BBB Accredited Business since

My Guys Moving & Storage Inc

Phone: (703) 406-9605 View Additional Phone Numbers 45726 Elmwood Ct, Sterling, VA 20166

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that My Guys Moving & Storage Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for My Guys Moving & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on My Guys Moving & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 01/19/1994 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business under new ownership as of: 02/22/2011 Business incorporated 01/13/2011 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 125558.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is 6992.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brett Burks, President Mr. Joe Robinette, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Burks, President
Principal: Mr. Joe Robinette, COO
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spoke with **** from 2 Guys and a Truck on 8/12/13 - he sent me the claim forms (see phone record below). 8/12 1:32 PM ###-###-#### 1 **** -- Filled out the claim forms and sent certified letter with pictures of damage, which was delivered 9/6/13 (see below) USPS Tracking #******************22: Tracking Records ********, VA ***** Fri 9/6/2013 1:53 pm Delivered ********, VA ***** Fri 9/6/2013 8:18 am Arrival at Unit ******, VA ***** Thu 9/5/2013 10:53 pm Processed through USPS Sort Facility ******, VA ***** Thu 9/5/2013 Depart USPS Sort Facility *******, VA ***** Wed 9/4/2013 Depart USPS Sort Facility *******, VA ***** Wed 9/4/2013 9:27 pm Processed at USPS Origin Sort Facility *****, VA ***** Wed 9/4/2013 4:37 pm Dispatched to Sort Facility *****, VA ***** Wed 9/4/2013 9:36 am Acceptance 9/17/13 - Called ***** **** from 2 Guys and a Truck because no response had been made by 2 Guys and a Truck. She stated she sent me an email; however, no email was ever received. She stated she wanted a copy of the signed invoice from the move to process the claim (see phone record below): 09/17/2013 12:15 PM *********5 14 ****** 9/17/13 - Sent billing invoice from move to ***** (see below): 9/19/13 - ***** stated she could not locate anyone who would come to ***** to repair furniture. I offered to call around and find someone myself & she agreed. 9/20/13 - Spoke with **. ***** ***** (furniture repairman) who agreed to look at the furniture on 9/28/13. 9/28/13 - Spoke with **. ***** who was ill - rescheduled to 10/4/13. 10/4/13 - ***** ***** (furniture repairman from *******, VA) came to look at my furniture. He stated he would refinish the small areas of the bed for $300, but the scratches would still be obvious because they cross the grain of the wood. He stated he could not obtain the parts to repair the sofa and wrote an invoice for $200 . 10/4/13 - Called and left message for ***** to contact me relaying **. *****'s estimate, but no response was received. 10/5/13 - contacted ***** to dispute charges from Two Guys and a Truck, as this has been going on for 2 months without a resolution. 3/22/14 - received a letter from ***** stating My Guys claimed I was not cooperative. I believe that multiple phone calls, emails, & even trying to find my own furniture repairman is going above and beyond the call of duty on my part! I believe I cooperated for 2 whole months before I requested ***** reverse the charges. My Guys is making false statements about my cooperation and dodging their responsibilities to repair my damaged property!

Desired Settlement: As the sofa, lamp, and lamp shade cannot be repaired, I would like compensation for these items. I was able to have the headboard refinished for $200, but am still out the remaining items that My Guys destroyed!

Business Response: Please be advised we are in receipt of this complaint.  While we disagree with the complainant regarding the response and dialogue going back and forth, we will assign the claim to our insurance company to contact the complainant so we can attempt to make repairs as necessary to close the file.  I have instructed janni in our claims department to forward all documentation regarding the move to our insurance provider so they may contact the customer and move forward with the claim dispute and resolution.

Thanks you,
*** *********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


**** *******

10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time has passed but I feel it necessary to file this complaint to perhaps heal the hurt from the treatment I received from this company with regard to my concerns about missing containers and property damage. If It were disclosed prior to my move that my contents may be unloaded and reloaded before its final destination I would have contacted another mover. I first contacted My Guys Moving and Storage, formally Two Guys and a Truck January 2012. On January 31, 2012, ****** ******** a representative was sent to my home in ******* to view what was to be moved. Two estimates were provided. **** came out prior to the move to make sure there were no changes to what was to be moved. The first estimate of $1,674.00 to take place March 21, 2012. This load consisted of containers I packed along with some furniture, leaving ******* to my new home in *********, PA. When the truck arrived the driver had me sign a delivery receipt. Before the truck was unloaded I was shocked to find the contents in complete disorder. The tops of some containers were damaged and some containers bent. I was told at that time the truck was unloaded at their warehouse so it could be used for a local move then the truck was reloaded with my stuff to continue to its destination. I was told since I signed the receipt I accepted this delivery as is so I had to pay the bill presented for $3,687.55. This amount was $1,813.55 more than originally quoted. There was no apology or offer to refer me to someone who could make some sort of restitution for damages. ****** ** ****** came to my home in ******* a couple times before the second move to make sure there were no changes or additions as to what was to be moved. I complained to ****** as to my disappointment concerning the first move, He was clueless as to the handling as his job was estimates. The second move consisted of some containers and balance of my furniture taken place July 11, 2012. The estimate for that move was $2,116.00 and on arrival the bill was $3,191.79. This was $1,075.90 more than quoted. My furniture was nicked and scratched. I was told the difference in the amount quoted and final bill was because I was being charged for the weight. My concern was with my load there was another family’s contents along with mine so was I paying for my load or my load and another customer’s load. I called the company numerous times. I spoke with *** ******* on September 18, 2012, ****** ******** in October 2012, ******** ****** November 2012 and *** ********* April 12, 2013. I left three messages for (previous & current) ***** *********//***** *****, owner of the company but he never returned my calls. I did receive a claim form from ******** *** **** ***** **** ****** which clearly states only claims filed within nine months of the deliveries would be considered. It may be too late to ask for any kind of restitution but, I would like this company to provide full disclosure to all its future customers regarding loading & reloading contents and the possible inclusion of another move along with theirs. Scary this company moves local, long distance and international. Had I known these practices in advance I would have contacted another company.

Desired Settlement: It may be too late to ask for any kind of restitution but, I woulf like this company to provide full disclosure to all of its future customers regarding loading & reloading contents and the possible inclusion of another move along with theirs. Scary this company moves local, long distance and international. Had I known these practices in advance I would have contacted another company.

Business Response: Please be advised that we are in receipt of this email.  While we understand the customer's frustration, the fact cannot be denied that the customer on the day of unloading signed the attached inventory forms showing all items loaded were tendered for delivery.  At delivery, the customer was presented the attached copies of the inventory pages at time of delivery-her signature indicates that all goods were delivered in the same condition as when loaded. There are not any notations indicating items were opened, or not received in the same condition as when loaded.   The customer is insistent upon stating the goods were transferred from one truck to another-this is not the case, the same truck the shipment loaded onto, is the truck the shipment  with the same driver and helper.  

We ask this claim be closed as quickly as possible.
*** *********
General Manager

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to our move, company representative ****** ******** visited our home and did a complete walk through with the home owner, noting all the items that would need to be moved and which items the company would need to pack prior to the move. On the day of the move, moving company truck arrived significantly late, understaffed, and without sufficient boxes to contain our items. Additionally, movers had no idea that they would need to pack numerous items (such as all kitchen items, glassware, plates, cookware) for the home owner, as specifically discussed with company representative. Home owner called ****** ******** who proceeded to deny all claims of the home owner that they had discussed such a role for the moving company. Eventually, *** ******** offered to take care of the situation and sent more employees and boxes and they did pack the items. Unfortunately all of this led to our being about 5 hours later than originally intended, due to their lateness, additional afternoon traffic, and the need to stop for dinner. On the way, another company representative called me and gleefully announced the greatly higher than expected fee for our move, which I had no option but to pay. Upon arrival, employees shoved paperwork in front of us demanding that we sign it so they could go home. We discovered later that several items were broken, including one of our children's bed such that he could not sleep in it that night (a leg was broken off and a company employee had tried to simply wrap it in moving tape, which was grossly insufficient to make the bed safe for use). We had to buy a new bed. Then, I had to make multiple requests, ultimately taking two months, to finally receive a copy of the invoice detailing the charges for our move. The time I spent making multiple phone calls and emails was of great expense to me. Upon review of the invoice in late September I noticed that we had been charged $233.22 for overtime unloading! This was outrageous considering that the overtime was necessitated by the company's to arrive on time and prepared to pack our items. The company has a stated Promise in their official documents that was not met; they did not "deliver a stress-free and damage-free move". Despite complaints made via phone to *** ********, he made no effort to either apologize to us or compensate us for these failures on the part of himself, his employees, and his company.

Desired Settlement: We paid $3,341.39, including a $200 deposit. The overtime unloading charge of $233.22 should be refunded. Additionally, a refund in the range of 10% ($310) of the remaining moving costs ($3,341.39-$233.22 = $3,108.17) would be appropriate considering the Promise of the company and their failure to live up to it and their repeated lack of concern for the damage done by their actions and inaction. Also, an apology seems appropriate. Our move was filled with stress from start to end, and some damage to our property as well. In each case, the moving company was at fault.

Business Response: I apologize that the move did not meet the customers expectations, and also apologize that this is the first I have heard of the concern's of the move.  Upon review of the notes, I do not see where the customer contacted us regarding any damages.  Nonetheless, we are prepared to offer the customer a settlement of the overtime unloading charge and a refund of 5% of the move costs after the unloading charge is refunded.  If the customer is in acceptance of this offer, please advise me as quickly as possible.


*** *********

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 21, My Guys Movers came to conduct a move from my apartment in ******** to my home in ************* ********. In addition to several problems with the delivery (it was late -- arriving on March 10; they told me the night before delivery that they had to transfer my goods to a smaller truck costing me an additional $500; they got the truck stuck in my yard damaging the yard and delaying the move; the truck driver at times refused to move items or to call for a tow for his truck until his assistant convinced him it was necessary), boxes were damaged and two furniture items -- my grandfather's antique desk and a walnut coffee table -- were damaged. It is the poor resolution of that last item that prompted my contacting you. The desk was the one most personally important and valuable item in the move, and the salesman knew this and it was marked fragile and inspected by the crew that picked my items up from ********. However, at the end of the delivery, the truck driver informed me that it and the coffee table had been dropped during transfer of the items between trucks. On inspection, the table had a 1-inch chunk of wood cracked off and the desk had five cracks in its base, separation between the drawers and main platform, and separation of a board underneath the main platform. The desk had recently been restored by *********** furniture in DC at a cost of $600, so it was in pristine condition when it left ********. The movers hired a furniture inspector to inspect the desk, and despite the fact that the damage was made clear to me by the movers in the first place, he told them the desk had already been damaged before transit. (???) I have been beside myself trying to understand both that diagnosis and the mover's subsequent refusal to accept liability for that damage. My Guys, when informed of this, did not respond to my email or call. I recently gave up and accepted a paltry sum of a couple hundred dollars (and they continue to deny liability) because I just got married and I have better things to focus on right now. But the designation of "A" rating for My Guys is wholly inaccurate, and because it was a determining factor in my choosing My Guys, I would like to recommend that the rating be reconsidered.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, My Guys should drop American Red Ball as their subcontractor, and someone should hold both legally liable for the damages they caused, even if no money can be provided at this point to compensate for it.

Business Response: It is true that *** ****** contracted with our agency to assist in the coordination of his move from ******** to ********.  Our sales representative estimated the costs for moving and *** ****** agreed with the estimate and signed the necessary documentation to begin the move process.  The shipment was picked up and transported to ******** under the authority of ******** ******* *******.  Unfortunately, during the move process some items of furniture were damaged and the customer was instructed to file a claim with ARBT since they were the interstate transportation provider.  The claim was initially denied by ARBT and then we here at My Guys Moving & Storage asked that the claim be re-processed to further assist *** ****** with his claim.  The claims department at ARBT did reopen the claim and issued a settlement based on the report of the claims examiner in ********.  Unfortunately, the claim settlement offer was not acceptable to *** ****** and he has contacted you regarding his claim.  As he admitted in his complaint, his frustration is more with the interstate provider of hauling services, ******** ******* ******* ** ************* *******, more so than with My Guys Moving and Storage of ********* **.  

As the booking agency, we cannot instruct ******** ******* ******* to settle the claim any differently than has been offered.  *** ****** does not realize that we indeed were making phone calls to the van line to re investigate the claim.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact me.


*** *********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: While I appreciate the effort My Guys apparently made on my behalf, they completely left me out of the discussion so I have no way to verify that claim.  This is part of the point in my contacting BBB.  Additionally, while yes, my main concerns are with ******** *** ****, I do not see in the response from My Guys any corrective action taken with ******** *** **** to address what happened (specifically, requiring admission from ******** *** **** that they backed out of the claim . . . again, My Guys, and I, and the employees actually involved in shipping my goods all agree the claim was initiated by ******** *** **** due to damage caused in transit by ******** *** ****).

I don't expect much from this process, but I am simply requesting recognition from My Guys that their contractor ******** *** **** damaged my goods (My Guys has done this in the recent note), that their contractor created an unnecessary obstacle to my claim (something that must be addressed so future clients don't have the same experience), and recognition that the move did not meet expectations.

Additionally, I would hope that this is registered with BBB in the company's grade -- this move was a horrible experience, and ultimately, that is the responsibility of My Guys, regardless of subcontracting.  I'm not looking for money, I'm just looking to see that others don't have to go through this.  The damaged desk, in particular, was the one most important item in my inventory.  The sales rep (who I do not hold at fault) knew this, the movers who picked up my goods knew this and noted it.  And then, after that one item was damaged, I was given the runaround.  That's not right, and I'd hope something tangible can be done to minimize the chances of this happening to someone else.


**** ******

Business Response: Please be advised that due to *** ******'s complaint and concern for our future interstate customers, we are actively exploring opportunities with other van lines and haulers of interstate shipments.  We hope to have a van line selected by the end of the second to third quarter of 2013.


*** *********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank you for providing me this format to express my concerns.


**** ******