This business is not BBB accredited.

Fairfax Transfer & Storage Inc

Phone: (703) 550-7974 View Additional Phone Numbers 8382F Terminal Rd, Lorton, VA 22079 http://www.fairfaxtransfer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fairfax Transfer & Storage Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Transfer & Storage Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1959 Business incorporated 11/15/1978 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 836570.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clifford J Boyd, President Mr. Chuck Grimsley, VP Ms. Lisa Paczkowski, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clifford J Boyd, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Paczkowski, Office Manager
Business Category

Movers Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Fairfax Moving and Storage Inc
Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8382F Terminal Rd

    Lorton, VA 22079

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 17, 2014 Fairfax Storage and Transfer (FST), a moving company, moved me out of my apartment and into another apartment. The apartment I was vacating was **** ***** **** ***** *** ********* VA. FST movers arrived at my apartment early and a family member was there to greet them. My family member noticed the men were unable to prop open the door. They did not come prepared with a wedge or door stop. They tried at one point to use a screw driver to prop the door open. Eventually they figured out how to prop the door open. At the end of the move the door did not close properly. I was able to close and lock the door with, but with significant difficulty. My family member and myself both noticed the altered door. In all the haste of moving I closed the door and drove to the new apartment. Despite the movers arriving early, the move was behind on time. Once at the new apartment the door was forgotten. The next day I received a text from my roommate when she noticed how the door was not functioning properly. When we went through the walk through with the landlord they indicated the door needed to be fixed. I contacted FST and notified them of the problem. Immediately he argued that he's never heard of a door being damaged during a move. Eventually he said he would handle the situation. The man from FST (Chuck) met with my landlord and indicated he would take care of things and work with them. He had agreed to pay for the damages. When the repair man examined the door to give an estimate he noted the metal plate within the door was bent/damaged. So the entire door needed to be replaced. Once the man from FST (Chuck) heard this he refused to pay for the repair and claimed this was a scam. He argued it took me a week to contact him initially and the landlord just wanted to get a new door. Chuck also stated his men 'never touched the door', which is obviously impossible since they propped it open. My contract with FST indicates I have 9 months to report damages in writing. A letter was then composed to Chuck of FST giving formal notice of the damages and asked for him to respond. It has been over a week and Chuck has not responded to my email. Chuck has stopped responding to my landlord as well.

Desired Settlement: FST should bear the financial responsibility of the damaged door. The landlord has completed an 18 appeal document to the condominium association to reduce costs. Costs have been reduced by almost half. The landlord has gone out of their way to work with Chuck of FST. Chuck is now unresponsive.

Business Response: Fairfax Transfer responds to all all issues and are currently working with the owner of the property to resolve the issue with the door.

8/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fairfax transfer and storage delivered a fridge we ordered from ***** and they severely damaged our wall, broke a wall sconce light, and then while trying to assemble the door to the fridge, the delivery man dropped the fridge door on our granite counter top breaking it into 3 places, when we called the owner of the company, he refused to accept responsibility and says his delivery men deny breaking the counter and therefore he is not paying for the repair / replacement.

Desired Settlement: I want my counter top replaced and my wall repaired as well.

Business Response:

Hello,
 
We have turned Complaint ******** to our insurance company. 
 
Thank you.
 
-- 
Fairfax Transfer & Storage


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fairfax Transfer & Storage Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)