BBB Accredited Business since

Rossi Mechanical Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (215) 657-4577 10 York Rd, Willow Grove, PA 19090 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rossimechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rossi Mechanical Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rossi Mechanical Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rossi Mechanical Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Judi A. Kane, President Patrick Kane
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Judi A. Kane, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Water Heaters - Repairing Electricians

Alternate Business Names
M. Rosii Mechanical Services, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/19/13 we purchased a hot water heater from ****** Mechanical Company LLC (30 Gallon ******** ***** Water Heater #KE183-29565) and was told on the receipt that the water would range from 100-110 degrees, but this did not happen. On September 8, 2013 we contacted *. Rossi / Mechanical Services, the company that has the warranty on the product purchased, we were told that we needed to purchase and have a Honeywell mixing valve placed on the water heater to ensure that the temperature would stay between 100-110 degrees, but once again this did not happen. We then contacted *. Rossi / Mechanical Services again and was told that a new technician would come back out to assess the problem and that happened on October 17, 2013. On October 17, 2013 we received an e-mail stating that the mixing valve was working properly but they were unaware of a second hot water heater in a different part of the building that was causing the problem because both hot waters were connecting at some point somewhere along the piping and when one heater (for the bathrooms) is turned off the other hot water heater dispenses the hot water at a higher temperature and that they were unaware of the second heater but this is untrue. When we contacted them originally on 10/8/13 this was mentioned and again when the original technician came out to install the mixing valve it was retold again. *** is a non-profit organization that provide child care services to the inner city children of North ************ area and after school care for neighborhood children/youth. *** provides home cooked meals for the children from the commercial kitchen on our facility which based on the Pennsylvania Department of State requires that the hot water heater that is used for the kitchen area maintains water temperature above 110 degrees. *** areas requires different temperatures with different variations. It is our belief that a company like *. Rossi / Mechanical Services would know something like this and would have checked into this.

Desired Settlement: *** would like a refund of $495.00 for the installation of the Honeywell mixing valve which is not working as promised and placed in writing from *. Rossi / Mechanical Services.

Business Response:

The first communication we received about ******** ******** ****** was a fax from ******** ***** Company on October 10th. (see attached).  We did not receiving anything prior to October 10th even though the complaint says we were contacted directly by ******** ******** ****** in September.  They might have talked to the original installer of the unit but did not contact us.  We receive all authorized warranty calls within the first year of service through ******** *****; we cannot accept any direct calls from customers until ******** has given us the authorization to schedule.  We do not hold the warranty on the units as the customer states; we are the service agents dispatched by ******** ***** to service any units that have warranty defects.  According to ******** *****’s policy, we are also to inform the customer when the issue is not a manufacturer’s defect and then charge the customer directly if is an issue not related to the tank.   We found the newly installed water heater to be working according to manufacturer’s specifications and because we were told that water heater was not directly connected to the other water heater - we suggested the installation of a mixing valve that would help with the temperature problem.  On 10/11/13, we installed a mixing valve. On 10/17, we were informed by the customer that the water was still too hot.  We sent our technician back again (at no additional charge) to see why this would not have resolved the issue.  We found that the water heaters do not work separately as we were told - there is a cross connection in the piping somewhere as evidenced by the testing that was performed. We then notified **. ******** of our findings on that same day through email. Attached is the information that was sent to **. ******** on 10/17/13.

After receiving this email from us, **. ******** filed a BBB claim because he did not agree with our findings.  We also received a letter in the mail dated 10/20/13 with similar information.  We have spoken to **. ******** and explained that we stand by our findings and have contacted ******** ***** who is agreement that this is not a warranty issue.  We informed him that we have not deposited the check and that we will schedule a time to remove the mixing valve.  At that time, we will give him his original check back.  We also informed him that it would be best to go back to his original installer or a different company for a resolution since he is not pleased with our suggestions as seen in our final invoice (attached).  

 

12/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues