BBB Accredited Business since

Lowry Services, Inc.

Phone: (215) 362-2363 Fax: (215) 362-3155 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 Christopher Lane, Harleysville, PA 19438 http://www.lowryelectric.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lowry Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lowry Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 25, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA008188.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Lowry, President Mr. Joe Haney, GM Mr. Pete Snyder, Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joe Haney, GM
Principal: Mr. Steve Lowry, President
Business Category

Electricians Heating & Air Conditioning Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 101 Christopher Lane

    Harleysville, PA 19438

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 677-2936(Phone)
  • (215) 725-1674(Phone)
  • (215) 747-5510(Phone)
  • (215) 860-8536(Phone)
  • (215) 886-5443(Phone)
  • (610) 363-5722(Phone)
  • (610) 444-9264(Phone)
  • (610) 687-1922(Phone)
  • (610) 782-2500(Phone)
  • (717) 520-8228(Phone)
  • (800) 785-6979(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Lowry plumbing because sewage pipe broke off next to foundation of house. This is the fifth time in 3 weeks they have had to come out. They charge us for 2 days for an excavator, but the excavator was only there one day. We were told by **** the plumber that 2/3 of our bill was because of excavator. When they replaced the pipe leading into the house, we were told they would put gravel and webbing under the pipe to prevent it from snapping again - they never put gravel or webbing under it. They never sealed the pipe where it leads into the house, so when it rained, we had water running into the house all around the pipe, running down the wall and possibly resulting in mold. They kept insisting that we replace the entire sewer line from our house - although they refused to scope it. After they 'fixed' the 5 foot pipe, we were told by Shawn the supervisor they would flush the pipe and scope it - but the plumbers at the house refused to do that. Then they told us the sewer pump was backing up and insisted we replace the entire line. With no sewer, not able to use water in the house, having to have a porta potty in the driveway, they forced us into having to replace the entire line. And now they are back out having to fix the leaking problem they caused leading into the house. Additionally, we have been requesting an itemized bill to submit to our insurance company. Shawn the supervisor has consistently lied to us and told us he would send one - two weeks later and he still will not give us an itemized statement so we cannot submit the claim to insurance. And now we have found out, they charged us double what they charged a next door neighbor.

Desired Settlement: We want an itemized bill with everything listed.We want an refund based on fair pricing because our neighbor only paid $6000 and he didn't have all the problems they have put us through. They charged us for two days of an excavator and we only had it one day. And, they didn't even have to dig out the hole where the initial pipe snapped against the house - my husband dug it out. We want a written, signed and dated lifetime warranty for the pipes and work as they stated they would give.

Business Response: *** & *******, 

We are reviewing your request and will make every effort to make this right for you and your family. Please have your insurance representative call me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you, ****** *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have not rejected their response, we are still working on it - I have contacted our insurance agent and requested they call Lowry.  However,

I had requested Lowry answer the following questions and **. ***** refused to answer or address any of these issues:

1.  Why didn't **** ******* scope or snake the pipe the first day he came out so we would know for sure if entire line was collapsed?

2.  Why did your plumbers have to rip a big hole in the dry wall rather than use a blade or saw to cut it so we could replaced the area easier?

3.  Why did **** ******* insist that Lowry does it 'right' when replacing pipe by using gravel underneath and webbing - but when plumbers came out they didn't do either and we were told they didn't even have any gravel in their truck and because they didn't waterproof the pipe it leaked all inside the wall?

4. Why were we told when we called the office after ****'s first visit that the plumbers on Tuesday would flush the pipe and scope it so we could make a decision about the entire line - but the plumbers never flushed the pipe or scoped it?

5.  When **** ******* came back out after numerous requests by us to scope it - why did he put his camera down the hole in the driveway, but he never turned the camera on?  He just pulled the camera back out and said the black stuff of it indicates that the entire line was broken?  Still no proof that the line had collapsed.

6.  Why did **** ******* state that 2/3 of the entire bill were to bring the excavator out for 2 days and then we were still charged for 2 days of the excavator - even though the excavator was only there for 1 day - a difference of $4000+?

7.  During a phone call with ** ***** when I asked question number 6 - he stated "we shouldn't be penalized for being efficient and only taking one day to do the job".  It took them 5 times of coming out because they kept making mistakes and not doing what they said they would do.  We were without water/plumbing in the house for a week - including a weekend. 

8.  Why were we told that *** **** and **** the supervisor would be coming out to make sure the job was done correctly - when the water was coming in through the basement walls due to their mistake - but they never came out?

9.  What will be done about the clean up and now the possibility of mold/mildew in the basement as a result of their poor workmanship and the wall leaking because they didn't waterproof it?

Not once during the entire conversation did **. ***** simply say 'I'm sorry this happened.'  He accepted no responsibility for the actions of his company and to this day, we do not know if our sewer line really collapsed - but we had to replace it because they had us over a barrel since we had no plumbing in the house at all once their plumbers 'fixed' the initial problem of the broken 5 foot line.  He insisted he didn't understand why we have a  problem since we now had working plumbing in the house. 

Regards,

******* *******








4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, November 15, 2013 I reported a non functioning sewage pipe to your answering service. One of your staff promptly returned my call and stated that a plumber would arrive at the rental property within an hour. At this juncture, my experience was positive and consistent with past service calls to your company.I met *****, the plumber who was dispatch by Lowry to address the issue, at the site. Based on his initial observations and several attempts to unclog the sewer pipe, he concluded the following;There was no exterior clean out pipeThe snake device was not long enough to reach from the bathroom to the street connectionCast iron sewer pipe should be replaced in its entiretyThe interior clean out could not be accessed because it was old and fragileConsequently, he accessed the four inch- (4) sewer pipe through the two inch- (2) laundry drain pipe using a two inch- (2) blade. The intent was to punch a hole in the clogged four inch- (4) pipe. When I told him that there was in fact an outside cleanout and pointed out the location, he focused on the outside. After repeated attempts to unclog the pipe from the outside, he concluded the following; One clog was located near the outside of the foundation wallBased on the waste water flow observed in the clean out, it was likely that the pipe was cracked, offset, and leaking into the soilA second blockage was located between the clean out and the streetUse of a video camera was not an option because there was water in the pipe*****s final action was to submit a proposal to replace sewer from first tie in to curb include clean out inside outside and lifetime warranty. The quoted price was $7,483.87. He charged me $684.10 related to his unsuccessful attempt to unclog the pipe.As a result of not being confident with his level of expertise and observing first hand his inability to resolve the issue, I secured a second opinion and price. In short, the contractor used a video camera in the same pipe and observed the following;A video camera can be used with water in the pipeNo blockage was present at or near the foundation wallNo cracked pipe at or near the foundation wallNo blockage was on the street side of the clean outThe entire pipe did not need to be replacedBased on this more informed observation, he was directed to excavate in the area of the clean out pipe. The plumbing contractor noted after digging that portions of the clean out configuration (pipe, elbow, trap & connections) were damaged and that soil and stones were inside of the pipe and causing the blockage. As such all were replaced with updated clean outs (one- (1) to house, one- (1) to street & vent).Needless to say I am disappointed in being charged and paying for the unsuccessful removal of a blockage in the sewer pipe. As such, I am requesting a refund, in the amount of $684.10, as the result of a service that was not provided.

Desired Settlement: Lowry Services was notified on Tuesday regarding my issues with their process and services not rendered.I requested in writing a full refund from Lowry Services, in the amount of $684.10.To date, I have not received an acknowledgement or a response.

Business Response:

We want to thank you for presenting this matter to our company. Customer service is our number one priority. We recognize the importance of our membership with the BCP and BBB and providing top quality service for our customers. We are happy to report that this matter has been amicably resolved as of 12/6/13. Once again thank you very much for your help in this matter.

 Sincerely,

 ****** *****

Service manager

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

*** ***** and I did speak on December 6, 2013 and the issue was explained in detail to him.

We agreed that full reimbursement was the appropriate action in order to settle this matter.

However, no refund has been received as of December 17, 2013 nor has the debit been reversed on my credit card.

Please note that I do not consider a promise sufficient to close this matter.

Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: Anthony, check # ***** for the full amount was sent out on 12-9-13. It has not been cashed. We will stop payment on the check and resend another check. Thank you *** *

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Lowry Plumbing to come out and assess a leak from a Bathroom PVC pipe that was dripping into the basement. When I contacted them, they said the charge would be $49 to come out and assess the problem, (a service call). They then told me they would prepare an estimated cost for the repair and not do any work without consent. When they got there, I showed them exactly where the leak was and where it was coming from. The tech determined (which by the turned out to be an incorrect diagnosis) that the leak was coming from a 90 degree connection fitting. He would have to cut it out and replace the fitting. The cost for this would be $549. I told them the price was way too high for the job, as the material costs were about $15 and the time to fix it would be about 45 mintues at best. I told them no thank you, I'll get another estimate. He then offered to lower the cost to $449. Again, way too high and I said thanks but no thanks. He then wrote up a bill for $99.00. When I asked why it was $99 and not $49, he told me because he had to do a diagnosis. He told me he needed payment immediately by credit card and to call the office to put in a complaint, but there was nothing he could do about it. When I called the office to inquire and ask for the $50 refund, they refused and said the call to come out was $49 and the diagnosis was an additional $50. This is not what they told me on the phone before they came out. They told me it would cost $49 to come out and give an estimate of what the cost would be to fix it. They are very misleading and unethical in their business practices and try to take advantgage of their customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $50, which is the overage amount that they charged me for the services they provided. THey told me it would cost $49 to come out and give an estimate and instead charged my credit card $99.

Business Response: To: Better Business Bureau From: Lowry Services ID #*******

Customer Name: ***** ******* Dear Sir/Madam,

We want to thank you for presenting this matter to our company.

Customer service is our number one priority. We recognize the importance of our membership with the BCP and BBB and providing top quality service for our customers.

We are happy to report that this matter has been amicably resolved. Enclosed is a copy of the resolution. Once again thank you very much for your help in this matter.
Sincerely,

*****,
Once again we apologize to you for this situation. While mistakes are rare they do occasionally happen. As a way to avoid this situation in the future we have provided additional training for technician

• Courtesy refund $99

Once again “thank you" for the opportunity to serve you. We want to apologize to you for any inconvenience and look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It appears Lowery electric sent a refund check to the wrong person ******** ******.  Im not sure why they would send her a refund as I am the person that contacted Lowery for the service call and I am the person that paid them and I am the person that has sent in the complaint.  Please Explain? 


Regards,

***** *******








8/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 8, 2013 I had lost power to a room after an appliance arched. Lowrey gave me upfront pricing of around $350 since the outlets had to be checked and tested, etc. it turned out to be a blown fuse in a small fuse box located in a closet. It took about an hour but the electrician found the box and replaced the $1.00 fuse. Since I committed to the price I was obligated to pay $350 for an hour of work in order to replace the fuse. Regardless of the amount of time it took to fix the problem, I still had to pay 352.05. I feel this is a deceptive business practice as it results in a $350 an hour charge (not including parts). I signed the form believing I had a real problem that would require hours to fix, however it was only a blown fuse.

Desired Settlement: I feel that $200 dollars would be a fair price. I would like a $152 refund.

Business Response: Please see attached response 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues