BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

My Guys Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (703) 406-9605 View Additional Phone Numbers 45726 Elmwood Ct., Sterling, VA 20166 http://www.MyGuysMoving.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 9/30/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for My Guys Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised the rating for My Guys Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 01/19/1994 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business under new ownership as of: 02/22/2011 Business incorporated: 01/13/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The license number is 125558.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The license number is 6992.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brett Burks, President Mr. Joe Robinette, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Burks, President
Principal: Mr. Joe Robinette, COO
Business Category

Movers

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    45726 Elmwood Ct.

    Sterling, VA 20166

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 931-5402(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://2gt.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time has passed but I feel it necessary to file this complaint to perhaps heal the hurt from the treatment I received from this company with regard to my concerns about missing containers and property damage. If It were disclosed prior to my move that my contents may be unloaded and reloaded before its final destination I would have contacted another mover. I first contacted My Guys Moving and Storage, formally Two Guys and a Truck January 2012. On January 31, 2012, ****** ******** a representative was sent to my home in ******* to view what was to be moved. Two estimates were provided. **** came out prior to the move to make sure there were no changes to what was to be moved. The first estimate of $1,674.00 to take place March 21, 2012. This load consisted of containers I packed along with some furniture, leaving ******* to my new home in *********, PA. When the truck arrived the driver had me sign a delivery receipt. Before the truck was unloaded I was shocked to find the contents in complete disorder. The tops of some containers were damaged and some containers bent. I was told at that time the truck was unloaded at their warehouse so it could be used for a local move then the truck was reloaded with my stuff to continue to its destination. I was told since I signed the receipt I accepted this delivery as is so I had to pay the bill presented for $3,687.55. This amount was $1,813.55 more than originally quoted. There was no apology or offer to refer me to someone who could make some sort of restitution for damages. ****** ** ****** came to my home in ******* a couple times before the second move to make sure there were no changes or additions as to what was to be moved. I complained to ****** as to my disappointment concerning the first move, He was clueless as to the handling as his job was estimates. The second move consisted of some containers and balance of my furniture taken place July 11, 2012. The estimate for that move was $2,116.00 and on arrival the bill was $3,191.79. This was $1,075.90 more than quoted. My furniture was nicked and scratched. I was told the difference in the amount quoted and final bill was because I was being charged for the weight. My concern was with my load there was another family’s contents along with mine so was I paying for my load or my load and another customer’s load. I called the company numerous times. I spoke with *** ******* on September 18, 2012, ****** ******** in October 2012, ******** ****** November 2012 and *** ********* April 12, 2013. I left three messages for (previous & current) ***** *********//***** *****, owner of the company but he never returned my calls. I did receive a claim form from ******** *** **** ***** **** ****** which clearly states only claims filed within nine months of the deliveries would be considered. It may be too late to ask for any kind of restitution but, I would like this company to provide full disclosure to all its future customers regarding loading & reloading contents and the possible inclusion of another move along with theirs. Scary this company moves local, long distance and international. Had I known these practices in advance I would have contacted another company.

Desired Settlement: It may be too late to ask for any kind of restitution but, I woulf like this company to provide full disclosure to all of its future customers regarding loading & reloading contents and the possible inclusion of another move along with theirs. Scary this company moves local, long distance and international. Had I known these practices in advance I would have contacted another company.

Business Response: Please be advised that we are in receipt of this email.  While we understand the customer's frustration, the fact cannot be denied that the customer on the day of unloading signed the attached inventory forms showing all items loaded were tendered for delivery.  At delivery, the customer was presented the attached copies of the inventory pages at time of delivery-her signature indicates that all goods were delivered in the same condition as when loaded. There are not any notations indicating items were opened, or not received in the same condition as when loaded.   The customer is insistent upon stating the goods were transferred from one truck to another-this is not the case, the same truck the shipment loaded onto, is the truck the shipment  with the same driver and helper.  

 
We ask this claim be closed as quickly as possible.
 
Respectfully,
 
*** *********
General Manager

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to our move, company representative ****** ******** visited our home and did a complete walk through with the home owner, noting all the items that would need to be moved and which items the company would need to pack prior to the move. On the day of the move, moving company truck arrived significantly late, understaffed, and without sufficient boxes to contain our items. Additionally, movers had no idea that they would need to pack numerous items (such as all kitchen items, glassware, plates, cookware) for the home owner, as specifically discussed with company representative. Home owner called ****** ******** who proceeded to deny all claims of the home owner that they had discussed such a role for the moving company. Eventually, *** ******** offered to take care of the situation and sent more employees and boxes and they did pack the items. Unfortunately all of this led to our being about 5 hours later than originally intended, due to their lateness, additional afternoon traffic, and the need to stop for dinner. On the way, another company representative called me and gleefully announced the greatly higher than expected fee for our move, which I had no option but to pay. Upon arrival, employees shoved paperwork in front of us demanding that we sign it so they could go home. We discovered later that several items were broken, including one of our children's bed such that he could not sleep in it that night (a leg was broken off and a company employee had tried to simply wrap it in moving tape, which was grossly insufficient to make the bed safe for use). We had to buy a new bed. Then, I had to make multiple requests, ultimately taking two months, to finally receive a copy of the invoice detailing the charges for our move. The time I spent making multiple phone calls and emails was of great expense to me. Upon review of the invoice in late September I noticed that we had been charged $233.22 for overtime unloading! This was outrageous considering that the overtime was necessitated by the company's to arrive on time and prepared to pack our items. The company has a stated Promise in their official documents that was not met; they did not "deliver a stress-free and damage-free move". Despite complaints made via phone to *** ********, he made no effort to either apologize to us or compensate us for these failures on the part of himself, his employees, and his company.

Desired Settlement: We paid $3,341.39, including a $200 deposit. The overtime unloading charge of $233.22 should be refunded. Additionally, a refund in the range of 10% ($310) of the remaining moving costs ($3,341.39-$233.22 = $3,108.17) would be appropriate considering the Promise of the company and their failure to live up to it and their repeated lack of concern for the damage done by their actions and inaction. Also, an apology seems appropriate. Our move was filled with stress from start to end, and some damage to our property as well. In each case, the moving company was at fault.

Business Response: I apologize that the move did not meet the customers expectations, and also apologize that this is the first I have heard of the concern's of the move.  Upon review of the notes, I do not see where the customer contacted us regarding any damages.  Nonetheless, we are prepared to offer the customer a settlement of the overtime unloading charge and a refund of 5% of the move costs after the unloading charge is refunded.  If the customer is in acceptance of this offer, please advise me as quickly as possible.


Thanks,

*** *********

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 21, My Guys Movers came to conduct a move from my apartment in ******** to my home in ************* ********. In addition to several problems with the delivery (it was late -- arriving on March 10; they told me the night before delivery that they had to transfer my goods to a smaller truck costing me an additional $500; they got the truck stuck in my yard damaging the yard and delaying the move; the truck driver at times refused to move items or to call for a tow for his truck until his assistant convinced him it was necessary), boxes were damaged and two furniture items -- my grandfather's antique desk and a walnut coffee table -- were damaged. It is the poor resolution of that last item that prompted my contacting you. The desk was the one most personally important and valuable item in the move, and the salesman knew this and it was marked fragile and inspected by the crew that picked my items up from ********. However, at the end of the delivery, the truck driver informed me that it and the coffee table had been dropped during transfer of the items between trucks. On inspection, the table had a 1-inch chunk of wood cracked off and the desk had five cracks in its base, separation between the drawers and main platform, and separation of a board underneath the main platform. The desk had recently been restored by *********** furniture in DC at a cost of $600, so it was in pristine condition when it left ********. The movers hired a furniture inspector to inspect the desk, and despite the fact that the damage was made clear to me by the movers in the first place, he told them the desk had already been damaged before transit. (???) I have been beside myself trying to understand both that diagnosis and the mover's subsequent refusal to accept liability for that damage. My Guys, when informed of this, did not respond to my email or call. I recently gave up and accepted a paltry sum of a couple hundred dollars (and they continue to deny liability) because I just got married and I have better things to focus on right now. But the designation of "A" rating for My Guys is wholly inaccurate, and because it was a determining factor in my choosing My Guys, I would like to recommend that the rating be reconsidered.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, My Guys should drop American Red Ball as their subcontractor, and someone should hold both legally liable for the damages they caused, even if no money can be provided at this point to compensate for it.

Business Response: It is true that *** ****** contracted with our agency to assist in the coordination of his move from ******** to ********.  Our sales representative estimated the costs for moving and *** ****** agreed with the estimate and signed the necessary documentation to begin the move process.  The shipment was picked up and transported to ******** under the authority of ******** ******* *******.  Unfortunately, during the move process some items of furniture were damaged and the customer was instructed to file a claim with ARBT since they were the interstate transportation provider.  The claim was initially denied by ARBT and then we here at My Guys Moving & Storage asked that the claim be re-processed to further assist *** ****** with his claim.  The claims department at ARBT did reopen the claim and issued a settlement based on the report of the claims examiner in ********.  Unfortunately, the claim settlement offer was not acceptable to *** ****** and he has contacted you regarding his claim.  As he admitted in his complaint, his frustration is more with the interstate provider of hauling services, ******** ******* ******* ** ************* *******, more so than with My Guys Moving and Storage of ********* **.  


As the booking agency, we cannot instruct ******** ******* ******* to settle the claim any differently than has been offered.  *** ****** does not realize that we indeed were making phone calls to the van line to re investigate the claim.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me.

Respectfully,

*** *********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: While I appreciate the effort My Guys apparently made on my behalf, they completely left me out of the discussion so I have no way to verify that claim.  This is part of the point in my contacting BBB.  Additionally, while yes, my main concerns are with ******** *** ****, I do not see in the response from My Guys any corrective action taken with ******** *** **** to address what happened (specifically, requiring admission from ******** *** **** that they backed out of the claim . . . again, My Guys, and I, and the employees actually involved in shipping my goods all agree the claim was initiated by ******** *** **** due to damage caused in transit by ******** *** ****).

I don't expect much from this process, but I am simply requesting recognition from My Guys that their contractor ******** *** **** damaged my goods (My Guys has done this in the recent note), that their contractor created an unnecessary obstacle to my claim (something that must be addressed so future clients don't have the same experience), and recognition that the move did not meet expectations.


Additionally, I would hope that this is registered with BBB in the company's grade -- this move was a horrible experience, and ultimately, that is the responsibility of My Guys, regardless of subcontracting.  I'm not looking for money, I'm just looking to see that others don't have to go through this.  The damaged desk, in particular, was the one most important item in my inventory.  The sales rep (who I do not hold at fault) knew this, the movers who picked up my goods knew this and noted it.  And then, after that one item was damaged, I was given the runaround.  That's not right, and I'd hope something tangible can be done to minimize the chances of this happening to someone else.

Regards,

**** ******








Business Response: Please be advised that due to *** ******'s complaint and concern for our future interstate customers, we are actively exploring opportunities with other van lines and haulers of interstate shipments.  We hope to have a van line selected by the end of the second to third quarter of 2013.


Respectfully,

*** *********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for providing me this format to express my concerns.


Regards,

**** ******

10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service