BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

McCarthy Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Phone: (703) 924-1650 View Additional Phone Numbers 8198 Terminal Rd ste 105, Mason Neck, VA 22079 http://www.McCarthyService.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCarthy Heating & Air Conditioning Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCarthy Heating & Air Conditioning Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 02, 2005 Business started: 06/13/2000 Business started locally: 06/13/2000 Business incorporated: 06/13/2000 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2705087144A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan McCarthy, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan McCarthy, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers Electricians

Alternate Business Names
McCarthy Services

Additional Locations

  • 8198 Terminal Rd ste 105

    Mason Neck, VA 22079

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 314-0605(Phone)
  • (540) 710-0070(Phone)
  • (703) 436-1453(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McCarthy has been to home to fix the NEW AC unit 4 times now the first starting within a week of insulation. Fast Forward to this week and they were here Thursday as the unit would not even turn on and the issue was blamed on a wiring issue. Then the unit went out again by Friday night and will not cool the home. They came out again on Sunday and again said oh the filter is dirty and said that it was fixed. A few hours later still hot as hell in the house. Called the tech that came out and was told he could not get someone out till tomorrow? What type of service is that you come out to fix something and then don't fix it and then are not even man enough to suck it up and come back after all other appointments to take care of your customers? I have to have this fixed by Monday by 11pm when my Father comes home from his cancer treatments and needs a cool place to sleep. The stress that this is putting on him is ridiculous he needs to focus on his health not some issues with a barley one year old AC unit that was replaced to prevent stress while he is going through the treatments.

Desired Settlement: Either full refund for defective products/services or full replacement of the full HVAC system with all new parts as the ones obviously are not quality parts

Business Response: November 19, 2013

Dear ** **** *****,

This is a follow up to an issue that arose this summer with a new Trane HVAC system.  On August 8th, 2013, we replace the evaporator coil under a manufacturer’s warranty at no cost to the customer.  We regret any inconvenience that we may have caused
** *****.  We value ** *****’s business and we hope to continue to perform HVAC and plumbing services for him in the future.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Why did it take this long to even get a response about the issues I have had is a perfect example of why I can't trust the unit nor the company it was purchased from. Then they don't even respond to anything I said in the complaint. That said for now the unit is working (for now) but after spending so much money to have such poor customer service is just unforgivable I get better service after buying a $200 product then products totaling more than $8,000...

Regards,

**** *****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: contacted plumber for toilet flapper to be replaced... first no charge for estimate... first price $450.00 of course did not want .. then said estimate 35.00 if not repaired.. then went to truck and came back with price of 195.00 ..I said ok the parts at home depo were are 9.50 flapper parts 9.50 cut off valve normally could have done my self but am 80 with back problems then went back to truck and bang on door and wanted to take flapper part back showed me the part I had put green coloring in to see if leaked...then at this point after all this and bending to replace parts guess what u now have a cracked toilet ??? what not! not in beginning !! not during ... after going to truck ..... then at end oh btw toilet cracked Called that evening spoke to receptionist explained all be sure to note what happened and was to get a call from manager no reply!! Now I would like to have it fixed ..still leaks chained get caught and water runs and runs and have my toilet replaced that he must have broke because neither I nor my son every saw that crack previously also near the end kept telling me don't fall repeated several times!! I have placed a dispute with card co. thanks... Oh now they want it repaired and another plumbing co. said they did it an at present must manually lift chain to prevent water from running

Desired Settlement: no charge on card and replace toilet in my opinion if cracked he did this cracking

Business Response: November 19, 2013

Dear ** ****** ***********,

This is a follow up to an issue that arose this summer with a plumbing service call.  To further resolve this issue, I will credit ** ***********’s credit card for the amount of $195.00.  I would be happy to return to continue and complete the needed plumbing service work.  We greatly appreciate **. ***********’s business.  

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $89 for an ******* **** Deal for 2 hours of plumbing service to repair a leaky pressure reducing valve. The deal did not include parts. The technician in my home told me the valve cost $495. I took the box that held the new valve and ran the model number through Google. The exact same part (Zurn-Wilkins 3/4 in. Lead-Free Bronze Water Pressure Reducing Valve) costs $85 on ********** and ************** He refused to budge on price, saying that markup is to be expected. I refused service.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $89 back, as I would never trust this company in my home again.

Business Response:

October 29, 2013

**. ******,

We attempted to perform a service for **** *********. As per our advertised deal on ****** ****, we agree to perform a certain task for a certain dollar amount. In this case it would have been a leak repair for $89.00.  This deal is for labor only for a maximum amount of time of two hours. This deal does not include the parts. That is what **. ********* is calling into question with her complaint. We agree with her statement that she could have gotten the valve for the amount she claimed. The fact of the matter is that she did not. We have no problem providing parts to customers for install if they fail to acquire them. We, however, do have added cost in the parts. We have overhead associated with delivery and handling of the parts. We did attempt to accommodate a lower price on the parts to help **. *********, obviously it was not enough.

This stated we do not want to have a disgruntled customer over $89.00, so we will have ****** **** refund **. *********’s investment if that hasn’t been done already.

We regret that we could not completely satisfy the customer. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction; we do know that sometimes that is not possible.

If you have any further questions please don’t hesitate to give me a call.                                   

Thank you

**** ********

Plumbing Service Manager

McCarthy Services

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1