BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric

Phone: (610) 797-5347 Fax: (610) 797-3446 2841 W Emaus Ave, Allentown, PA 18103 http://www.jacklehr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1979 Business started: 08/01/1973 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA000013.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Lehr, President Mr. Ralph Lehr, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Lehr, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Electricians


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Jack Lehr to repair an air conditioning unit that has mold or some strange smell coming from it. The technician arrived on time. He then told me, without looking at the appliance, that it was the coils of the air conditioner that needed cleaning and that the cost would be $150. I have had a service contract with them for years, all the time I have owned the furnace and air conditioner. He then took out a can of a scented product, and I told him that he couldn't use that, since I am severely sensitive to chemical smells. He agreed that it would be a problem and called his supervisor to see what else could be done to remove the mold or bacteria. But he told me the entire coil system and pan were clean and had no mold in it. but that the particles were microbes and not visible. then he came back and said that he was going to use dish washing liquid instead. I said that dish washing liquid would not get rid of mold or bacteria. So I called the company and they told me I would need a $1500 ultraviolet light installed in the system, but that they couldn't do anything until a salesman came to do an estimate. I set up a time for the estimate. Then the technician replaced the door of the air-conditioning unit, without doing anything at all. He then came in and said that I owed him $175 for doing nothing. Just for his time, which is mostly spent talking with his supervisor about what to do, or complaining about the fact that his iPad program wasn't working properly for the business and calling his supervisor to see if they could fix it, which had nothing to do with my time. I don't mind paying a fair price for the time (5 minutes to take the door of the air coils on and 5 minutes to take them off, but to pay $175 when the original price was only $150 to do actual work does not seem fair to me. I have contacted the company and they refuse to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the full amount refunded, since I have been paying a maintenance fee for nothing all these years. If that isn't possible, I would like to see a fair price for the time spent, not for the time he talked with his office or the time he was fussing with the business iPad. Those are not my fault.

Business Response: ****,
 
I received an email today, 11/14, indicating that **** ******** initiated this complaint with your organization on Friday, 11/8.
 
We had called **** on Friday afternoon and agreed to return her check but apparently that conversation occurred after she called you.  We mailed her check on Tuesday or Wednesday.
 
I spoke with **** earlier today and she said she was going to call your organization to cancel this complaint.
 
 
** Lehr
President
 
*******************
 
###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ********