BBB Accredited Business since

NTP Marble Incorporated

Phone: (610) 994-2222 Fax: (610) 337-0173 201 W Church Rd, King Of Prussa, PA 19406 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.colonialmarble.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that NTP Marble Incorporated meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for NTP Marble Incorporated include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on NTP Marble Incorporated
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2008 Business started: 12/01/2005 in PA Business incorporated 12/19/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA040713.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nikos Papadopoulos, President Mr. James Freeman, COO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James Freeman, COO
Principal: Mr. Nikos Papadopoulos, President
Business Category

Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Alternate Business Names
Colonial Marble & Granite

Additional Locations

  • 201 W Church Rd

    King Of Prussa, PA 19406

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2015 Delivery Issues
10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2015 Delivery Issues
7/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2015 Delivery Issues
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted Colonial Marble and Granite to install new kitchen countertop, as well as provide raw materials for a kitchen backsplash. The company did not only fail to disclose that the countertop would involve a seam at the kitchen sink, attempts to repair this seam as well as other installation issues have been inadequate. Numerous unreturned phone calls and lack of customer service have led this installation and it's related issues to remain unresolved for alomost 3 months since the installation. First, template appointment/consultation was missed by Colonial employee. When he did come a day late, he was rude/said very little, and neither him nor sales rep at location disclosed that a seam in the counterpart would be necessary for the size of our installation. This seam is in front of the sink/window, and is in the least desirabe place. Then, in late August, installers were hours late, and when finished, the seam, which we did not know about, looked unprofessional and unfinished. Our contractor said it was of poor quality, one of the worst he's seen. Since this issue was pointed out to our sales rep, the experience has been nothing but unreturned phone calls in order to get it resolved. After a month, in late September, a 2nd crew came out to attempt to fix the seam, and explained it was a two part job, but never came back or reached out to shcedule a follow up. Numerous additional phone calls led a 3rd repair crew to come out in early November, and again explained in would be a two part job, they would come back in a couple days, but attempts to schedule resulted in two weeks having passed. Now that the fix is considered complete, it does not look much different than the initial install. Outside of the seam, holes for faucet and soap dispenser were not drilled correctly, and cut of corner to the countertop undesirable. As for raw materials for backsplash, while having already been charged, we received no formal notification that they were available for pick up. Attempts by Colonial to collect the remainder of the balance from us have been denied, as we have not received raw materials, and also dispute the balance, as we feel our contractor discount was not properly applied, nor has the quality of the work met our expectations, nor what Colonial states is to be expected - 100% satisfaction gaurentee. Repeated attempts by myself, my wife, and our contractor have all led to delayed and overall unsatisfactory resolution.

Desired Settlement: Ideally, the countertop would be replaced. If this is not offered by Colonial, we do not feel as if we should pay remaining balance. Also, we would like our payment refunded for the backsplash tile that we have yet to receive.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

We have been in contact with customer and our Senior VP visited their home this past Saturday (12/13/2014) morning to assess their concerns.  We are going back to their home on Thursday (12/18/2014) to rectify their open concerns.  Our Senior VP will be joining our crew to ensure everything goes smoothly.

We will report back and end result once the work is completed on Thursday and customer is satisfied.

Best Regards,

Colonial Marble

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our kitchen renovation through **** ***** which uses Colonial Granite for its countertops. Since day 1, we have had nothing but complaints. They are rude on the phone, do not return phone calls, hang up during calls, and do not answer questions when called. The first time they came out to the house to do our template. they were "unable to do it" because our sink hadn't been installed. We were never informed of this, we were told to call once our CABINETS were installed; which we did. Then they tried to charge us $190 for the failed template. We complained to **** ***** about the issue and all of the other issues and they waived the charges and promised to call Colonial on our behalf. I also emailed the customer service department at colonial to complain about the entire process. When they came out to do the template again, all went well. When installation came, the countertops were all cut wrong and didn't fit. The installers (I was present for this) were pushing and pulling and doing everything the could to get the improperly cut granite to fit, but they could not. They showed myself and two other witnesses where the granite was cut wrong.... they especially pointed out how much of sink was covered improperly. They told me that they and to remove the countertops and make a new wooden template. I agreed. Being that our kitchen is small, I had to leave the room while they removed and built the new template. I was called to return to the kitchen to see the new template which covered most of the countertop area. I was told to sign a paper that stated they "could not install the other counter top and had to make a new template and return. " So i did. I was never told to inspect for damages, and even if i was, I couldn't because everything was covered by wood!!! It wasn't until they left that I saw the damages to the brand new $800 white porcelain farm sink from where the granite was covering it. It was also covered in wood just prior. We called **** ***** and colonial and the result (which we agreed to) was for the installers to attempt to "buff out the mistake during installation." This did not work. Now colonial asked us to provide reciepts and proof of purchase for the sink. Which we did. They asked 100 questions, which we answered. Now they are denying any wrong doing and told us we need to accept $100 and drop the matter. And to replace the sink, would cost a ton of money!!!! We are being bullied and taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: We would like to receive the cost of the sink being that we cannot replace it and they couldn't fix it.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

We are in receipt of the complaint.  This customer was contracted to Colonial Marble via The **** ***** where they made their countertop purchase.

Unfortunately there is nothing further that can be done in this situation as there is no definitive proof that we caused any scratch on the sink.  It is still in working condition as it is installed in the customer's kitchen presently.

Further, we took full ownership of the mistakes in fabrication and promptly re-fabricated and installed a correct top as is our obligation to the customer.

We offered $100 as an act of good faith for the troubles with the job, and will continue to honor that offer, but will not increase it any further. 

Thank you for your continued support.

Best Regards,

Colonial Marble

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase granite counter top through **** ***** and Colonial was the supplier and installer. The counter top was installed September 2011. Three weeks ago, I noted that there are visible damages on the surface of the counter top and contacted the warranty company which instructed me to contact the installer. I call the installer several times without any response. I also called **** ***** to try to resolve the problem. **** ***** asked me to take pictures and email them to them. Never got any response until today when I decided to go to Colonial to be told that the damages is coming from the product that I am using to clean the counter top ( which in my case is water only). The colonial employee told that that is not covered under warranty and I do need to pay $250 for them to come and evaluate what is wrong with the counter top.The employee also gave me a piece of paper that outlines damages that are not covered. This was the first time seeing such a list and if I was shown this during purchase, I would not have purchase the counter top.The counter top has been in my house less than 3 years and comes with 15 years warranty that I don't know what it covers.

Desired Settlement: I need Colonial to come out, evaluate what is wrong with the granite and propose solution as I am not satisfied with the quality of the product.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon ****,

 

Please see the below details that relate to this customer complaint.  To give you some background the customer made their purchase through The **** ***** (will refer to as *** moving forward).  Colonial Marble is the service provider for that specific *** as it relates to their natural stone and quartz countertops.  The customer was installed on 9/24/2011…nearly three years ago.  When customers purchase from *** they receive two warranties:

 

1.      Warranty Type 1 is for 15 years and is a material integrity warranty.  This relates to staining ONLY

 

a.      The type of sealer used does not require re-application but general care by customer is expected to ensure the long-term quality of the stone

 

2.      Warranty Type 2 is for 1 year and relates to installation…i.e. chips in the stone (not caused by customer), workmanship, etc…

 

The first message below dated 5/14/2014 is an e-mail from the *** store to our internal manager for ***.  The second message is the response from our internal manager back to the store location.  As we were not discussing a staining issue which would have related to the material integrity warranty referenced above this is a billable service and was properly handled.

 

At the request of the *** District Sales Manager and in good faith, our VP of Operations visited the customer’s home to assess their concerns.  His response is below dated 5/28/2014.  His findings are that she has pitting within her stone which is natural and has been there since Day 1 as this natural characteristic is developed at the formation of the stone, not during the manufacturing/fabrication/installation nor can it form over time after being installed.  On 6-5-2014 the customer came in to our showroom and met with our Resolution Manager, who reports to our VP of Operations.

 

The bottom line is that there is nothing wrong with the customer’s stone and everything present is natural to the stone.  While a service could potentially minimize their appearance in the stone it will not minimize their presence.  We have done everything we could to try and satisfy this customer but unfortunately that is not possible in this case.

 

We respectfully request that you close this erroneous case in our favor.

 

Thank you, as always, for your support and guidance!

 

6/5/2014

***** *******

met with customer and his wife today. they were insisting that at the time of sale nobody told them to take care of their granite. customer admitting they did not care for their material yet trying to hold CMG responsible. I informed them at the time of install they were given a packet with care instructions attached.

5/28/2014

**** ****

**** I inspected the job this morning and found nothing wrong with the install or material. The pits in the stone are natural and nothing is flacking or chipping away on the countertop surface. We will be replying back to the BBB to advise them of our inspection and what the customer is seeing is natural to granite. There is on larger size pit that might be able to be filled however we would require a $250.00 service fee fill.I informed the customer that there is nothing wrong but I do not think he was accepting and he might push this further with The Home Depot. I have also attached an explanation gained off the internet by simply typing in “ pits in granite countertop” see below. Pitting and Fissures Many colors of natural granite contain pits and fissures which are natural characteristics of stone. This can greatly enhance the beauty and interest of the surface, but will also create some inconsistencies. Some natural granite colors exhibit these characteristics more than others

5/14/2014

******** ******

We warrant our work for 1 year – the 15 year warranty is for food and beverage staining only – send PO for $250 and we will schedule a service

5/14/2014

******** ******

I have a customer by the name of ********* ***** who had granite installed back in July 2011. He said that he thought it was chipping, but actually seems like is happening is the it needs to be resealed in a small area. He said it feels "pitted" and if you look at it from an angle it is a ****e finish. Please let me know what Colonial can do since I think it needs to be resealed but I could be incorrect. The customer can be reached at************* Original po# ********.

 

 

***** *******

Chief Operating Officer

Colonial Marble & Granite

Connect with Us!

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this ****er to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1. When we purchased the granite, we were told we do not need to  do anything to the granite except clean it.  The employee at **** ***** advised with granite you don't have to seal it if it was a non natural stone material, then special chemical would be used to seal it.  therefore we have been cleaning the granite with water only.

2.  When **** **** came to the house to evaluate the granite, he took one picture and told me that this is natural to the stone and nothing is wrong with the granite.  He promised to send some information about granite surface properties to me by e-mail .  Despite me sending him an e-mail to remind him to send the information, he has not done so.  He was agreeable to our request to come to his  the store to look at a similar granite.  He did not mention that they had discontinued selling this granite, he acted as if it was a current product.

3.  When we visited the store, we asked for **** **** who requested, we advise the front office employee why we were there.  We advised him the reason for  our visit,  however he did not come to meet us instead he sent  ***** * , Service Manager, who showed us a piece of granite that was similar to  ours, according to *****, this was a left over material that they had in stock.  After careful inspection of the granite, it did not have any chips on it as compared to what we are seeing in our granite.  When my wife inquired more about why our granite is chipping while the other granites from her friends house do not chip, Step was quick to say " your granite is almost 3yrs, I will not replace it, in fact  the granite is discontinued and the quarry where it was made is closed.  He then offered to send someone to come and sand our granite.  This is unacceptable , if within 2 yrs -3yrs of purchase, the granite has to be sanded then what happens 4-5 yrs from now.  Granite is very expensive and we spent money to buy it, therefore we need to know why it is chipping and why instead of fixing the problem they are focusing on " the quarry is closed, and the product is discontinued.  Why was it discontinued, was it a lemon?  Did **** ***** sell us a lemon?  Sanding is not an answer, it is just covering up the problem.  Therefore we will not accept their resolution.   If **** **** had come and showed us the granite that they had in stock, we would have pointed to him  right there, that they were no chips on the granite in his office but the one at our house has , therefore his statement that there was nothing wrong with our granite was contradicting with what we had just seen in his showroom.

Regards,

********* *****









Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

Unfortunately there is nothing further than can be done.  The customer's countertop has pits which are natural within stone and do not affect it's quality or durability.  Some stones have it, some don't but during the purchase process at **** ***** this is clearly explained so customers can make educated decisions.

As we said before, "there is nothing wrong with the customer’s stone and everything present is natural to the stone.  While a service could potentially minimize their appearance in the stone it will not minimize their presence."

Thank you for your continued support!

Colonial Marble


6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2013, we engaged Colonial Marble & Granite (“CMG”), to provide and install new kitchen countertops in our home. The type of stone we selected was *******, which we purchased for its well-known uniform appearance. On November 30, 2013, CMG team came to our home to install the countertops, and insisted on simultaneous payment in full. That same day, after we made payment, we noticed a large cloudy and unsightly mark in the middle of the countertop, with several cracks around and across the unsightly mark. After we reported the problem, CMG sent a technician who was unable to correct the defect. His inadequate response was that it was a “natural variation in the stone”. While we certainly understand and expect minor variations in the stone, this odd-looking mark is far beyond any acceptable variation in terms of size, cloudiness and shape. We even researched other ******* slabs, and could not find such an odd-looking mark on any of those slabs. Our architect has been working with this type of stone for over 18 years, and she also has never before encountered such an extreme variation in appearance. We have asked that CMG replace this defective stone countertop. To date, CMG has refused to do so except at our own cost. To put it mildly, CMG’s response is unacceptable. CMG sold its product to us upon the representation that it was selling us stone of both fine quality and uniform quality. However, the stone CMG actually delivered is of a patently inferior grade. No reasonable buyer would purchase it for a kitchen counter, and no reasonable seller would attempt to pass it off as anything more than scrap. As a result, CMG is in breach of its contractual obligations to us. Further, by selling us goods of a quality and grade other than as represented, CMG has also violated the Pennsylvania Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law at 73 P.S. Section 201-2 (4)(vii). Incidentally, the new kitchen sink also installed by CMG on the same date is starting to show rust spots after only two and half months, further putting into question the quality of the whole installation.

Desired Settlement: Replace defective countertop and also cover fees incurred so far to try to come to an amicable resolution in the amount of $125.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

First, we apologize for the delay in response.

We are in receipt of this BBB complaint file, as well as the same information in a letter sent to our offices by the customer. Unfortunately, all of the information outlined in both the BBB complaint and the customer's letter is without merit and based on non-working knowledge of the product we installed. Granite, which ******* (the customer's selection) is granite, is a natural product quarried from the Earth. While fairly consistent in nature it also can include clusters of quartz as well as both green, black and in some cases gold inclusions which are the result of the formation of minerals when the stone formed.  The customer was installed as they stated on November 30th 2014.  Just like ALL companies in our industry, final payment was collected at installation so it is not out of the ordinary, nor is it a breach of contract law, to collect "simultaneous" or final payment at this point.

The customer reached out to us afterwards with concerns about cracks and a stain.  We sent a service team member to the home to determine the actual issues and create a path of resolution,  The employee who went on this site visit has been in the stone industry for over 30 years and has expertise on both the fabrication and installation of natural stone countertops.  During his site visit he determined that the "stain" was a natural inclusion within the stone and had no affect on the stone's quality or durability.  He also assessed, and attempted to create a resolution path, for fissures (not cracks) in the stones.  Please see the below statement from *************************************************************:

Fissures occur naturally in many stone types. The term "fissure" is used commercially in the stone industry to describe a visible separation along inter-crystalline boundaries. This separation may start and stop within the face of the stone or extend through an edge. A fissure differs from a crack in that it is a naturally occurring feature of the stone. ALLgranites contain some degree of fissure. Some contain more than others. Since fissures occur naturally in all granites they are not considered a flaw. Countertops will not be replaced due to the presence of fissures. 

While fissures are natural to the stone, and in many cases can be felt, we offered to provide service and attempt to smooth these areas using a polishing pad.  This was by no means necessary, nor was it required, but we did it in the best interest of customer resolution.  The customer did not allow this to occur as they demanded a full remake or refund for a product that had nothing wrong with it.  Further,their complaint about the sink "rusting" is invalid as well.  The rusting occurs due to small particles of metal that are in the air at the steel facilities producing the sinks and they can adhere to the surface.  When water touches the surface it will rust but can be easily removed using soft scrub or comet, as well as a variety of other products.

The unfortunate part of this situation is that the customer is getting misleading information from the people around them.  Everyone becomes an "expert" in these situations but their information, while maybe provided with good intentions, is not correct.  We have installed a first quality product in the customer's home as well as a quality 16 gauge sink (most sinks on market are lower gauges like 18 or 20 which are less durable) and have done it the right way.  The complaints by the customer are unfortunate but we can only look at the facts.

In the interest of offering a resolution, we will agree to a remake for the customer at COST which will be paid by the client.  The client can provide us the best method to contact them and we will do so expeditiously.

Thank you for your time and your continued support!

Best Regards,

Colonial Marble

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The business did not address the main concern, the large cloudy odd-looking mark with several cracks (or fissures as they call them) around and across the mark. The cracks by themselves are a secondary concern and if they were the only issue, we would not be having this conversation. They are odd because the largest fissures are coincidentally right where the mark is and cast further doubt on the quality of the product. So, to make it clear, and repeat it once more, the main issue is the large cloudy odd-looking mark. While there are other, much smaller color variations that are acceptable as we already mentioned, this one mark is both much larger and very odd-looking. It is something that people who see our granite for the first time notice and comment about and that they don't and we don't see in the many homes that they and we have been to over the years. The business has been arguing that it's "natural", and it may or may not be natural, but that's irrelevant. They did not perform the proper quality control and should have rejected that piece. To illustrate this point, rotten tomatoes are also "natural", but grocers will not sell them to their customers, they have a quality control process in place to reject them before they reach the shelf.
As we already mentioned, we hired Colonial Marble to install a quality product as they advertise it and they failed to deliver.

Regards,

***** * ***** ********








4/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased granite counter tops from this company that were installed in my kitchen. I came back to get tiles installed on the kitchen walls and was told I would receive a 15% discount for being a repeat customer. The company had professional measurements that they had done themselves from the granite install and used these same measurements to order tile, to be installed over the same granite they had installed. On the day the tiles would be put on the installers tell me there is not enough material. I didn't understand how they could be short of material when the design consultant ******* ***** had ordered extra material looking at the company's measurements, knowing that we had a "U" shaped kitchen, and confirming that she calculated it correctly. She even had the layout of the kitchen from the granite order as well as photos I emailed to her. It turns out she had missed calculating an entire wall that is in the kitchen, not in another part of the house or anything. The wall was touching granite so it was in the original measurements. To have the extra tile ordered I'd have to pay a $75 service fee. Since the mistake was a fault of hers she waived it, but still did not add on the 15% discount for the extra tile, a discount which she kept saying was already in place. Her manager was quite rude as well mentioning he'd come have the tile removed over such a small disputed amount, $60.83.

Desired Settlement: The disputed difference is only $60.83 which we would like returned. It's a shame they are loosing a customer that was planning to have the rest of the houses done by them over an amount like this.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

We have made mutliple attempts to reach the customer but have not been able to reach via the phone.  We sent an e-mail to her today and will await her response.

The customer can also contact **** **** at ###-###-####.  He is our VP of Operations and will assist her in resolution.

We will, per the request, be refunding the disputed amount but do want to speak with her to address the nuances that got us to this point.

Thank you and have a wonderful day!

Colonial Marble

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I had called the company back each time I saw a missed call from them, only to be told by the secretary that she "could not help me" because there were "too many employees" and the she did not know where to forward my call.  So I asked her to forward my call to the tiles department because that's where this current issue, as well as another (installation defects) was and I thought they were finally calling back.  I had left messages there which I did not get a response to until Friday when ****** called and said someone from tiles would get back to me to schedule a time to finish the installation. As of today, Monday morning, I will continue to wait on that.  I had also sent emails to ******* regarding this issue before filing a complaint with BBB which never got answered.

I did get an email from **** ****, with whom I got in contact with and he will arrange my refund, so I'll wait for that. I'd still like the installation to be properly finished as mentioned and agreed by both ******* ***** and **** ****, and a written apology from *******'s manager for the rude way he spoke to my family and I, threatening to come down and take off the tiles for not paying the 15% amount, which is now in progress of being refunded.  Considering there was more than enough border material shows that ******* started to measure correctly but measured the remaining tiles to go above and below the border incorrectly.  The contract mentions "Measurements not done by CMG are not CMG's responsibility", but these were in fact measurements done by CMG, therefore I had asked for the 15% in the previous order to be carried over and the excess charge dropped.  There was no need for him to speak the way he did.

Regards,

******* ****








9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Colonial tile installers left loose/hanging tile on the wall behind the refrigerator. Also, since there were plenty of extra tiles left, more could have been installed behind the refrigerator for a more even ending point to the tile pattern. The second issue is that they charged $100 for pencil edges but there were only 6 pieces used. Need an explanation of the charge breakdown for the pencil tile. I left multiple voicemails and also spoke to a customer service representative that insisted I take photos of the issues and email them to *******, the sales rep. I did that and never heard back. They also said someone would come out to check the issues and no one ever showed or called.

Desired Settlement: Refund or address tile issue behind refrigerator.

Business Response:

Dear Business Bureau,

Thank you for your message. 

We spoke with the customer after receiving your message and had a service person on-site at his home this past week. 

We resolved his open issues and he is satisfied with the resolution.

Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance!

Best Regards,

Colonial Marble

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: change date of installation

Desired Settlement: deduct cost of plumber and contractor and my inconvenience

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

Unfortunately we will not be offering any remuneration for this customer's.  The customer was templated (in-home measurement) on 6/17/2013 and was installed on 6/27/2013 and did not approve his final material selection until Saturday 6/22/2013.  We require an appropriate time for quality fabrication and gave them our first available appointment on 6/27/2013.

6/27/2013 ***** ******** 9AM - TECHS ONSITE, SINCE WE WERE OUT OF 640 FAUCETS CUSTOMER DECIDED TO GET HIS OWN FAUCET, REMOVED $200.00 FROM ****
6/24/2013 ***** **** PDF
6/24/2013 ***** **** SF OK
6/22/2013 ***** ****** MATERIAL APPROVED
6/20/2013 ******* ***** SLAB VIEW 6/21/13
6/15/2013 ******* ***** 6/15/13 CHANGE ORDER FORM
6/15/2013 ******* ***** CUSTOMER CHANGED SINK TO MS2318 , 6/

They knew their final date of installation 5 FULL days before their install date which would have given them more than enough time to make necessary changes with their plumber if necessary.  As you can see above, this entire process was documented within our management system (see above notes).

At this point there is nothing further we can do, as it relates to this order, because we have done nothing wrong but as an act of good faith we will extend 10% off any future order as we do appreciate the customer's business.

Thank you for your assistance.

Colonial Marble

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased tile to do our kitchen backsplash. We took the measurements, 27 sq ft, and gave that and pics of our kitchen to the salesperson. We were told a breakage amt was needed (approx. 5 or 10% and that was fine. They wrote up the order for 32 sq ft of main tile and 6 sq ft of accent tile - these folks are the experts on what should be needed, not us, we gave them our correct measure. We now have $400 worth of material that we are expected to eat. We spoke with several people at the business (one being ****** who was extremely rude) and the answer is a resounding NO on coming to terms or compromise. They tell us there is nothing they can do with the tile..... what are we supposed to do with it? They miscalculated our needs and will not own up to it. We will accept an overage amt but do not believe we should have to accept 52% extra. The numbers are crazy, how can they not accept some responsibility? The initial contact on May 8 was incomplete because the salesperson was on vacation. No one ever did return our call which accounted for some wks of lapse in communication.

Desired Settlement: Refund of approx. $270. They can have the tile

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

This issue has been resolved with customer.

Thank you for your assistance!

Colonial Marble

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

5/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a granite vanity counter and when I went to pick it up the product wasn't even ready as specified. I returned an hour later and when the employee went to put the granite into my vehicle a quarter size section of the bullnose edge broke off. The backsplash had a chip in it and also wasn't fully polished where the granite would be visible. The granite was also cut raggedly around the center faucet hole, which was acceptable since it would have been covered by the faucet cover. I refused acceptance of the granite and requested a new one be made and for me to be shown the damaged granite when I returned to pickup the replacement, because I was not accepting a repaired product when paying full cost for it. I made a phone call later to a salesman and also spoke to 2 warehouse workers and again specified to both that I was not accepting a repaired product. I returned two days later and discovered that the same granite was being given to me repaired and they refused to show me the first granite made because they said it was already destroyed. The replacement granite still had the raggedy edge around the faucet. It was the original damaged one that they repaired and tried to pass off as a new one. I have wasted three days going back and forth to the warehouse not to mention the amount of time I had to wait around for them to decide what they were going to do about it. Being totally disgusted at this point I asked for my money to be refunded and was denied this by the Sales Manager. I do not trust this company any more and really don't want the granite to be replaced again but I am being forced to accept a supposedly new one for the third time. This company is not trustworthy and now I fear that I will be given an inferior product for making a complaint.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

From the beginning Colonial Marble handled this properly and offered the customer a full remake though servicing the existing top was the proper course of action. 

This complaint came AFTER we offered a full remake.  In either case, the customer accepted and we installed this remake on 3-29-2013.

We consider this complaint closed unless we hear otherwise.

Thank you for your continued support!

Best Regards,

Colonial Marble