getting anything different. In fact, he said "I'm usually pretty good at this" (i.e. giving accurate estimates) and "I'm usually within 10%." This was consistent with QSM documentation which I later received stating I "may not be required to pay more than 110 percent" of the estimate. At the time of his on-site estimate, I asked him several times if he wanted to see the boxes of books I had in the basement storage room, the items I had in cabinets and closets, or anything further specific that would help provide a more accurate estimate of weight. Each time he declined -- even declining to visually inspect my storage closet, which was a mere 30 feet down the hall. The "Total Estimate" I received, which included a hold/storage fee of several days, as well as all crating, packing, and moving charges, was $3,836.13 (i.e. $3,661.13 initial estimate plus hold fee of $175). I made a deposit of $360 to a credit card (and all subsequent payments were made to the same card). The movers arrived as scheduled on June 5, 2015. On that date, my credit card was charged 3 times for a total of $2,144.30. The same movers (team lead by "*****") delivered my belongings on June 12, 2013. On that date, I paid another $1,892.05 (bringing my Total Payments to $4,396.55). This payment was made after several phone calls between the deliverers and the QSM office, which was attempting to charge me an even higher amount due to the fact that the actual weight of my belongings was significantly more than the estimate **, with his professional expertise, had arrived at. He estimated that my belongings would weigh 2,672 lbs. However, it turned out his estimate was grossly inaccurate, with my belongings actually weighing 4,380 lbs -- a difference of 1,708 lbs and representing a mis-calculation of 64%!!!!!). Such a gross error in estimation makes one wonder whether the weights were accurate, or whether ** is simply unskilled in reasonably estimating the weight of household items. I subsequently received an invoice stating that the "Total Charges" were $4,794.84 and incorrectly stating that the amount already "Collected" was only $3,725.60. In fact (as noted above) the total amount collected by this time was already $4,396.55 ... a difference of $670.75 which was not credited to my account. I responded to QSM by email stating (1) that the invoice was inaccurate and it failed to reflect all payments "Collected," and (2) that I had already paid not just "110 percent" of the estimate, but had paid 115 percent of that estimate, and that I thought this was more than fair. The reason for any additional costs was due not to any action on my part, but rather to the gross miscalculation of QSM employee/professional estimator **. I had made my decision to go with QSM in good faith based on the professional estimate they had provided me. I requested verification that they had received all of the payments my own records indicated, but heard nothing back. I received a voicemail on July 19 from ** saying he wanted "to chat" about my move and the invoice. I responded by email on July 20, requesting verification of all payments that had been made, noting that the reason for the higher charges was the gross-miscalculation of weight (and an understimate of the packing charge, which ended up being more than doubled!), and that since I had already paid 115% of the original "Total Estimate," that I considered this to be settled. I received an email on July 22 from ** indicating he had spoken with QSM owners and that "We are open to reducing invoice sent for the remainder of the payment by $400." In response, I stated I was glad to this, and that -- coupled with the correction to the invoice which continued not to reflect a credit card payment of $670.75 (i.e. the packing charge that was more than double the estimated charge for packing), these two adjustments would essentially wipe out the "invoice balance due" of $1,069.24. Two things have since added insult to injury: First, I received a phone call on the evening of July 31 from "*****," the man who lead the moving team. He asked me if I had "stopped payment" to QSM, because they (QSM) were refusing to pay him for the move. I told him the entire story, including how much my estimate was and how much I had actually paid, and he replied, "Thank you, ... that's all I need to know." It sounded like this was not the first time QSM had treated him this way. Second, I received an email this morning (August 1) from ** attempting to explain the "confusion" over the invoice by stating, "Packing services not included in the above, but came to $670.75 and were paid in full" and further stating that, "The total charges from the invoice were based on moving charges. Packing charges are separate as it is a separate service," --- this despite the fact that the "Total Estimate" I received in February included ALL costs with itemized estimates for "Crating," "Packing," and "Move."

Desired Settlement: I feel as if I have been the victim of a "bait and switch" swindle in which a deliberately low estimate was provided to me simply to get my business (** knowing that I had already received another estimate from a nationwide competitor), knowing full well that my belongings weighed more than the estimate indicated and that QSM would be in a position to charge more. Since I have already paid significantly more than the "Total Estimate" I was provided; and since I have paid 115% of that Estimate; and since the reason for the discrepancy between estimated charges and actual costs lay fully with the fault of QSM and the gross underestimate of the weight of my belongings; and since I did everything on my part to ensure that the QSM professional estimator had all relevant information to make an accurate estimate; and since that estimator repeatedly refused even to "eye-ball" many of my belongings .... I believe that what I have paid to QSM more than sufficiently satisfies the agreement we had and that this matter should be accounted as "settled in full."

Business Response:

August 6, 2013

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      ******* ** ********** Complaint #*******

Dear *** ******,

This acknowledges receipt of your letter on August 5, 2013 regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  In reviewing **. *********’s complaint against Quality Services Moving I found there to be a zero balance on **. *********’s account.  Also, our Accounting Department confirmed that **. *********’s account is paid in full and closed. 

If you have any questions, require documentation and/or additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ************

F: ************
******************


Relocation Intelligence

<

****** ***************** ******************* **************************** ************ **************************** ******************************************* ********************************************************************************** ************ ******************************************* **********************************************************************************

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BL # ***********, SIT# ********* - Company was a sub-contracter to move my personal HHG from Colorado to Virginia in September 2012. Some were shipped to an apartmentment and some was in Quality Services Moving & Delivery storage for 2 months. HHG sent to the apartment had some damage and missing items. In October, Novemeber, December, Janauary, February, and March we called and spoke with **** about lost or brokern items. In December 2012, items fron Quality storage was sent to our personal storage - through March 2013). Four months later, items that were in storage were inspected (March/April 2013) we did a final inspection of items that were missing and broken. We put in a formal claim on April 19, 2013. Quality Services Moving & Delivery, et. al., will not honor our claim.

Desired Settlement: To reimburse us for the lost items (at FMV), and pay to repair broken items.

Business Response:

July 15, 2013

July 15, 2013

 

*** ***** ******

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      ** ******* *****, Complaint #*******

Dear *** *******

This letter acknowledges receipt of your letter on July 9, 2013 regarding the above-referenced Complaint.  

  .

**. ***** relocation was a Military, Department of Defense, move.  His move was arranged by the Military Housing Office.  As required by the Military all claims must be filed with the Military online in their DPS System.  The Military handles the claims process and settlement.  **. ***** was offered a monetary settlement after his claim was reviewed and an inspection of the damaged items was performed.  **. ***** rejected the monetary settlement offer.  **. ***** then went to the Military Claims Office (MCO) for a formal review of his claim.  The MCO denied **. ***** claim based on their findings.

Based on the above stated facts, for **. ***** to say that Quality Services Moving will not honor his claim is false.  I am sure **. ***** received correspondence from the MCO explaining why his claim was denied.

If you have any questions, require documentation and/or additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  Your assistance in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####
******************


Relocation Intelligence

*

5/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from *** ********** ******** to ****** ** in May of 2012. I hired Quality Services and paid for additional insurance. 1. Certain items were very fragile and I paid for special crating of these items (Art). The art was damaged and I notified them when it was unpacked by their movers in *****. 2. The shipped my car on the moving truck, the mover in ** & my daughter went over the car and wrote down any items that were visible , scratches and dents. The both signed and agreed. Upon receipt in ***** the car was very scratched, my gas tank was broken from damage on the truck. 3. I have a custom made bed and dining room table, these items were damaged in the moving process. 4. For over 6 months I have contacted Quality Movers, gotten estimates and they keep denying my claim. My daughter took over the claim since she has power of atty for me and paid for part of the move. The GM promised he would look into this and have it resolved by March 1. My daughter emailed additional pictures, more estimates and never was called back when promised. I received a check for a little of $1000 to settle at $10,000 + claim. I was told it was ok to cash since this would not be considered final payment. Today my daughter had an appointment for a conference call. They did not keep their appointment for the time, she had to call them and they are now refusing to speak with her. All I want is this claim t be settled, it has been over 9 months

Desired Settlement: repair the car fix the art work refund me for the money for the additional insurance purchased replace or repair furniture

Business Response:

March 27, 2013

Better Business Bureau of Metro Washington, DC

Attention:  *** ***** ******

Washington, DC 20005

            RE:      **** *****, Complaint #*******

*** *******

I am responding to **** ******s Complaint in the order she listed in her letter to you. 

1.      **** ***** states she paid for additional insurance.  We do not sell insurance.

2.      **** *****’s Art piece:  For the damage she claimed it is impossible to occur when the Art was wrapped and secured in a custom crate.  There was no evidence of damage to the custom crate at delivery.  Also, no exceptions were noted at the time of delivery to indicate or support mishandling on the part of our personnel.

3.     When **** *****’s 2002 Lincoln Continental (car) came into our possession, it appeared to have been sitting for quite some time.  The cars exterior was covered, bumper-to-bumper, in bird droppings, tree sap and stains from pollen.  The cars paint was faded and the body of the car showed wear and tear that comes with the age of the car.  **** ***** took her car to a body shop to have work done.  She sent us the estimate for this work.  We called the body shop, ******** Paint & Body, and spoke with ***** ********. He stated that **** *****’s car showed wear and tear in the body which was not uncommon for the age of the car.  But overall, the car was in good condition for its age.  He did not believe that the damage she was pointing out to him was transit related damage.  With regards to the under carriage of **** *****’s car, we spoke with *** of ******’s Auto & Fleet Service.  He stated that **** ***** told him she was not able to fill her gas tank.  He stated he did not encounter any problems when he filled her gas tank. 

4.      **** *****’s 20+ year old Platform Bed Unit:  **** ***** claimed the headboard was not flush with the unit after being reassembled.  The repair cost was paid in accordance with her contractor’s estimate she submitted to us.  We denied the portion of the warped drawer damage she claimed based on the fact that the warped damage is directly associated with humidity and climatic change, and is beyond our control.  This is not, in any way, a result of mishandling on the part of our personnel.

.                                           

5.     **** ***** Dining Table:  In our review of **** *****’s signed Inventory Sheets, it was noted there was pre-existing damaged to the table before we took possession.  **** ***** was given copies of the Inventory Sheets.  Given the nature of the pre-existing damage is such we are not liable for the damage she claimed.

 

**** ***** was compensated $1,605.83, the amount for which was based on our liability.  **** *****’s daughter, ***** ******** contacted us upon her mother receiving her settlement letter and check.  She advised us that her mother did not agree with the position we took on settling her claim.  We advised **** ******* that we participate in a federally mandated arbitration program that is available to her mother.  We also told her that we are willing to go before an arbitration panel with **** *****.  We then sent **** ***** the arbitration program information and contact information.

In closing, based on our document review and all the facts presented to us, we firmly believe that **** *****’s claim was settled fairly. 

Sincerely,

***** *******
Claims
Quality Services Moving
P: ************ *** ***

F: ************
******************

Relocation Intelligence

******* ***************** ******************* ********************* ******* ************ ****************