This business is not BBB accredited.

White Oak Construction & Excavating, LLC

Phone: (540) 635-7843 View Additional Phone Numbers 404 Bowman Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for White Oak Construction & Excavating, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on White Oak Construction & Excavating, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2004 in VA Business incorporated 05/01/2004 in VA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The number is 2705122560A.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. William T Vaught, Owner/Manager Mr. Chris Williamson, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William T Vaught, Owner/Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Williamson, Partner
Business Category

Excavating Contractors Home Builders

Additional Locations


    404 Bowman Rd

    Front Royal, VA 22630


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not receive the money owed to me after closing. We had a house built by them and it lacks the quality one would expect from even a used home. They have yet to complete the punch out and when they attempt to do any of it their repairs are still jacked up. The owner does not really return calls or text messages and uses foul language in front of my children. Not professional at all and quality is no where near up to par.

Desired Settlement: I hope the owner can act more professional and complete the tasks to the standard one would expect in a class A contractor.

Business Response:


I really dont know where to start here other than to say this guy is completly lying about everything and is someone who is impossible to please and trust me we have bent over backwards to try. I will start with the money that he says i owe him. When we first met ( my realtor , his realtor him and I) we agreed on a price for the home and he decided he wanted it on a lot that was on the open market listed for 20k. That set the price on the total home and land and the contract was signed for him to purchase the home for me on that lot. I then made a 17,500 offer on the property and the owner accepted it. This happens all the time in the real estate / construction buisness. ** ****** found out that the lot was purchased for less and has been demanding the saved money back which 1 isnt his and 2 the money saved went into having the lot perked for the septic system design anyway so it wasnt ever saved but regardless the contract was signed and because i made a deal later does not intitle him to any money. Both my realtor and HIS will confirm this with you. As for any work , my work and reputation speaks for itself with the reviews and recomendations i get and this is complete garbage. He has been upset with me for being 3 weeks behind on the home when HE was the one who kept making changes in the basment of his home, deciding what parts he did and dint want finished, while he was derciding this the home was being held up, and the fact that once he made the changes the plans had to be re drawn , re submitted to the county for review and then have the changes inspected. The home was on a 3 week delay but if the basment changes werent made the home would have never been behind , and that is when the homeowner started getting very irritated and started becoming hard to please. From that time on i recieved constant text messages telling me how to do my job. when to do it , and that none of my guys were doing it fast enough or good enough , and the messages were very degrading and smart alleck. I answered all of these messages or the first 50 anyway very professional and then did tell the homeowner that if he did want me to continue he needed to keep his smart *** coments to himself. Once the messages continued for the next week or so i did have a lapse in judgement and tell him he was a smart mouth " **** ". That was said in a text message in response to another one of his and in no way or at no time did i cuss the guy in front of his kids that is complete garbage. That was done after the punch out list was completed and signed off on by him. He states that I wont come fix anything but i have a attached list here he signed off on saying it was complete besides for paint issues( which there are none ). We has a walk thru at the home with myself , him, and both realtors present, at the time everythung was discussed and then was taken care of and signed off on. At the time of the walk thru he was informed by HIS  realtor ( not mine) that alot of his so called issues were not issues and he was being ridiculous. His wife couldnt find half the things wrong on the list and laughed and made a comment that the homeowner got mad and went thru the home with blue tape saying " ill show him ". I close on 10-15 homes a year and have 70% of my homeowners right me letters and give gifts they are so pleased. the other 30% are still very happy and i dont have unhappy clients . This guy is impossible to deal with and Im sorry but the home is fine , the homeowner is not