BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Michael & Son Services Inc

Phone: (703) 658-6000 View Additional Phone Numbers 5740 General Washington Dr, Alexandria, VA 22312 http://michaelandson.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Michael & Son Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michael & Son Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 61 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

61 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 26 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 47
Total Closed Complaints 61

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 2002 Business started: 01/19/1979 in VA Business started locally: 01/19/1979 Business incorporated: 07/25/1988 in VA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR)-VA
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Henrico VA 23233
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov
Phone Number: 804-367-8500
The license number is 2701038423 A.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license/pe
Phone Number: 410-230-6001
The license number is 91275.

District of Columbia Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1000 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.dcra.dc.gov
Phone Number: 202-442-9828
Fax Number: 202-727-6546
The license number is 420211002808.

District of Columbia Consumer & Regulatory Affairs (DCRA)-DC
1100 4th Street SW, Washington DC 20024
http://www.pearsonvue.com/dc/industrial_trades/
Phone Number: (202) 442-4320
Fax Number: (202) 698-4329
Pamela.Hall@dc.gov
The license number is DM900824.

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR)-MD
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308, Baltimore MD 21202
http://www.dllr.maryland.gov/license/pe
Phone Number: 410-230-6001
The license number is 3952.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Basim M. Mansour, President Ms. Angela Martucci, Office Manager Mr. Vance Shepard, Complaint Contact Mr. Christopher Thompson
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Basim M. Mansour, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Vance Shepard, Complaint Contact
Business Category

Contractor - Electrical Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up Generators Mold & Mildew Remediation Plumbing - Contractor Construction & Remodeling Services Fire & Water Damage Restoration Heating & Air Conditioning Home Improvements - Additions Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Windows Handyman Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling


Additional Locations

  • 5740 General Washington Dr

    Alexandria, VA 22312 (800) 948-6453 (703) 658-3998 (703) 658-6000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (202) 232-8145(Phone)
  • (301) 433-0122(Phone)
  • (540) 657-1000(Phone)
  • (703) 658-3998(Phone)
  • (800) 948-6453(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2013 - just a few months ago, my husband and I have a new HVAC system installed in our home by Michael and Sons - we chose them because we felt they were a reputable company and had good ratings etc. Last evening, November 12th my husband and I were in our home - a regular evening and our power went out. We recognized that this was isloated to our home. My husband went out and checked our panel box and it was smoking and had burned - the breaker that tripped was the one that controlled our new HVAC system - the breaker was not updated when the unit was installed as it was supposed to have been. Our panel box is very messed up - we called Michael and Sons as we had all of our paperwork and have a year's warranty - we got the run around with the folks on the phone - they were not cooperative but finally sent someone out to look at the issue and charged us $89 to come and the told us it was the panel boxs' fault and want to charge us almost another $2000 to have all of that replaced - they should be replacing this at no charge to us because this is an issue on them - we have no power no heat and really can't stay in our home until this is fixed - Its a continual circle and we aren't getting much done - this company was highly rated but this is customer service that no one deserves

Desired Settlement: I want the $89 refunded I want our panel box fixed and I want those guys to own up to what is going on - I want to get back into my home and know that all of the money we spent on the new unit was worth it and nothing is broken and I want it done ASAP

Business Response: Per *****:

I spoke to the customer and she and I agreed to settle her concern with a reasonable solution.
She will reply to the BBB to close this matter.
 
Thank you,

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new Carrier HVAC system in July that broke down Oct. 1. Michael& Son hasn't been able to repair it after three trips to my house. July 5 **. ****** ****, a Michael& Son (M&S) salesman, provided estimates for a new Carrier HVAC system. July 10 **. **** returned to write a purchase contract for a new Carrier HVAC for $4,590, that was financed by ***** ***** **** for $92 per month. Installation was scheduled for July 17. July 11 Secretary called to confirm appt. for July 17 for installation. I told her to call my cell phone number so I could call my daughter to let the technicians in. July 17 The technicians arrived at my house, and the secretary called my home phone instead of my cell phone number. Thus, the technicians were not able to get in, and therefore left the premises. Secretary called to reschedule installation for July 22. July 22 Technicians arrived. Daughter was called to let technicians inside. They installed a new Carrier HVAC. I arrived home during the latter part of the installation. Afterwards, I inquired about the Seer Rating because the label on the unit said 13.5. I called **. **** to check on the Seer Rating, and he said it was the same Seer as the one he wrote the estimate for 14.5. Aug. 6 **. *******, County Inspector, arrived to inspect the new system. It was not approved because one of the four port bolts that was to secure the unit was missing. **. ******* told me to call M&S to have them return to install the fourth port bolt. He said that although the unit was not approved, he would leave the "Approved "sticker, and stated that I should call him once the correction had been made by M&S. Aug. 7-16 Technicians returned and installed the missing port bolt. I informed **. *******. Oct. 1 I noticed that the air conditioner was not cooling my house. I kept the fan running, though. Oct. 5 I called to report the problem to M&S Oct. 7 Technician ***** arrived to inspect the system to see what was wrong. He worked for almost 5 hrs. He found a blown disconnect amps fuse. He said he had to order the part and would return on Wed. Oct. 7. Later that night, I discovered ***** left the light on in the room outside in the storage room where my unit system part is stored. He promised to pay me $50 for the electricity used. I haven't received anything for the bill. I received an itemized invoice for an estimated total close to $3200 for a compressor with a new terminal kit. Oct. 9 Technicians ***** and ***** arrived to install parts for the new system. They worked almost 6 hrs. Again, the unit was not repaired. In addition, ***** plugged his laptop inside my home for it to charge. He said my mother gave him permission. I told him he didn't have permission to plug anything into my walls without checking with me and that he should pay me for the electricity. He said he would give me $50. He didn't. Oct. 10-15 I called and told M&S Customer Service Managers, ***** and ***** that I was very unhappy with M&S service and products, and that I wanted them to come get the unit and void the contract. I decided that I didn't want them to return to try to fix it again. Oct. 15-16 I talked to the Customer Service Managers, ***** and *****, again. Although I was still unsatisfied with the response and service I was getting, I agreed to allow technicians to return to try and repair the system a third time. Oct. 16-17 One of the schedulers for M&S, called and scheduled my appt. for Friday, Oct. 18, 2:00-6:00 p.m. arrival window. Oct. 18 Technicians ***** and ***** arrived between 5:00-5:15 p.m. I asked ***** about reimbursement for the electricity used for the light being left on and the laptop plugged into my outlet. He said I would have to consult M&S about the reimbursement. I haven't received anything. ***** and ***** worked until 6:15- 6:30 p.m. and still couldn't repair the system the third time. ***** said that *****, one of the Custome

Desired Settlement: I would like for Michael and Son, Inc. to return to get the Carrier HVAC that they sold me and couldn't repair. I want a refund since the unit is inoperable. The unit has been broken for about a month now. I have continued paying ***** ***** **** money for the system even though it's broken. After three visits to repair it, Michael and Son couldn't not fix it and thus, my new HVAC sits in my yard broken, but being paid for.

Business Response:

Michael & Son takes all concerns very serious and this is no exception.
 
The issues that ** ******* is experiencing are all covered under warranty. After a fuse blew at her home we researched an decided to have the recently installed compressor removed and replaced it with a brand new replacement. We  tied all the units system in and tested it and then changed other parts as a precaution that may create a concern down the road. She has a TXV valve waiting to be installed.  
 
Some customer service errors did happen we were required to call her cell number and called the home and a person there allowed us to come into the home to work.
 
Our technician asked about using the outlet to charge his equipment and was given the ok by her mother. He did offer $50 back to her electric for leaving the light on over night and using her power outlet. This will be honored by our company. She was advised that we will also revisit the concern for time loss on usage and see what can be done to help.
 
 
Michael & Son Service  goal is to satisfy our customers and give them 100% completion at the end of the job. Our warranty service works very well and if allowed to complete this job I am sure she will be happy.
 
We are still waiting on her call back in which many messages were left on her cell phone.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I would like for Michael and Sons to schedule a time they can come pick up their defective equipment from my house that has been broken since Oct. 1.  Today is Nov. 11.  After three tries to fix a "supposedly" new HVAC, I am not willing to accept any more replacement parts for a system that only worked for two months, warranty or no warranty.!  I will not accept a pieced-up/fixed up HVAC.  I paid $4950 for a new one-not a "pieced-up" HVAC!!  It's defective!  Please make me a happy customer by arranging a time you can come and retrieve your equipment, give ***** ***** their money back, and void my contract!  That will make me a satisfied customer by all means!!!  Please!!!!

Regards,

******** *******








Business Response:

MIchael & Son Service replaced all defective parts with new parts. We replaced the outdoor compressor under warranty as well there is no need to pull a unit that is in good working condition.
If the customer would like to schedule to have an arbitrator come in and review the conditions and have us present we will be more than happy to appear. 
Right now she is using a mediator in the BBB and Yelp to display her displeasure across to the public and this is not fair to us when we know she has a minor concern.
 
Michael & Son wants to do what is right to bring this matter to a close the only thing she need to do if she allow is to call us directly and allow us to handle this matter directly and get her completed for future use of heat and air services.
 
Thanks *****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I don't plan to listen to any more lies or deals offered by ***** or anyone else with Michael and Sons.  You received your money, and I got stuck with a supposedly "new" system that stopped working after 2 months.  I still have to pay on the system, and it has been broken since Oct. 1.  *****, no more deals and no more lies.  You had your chance or should I say chances.  You convinced me three times that the system would be fixed if I allowed your technicians to return.  You didn't do what you promised after being given three opportunities.  Enough is enough.  I don't want or need an arbitrator.  Keep whatever additional parts you want to add to the system.  Technicians were sent out to repair my unit three times.  Not one of your technicians could fix the HVAC.  I even discovered another technician at my house last week without my permission near the HVAC system.  That's wrong.  Is that what this has come to with you guys?  I can't trust you all anymore.  Please stay off my property unless you have received my permission.  It's called trespassing.   I told the technician the same thing I'm telling you.  My request still stands.  Please come and retrieve your equipment, pay ***** ***** back their money, and void my contract so I can be a 100% satisfied customer of Michael and Sons.    I don't want a HVAC system that has been pieced together with replacement parts, warranted or not warranted.   I have a system that Michael and Sons couldn't repair and you have kept adding parts to it when it is supposed to be a new system.  Again, save all your replacement parts, valves, fuses, compressors, etc. for your next customer's HVAC.  Please come and take away the system you have pieced together with all the replacement parts that still don't work.  I paid for a system that was supposed to be new and last longer than two months.  Save your company's time and money for additional parts and labor.  Come and get your system!  I need a date and time you can pick it up.  Please grant me my wish so I can be done with Michael and Sons and this matter so I can become a 100% satisfied customer!!!!!!!
Thank you very much!!!!

Regards,

******** *******








Business Response:

Thank you for the reply to our letter. Our customer must understand the process of getting a  project like this to be deemed a non working unit that needs full replacement. These units are under warranty, as is all of the parts. Having new replacement parts does not make the unit any less new. They are the same parts, but newer. Michael & Son must follow the manufacturers procedures and steps. We must also accurately  access the equipment before we can even ask the manufacturer for replacement of parts, etc.  After several visits we have come to a conclusion and expressed this several times to **. *******, the next step in this process is to have the representative from Carrier come to her home and assess the situation. He will either deem the unit non working or confirm it as working and we will go with what ever they direct us as the next step. As a distributor for Carrier, we have to follow their procedures for all warranty issues.

As for cancelling the contract and asking the finance company to refund all of the money, that is something that we cannot do. The loan has been given to **. ******* with specific ter** and conditions, if she wanted to try to cancel her loan that is something that she would need to do herself, we cannot do that as we did not sign for the loan. The second problem is the equipment is now used equipment, and we cannot remove it and resell it as new equipment, therefore Michael & Son will loose money on the purchase of the equipment. If Carrier does deem the unit defective and non working and takes the unit back and gives Michael & Son a full refund, Michael & Son would be willing to cancel the contract, but if that happens, again **. ******* would have to try to get her money back from the finance company and cancel that contract on her own as well. If Carrier does not deem the unit defective and says that a part will fix any issues, than we simply cannot cancel a contract that is already completed and paid for and is now under warranty. If it comes down to Carrier stating that the unit is in good working order, and **. ******* still wants to cancel and return the unit, we will have to contact our lawyers to get more information on Virginia contract laws, etc.

We only want to make sure **. ******* has a new working HVAC system, and that she is happy. We hope that she will allow us to help her and ease her concerns.

The next step

- **. ******* gives us dates and times that work for her so that a Carrier representative can meet with her as well as a Michael & Son HVAC dept. representative to discuss the unit and the issues that it may be having.
Thank you,

***** *******
 
 


Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It's totally ludicrous if you think I'm suppose to allow you to bring in a Carrier dealer in on this/your problem.  Michael and Sons sold me a product that broke down in two months, not Carrier.  Carrier didn't receive my money; Michael and Sons did.  My system has been broken since Sept. 30.  Today is Dec. 2.  My request still stands, please come and retrieve your defective HVAC system that you couldn't fix after three tries, give ***** ***** **** back their money, and void my contract.  Please do this so I will be a 100% satisfied customer.  It's sad that this problem has lingered for more than two months, and to think you received your money, but I didn't receive what I paid for.  Call to schedule a date to pick it up.  Thanks. 


Regards,

******** *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since 8/02/13, two of my credit cards have been charged nine times, for $1,890.00 by Michael & Son Services, Inc. accounting department (HVAC). On July 19, 2013 I signed a contract with Michael & Son Services, Inc. to replace my gas furnace and air conditioning unit. The installation date was supposed to be on Friday, August 2, 2013. However, no one showed up to do the work. So, I called Michael & Son to make an appointment for a new installation date and renegotiate the contract. Under the new contract that was signed on August 2, 2013, the down payment amount for a new gas furnace and air conditioning unit was $1,890.00. The remaining balance, that was due upon completion of the installation, was $3,420.00. The new gas furnace and air conditioning unit was partially installed on Wednesday, August 7, 2013, and the remainder of the work was completed on Saturday, August 17, 2013. I requested that Michael & Son put the down payment of $1,890.00 on one credit card, and the remaining balance of $3,420.00 on another credit card. On August 9, 2013, I filed a dispute against Michael & Son, with both credit card companies, for eight charges, in the amount of $1,890.00, made to two different credit cards, by Michael & Son, once on August 2, 2013; twice on August 5, 2013 (two different credit cards); twice on August 6, 2013 (same credit card), once on August 7, 2013 and again on August 8, 2013. The disputed charges were so many that the case was given to the Fraud Department. Their contact number is ###-###-#### and ###-###-####. The case numbers are **************, and **************. As of October 24, 2013, Michael & Son has re-billed me again for the amount of $1,890.00. Between all of the credits/charges from Michael & Son and my credit card companies over the disputed recurring charges, I don't know what/if any amount of the original down payment amount of $1,890.00 is due to Michael & Son. The HVAC accounting department at Michael & Son needs to determine if all of these fraudulent charges to my credit card are due to human error or a system error. They also need to determine how much money was received for the down payment amount of $1,890.00 on August 5, 2013 (Authorization Code: ******), and August 8, 2013 (Authorization Code: ******). Thank you in advance for your cooperation concerning this complaint.

Desired Settlement: As of October 24, 2013, Michael & Son has re-billed me again for the amount of $1,890.00. Between all of the credits/charges from Michael & Son and my credit card companies over the disputed recurring charges, I don't know what/if any amount of the original down payment amount of $1,890.00 is due to Michael & Son. The HVAC accounting department at Michael & Son needs to determine if all of these fraudulent charges to my credit card are due to human error or a system error. They also need to de

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

1411 K Street NW #1000

Washington, D.C.

Re:  ********

 

To whom it may concern,

This letter is in response to the complaint filed by our customer, ******* ***** (job#********).  We would like to provide some information that may shed light on the matter.  The total amount of this job is $5,310.00.

 

8/2/2013 – We charged $1890.00 as a down payment.

8/6/2013 – We incorrectly charged an additional $1890.00

8/15/2013 – We charged the final payment due of $3420.00

9/4/2013 – BB&T charged back (returned) $1890.00 based on the double charge

9/25/2013 – We issued a refund upon discovering our mistake on 8/6/2013

 

The 8/2 & 8/6 charges were off-set by the 9/4 & 9/25 refunds, leaving the customer still owing $1890.   Ultimately, we had the bank reverse (after providing proof of refund from corporate on 9/25) the charge back.  I have attempted to reach the customer on several occasions to explain and apologize for the mistake which occurred on 8/6/2013 but she did not return any of my phone calls.

 

Please contact me directly if you have any questions or concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

 

 

**** *****

Credit / Collections Manager

Accounting Dept.

Michael and Son Services, Inc

5740 General Washington Drive

Alexandria, VA 22312

###-###-#### main

###-###-#### direct

###-###-#### cell

**************************** (e)

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had work done to replace the main sewer pipe which is located in the front to my house but on the side to the right. My neighbor and I have a common lawn area where the digging took place. While digging down to remove the pipe, my neighbor's porch and steps were damaged. The guy from Michael and Son was digging down to get to the pipes. However, some pipes were removed, but all the pipes were not replaced. I was told from the guy who was digging from Michael & Son if he kept on digging, it would cause the collapse of the two porches. So, I asked if the pipe that remains would be okay and would it cause any problems later on. He told me no that pipe would not cause any problems. I said do not dig any more. Also, while digging, the lawn on my neighbor's side was disturbed. My neighbor had come on the front of his house by then and the digger told my neighbor that his property would be put back the way it was. The work was done and the dirt and grass was put back on the two lawns. After a heavy rain fall, it caused both of the lawns to sink. I brought some top soil and replaced the soil on my neighbor's side. I called Michael & Son to tell them about this issue with the grass. A few days later I noticed that the neighbor's steps were falling apart. I called Michael & Son and they came out to patch up the neighbor's steps. Recently, while walking to my door, I noticed that my neighbor's porch was unaligned. This issue came from the digging that was done to replace the pipes in the front of my house. I have been calling to speak to some one at Michael & Son about the damage to my neighbor's porch but no one has called me back on this issue. Plus, I was going back and forth with the manager and some one in their customer service department about the grass issue too. I have photos and emails on this issue.

Desired Settlement: My neighbors are innocent in this situation and should not have suffer for the damage done by this company. Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated. We all want to do what is right.

Business Response:

Michael & Son Services takes all concerns very seriously. After reviewing this file, we feel that we had satisfied the customer's issues with the yard after the sewer replacement . 
All efforts were made to get her yard back in shape after the sewer replacement. Michael & Son back filled the trench and laid seed and straw, which normally helps to begin the repair process to the lawn. We also  went back and added sod and to place natural grass patches in her yard at her request, this was after a major flood (rain storm) that hit in October or November 2012 that destroyed properties all over the ********* county areas.
 
We have been more than cooperative with this customer, and have fulfilled our contract. I truly do not believe that we are obligated any further except for possible sewer warranties that could arise. We are sorry that the customer's neighbors are constantly blaming the work completed for there porch issues. The neighbor's home appears to be on a slant unfortunately and may have some other concerns by the looks of the down spout pipe that drains right between the two homes. It may puddle near the step area and cause the ground to move over a period of time. We have attached two photos of a before satellite photo from google web and a recent photo of the completed job from 8/23/2013 from our manager who stopped by the home. As you can see the conditions are better than before and the yard is fuller. Other photos show that this customer side walk looks to have recently been replaced as well, which could also have something to do with the porch deterioration.

Our only suggestion, as we are not architects, and cannot assess the situation as the neighbor would like, is to have the neighbor call their insurance company to put in a claim. An investigation from their insurance would begin, and if their insurance company feels that Michael & Son or some other entity possibly caused the damage, they would then subrogate against our insurance, and a determination of fault would be found between the insurance companies. We feel that there is nothing more that we can do at this point, and we feel that we completed our contract and repaired the lawn.

 
 
Thanks you for allowing us to attend to this concern.
 
Sincerely,

***** *******; Customer Relations Manager
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8 February 2013 Michael & Son of *********** ** came to my condo to address a running toilet and hot water heater issue (low heat in the water). I had to be at work and so my mother was acting on my behalf. The below is a detailed description of my complaint—which pertains to he misrepresentation of services. $692.95—charged to replace the mixing valve. A $79.00 (retail) Honeywell Mixing Valve was installed on my hot water heater. When the Plumber/Sales Person quoted my mother the price, she initially said “no, that is too expensive—we could replace the water heater for that”—the Plumber/ Sales person said, “actually, it is a good price—to replace the water heater it would cost around $3500”. At that point my mother said “I guess we are lucky then. “ When I returned home, I was shocked to hear this---since to replace this particular water heater (including install) would be $750. My mother was lied to and mislead by the Michael and Son Plumber/Sales person. It took him 30 minutes to install the part and was not as “complex” a problem as he told her it was. $325.86 for a major rebuild of the toilet. The Plumber/Sales person told my mother a “Major Rebuild” was required and so the price seemed appropriate to her. Even though, again, a new toilet could be bought and installed for this price. The “Major Rebuild” included and was limited to the install of a $19.99 (Retail) Home Depot Fluid Master. Again, my mother told a “Major Rebuild” was needed, when in actuality all that was needed was a $19.99 part and 30 minutes to install it. $29.00 for the Dispatch Fee was also charged--which should have been waived when services rendered. Filing with the BBB is my last resort before using the judicial system and the first time I have done this. I attempted to resolve the issues several times with Michael & Son Customer Service “*****”. He was unreasonable, said several awful things, hung up on me with no returned call and was not at all interested in addressing my concerns. My mother trusted the expertise of the Plumber/Sales person and she was repeatedly given false information. The issues associated with the toilet and hot water heater were misrepresented and the services were misrepresented to meet the prices quoted. As a result the “contract” itself was based on misrepresented information and is void. I would appreciate the BBB looking into this and I would like a full refund minus the cost of parts and the one hour of labor (not to exceed $100) used for the install of the parts ($79.00 for the mixing valve and $19.99 for the Fluid Master). I think this is a compromise considering the situation and the amount of time I have spent attempting to resolve this issue. I should note as well that while the toilet is not running anymore, the hot water heater is not heating the water or my condo properly. Thank you for your assistance and I look forward to hearing from someone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund minus the cost of parts (not to exceed $100) and the cost of one hour of labor (not to exceed $100). The check can be mailed to my address on file. Thank you for your assistance.

Business Response:

Dear BBB & *** *****,

 

Michael & Son offers plumbing, electrical and HVAC services. Each job is different, and can include options for a small repair to installing new systems. Our prices are flat rated and are the same in every home we service. Although we are present the customer with price options, each job has different conditions that may create more time to complete the job, there for a water water heater can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 4 hours to install. If the job takes longer than expected we don't raise the price. 

 

We don't take advantage of anyone no matter the circumstance. We honor active military and senior citizen discounts. We offer every new customer 10% off. We care for the elderly the same as we do any other customer and we take great pride in treating all of our customers with the utmost respect and try our best to take care of their needs as proficiently and timely as we can.

 

When we arrived at the home to perform service we only spoke to the Mom and later after all was complete and at the days end, learned about the daughter. Yes according to the daughter her mom declined the service by saying she can get a new water heater for that price, this is a somewhat  normal response from most when they are shocked by the initial cost of something. But once our technician explained the cost of a new unit she understood that this is no ordinary unit. 

 

The Customer has a unit called "Apollo style or dual use unit" which not only supports the potable water but the water used to heat the home as well. The water heater water is tempered by what is called a "Mixing Valve".  Parts are available on line and in retail stores all at different cost and not one of them seems to be the same. We use the larger vendors who back their products with 5+ year warranties and make sure we avoid defective parts.. We have over 300 fully stocked trucks that are readily available with parts that are used in the average home. We avoid the run to the store and the late night agony of wait till tomorrow. So you are able to get your parts and able to move on with your daily activity without delay. Our prices are again flat rate, so therefore we  able to show the price and we are prepared to complete the repair immediately. From faucets to water heaters, all in the same day. How much does convenience cost? 

We do not feel that we mislead the customer in any way. We offered a price before the job was started and the job was excepted.

 

I spent several evenings contacting the customer at her available time often while riding home in the evenings. There is no cause for me to be rude or even go further to hang up a phone. We would like to resolve this concern with our customer and the available option is to offer the customer a store credit of $100.00.Michael & Son Services is not going to refund $847.81 as requested to resolve this concern. Michael & Son services is available to assist customer with their electrical, plumbing and hvac needs,  and this is the action that took place on this day.


***** ******** Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response:

Complaint: 9451695

The response from Michael & Son appeared to be a form letter, or advertisement soliciting additional business--where only briefly my complaints were addressed.   I (the daughter) was the one who scheduled the appointment and my mother made quite clear who she was when the plumber arrived.   The phone calls mentioned by the company were made while ***** was on his way home.  This was unprofessional to say the least.  The connection was bad, at one point he said he would call me after he went to the gym--and on the occasion already noted I was "disconnected"--by a hang up.  He raised his voice during each call, spoke to me in a condescending tone, and was overall rude and unwilling to hear or resolve the issue.  

Although the contract was accepted it was accepted based on the misleading statements made by the plumber.   Dual Vent water heaters are more expensive--but not the quoted $3000 expensive.  Of course people would cringe when they hear $700 for an $80 mixing valve replacement.  It is criminal--and they have every right to balk at the price--and the only way Michael &  Son can charge those prices is by deliberately misleading the customer.   My mother was mislead--she entered the contract in good faith based on the expertise of the plumber--and Michael & Son (plumber) did not.  I understand plumbing services are high, and  I understand that times are difficult for businesses--but taking advantage of the trust and kindness of the elderly has put this at a new level. 

Like you, I would like to resolve this matter--and I will only consider it resolved when a real refund is given.  We were not given a senior citizen discount or a 10% discount for new customers--and the 100 dollar store credit--would not buy me a piece of PVC pipe from Michael & Son based on the prices.  Nor do I wish to have services completed by Michael & Son in the future--considering that my hot water is only good for one shower and that the thermostat must be placed on 90 degrees for the unit  to warm 
 
I am rejecting this response because: Because Michael & Son did not resolve the issue. 


Regards,

********








Business Response: We appreciate our customers response. All efforts to solve this concern were handled at the customers daughter's requested time schedule and that is the reason for all the late calls while I was driving, etc. I am very sorry for the late calls, but was trying to service the customer and come to a resolution when it was convenient for her.


What appears to be a form letter is truly how we do business and serve our customers, we were not trying to solicit further business, but explain what we do here at Michael & Son.   Most homes, as they age, will have concerns and need work at some point. For people that cannot take care of the repairs themselves, Michael & Son is here to offer our services with warranties. At no time do we discriminate nor judge the customers. When *** ****'s mother came to the door, she appeared to be of sound mind and told us that she was able to make the decision that day. At no time did she say she needed to think about it, or that she needed to consult with her daughter. We feel that we provided very fair business practices, and at no time mislead or took advantage of the customer. We only serve the customers who call and ask us to correct the matter at their homes.

If the customer for some reason has an issue or a concern that prevents them from making decisions, we would like to think they will be prepared to receive an estimate only and call us back once the decision can be made.


We would love to help our customer and we will gladly stand by the offer to give them a store credit and will increase it to $150.00. This credit can be used toward any of Michael and son services. We quoted this particular job out of our price book. It is a standard price and we cannot refund any of the money.


For BBB-Only -Other wise we will ask that the case is closed based on the agreement between the mother and us that was signed and  agreed upon. This letter came from a third party complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Generator purchased approxiamately a year ago. Generator stopped working a couple of months ago. Michael & Sons continuously promises to complete repairs, but never meets scheduled appointment times. Either they will call and say the part has not been delivered or they will re-shedule a repair time and don't show up. They will call and re-shedule for the following week, saying the delvery truck has not shown up and reshedule again and again. This cycle has been going on for weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new generator at a discounted price.

Business Response: Thank you for your letter regarding our customer ****** *************. We had some concern with getting the parts due to back log and manufacturing.


We have communicated with the son of our customer who is the power of attorney and we agreed to cover the maintenance on their generator for the next two years for their inconvenience. This is valued at $700 if purchased. 

We are truly sorry for this concern and look forward to meeting our customer next week on March 13th to install the part.


Sincerely,

***** ******** Customer Relations Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This was a service issue involving my refrigerator. The tech, ***** *****, assessed the situation and said he would not know the extent of the problem as to why water was not flowing into the ice-maker and he would determine that by "process of elimination". The price COULD be as high as $500 if it was the worse case scenario. I agreed to that approximate cost so that he could begin working to resolve the issue. He immediately assessed that the plastic tubing that delivered the water had deteriorated and needed to be replaced. I agreed to his recommendation of copper tubing. That was all that was needed and he completed the repair in 10 minutes and pushed the refrigerator back in place. The bill came to $473 just for swapping out the tubes. When I questioned ***** on the value of the tubing, he guessed it COULD be as much as $80 and as for the rest, plumbers were expensive! I reluctantly paid with my credit card because I did not feel it was wise to press the issue with a technician. Shortly thereafter, I placed a call to Michael & Son and was transferred to "*******". ******* said I signed an agreement and therefore was bound to the price I was quoted. I told ******* that my understanding is that I agreed to an "estimate" of the worst case scenario, but it turned out to be a simple and basic repair. That would call for a reduction of the estimate.

Desired Settlement: I am a woman and a senior citizen. Those two facts are a common occurrence for overselling and price gouging. If the technician had stated to me in simple terms such as "there will be no change in this price even if it is the simplest repair requiring little time", that would have given me the option to agree to being gouged or telling the technician that this was unreasonable and I would not want him to perform the service. I cannot believe that anyone who fully understood their practice would agree to pay that amount of money for such a minor repair. I would like this bill to be reassessed by Michael & Son, Inc. and a refund issued accordingly.

Consumer Response:

***** ***** ***** *** ************** ***** ********** ***** *** **** ***** ** ******** ********* ********

To the Attention of ***** ******...

I would like to update you regarding Complaint #*******.  I received a response from ***** ******** of Michael & Son, as well as the owner of the company, *** *******, assuring me that a resolution would be reached.  ***** ******** has been very professional and we have worked out a very satisfactory agreement.

There is no need for any further action.  Please consider this complaint resolved and no negative action is necessary against the company.

Thank you for representing me.

Sincerely,
***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new HVAC system with Michael and Sons in December 2010/January 2011, and have had numerous problems with the system ever since. While the company has responded to my correspondence and attempted to correct the problems, a permanent solution has never been obtained, and the problems continue. I would like to ad that the HVAC system is located at **** ** **** ******* ***** ********** ** *****, and is a rental property from which I derive my living. The tenan ts have complained twice in the past 10 days of the heat going completely out. In the summer of 2012 the air conditioning went out. In December 2011, the heat went out. I believe the system to be defective, and I further believe the remedies Michael and Sons has pursued to permanently resolve the issue have simply been bandaids that do not solve the problem. Michael and Sons now makes the claim that my condominium management company is responsible for the current loss of heat, stating, "the warranty covers parts and labor with Michael and Son only. It does not cover unauthorized work as we can not verify the work done or weather it was done correctly. It will be difficult for us to warranty this unit going forward and would suggest that your Management Company should take full responsibility of any expense that may incur assuming they authorized the work from another contractor on your Heat Pump unit.". This leaves me in the position of accepting without question what I believe is a defective HVAC system, and therefore arguing with two corporations (Michael and Sons, and *** ********* ********** (the condo association). It also leaves me with the very real possibility that I purchased a defective product that cannot be repaired and that Michael and Sons will not replace, that I will have a battle with my condo management company concerning this situation, and I will suffer the loss of my tenants at the property, as well as becomming unable to continue to renting the unit, thus greatly interfering with my ability to keep up with the property, offer it as a legal rental to anyone, and suffering a substantial loss of income. I need help. Sincerely, ***** ** *****

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay for repairs for a defective product, whose repairs thus far have been insufficient.

Consumer Response:

***** * ***** *** ************** ***** ******** ***** *** **** ***** ** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** *** ** ***** ********** ** * ******* ************ ** ******* ** **** ********* *********

This issue has been resolved.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1