BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

American Decorating Center

Phone: (703) 444-1177 View Additional Phone Numbers 40 Pidgeon Hill Drive, Sterling, VA 20165 http://ADCCarpet.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Come see the team at American Decorating Center for your next kitchen remodel, carpeting project orcabinets. We are located in the Country Side Shopping Plaza in Sterling, Virginia, right off VA 7.
American Decorating Center provies carpeting & hardwood flooring in Sterling. VA, Nobody beats our install price. We Specialize in carpet, discount floors, hardwood, vinyl, ceramic tile, laminate, granite counter tops in metro DC area and Northern, VA Family owned and operated for over 25 years.
We the have a team of Staff to make your Dream Kitchen and Baths Come True

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Decorating Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Decorating Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1983 in VA Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated: 08/01/1997 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Davis, President Mr. Jason Kitzmiller Sr., Sales Manager Mr. April Wu, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Davis, President
Business Category

Kitchen Remodeling Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Bathroom Remodeling Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Hardwood Floor Contractors

Products & Services

American Decorating Center sells the following brand(s): Armstrong Cabinets, Armstrong Floors, Home Crest Cabinets, Merillat Cabinets, Schrock Cabinets

American Decorating Center offers the following product(s): Bathroom Remodel, Hardwood Flooring, Kitchen Cabinets, Kitchen Countertops, Laminate Flooring, Tile, Vinyl Sheet

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard
American Express
Check
Internal Financing
Visa
Alternate Business Names
Mega Carpet, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 40 Pidgeon Hill Drive

    Sterling, VA 20165

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 444-6606 (Fax)
  • (703) 444-6606 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB Staff-- My name is *** *. *******, ***** *********** ***** ******* ********* ** *****. Home phone: ###-###-####; cell phone: ###-###-####. E-mail address: Risquith@verizon.net My complaint is against the American Decorating Center ADC), ** ******* **** ****** ********, VA *****; Tel: **** ********; Fax: ###-###-####. E-mail: ****************** **. **** ***** is the general manager and co-owner. My complaint involves ADC's failure to provide kitchen flooring of the same appearance as that shown to me at their store. Based on the sample shown me, on March 5, 2013, for $4,960.86, I purchased "QU Cork: Carina" for our kitchen, laundry room, and closet. I paid by check. When the flooring was being installed, I noticed that some of the tiles were of a lighter shade than that of the sample shown me in the store. I told the installer that I had no problem with him using the lighter shade tiles for the laundry room. But I wanted a uniform shade in the kitchen. I did say that if he had enough of both shades for a complete checkerboard design, I was OK with that. But instead he went ahead and installed the lighter shade tiles in the kitchen randomly. By doing so, the installer working for ADC has made our selling the house difficult and reduced its value. When initially shown the flooring sample and the making the purchase, I was not told that the manufacturer could not provide the tiles in uniform shades. At my request, **** *****' sister ****, who I think is the other co-owner, and a woman representing the floor installation company, came to see the kitchen flooring. **** agreed with me and said that she was going to contact the manufacturer to get the needed tiles of the same shade that I purchased. When I was later told that the manufacturer could not do this, I said that I wanted a replacement flooring of uniform appearance. **** said that in order to do this, I would have to pay $1,000, which I refuse to pay. Since then I've been getting the run-around to the point that they no longer answer when I call. I have purchased flooring from ADC for many years and have always been satisfied. In fact, I have referred many friends to **** *****. Therefore, I was shocked and disappointed at **. *****' attitude and failure to provide good quality service this time. *** *. *******

Desired Settlement: What I want is for ADC to remove the cork flooring that they had installed and replace it with flooring of equal quality and value, subject to my selection, at no additional cost to me.

Business Response: Dear ** ***** ******

I wanted to respond to the complaint that *** ******* has asked to have us respond.

***** *******, ***** ** and I met with *** several times over the last several months with many options for her flooring. We take great pride in making our customers feel like family and friends, ***. ****** may have misunderstood some of the compromises along the way but we always wart to have the customer feel like they are getting what they decide is best for then. In this case, I believe ***. ******* didn't understand what a natural cork floor can look like when its installed. We took every step along the way to have her feel comfortable with what was her choice even during the instalation.

Back before the job started I personally worked with ***. *******'s insurance company so that she could get the amount needed to replace her floor. She said stated to both **** **(customer service rep) and my self that she had cork on her floor in her kitchen. I said I was surprised she had cork on her floor but she insisted to our staff that it was cork.

When I sent ***** ***********sales manger) out to measure her floor for the insurance company prior to the installation it was noted that she had a laminate floor which is different from cork. From the first time in the show room I noted cork is a natural product(laminate is a machine made product). The floor prior to installing she saw the contract and was aware that it was cork. When she arrived in our store she said she had cork and wanted cork on her floor. During her trips in I believe January to March we showed her various types of flooring and she still insisted on getting the cork with the three staff members she worked with. Perhaps she misunderstood thru a language barrier but I thought she understood about the cork from the beginning.

We signed a contract and we set up the install for *** *******.

Or the day of installation of the ccrk floor she contacted the store and was not happy that there was variation in the cork. ***** ** with American Decorating Center(ADC) went to her home to see what she was asking about as she had concerns. I also called her (I believe while ***** ** was in her house) about the material and reminded her that it was a natural wood product and she said when wanted to have the color lighter in an the kitchen and if need be she could have the darker cork in the laundry room, the floor would normal have random shades on each piece. I further explained to her we are there to make it will be impossible to have just one color because it is naturai cork, but ***** said and I agreed that we would order at our expense extra boxes to mate the laundry closer to a darter color and the kitchen closer to a lighter color which we did. We delayed the installation and when the boxes came in she was very involved with which pieces when in each area.

We completed her job and she was satisfied with the work and material she paid us the final part of the insurance check in full.

In the month of ***** ***. ** **** contacted our showroom and spoke with my sister ***** *******(Also a Manager part owner as we are a family owned business) and said that (here was a installation problem with the floor, ***** contacted the Manufactures rep. who was involved with the jcb from the beginning of March his name is ***** *** (the Company is CMH). We trust and value *****'s opinion as we have worked with him for over 20 years. He said there was no manafacturing defects or installation problems with the our team. He did note that there was damage done by the pet in a few areas and that the warranty does not cover this. The warranty claim was denied by the manufacture.

She came into the store later I believe in May and both ***** and myself worked with her on possible compromises which included a different floor and that we would cover 1/2 the cost which we thought was a fair resolution.

Options 1: We offered to replace the product as there is nothing wrong with the current material and install it far 1/2 the cost.
We are offering these options as she requested in June. She picked a vinyl floor and we offered it at less than 1/2 the cost which I believe was around 3721.54 for ard we actually offered to do the floor for around 1250.00.

We also offered as she asked for a different cork option which was a upgraded style better grade than she had before which the cork is dyed for a more consistent look but I explained to her it still has variation the cost was 5664.25 but we offered to have tier feel satisfied we offered it to her for a better grade for 1866.21.

If ***. ******* would prefer to have us install the same cork and if she would like to pick out of the boxes prior to where she wants the material we can do this and American Decorating Center will offer a compromise of splitting the cost of labor and material to both take care of a few damaged areas from the pet as well as she can decide for herself how how many pieces she will need. We will be happy to work this out if she chooses to keep the flooring in the most economical for her. As ***, ******* is aware the cork is a custom order product and if we order boxes. As she decides which pieces she wants it might require several boxes to obtain what look she decides she wants. We estimate that she might need in materials 780.00 and (labor with a crew of 2 is at 48.00 per labor hour 96.00 per hour) We estimate to remove various pieces in the floor could cost about 8 labor hours to achieve which is 768.00. The total for the job would be 1548.00 but if she prefers to do this providing that 7 boxes of material plus quarter-round moldings and 1 days work is enough we will offer to discount it for 700.00 which is more than 1/2 the cost.

I believe this is a fair compromise and I hoe that she can feel like it will allow her to feel like she is getting a fair and reasonable care.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

See Attachment

Regards,

*** *******

Dear **. ******:

Unfortunately, **. *****’ response contains very important inaccuracies which may result from his being misinformed by his sales staff.

First and most importantly, at no point prior to installation, was I told that the shade (lightness or darkness) of the color of the type of flooring 1 selected would not be uniform. Had I been told this, I most certainly would not have selected the flooring.

Furthermore, I do not recall being told by anyone at American Decorati8ng Center that cork is a “natural wood product.” And even if I had been, this is not the same as my being told that the coloring would not be uniform. Not being a flooring expert, I cannot be expected to know this.

As for my supposed misunderstanding due to “language barrier,” I have previously purchased hardwood flooring and carpeting from American Decorating Center with no misunderstanding. At those times, I mostly dealt with **. ***** or his sister and co-owner, ***** *******. But this time, I mostly dealt with their employee, ***** **, who told me that **** and ***** no longer come to the store often as before.

**. ***** also claims that I was satisfied with the work. This is not true.

I told the installer not to continue laying down flooring pieces in the kitchen area that varied, but he ignored me and did. When ***** came to my house to see the problem, she said that “I did not have to accept the flooring,” and that she would contact the manufacturer to get additional pieces of uniform shade.

Following this I visited the American Decorating Center at least five or six times to see **** or ***** and telephoned them store as many as probably 10 times, but each time was told that they were not present nor did they ever returned my calls. I believe that I got through to **** or ***** perhaps once after the problem arose. They were either not getting my messages or were purposely ignoring me.

Since I was not warned before I purchased that the coloring of the pieces would be random, I want American Decorating Center to replace the flooring with another type of equal quality and price with no out-of-pocket cost to me other than for the single piece of flooring that is scratched.

I regret this situation because I have dealt with the American Decorating Center a number of times over many years and was always satisfied with their work and customer relations. Unfortunately, this did not turn out to be the case this time.

Sincerely,





Business Response: Oct 8 2013
Dear ** ***** ******,

I wanted to respond to the complaint that *** ******* has asked to have us respond.

I believe the best way we can resolve this is if ***. ******* would like additional material for the floor we can order the material she wants at a discount. We will provide up to 6 additional hours of labor value 480.00.

She can decide what pieces of the natural cork she wants to remove and we can possibly solve this problem. If we order an additional natural cork 5 boxes to work on the job the reduced cost for the additional material would cost only 5.5p s/f which the total cost with 5 boxes total of 102.8s/f would be at 5.50 would be 565.40 sales tax on the material 33.92. the total cost will be 599.32 for the additional materials and we will provide up to 6 labor hours to accommodate any changes. I hope this can be a win win for her. All left over materials will be hers to keep again.

If she finds this to be a reasonable approach once we order the material we can have it ordered we can make it a highest priority to resolve the pieces of cork that she does not like.

Thank you