BBB Accredited Business since

The Cruise Web Inc.

Phone: (800) 377-9383 View Additional Phone Numbers 3901 Calverton Blvd Ste 350, Calverton, MD 20705 View Additional Email Addresses http://cruiseweb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Cruise Web Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cruise Web Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Cruise Web Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 1999 Business started: 05/23/1994 in DC Business started locally: 05/23/1994 Business incorporated 09/03/2004 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frans G. Hansen, President Ms. Julie Atkins, Client Services
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie Atkins, Client Services
Principal: Mr. Frans G. Hansen, President
Business Category

Cruises Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Products & Services

The Cruise Web Inc. offers the following product(s): Cruise Tours, Cruise Vacations, Land Vacations, River Cruises


Additional Locations

  • 3901 Calverton Blvd Ste 350

    Calverton, MD 20705 (240) 487-0155 (800) 377-9383

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have booked a cruise through Cruiseweb. When I first inquired the trip, the travel consultant was very prompt and responsive to my questions. Once I put down my deposit, the story changed, especially after I informed him I need to delay my trip toApril 2017. He said he would look into the price quote for me and get back with me which was on March 21. I have tried to email or call him., never get a call from him. I emailed to company website about my concern over the weekend. In fact, in my email, I just wanted them to cancel my trip, and hold the deposit for future trip even that still did not have nobody contact me and I have tried to call the company by phone this week several time including today, I cannot get anyone return my call. I did talk to someone yesterday on the phone but he is just operator during office hour, all he did was transferred my call to ****'s supervisor, **** **. Of course, his supervisor did not return my call either. I don't know what else I can do in this situation other than asking BBB assistance before seeking for legal assistance which will be my last resort!

Desired Settlement: Cancel my reservation with them, and refund my deposit. I don't want to escalate further. All I ask someone from Cruiseweb can return my call or email me to resolve my issue with them.

Business Response:

Hi, We resolved this with our client about a month ago and payment was refunded, client was satisfied with our resolution a month ago.

Thank you.

***** ******

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family of 7 booked a cruise from Cruise Web on April 7, 2013 and cancelled it on April 28, 2013 for a sailing date of June 22, 2013. The reason for cancellation is we tried to ignore the fact that ******** Cruise Line were having continuous issues. From the time I booked the cruise and cancelled the cruise ******** hit the media two more times. Once, for losing electricity for 12 minutes and the other for failing inspection. This frightened me quite a bit with traveling with my three children, so I decided I wanted to cancel the vacation. Since then the two cabins that we had reserved have been sold, there is no reason why we should be charged $250.00 pp to cancel. We never signed or verbally agreed to a cancellation contract stating that once this reservation is made you can't cancel it. I have written to ******** and they told me that since it was booked through a travel agent I need to dispute it with them. I attempted to contact Cruise Web through their general email last week but I haven't heard back from them. The other thing that is confusing to me is that we agreed to the travel insurance and that was never put on our booking information. I don't want to get anyone in trouble but I think it is absolutely horrible to try and charge us $1750.00 for cabins that other families are staying in. ******** cruises is not out any money and neither is the travel agency.

Desired Settlement: I just want this charge to go away and for us not to be responsible for this money.

Business Response:

The charge in question was all to ******** Cruise Line (***).  The Cruise Web has no funds from this transaction.  The cancellation penalty in question was imposed by ******** Cruise Line (***) and is standard for the booking category.  We asked *** to waive the penalty, but ******** Cruiselines declined.  At this point, the matter is entirely out of the control of The Cruise Web. 

Thank you

***** ******

Manager, Client Services

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason why I am rejecting the response from Cruise Web is I feel they failed to provide complete details when booking the cruise.  Like I said in my previous complaint insurance was supposed to be on the booking and never was and also we were never informed when booking the cruise that once you book the cruise today there are no refunds and the cancellation fee is very expensive even if the cruise line rebooks the cabins. 


Regards,

******** ********








Business Response:

We are working one more time with the client to approach the to the cruise line to see if there is any concession that ******** might be willing to make once the cruise in questions ends on June 29th.

3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The representative did not identify himself or the company he represented in his initial remarks, then insisted on knowing my first name and insinuated the he would not help me without it! Since I do not know this person or company, demanding anything, let alone my name, would be considered rude and inappropriate. In most cases such conduct would be violation of a companies business ethics standards.

Desired Settlement: This company should immediately correct and retrain it's employees on proper conduct and phone etiquette, so as not to disrupt other potential customers lives with this behavior.

Business Response:

With reference to ID # *******.

We received a request for more information submitted on line by a ** ****** on 3/1 at 10:22 a.m.; this person had taken the time to complete our request form found on our website www.cruiseweb.com requesting cruise information. Our cruise consultants respond to those leads via telephone. Soon after ** ****** submitted the request, our consultant called the client on the number included on the request and asked to speak with ** ******. The person who answered the phone said they were not ** ****** and our consultant said, “I received a request from a ** ****** for cruise information”.  The person on the phone responded, “I guess”. Our consultant then asked for the name of the person with whom they were speaking as a courtesy, since this was not ** ******. Our consultant then asked the person if they would like help with a cruise. The person said ‘no’ at which point our consultant ended the call.

This call was recorded, and the other party on the line was notified that the call was being recording.  Based on our listening to the call, no other conversation took place in which any of the behaviors this person describes took place.

As a company, we take our consultants through training and regularly monitor calls for training purposes.  We do not believe that our consultant was rude or in way expressed inappropriate behavior.  Again, this was not a cold call but our response to the client’s request for information.

Our goal at The Cruise Web is to provide all our clients and potential new ones with the very best in personal service and cruise consultation. Hence, why our consultant asked for this person’s name; so they could try to gain a rapport and therefore provide our very best service.  In addition, by asking the name, the consultant is also trying to determine if the client has worked with us in the past.

There was no motive or intention to do anything other than to help and assist ** ****** with a cruise request.  In investigating this notification, we also noticed the telephone number ** ****** provided also placed a call to our office latter the same day at 10:20 p.m. outside of our office hours.

As noted above, it appears that we did not connect with the person who submitted the cruise request and are not sure why the person who answered the call reacted in this manner.  We certainly did not force the individual’s name.   As a company, we talk with thousands of persons a year interested in cruises.  Our company has been in business for 19 years, and it is an extremely rare occasion for us to hear that one of our consultants was rude.   If the person on the phone with our consultant was any way offended, we offer our sincere apology.

***** ******

Manager, Client Services