BBB Accredited Business since

Concrete Authority

Phone: (717) 556-0077 Fax: (717) 556-0097 View Additional Phone Numbers 599 Airport Rd, Lititz, PA 17543 http://www.concreteauthority.com/contact/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Concrete Authority meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Concrete Authority include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Concrete Authority
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/23/2005 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA014603.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Hahn, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Hahn, President
Business Category

Concrete - Stamped & Decorative Concrete - Restoration, Sealing & Cleaning


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company at the time was called Stampcrete of *********. They came out to pour a 12 x 36 foot concrete patio in my backyard. I had asked for a particular stamp that looked like wood planks. They poured the patio and it had some streaking on the one end. A representative from the company told me it was not right and they would redo the entire patio. Since they were going to redo the patio I asked them to make sure that the odd shaped wood plank stamp be at the far end of the patio away form my patio door. I didn’t want to see a wider stamp right outside my patio door. They told me no problem. They repoured the patio for a second time and it looked terrible. They did not stamp it like I had asked with the odd shaped stamp at the far end plus they had made some bad stamping along the outside edge. The owner ***** **** told me they would do it again and apologized. They did in fact pour it a third time. It looked fine and they sealed it. This is where the issue begins. The sealer had been put on too thick because we had very tiny bubbles all over the surface. ** **** told me he would send a guy out to thin it to remove the bubbles. A representative came out and thinned the sealer and the bubbles were gone. **. **** told me to wait a good week before putting any furniture on the patio. We waited almost a month because it felt tacky. Once we put the furniture on it would stick and at times had pulled up sealer. I had asked **. **** about this and he said they were having issues with their sealers. We adjusted what furniture we used on the patio. **. **** told me to wait until the patio needed a new coat so each year I was in contact with him about the sealer and he told me to wait. I told him of white marks appearing and other issues. He told me to wait because it still had some sealer on the patio. I have been waiting 3 years now and it looks terrible. **. **** refuses to do anything.

Desired Settlement: I want **. **** to completely strip off all remaining sealer so I can have a reliable company come and put a good sealer down on my patio.

Business Response:

The above referenced project was completed three times in an effort to satisfy **. *****.

The final coat of sealer was more than acceptable by industry standards.  **. ***** gave final approval at the completion of the project.

All sealers have a life expectancy and require resealing every two to three years.  The sealer we used has a life expectancy of three to five years which exceeds the industry standard.  Although all decorative concrete requires resealing, the variables that contribute to the requirement are exposure to rain, snow, ice and, of course, the homeowner's preference.

**. ***** has arrived at the time when a reseal would be expected and that is his right.  However, Concrete Authority is not liable for continuing maintenance on any of the jobs we complete.  We believe we have satisfied our commitment to the customer and the contract between the customer and Concrete Authority.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  This is not a maintenanced request.  The sealer Concrete Authority used failed.  **. **** knows this and has failed to assist me in corre cting the problem.  He has blown me off for the past 3 years now and continues to blow me off.  I further request Concrete Authority pay for ther failed sealer to be removed and a new sealer be installed. 


Regards,

******* *****








Business Response: ** ***** complained about the "bubbles" and then stated that they were resolved. After sealer is cured it will only get sticky from something that was placed on the surface. possible from the furniture or something else he set on the patio. ** ***** implied that I would reseal the patio which in fact I advice him to wait a few years so as not to have a build up of sealer. After 3 times of pouring new concrete for him and trying to meet his expectation we feel we have done our best to meet his needs!

1/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service