BBB Accredited Business since

Affiliated Medical Equipment and Respiratory Corp

Phone: (301) 736-7028 View Additional Phone Numbers 8039-A Penn Randall Place, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Affiliated Medical Equipment and Respiratory Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Affiliated Medical Equipment and Respiratory Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affiliated Medical Equipment and Respiratory Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2011 Business started: 09/01/1993 in MD Business started locally: 09/01/1993 Business incorporated 09/01/1993 in MD
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Health And Mental Hygiene-MD
201 West Preston Street, Baltimore MD 21201
Phone Number: 410-767-6500
The number is Lic # R998 -Reg # 25642.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ed Wimbish, President Ed Wimbish, Customer Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ed Wimbish, Customer Service Director
Principal: Mr. Ed Wimbish, President
Business Category

Disability Access Equipment Scooters - Medical Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Stair Lifts Fiberglass - Bathtubs & Showers Bathroom Remodeling Chairs - Orthopedic & Lift

Products & Services

Affiliated Medical Equipment and Respiratory Corp sells the following brand(s): Acorn Stairlifts, Best Bath Systems, Bruno Independent Living Aids, Convertastep, Golden Technologies, Harmar, Pride Mobility, Savaria, Therapy Walk In Tubs

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, VISA, Master Card, Discover, American Express and debit cards with VISA or Master Card on them. 
Alternate Business Names
Mobility ASAP

Additional Locations

  • 8039-A Penn Randall Place

    Upper Marlboro, MD 20772 (301) 736-7028


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company told me they would come to my home and remove a chair lift they installed and pay me $700.00 They failed to get in touch with me about a date to remove the chair and when I called failed to return my phone calls. Finally, the told me over the phone that they would be out today 7/19. I waited until 1:30 and started to call to see when and who was coming. The person who told me they would be out will not get on the phone and after two more phone calls this afternoon, I do not expect to hear from him today, nor get my chair removed. The chair is practically new and was hardly ever used. I realize that they may not be easily able to resell the chair, there must be someone who could make use of it and they can make money again by doing so. Meanwhile, my husband, who we bought the chair for has died and the chair is in a very awkward place for me to go up and down the stairs which I need to do frequently to move our things from the basement. I have to lift most everything up and over the chair either in its up stairs position or its down stairs. I am 80 years old and find this difficult. I see no reason whey they will not honor their commitment to me and come do what they said they were going to do.

Desired Settlement: I will accept nothing less than their coming to take the chair and the mechanism and pay me the amount we agreed upon.

Business Response: THERE IS NO BUSINESS TRANSACTION BETWEEN THE PARTIES. This complaint needs to be deleted from our record immediately! 

1. No money has been exchanged.
2. No contract or offer has been submitted.
3. We have not seen the stair lift.

In January or February of 2013 this lady called saying her husband died and she wished to sell us her stair lift. At that time, she was told the maximum we would pay is $700.00 contingent upon our inspection of the stair lift to see if we in fact wanted it. She rejected this.  In late May or early June 2013 she started calling again making demands and issuing ultimatums saying we had a deal and she was demanding that we pay her $700.oo for her stair lift AND install a handrail.  I explained we would not install a handrail and this was never mentioned in our previous conversation back in Jan/Feb.  She called back again saying she wanted us come out to her house but, we needed to do so in within a very short time frame which we were unable to do. She then called back weeks later demanding we come to her home and pay her $700.00 and she was dropping her demand that we install a handrail. We have since told her on at least two occasions we are not interested in her stair lift. Her reaction was to call us with yet another demand we return her call with 1 hour. Since we did not return another one of her many calls into the company within 1 hour she filed this false report with Better Business Bureau.

Again, there is no business transaction between the parties and this complaint needs to be deleted from our BBB record. It is a false financial claim that we are taking very seriously and have consulted our attorney regarding potential legal action.  It is unfortunate she has decided to to make this false claim in a very public forum which has the potential to negatively impact our business. I am hopeful the Better Business Bureau chooses to remove this complaint from our record and not to allow this person to perpetuate a false financial claim against a member. Please contact me with any questions or concerns.

** *******-President/Principal

Affiliated Medical Equipment
8039-A Penn Randall Place
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
Office ###-###-####


11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service