BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

ServInt

Phone: (703) 847-1381 View Additional Phone Numbers 12001 Sunrise Valley Dr Ste 350, Herndon, VA 20191 http://www.servint.net

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ServInt meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ServInt include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 2001 Business started: 02/09/1995 Business incorporated: 02/09/1995 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Reed J Caldwell, President & CEO Mr. Christian Dawson, COO Ms. Taylor Larkin, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Reed J Caldwell, President & CEO
Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting Internet Services Internet - Web Hosting Computers - Sys Designers & Consult

Alternate Business Names
The Servint Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 12001 Sunrise Valley Dr Ste 350

    Herndon, VA 20191

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 573-7846(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been complaining our issues with my server main.******************* for the past few months and everytime I talk to Tech Support, they tell me its fixed but few hours later it stop working. I have tried everything by talking to Supervisors and allowing them to move my account to another server but the problem did not get solved.

Desired Settlement: At this point I need a refund for the time period my account had improper and inferior service and want my account closed in their system right away. I paid for over three months of service and during which the services were inferior and customer service and technical support was not helping.

Business Response: Aside from the four recent past due tickets this customer had on his account, there was only one ticket in our Portal Ticketing system that discusses a Plesk control panel issue. Our technicians did everything they could to assist the customer and migrated him to a new host machine where the problem did not exist. When the customer called in to cancel service, we waived the 30 day cancellation notice and closed his account immediately and did not charge him anything further. Though we do not have any evidence that supports we are at fault, we will meet him halfway and process a refund for a month and half of service. This will be issued shortly.

-ServInt

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service was cancelled due to excessive attempts of hacking assigned IP by servint. IP assigned caused server slowing and cause 2 sites to be compromised. There are typical attempts made, however servint servers seemed to be more attacked then others. We do have several other accounts with other companies and even though they do get attacked, its no comparison to how my servint IP's are attacked. We had to remove 2 sites and transfer them to another hosting provider, after consulting with web security we were informed to move all site to another hosting service. Servint claims no less the 30 days, according to our legal advisor and since it was a security issue, they are only entitled to payment of use of days which is 4, which is the date the service was cancelled

Desired Settlement: Pay 4 days of use only.

Business Response: We can assure you that our IP addresses were not the cause for the customer being attacked. With that said, we'd like to just close this case out and move forward from the issue. We will have the customer's account closed out as of March 4th per his request and waive the 30 day process. We will issue him a new invoice that will just cover the days in March he received service.

-ServInt

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Since I closed the account on March 4th, there was no service after that or any attempt of us using their service. The invoice shows service beyond the closed date, Servint elected to keep the account open pass the March 4 date, then it was Servint choice and not ours. We owe from March 1st to March 4th, which is 4 days. The invoice they provided is skewed.

The IP Servints uses IP addresses  passed on us from another user  account, which can cause this attack to happen, since the IP may have been used by other before we opened the accounts. the account resolves to live.thefactorypeople.com, as indicated with below information.
*******************************************
Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: We've issued a revised invoice to cover the days in March the account was active. His final balance is $7.71 and it is a pro-rated amount for March 1-4.

-ServInt

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I have paid the invoice here is the details; Thank you for helping in this resolution.

Regards,

PayPal logo Apr 23, 2013 11:26:52 GMT-07:00
Transaction ID: ****************L
Hello *****************,

You sent a payment of $7.71 USD to ServInt Internet Services

)


It may take a few moments for this transaction to appear in your account.

Merchant
ServInt Internet Services
billing@servint.com
Instructions to merchant
You haven't entered any instructions.
Description Unit price Qty Amount
ServInt Invoice ******
$7.71 USD 1 $7.71 USD
Subtotal $7.71 USD
Total $7.71 USD
Payment $7.71 USD
Payment sent to *******************

Invoice ID: ******



Issues with this transaction?
You have 45 days from the date of the transaction to open a dispute in the Resolution Center.

Questions? Go to the Help Center at: ********************

Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click Help in the top right corner of any PayPal page.

You can receive plain text emails instead of HTML emails. To change your Notifications preferences, log in to your account, go to your Profile, and click My settings.


PayPal Email ID *****

 

*** ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1