This business is not BBB accredited.

Boxcart Inc

Phone: (703) 263-3300 Fax: (888) 520-8702 View Additional Phone Numbers 22455 Powers Ct Ste 200, Dulles, VA 20166 http://www.boxcart.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Boxcart Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Boxcart Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boxcart Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2008 Business started: 04/29/2004 in VA Business under new ownership as of: 01/31/2015 Business incorporated 11/04/2014 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 2563373.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Gallier, Vice President Ms. Amy Stowell, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Gallier, Vice President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
BoxCart BoxCarts of Virginia Inc
Business Management

Please note that Boxcart Inc is owned by Interstate Van Lines, Inc.  A separate BBB Business Review for this business is available here.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    22455 Powers Ct Ste 200

    Dulles, VA 20166 (866) 330-2278 (703) 263-3300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WOW! I sure could have saved myself a lot of aggravation if I had of read the reviews online about Box Cart first. This past August I called BoxCart for a quote to move. They quoted me $125 per hour for 3 movers and said the move should take 4-6 hrs. since I was only moving from a 1500 sq. ft. Condo. Only two movers showed up and one of the two was injured. He had a bad back and a cut on his hand. This pretty much rendered him useless. They were also two hours late arriving to my Condo and arrived without tools, which were needed to disassemble my furniture. The injured mover wanted me to buy insurance, I asked him to explain what I was buying and he couldn’t tell me, so I didn’t buy it. They knew I had to be out of the Condo by 1:00 pm as I had a walk-thru with my Landlord. The movers arrived at 10:30 and by noon ONLY 6 Dining room chairs had been loaded into the truck. Amy finally arrived with the tools. At that time I told her about the lack of progress on my move. She said “sorry” and left. She didn’t even try to rectify the situation. I called Leon, who was the person that gave me the quote. He would not answer his phone. This is a sure sign that they knew they were screwing me. The landlord did show up and could not believe the lack of progress on this move. Later the landlord showed up again with the new Tenants to do their walk through and the look of horror on their face when they found I was still there was unbelievable. The one mover, who was injured spent half his time smoking cigarettes and talking on his cell phone. As no progress was being made, I called their office again (this was my third call to the office) and asked if they could send additional help. Finally at 8:30 pm two additional movers showed up, however this was their 3rd move and they were in a hurry to get done. They were in such a hurry that they damaged a lot of my furniture. They finally left my new home around 1:00 am without completing the job. This means the move took 14 hrs. or so. Again this should of been a 4 hr. job. Before the movers left, they wanted me to pay for the entire 14 hr. move less a $15.00 an hr. break as initially only two movers showed up. BoxCart wanted me to pay them before they fix my furniture. I was not going to do this until I talked to someone who has authority!! I did not trust that they will handle this claim appropriately (later I was proven right about this) as the way they handled my entire move was a total disaster. Three months later I still have furniture that is in my garage and not assembled and still damaged. I will have to pay more money to get my furniture assembled and moved into the house and this is just wrong and not anyway to run a business. I found a furniture repair man and he said he could possibly repair the furniture and gave me a bill. I sent the bill to BoxCart so I would be reimbursed. She offered me $2.00!! I thought it was a joke. She said I should have bought insurance, well how can I buy something that couldn’t be explained to me by her own employee. Then she offered for me to buy insurance after the fact, I’m pretty sure this constitutes insurance fraud. I implore you to not use this Company and save yourself the aggravation.

Desired Settlement: To have my furniture repaired at BoxCarts expense, not mine.

Business Response: I disagree with every statement in this customer's claim, and I have attached the email documentation to show the concessions made to attempt to rectify the situation from moment one. Please read from the bottom of the email chain, so you are able to understand the conversation from the very beggining.  Bottom line, this customer has not paid one cent for our services, but yet is demanding payment for damage.   On the day of the move, I (one of the owners), did provide tools, and I also told this customer "let's just get the move completed, you will not be required to pay at the end of the job, and I'll work with you for a fair settlement once the job is complete."  I did not just say "sorry" and leave, as she has suggested, but yet, I readily acknowledged in person, and also via the emails attached, that the move did not go as we would have wanted it to, and that we would rectify the situation fairly once the move was complete...my main goal was to get the customer moved in as quickly as possible; and again, she would not be responsible for the actual hours, and we would talk once she was fully moved about a fair resolution.  Once the job was complete, she insisted on discussing her move only via email, and therefore I have attached the email chains that led to the final agreement for payment and for the damage claim settlement.  The final resolution was for the customer to pay a significantly reduced amount of $350 for the move (even though the entire cost was over $1,700 in labor), and once that payment was received, the damage claim would be processed based upon the no-additional-cost option of $.60/lb (or $50/item, whichever is less) with a $100 deductible.  


BoxCart has never been paid a dime for this move, even though we agreed to a payment of $350.  Even though the customer has refused to uphold her agreement to the $350 payment for the move, BoxCart has continued to spend the time to process her claim; however, the customer continues to demand additional remedy. 

In summary, as you will see in the attached email discussions, BoxCart has complied with all concessions and agreed remedies with this customer, and we deny any additional liability for this customer's account.  

Thank you,
Amy S******
BoxCart
President
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


First of all, the charge that she is stating for the original charge is false.  I was promised 3 movers and only 2 were provided. One was injured and one was inexperienced. She wanted to charge me for 14 1/2 hours. She wanted to charge me for her workers to just stand around. By the way, I have witnesses that will attest to how much 1 worker was outside smoking instead of moving me.  I was told the move would take 5 hrs including drive time. They arrived at 10:30 am (2 hrs. late)  and finally we told them to leave at 1:00 am as the stress became unbearable. In light of this, I should be compensated for this abhorrent move. I did say the move was worth no more than $350, however I did not agree to pay it. I did not pay for the move because my experience of how she handled my move led me to believe she was not going to handle repairing my furniture in a satisfactory way. I  was right, she offered me $2.00 to get my furniture repaired. I sent her an estimate of $1900.  This just added insult to injury. I did not purchase insurance as her mover could not explain to me what I was purchasing.

She states I wanted to converse via email only, absolutely, when I called her she didn't answer.  I also think my new landlord will be filing a complaint with the BBB as the interior of the home was badly damaged.

She needs to pay for my repairs, per the estimate and then and only then will I consider paying her. Thank You for your time.


Regards,

***** *********








Business Response: From: *** ******* <***********************>
Date: Thu, Jan 8, 2015 at 3:13 PM
Subject: Response for ***** ********* complaint
To: "*******@mybbb.org" <*******@mybbb.org>

Hi *****,

As discussed, I do not accept Marie P********’s response and request for reimbursement for any amount.  We have not received a penny from this move, even after I agreed to her drastically-reduced request to only be charged $350 for her move, as detailed in the email chain previously submitted to the Better Business Bureau.  The concession I am making at this point is essentially closing her account with BoxCart at no charge, and I am also conceding not to pursue other legal channels to collect on this account.  I agreed to these concessions simply because she was a previous customer, and she also has a personal connection with our co-owner ******, who adopted her dog, when Ms. P******** had to move to a location that would now allow dogs.  Per BoxCart’s Bill of Lading, any claims will only be valid upon payment in full for the services rendered.  As Ms. P******** refuses to pay any amount whatsoever for the services rendered, she is not entitled, nor is BoxCart liable for any alleged damages. 
 
Thank you for your assistance in this matter,
*** *******
BoxCart
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The fact remains that my furniture is still damaged and the move is still NOT complete. The majority of my furniture is still in the garage. They never offered to come back and finish the move which means I have to pay another company to move the furniture into the house. Boxcart needs to pay this!  Again, no insurance was purchased as their guy could not explain to me what to buy,  She sent me an injured employee and an employee who was inexperienced.  It took 14 hrs. to move a 1500 sq. ft. Condo. That is unacceptable, she obviously sent these 2 employees knowing they were slow and would jack up the price.  Then to add insult to injury she offered me $2.00 for furniture repairs! I wish I would of read the online reviews of the company, I Never would have contacted them!  Amy can't even answer my questions in the emails. She offers nothing up as to why this move took so long. She doesn't answer my questions as there is no excuse for what they put me through.  Answer my questions, fix my furniture and complete the move. I am owed that.


Regards,

***** *********









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boxcart Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)