BBB Accredited Business since

Adam's Moving and Hauling

Phone: (484) 532-7732 View Additional Phone Numbers 1920 W Marshall St Ste 11, Eagleville, PA 19403 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Adam's Moving and Hauling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Adam's Moving and Hauling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 06, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1995 in PA Business started locally: 05/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: 202-366-9805
The number is 659322.

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is 309168.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adam Edelman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Edelman, President
Business Category


Industry Tips
Moving tips - General

Additional Locations

  • 1920 W Marshall St Ste 11

    Eagleville, PA 19403


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They moved us on June 30, 2014 and our new furniture ( less than a year old ) was damaged ( our living room sofa ) we've sent pictures and completed the requested form to start the claim process and to date we (***** and myself) haven't heard anything from this company. They never answer the phone when I call, today ***** called and spoke to Adam who claimed he never received our form and that he would send it out in the mail again. However, we faxed the completed form and we have our confirmation that the fax was sent and received. I tried calling back to speak with Adam myself but again he did not answer the phone. Your assistance in this matter is being requested at this time. Thank you in advance for assistance in this matter it is greatly appreciated. Sincerely ****** & ***** *****

Desired Settlement: To have Adam repair or replace our new furniture and possibly refund our money since he's putting us through unnecessary stress and aggravation as it appears he's not living up to his end of the contract

Business Response:

 Yes we did move **. ***** on 6-30-14 he did contact us that day and sent us pictures. We got paperwork that he fill via fax. And when he ask what now we told him that within a week he will get from us the adjustment for that repair. We sent him the release form and adjustment to his email that he send us the pictures from and wait for him to sign it and send back, **. ***** maybe call us but never left a massage so we could not know that he call us. When ***** call us we told her that we sent the adjustment via email and since she didn’t get it we will sent it by US mail and we did.

**. ***** received a release form that we sent him (see attach), and by signing it he was accepting our adjustment for the damage we did. Check was sent to **. ***** on Friday 8-8-14 to be arriving to him by 8-12-14.


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


****** *****

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 31, 2013, I hired this company to move my belongings from my old apartment to my house. When I reserved this company for my move I did not plan on them packing my items. However, I was not able to complete the packing so I had them pack my belongings. I have used other companies before and when they pack your belongings they are 100% responsible should something break. Well during my move, I had numerous items damaged, destroyed or broken. All of the items that were damaged were items that the movers packed. I find it absolutely appalling that when their employees pack items and they break that they will only give the basic insurance that applies to the move. I could 100% agree that while moving my stuff broke and I was the one that packed them. I am very careful when packing my items, hence why none of the items I packed were broken. I didn't think I would have to watch every move they made to ensure that my items were packed well enough that they would not break or get damaged. When I reached out to the company to file a claim in regards to my items breaking, they came backed saying that they would pay $121.00. That is a joke. They completely damaged a 6 draw dresser because they decided to pile the dresser up with items. The dresser could not handle the weight and now the dresser is damaged. When they were doing it, I even asked if that would be ok and they said yes. Well they were wrong, it wasn't ok because my dresser could not handle the weight. I also had my glasses break that were a present to me. They are even more important to me because that person is no longer with us and it was nice to have something they gave me to remember them. During the move, I also had a homemade, very expensive serving dish that was damaged. Some of these items are not replaceable. More so my dispute with the claim and amount of money they believe my claim is worth it ridiculous. Now I understand that is the insurance but I was not the one that packed those items. One - I have used other moving companies and you did not need extra insurance when they packed your items. They guaranteed that they would arrive at your destination without damage or they were 100% covered. Two - why should I have to pay extra for insurance to protect my items from their irresponsible packing? I was already paying more for my items to be packed and for the materials. When they moved my items they had absolutely no regard for my things. I had boxes upside down that spilled on my hardwood floors. I had boxes that said fragile upside down. It is really appalling what this company feels is good service. In addition, they also over charged me for time. When they said they were done, I remember precisely the time because my brother looked at his watch and gave it to me out loud. When I signed the paperwork I know they added 15 minutes to the time but I have issues confronting strangers in the moment. I also thought not a big deal because I thought they treated my stuff with care. Being overcharge for a crappy job to be equals lack of integrity and unethical. When I brought this to the manager or owner's attention he spouted back that I signed it, which I did, and when I made the complaint I stated that. He also stated that they truck has GPS. That’s lovely but I should not have to pay for your men to settle up the bill and relax for a few minutes before they leave my property. On top of everything else, I tipped these men very well thinking that they again handled my items with care. I am very upset about how this move was handled, upset about the way the company handled the claim, think it is appalling how a company does not stand by its name and reputation. You would think a company would want to make it right when a customer’s items are damaged especially when his employees packed those items. I find this very unethical. I also think that a company who does not stand by its reputation has no integrity and this is not a company I would like to do business with and other potential customers should be leery before scheduling a move with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my items to be fully covered given that his men are the ones that packed the items and they should be held 100% liable. I would also like my bill to be adjusted noting the 15 minute difference. For the most part, I am sending this for BBB information because I want people to be aware of the company before they do business with them. I have a feeling they will not do anything else passed what they did. Of course that is how I would like the settlement and outcome to be but I'm not holding my breath.

Business Response:

The customer was reimburse for all the damages done to her base on our liability insurance and she cash her check. Our liability coverage is not a full replacement coverage that she could perches for more money if she want to.

Also the customer was not ready for the move that day even when she was asked the day before and didn’t mansion anything until the movers arrive that she need packing and that will make the job longer and us late to the 2nd job that we had that day. At the start of the job all costumers initial on our bill of lading  the start time, and in the end of the job the end time, when we round up to the next ½ hour. The customer did initial the bill of lading at start time and end time and that was what she billed for and if she heard her brother said the time she should put it on the bill of lading. Also because of that day became longer of what we estimate and we check the truck GPS all the time so we can update our 2nd costumer with estimate time of arrival to his house so base on the GPS we know that the customer was charge ½ less then what she was suppose because the truck was at the job longer time then on the start and the end time so that is why we don’t reimburse her.

See attachments for check cashed and her initial on bill of lading for start and end time.

Consumer Response: I would like on the record that in my complaint I already stated I was given money for damages but did not agree to the amount for the damages since their workers are the ones who packed the broken items.  I also wanted possible future consumers to know what they are hiring before they make an appointment. Like I said in my previous statement that if you do not end up packing all of your items you should get the extra insurance for your items because they are careless and your items will be damaged. Second, talking about the GPS means nothing given the fact it was 15 extra minutes I was over charged which they used to stand outside in my driveway.  If the truck does not love then the GPS doesn't change but that does not mean that they were actually working.  Which is why i stated that i was overcharged. I also admitted that I signed the paperwork and thinking that my items were handled with care, I didn't really care at the time. Now knowing they weren't, I would have said something. 

Finally, you are correct, I did not plan on using your guys to pack but I wasn't able to get everything done. If your movers couldn't do it, they should have said so.  They did not mention they had another job and your company had no problem with the fact that I paid extra to have my items packed and I paid for the packing materials.   So please do not act like your company did this out of the goodness of their heart.


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Adam's Moving and Hauling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart