BBB Accredited Business since

Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric

Phone: (610) 797-5347 Fax: (610) 797-3446 2841 W Emaus Ave, Allentown, PA 18103 http://www.jacklehr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1979 Business started: 08/01/1973 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA000013.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Lehr, President Mr. Ralph Lehr, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Lehr, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Heating Contractors Electricians


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric was contacted in the beginning of January of 2015 and request was made to evaluate and diagnose the central electric heating unit that has stopped working at my Mother and Grandmothers house. The house did not have working heater and this was a great concern due to the fact that my Grandmother at the age of 79 was residing in this house at a very cold temperature. Jack Lehr was called and the earliest that they were able to send a technician out was 1/11/15. Many obstacles were overcome for myself to be at the house at Jack Lehr's designated time, however I was able to be there for the evaluation of the outdoor heating unit. The technician was greeted and he spent approximately 10 minutes evaluating the outdoor unit and then ask to evaluate the indoor unit. After an additional 2 minutes he proceeded to tell me that he could not assess the out door unit due to branches from an arbovitae and the indoor unit was blocked by a few boxes. He proceeded to state that both of these problems would have to resolved before he could assess the problem and told me to call back with another appointment. While he was writing up his report I quickly moved all the boxes far away from the indoor unit and asked the technician to evaluate the indoor unit. He proceeded to state that he would not assess this in door unit because he would need to evaluate both the outdoor and indoor unit together. He then charged me exactly $78.00 for driving out to the house without assessing anything for the heating. I did pay this amount, however I was extremely unsatisfied with the lack service this technician provided and My grandmother and I had to spend more time in the house without a functional heater in the middle of winter. Due to my dissatisfaction with Jack Lehr Heating, proceeded to have a different heating company evaluate the heating at the house and the the new company's technician evaluated the indoor unit promptly and found that there was a malfunction with the indoor units breaker that needed to be replaced. He replaced this and the unit was functioning well.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology from the company the lack of service they provided and I would like other people who desire servicing for their heating and cooling to know this is how Jack Lehr provides service to there customers. If they are willing I would appreciate a refund on the $78.00 I paid to be informed that I needed to cut a few branches of an arbovitae and also move boxes away from the indoor unit.

Business Response:

The complaint received contains several important factual errors.  The service provided followed proper procedures for proper customer service and safe work practices. 

First, we have never performed work for at the address listed.  We recently were called to work at another address for a customer with the same last name so I am assuming that is the subject of this complaint although it is not a complaint from that customer.

We have experienced record low temperatures and extreme winter weather for a prolonged period.  We provide priority service to existing customers so they can rely on us to provide a good response time when we are needed.

We received this call for a older person with no heat.  Although we had never worked at this location we moved this call to a high priority for the sake of the person and responded the same day within hours of receiving the call.

Upon arrival we found the house had two heat pump systems and one was operating properly and maintaining that area at proper temperature and preventing the rest of the house from reaching excessively cold temperatures that would harm the occupant or itself cause property damage.  Half the house was perfectly comfortable.  Clearly different from the 'facts' in this complaint.

Both systems are heat pumps.  In winter both the indoor and outdoor unit operate as a system to provide heat.   When the system stops, proper diagnosis requires checking and testing both the indoor and outdoor unit.  When we are called to diagnose a failure we perform a thorough set of tests so the customer does not receive an incomplete problem list.  An incomplete problem list can lead to a decision to authorize a repair only to find the system is not operating completely correctly and the repair decision was incorrect wasted money.  Heat pumps can cost twice as much to operate when the outdoor unit is not functioning properly so a heat pump diagnosis must include accessing the outdoor unit and the indoor unit.

The complaint does not contradict the statement that there was not proper access to the outdoor unit.  During our recent weather there is ice and snow on the branches of shrubbery.  Diagnosis is performed with the power on.  A severely overgrown shrub against the access side of the unit not only hurts the efficiency of the unit, it can electrocute the service person who is pressed against branches when another branch swings into the exposed electrical compartment of the unit.  We make every effort to accomplish our work but there are some extremely poor conditions that have developed over many years that cannot be overcome safely under these weather conditions.

In an effort to restore some heat, our tech moved to the indoor unit only to find shelves built in front of the indoor unit with many items.  The items would need to be removed and the shelves disassembled before work could start.  Access to this unit was not provide while our tech was on site.  That is why our tech said we would return when the access was available.  We very much wanted to perform the work in one visit as there were many customers with issues and we wanted to provide service as efficiently as possible. 

The claim that the person was left in a home totally with out heat is absolutely false, insulting and slanderous.  We responded in the first place to try to help a senior in distress.

Ed L***

President

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Jack Lehr to repair an air conditioning unit that has mold or some strange smell coming from it. The technician arrived on time. He then told me, without looking at the appliance, that it was the coils of the air conditioner that needed cleaning and that the cost would be $150. I have had a service contract with them for years, all the time I have owned the furnace and air conditioner. He then took out a can of a scented product, and I told him that he couldn't use that, since I am severely sensitive to chemical smells. He agreed that it would be a problem and called his supervisor to see what else could be done to remove the mold or bacteria. But he told me the entire coil system and pan were clean and had no mold in it. but that the particles were microbes and not visible. then he came back and said that he was going to use dish washing liquid instead. I said that dish washing liquid would not get rid of mold or bacteria. So I called the company and they told me I would need a $1500 ultraviolet light installed in the system, but that they couldn't do anything until a salesman came to do an estimate. I set up a time for the estimate. Then the technician replaced the door of the air-conditioning unit, without doing anything at all. He then came in and said that I owed him $175 for doing nothing. Just for his time, which is mostly spent talking with his supervisor about what to do, or complaining about the fact that his iPad program wasn't working properly for the business and calling his supervisor to see if they could fix it, which had nothing to do with my time. I don't mind paying a fair price for the time (5 minutes to take the door of the air coils on and 5 minutes to take them off, but to pay $175 when the original price was only $150 to do actual work does not seem fair to me. I have contacted the company and they refuse to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the full amount refunded, since I have been paying a maintenance fee for nothing all these years. If that isn't possible, I would like to see a fair price for the time spent, not for the time he talked with his office or the time he was fussing with the business iPad. Those are not my fault.

Business Response: ****,
 
I received an email today, 11/14, indicating that **** ******** initiated this complaint with your organization on Friday, 11/8.
 
We had called **** on Friday afternoon and agreed to return her check but apparently that conversation occurred after she called you.  We mailed her check on Tuesday or Wednesday.
 
I spoke with **** earlier today and she said she was going to call your organization to cancel this complaint.
 
 
** Lehr
President
 
*******************
 
###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jack Lehr Heating Cooling and Electric
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)