BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pet 360,Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pet 360,Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 43 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 43

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 27, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated: 09/01/1999 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brock Weatherup, Chairman/CEO Joyce Cooke Ms. Tina Hatfield, Complaint Contact Mr. Matthew Murray, VP of Finance Mr. Jon Roska Jr., VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tina Hatfield, Complaint Contact
Principal: Mr. Brock Weatherup, Chairman/CEO
Business Category

Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
National Pet Pharmacy Pet Place Mall PetFood Direct PetFood Direct, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2260 West Butler Pike  Suite 100

    Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 513-1999(Phone)
  • (484) 530-5010 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2014 Delivery Issues
7/17/2014 Delivery Issues
7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/16/2014 Delivery Issues
6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/20/2014 Delivery Issues
4/28/2014 Delivery Issues
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2014 Delivery Issues
12/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Friday November 1 2013 at approximately 10:30PM I placed an online order with Petfooddirect.com. There were all kinds of flashing signs indicating that the shipping on pet food was free. When I placed the order no total amount of the purchase appeared and I was told the purchase confirmation had been E-mailed to me.When I went and opened the E-mail substantial shipping charges had been added to the bill. When I went back to the website to cancel the purchase there was no mechanism to do so. When I E-mailed the company they responded that they would get back to me within 24 hours. Apart from the E-mails indicating the receipt of my E-mail they have not contacted me. At 9:00AM PST Saturday November 2 I called them to cancel the order and was told it had been cancelled. today I received an E-mail telling me the order has been shipped. When I called back I was told that the order had not been cancelled despite the phone call and several E-mails asking that it be. I was told that I could wait at my house and when the delivery came refuse delivery and my money would be refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like this order cancelled and funds restored to my credit card.

Business Response: We apologize for this poor service experience.  The charges were refunded by PetFoodDirect on 11/5/13.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A month ago I place order for dog food. After a few days on this food they send us my two dog got sick with diarrhea and some other problems. I called this company an asked about the food they provided and if the will help cover some of y vet. bills. They were very rude but finally decided to give me back part of the money I payed for my order. I ask them to discontinued any further shipping because id did not want to do anything with company that sells such dangerous product and has such rude employees. To my surprise they charged my credit card again and sand mi the same kind of food. They were more rude than the last time but finally promise to email me UPS label that I am still awaiting as well of return of my money. I can call them anymore because they are extremely difficult and rude people. They should be in business or have some polite employees to be able to make easier to deal with their mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I need my money back a.s.a.p. and they should sand UPS to pick up merchandise I did not ask for. I do not have time or money to cover their errors.

Business Response:

On 10/2, the **. ********** received a refund after her dissatisfaction with the product she purchased.  Customer Care canceled the standing order per her request and the second bag was picked up and refunded on 10/28.  Pet360 complied with all her requests; we apologize for any inconvenience and frustration she experienced.  Pet360 records 100% of our phone calls for quality assurance purposes and all transcripts will be reviewed by management.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June I filed a complain against this company (*******) after multiple emails and calls would not stop them from sending advertisements to my email address (******************) Only after filing the complaint did they stop. Now they have started sending emails again.

Desired Settlement: Remove my email address from ALL mailing lists. This was NOT done before.

Business Response:

This address was removed from all promotional emails as promised.  National Pet Pharmacy is migrating to a new website (Pet360), so we are obligated to send emails to anyone who has an order history with National Pet Pharmacy.  This was a transactional email, not promotional, and we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.  No more emails will be sent to this email address.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to stop email advertizing from vendor by clicking on the unsubscribe. After 5 attempts with no results called the company and was told I was removed. Emails continued, called again and spoke with a supervisor (****) and was told it sent to the IT department for removal. More emails came... Called again and spoke to ********...Still emails are coming.

Desired Settlement: Stop the emails.

Business Response: We are sincerely sorry about this and our marketing team has removed the email address from the National Pet Pharmacy database.  We value your privacy and do not want to continue to send unwelcome emails.  The manual suppression should eb effective within 1 business day.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had at least 2 incidents where "www.petfooddirect.com" (a company of Pet360) sent items out via "autoship" where the items had not been ordered. I contacted customer services about the issue and they did not offer a reason for the accidental shipment nor did they offer compensation for the order error. The first time I received the incorrect order of cat food (I order one Vet Rx & one regular brand). The expensive Vet Rx was sent in lieu of the normal food until I eventually canceled the auto ship completely since customer services were unable to do anything but assure me there was no issue. This was regarding orders Order ******* & ******* [case no. ******-******] Recently, after being assured this would not happen again, I recieved an order (Order *******) that had been set to autoship in 6 month intervals. My last purchase of those items was in April 22nd, 2013 (Order *******). However, yesterday (June 6th) I recieved the items again & was charged another $12.91 for the items (Order *******). Clearly, 6 months has not passed since my last order. Meanwhile, I am waiting for treats that have not yet shipped even though they are due on the 6th of every month. Either there is a gross amount of error in the order handeling process or they have a known issue relating to the functionality of their website - regardless it is the responsibility of this company to manage its orders appropriately. In effect, the company is charging me for things I did not order. If I did not trust them with autoship I would not have ordered these items at all at this time. However since they have permission to autoship items when I specify the company is either knowingly abusing this or knowingly turning a blind eye to the issue they have managing the orders.

Desired Settlement: I would like two things: 1) The company to find the issue and correct it, not only for myself, but also for other customers. If it is an issue with order handeling then this company needs to manage their employees better & set up training for order handeling. Alternatively, if this is not for lack of training then the company needs to fire or punish those employees who can't be bothered to do their jobs correctly. If this is a website error then the company need to contact the website designers so that these auto-orders are not being submitted wrongfully. 2) Some form of compensation for the inconvenience and extra financial burden of these errors. Particularly for the most recent order sent 3 months ahead of schedule.

Business Response:

We certainly apologize for the trouble **. ******* experienced with her AutoShip and are reviewing her feedback about the program to make improvements where needed.  She has since had communication with our Care Team to rectify the outstanding issues and we issued a full refund for order *******.

We would ask, however, that she contact a manager if this has not yet been resolved to her satisfaction.  She can reach out by email to **** ******** at *********************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. Customer service is supposed to get back to me regarding why these orders are being sent prematurely, but as of yet they have not. I will contact **** ******** (********************) as recommended.

 

Regards,

******** *******


BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Science Diet S/D Dissolution Canned Dog Food was advertised at www.petfooddirect.com (Pet 360) to help dissolve struvite bladder stones in dogs by prescription from my vet. The representative at the company told me I needed to use the product for up to six months before seeing results. After six months and $255.71 in dog food ordered, (see detailed order history below) the vet did not find any difference in the size of the bladder stones in my dog via x-ray. I'm requesting a full refund from the company for this dog food since the product was defective and did not meet the expectations of the advertisement. In good faith, I ordered this product for six months and did not see any results. Order #:******* 4/13/2013 Shipped $65.98 Order #******** 3/11/2013 Shipped $62.37 Order#: ******* 3/2/2013 Shipped $65.98 Order #:******* 1/29/2013 Shipped $61.38 TOTAL: $255.71

Desired Settlement: I'm asking for a full refund of $255.71 for the cost of the ****** Science Diet S/D canned dog food ordered over the last six months. I'm sure www.petfooddirect.com (Pet360) can get reimbursed for this defective product from the manufacturer, ****** Science Diet. Since I paid them for the product, the manufacturer, ****** Science Diet stated the refund needs to come from www.petfooddirect.com (Pet 360).

Business Response:

*** ***** spoke with a member of our management team today.  We issued an RMA for the last order placed and issuing him a gift card to use toward a future purchase.  In addition, we contacted the manufacturer on his behalf and they are reviewing his case.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have accepted the resolution but it is not the resolution I asked for. I wanted a full refund for all the dog food purchased since it did not dissolve bladder stones in my dog as advertised.  I assume that is the best they will offer because they gave me the same response on the phone.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company advertises free shipping for over $49. They also advertise to purchase on their auto ship program and save 15%. On my first order the price was $65 free freight. On my second order they raised the price about 10% gave me a 15% discount and charged 17.65 in freight. Then I noticed on my third order they did the same. When I called they agreed to give me the freight charge refund on my last order but I was out of luck on the second order. They also used the excuse that price increases can happen at anytime. Bottom line is they should have refunded the freight and they should not deceive people to sign up for the auto ship so they can relieve themselves of the obligation of notification of price increase and charge freight. They boast of the convenience and then tell me it is my responsibility to check the price. That is not convenient and they also said if I just order each time I can always have free freight. So I am getting a refund of $17 and I think I am entitled to much more. This is a deceptive company.

Desired Settlement: I want my price increase from the original order refunded and the freight charges. I also want to be unsubscribed because companies like this give the internet a bad wrap.

Business Response:

*** ********  placed an order using a one-time free shipping promotion and at the time of the order, signed up for the Autoship Program.  The Auto Ship program offers a 15% discount on most items, but as stated in the details, veterinary diets are excluded from the 15% off.  When the Auto Ship order processed he was given the Bonus Brand discount, but not the 15% off since it did not apply to the item (he did receive a 5% discount because the product is considered a bonus brand and that is tied to the product rather than a promo code).  The second Auto Ship order processed and  reflected a price increase on the product, as the retail price changed after we received a price increase from the manufacturer.  We do not currently lock in pricing on AutoShip orders.

Customers are welcome to join the Auto Ship program or use the free shipping promotion, but we are unable to combine discounts.  This information is noted in the offers and in FAQs on the website. 

We are unable to refund the price increase, but we would be happy to refund the shipping since he could have placed the order with the one-time promo rather than through AutoShip.

 

We will also unsubscribe as requested.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  They are totally missing the point.  The website is misleading and they avoid communication with the auto ship customer informing them of price increases.  It is not convenient if it is my responsibility to verify pricing before each shipment.  Additionally, in their own words the admitted I should not do auto ship and I could have received free freight on every order.  Again, I know they would weasel their way out of accepting any responsibility and the sites like this have consumers wary of internet purchasing because of the misleading advertisement.


Regards,

***** ********








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a product but needed a prescription from my vet. Before I obtained the prescription the company already took out the money from my debit card! Then I called to cancel the whole order (because I didn't like their practices and I cancelled the whole account) and they gave me a refund within a few days. Then a few weeks later, I get an email that says an "automatic delivery" is on its way. I called them put it was too late, the package was on its way. I then had to call them to pick up the large box, which they did within a few days. Now I've been waiting for an email or notice of a refund again, but I had to call and set it up. Now I have to wait 4 or 5 business days for my $71.58!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund immediately! And I want them to state on their website that they take your money faster than you can send a prescription! They have had my money long enough!

Business Response:

We apologize for the confusion with the order. The package was returned and the refund was approved today (5/8). It should be visible on the billing statement in 2 business days, since the receiving bank has to process and post the transaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/26/2012, I ordered the Ziwipeak Venison & Fish real meat cat food 3-pack from this company, order number is *******. When the product I arrived, I noticed the meat looked greenish and different from before, I wasn't alarmed because the products were well within expiration deadline (2014). After feeding this product to my cat for over two months and finishing almost one bag, I found out that the greenish color was because there are a lot molds in the meat. I immediately opened the other unopend bag and found the same thing - molds on each and every piece of the dry meat! I am outragous. I can't believe this company would sell products that have gone bad to their customers. I have been a loyal customer for a number of years and have always trusted their products. I'm extremely angry that they have put my cat in danger by selling me bad products with molds.

Desired Settlement: I demand that the company provide a full refund to me immediately for this order and be responsible for potential health care costs of my cat because of consumption of their product.

Business Response:

The refund for this product was issued on 3/15 after the customer spoke with our customer service team. We do not make this product, but we sent her feedback to the manufacturer who I understand was in touch with her by email today to address her concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) On 9 February I placed an order (#*******). After waiting for a reasonable amount of time, I didn't get the package. It was mailed USPS priority, but the website didn't provide a tracking number. 2) On 27 March I contacted customer service to inquire about the package. On 1 March, they told me it shipped on 13 February and that it can take up to 4 weeks for it to go to APO. Being that I buy a considerable amount of goods online, I am well versed in how long it takes packages to get to me. I even went as far as asking at the post office, which they confirmed that the package should have taken 7 days, 10 days top since it was "PRIORITY." 3) On 4 March, they gave me an INCORRECT tracking number. That same day I told them so. 4) On 6 March, they give me a website to track the package. The website is *********************************/ and the tracking number is #**** **** **** **** **. What they failed to inform me about is that the tracking number was not for USPS! Additionally, they tell me that I should be "getting it any day now." That is unsatisfactory. If you put in that number in that website, you will see that the delivery date should have been 18 February. That same day, I tell them that I am not satisfied and to go ahead and ship it again. The reply I get is that they will ship it within 1-2 days. 5) On 7 March I requested an update. I did NOT receive any response. 6) On 11 March I requested an update again. All I got was an automated response with a tracking number for what seems to be just one item (less than one ounce weight!). I can only guess this is only one cat toy. I am sick and tired of having to "demand" information as to status, and being ignored. All I want is the stuff I bought! The fact that customer service takes their time to reply (and I am talking here 4 days!) is unacceptable. I have never had to deal with a merchant that takes this long to reply, and yet with unhelpful responses that are ambiguous and unhelpful. The complaint number is Incident: **************

Desired Settlement: I want the stuff that I bought, for which I have already been charged for. I also want for someone in upper management to acknowledge and learn how you are treating customers. The very first order that I placed went without a hitch, but this one is giving me nightmares. It is a waste of my time, and I do not feel like a valued customer.

Business Response:

This order was placed on 2/9. It shows we shipped it on 2/13, and we shipped it via mail innovations going to an APO. The **** *********** sequence number for the package tracks it through the ************ post office and then stops tracking. We put in a reship on 3/6, and it shipped on 3/9. The new **** *********** sequence number for the package tracks it through to delivery at the APO.

The customer should be in receipt of the package. We will have a member of management review the correspondence to address the cited delays.

This order was placed on 2/9. It shows we shipped it on 2/13, and we shipped it via mail innovations going to an APO. T** **** *********** sequence number for the package tracks it through the ************ post office and then stops tracking. We put in a reship on 3/6, and it shipped on 3/9. The new mail innovations sequence number for the package tracks it through to delivery at the APO.

The customer should be in receipt of the package. We will have a member of management review the correspondence to address the cited delays.

Consumer Response:

Hello:
Please close my submitted complaint ID *******. I consider it resolved.
 
Regards,
**** ** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a cat with a urinary tract infection that requires special prescription food. In order to order the food I needed to get a vet authorization to buy the food. I tried to purchase cat prescription cat food, but when I got it in the mail it was prescription dog food. I called the company to ship my food back and the man was extremely rude to me and told me I would have to pay for the return shipping. I paid 13.49 for the return shipping. The issue I have is that the vet only authorized cat food for urinary tract infection, so at some point their should have been some verification to the vet's prescription to ensure that I was receiving the right food. I would like my money refunded including the original 41 dollars I paid for the order. The company really needs to double check orders, because it's prescription food. I had called your company and they asked me a lot of questions. According to my receipt, it says I have 30 days to return my order without any questions asked. The man on the phone was extremely rude. I needed cat food not dog food. This wasted my time and money.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded as well as the 13.49 shipping costs I incurred because of this. I had spoken to the company over the phone to try to get my shipping labels and the man was extremely rude to me. He said I needed to pay the shipping costs myself.

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize for this oversight as it was our error and we would like to rectify the situation as requested.  The product cost has already been refunded and we will issue a refund for the balance (original shipping charges).  We will also send refund check to the mailing address for the costs incurred to return the product.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   Thank you for taking care of this matter quickly.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/3/2012 Delivery Issues
9/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/22/2011 Delivery Issues
10/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1