BBB Accredited Business since

Green Home Solutions

Phone: (800) 684-9611 Fax: (267) 390-3443 12 Penns Trl, Newtown, PA 18940 http://www.ghsaudits.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green Home Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green Home Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Green Home Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2009 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA089930.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ross Lopez, Owner Ms. Vicky Marquez, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ross Lopez, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Vicky Marquez, Office Manager
Business Category

Energy Audits Heating & Air Conditioning Contractor - Insulation Windows Air Sealing Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Doors


Additional Locations

  • 12 Penns Trl

    Newtown, PA 18940 (800) 684-9611

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GHS did an energy audit on my home and recommended some fixes. I selected to have dual zone heating installed in my home. There are unresolved issues. Issues list: * The 5kw EM heating units are too small for the size of the house and not effectively heating. Outside on a day like this, at 2 degrees outside, the house would not rise above 62 degrees downstairs, with a setting of 80 degrees on EM Heat. * The main duct out of the heating unit in the attic was not insulated at all, inside or outside. This causes heat loss before any heat even gets to the registers. This is against code. * Condensation is occurring inside the uninsulated duct, producing dangers from mold/mildew * The registers upstairs are not designed to push heat down. They are air conditioning registers only. * Same registers are unprofessionally fitted into tubing. On one register, a 4-inch flex duct is forced to meet against a 6-inch register connection with no method of sealing the gap except some small amount of foam which detached. 4-inch flex duct is not used in heating, normally. These should be 5-inch. (see pictures attached) * On two different registers upstairs, a 5-inch flex tube was shoved into a six inch register hit with no method of holding them together, not even foam. The extra space surrounding the tube was able to blow in insulation and cold air from the attic. (see pictures attached) * The connection to the main duct trunk upstairs for some of the outgoing flex ducts was shoddy. The inner and outer flex duct tubing were simply zip tied and foamed onto the trunk. This caused the inner tube to slip off the connection to the trunk and lie inside unconnected. There should have been a zip-tie for each inner and outer piece of tubing. * These issues are causing insulation from the upstairs attic to blow into the rooms. Some of the insulation from the flex tubing is fiberglass based, which is also blowing into the rooms since it is exposed to the airflow, presenting a health hazard. * The flex tubing used in attic is R6 which is out of code. Should be R8.

Desired Settlement: On 2/16/15, *******'s Heating and Cooling did the following work to rectify some of these issues, at a cost to me of $2,007.50. (See attached receipt.) * Installed a 10kw EM heating unit on the downstairs unit. * Insulated the main trunk of the upstairs heating system vents * Reconnected all of the tubing vents properly to the 4 register hits upstairs * Replaced the R6 tubing of one of the vents with R8. Overall, this work was shoddy and does not represent well what GHS claimed would be provided under the contract. I am requesting your company reimburse me for the $2,0007.50 paid to *******'s and revision of the outstanding issues above at GHS's expense.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:


We are in talks with the customer to resolve this issues. Our company is going out Wednesday, March 4th, 2015 to the customer's home to address the outstanding issues. 

We have no record of being contacted by this customer prior to receiving notice from the BBB. We have explained to the customer that we should have been contacted prior to reaching out to another company to resolve the issues. Both parties are in negotiation for what is to come next. 

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green House Solutions performed some work on my house: thermo-insulation and installation of furnace and water heater. Unfortunately, I was unwise paying them in full, before the final city inspection, wrongly expecting them to honor their promise to fix any problems in case we fail the inspection. Now their work has failed plumbing inspection twice. They repeatedly promise to fix the problems which they describe as insignificant. They in fact attempted to fix some of them once, but their work again failed inspection. Since this time I am desperately trying to make them to fix the problems which the city inspector found only to be fed with promises "to do it in a week", "after the weather improves", etc. The last time I was told that they will call back in 48 hours. That was a week ago- no calls. I had enough BS from them! I understand that I am on their lowest priority list and probably will never get any work done. Note that this drags on since November!

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem, finish your job for which you have been paid- so that it passes city inspection!

Business Response:

We are attempting to correct the issues regarding the failed inspections for the replacement of his water heater and furnace.  *** ******* is correct in that it has taken way too long. 

Upon completing the installation we scheduled a final inspection.  We failed the initial inspection for a couple of issues that were due to the type of house and the new energy efficient system that no longer uses the old flue/chimney.  The original solution from the original inspector was to go for a variance hearing to get the township to agree to make an exception.  In reaching out to the township, they said we had to wait for the inspector that was on vacation.  Upon speaking to the inspector and hearing his options, we spoke to the sub-code official and he made several recommendations that would eliminate the issues from the inspector.  We went out and performed the recommendations and scheduled a final inspection.  The Township sent a different inspector that said what we did was fine however listed a couple of additional  items not previously listed.  In reviewing the new action list  which included getting a copy of a certification  # for using a certain type of pipe, we told *** ******* that we will finalize the 1-2 remaining minor issues when the weather broke.  We had been inundated with calls for frozen pipes and homes with no heat. 

We are scheduling to have the couple of issues handled in the next 5-7 working days dependent on *** *******'s schedule. 

This is the first complaint we have had to the BBB and take it very seriously.  We strive for great customer service and will complete the service and hope to fully satisfy *** *******.

Thank You

Ross L****

Green Home Solutions

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Dear Sir/Madam:

I'd like to make changes to the status of the case referred to below- basically, to say that the job was eventually completed and thereby my complain was resolved.
Unfortunately, the link below is no longer valid and cannot figure out how to access it. 

Can you please send me another link to access this case or let me know how else I can do that?

Thanks!

****** *******


Regards,

****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Green Home Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart