This business is not BBB accredited.

The Blue Dot

Phone: (800) 690-1543 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Mill Rd  Ste 24, Clifton Hts, PA 19018 http://www.thebluedot.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 11/18/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Blue Dot include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for The Blue Dot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Blue Dot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2007 in PA Business incorporated 12/20/2007 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Samaras, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Samaras, President/Owner
Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
The Blue Dot, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Mill RdSte 24

    Clifton Hts, PA 19018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ** from The Blue Dot . Soon after the charging port on the phone stopped working and I contacted The Blue Dot customer service to see if i could send it in to be fixed. They responded with instructions on how to return the phone with an attached shipping label. I i followed the instructions that were given and repackaged the phone in the box that it was sent to me in and sent it back through USPS. After about a week or two I attempted to contact The Blue Dot and ask had my phone been received by their company but got no reply. I waited another week and attempted to contact The Blue Dot again and still no reply. I then waited another two weeks and sent yet another email in attempt to contact The Blue Dot and still no reply. At this point I tracked the package through USPS and found that it was delivered to the address that was provided on the shipping label. I then emailed The Blue Dot once more regarding the where abouts of my phone and have still not got a reply. Even when I called within their listed business hours i was unable to reach anyone. By there automated messenger, I was asked to leave a name and number and though I did so I still have not received a call back or anything.To this date I have not received a refund nor my phone nor even as little as an email about my phone.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish to have my Phone replaced or properly repaired and sent back to me or a full refund of my money

Business Response: I am sorry for no response to your correspondence.  We are no longer selling phones online at this time. 

I see you purchased your device back in march and then returned the device nearly 4 months later. The person who handled our returns is no longer with the company. 
I will look to see if the phone is still available and will gladly send it back to you. 
I am sorry for any inconvenience that has occurred. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, However I don't understand why my phone would not be available as i have tracked my it and it was in fact delivered to The Blue Dot facility.
 

Regards,

****** *********








9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cell phone from this company on ****. I bought it early as it was a good price for the phone. It was to be given to my daughter for her birthday several months away. When we tried to get the phone activated ******* said the phone was flagged as Stolen and could not be activated and was locked. I paid them 99.95 for the phone. I am taking it to the local sheriffs office tomorrow and try to file a complaint there as well. I emailed the company twice and got nothing but an automated response both times saying they would contact me with in 3 business days. I have contacted **** and ******* I used my credit card to pay for it through ****** as a guest. I have my receipt and all of the information pertaining to this item.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 99.95 back since the phone is not usable.

Business Response: Hi ****:

Unfortunately your return period expired several months ago. We can no longer accept this device back to us. 
We offer a 30 day guarantee on all products we sell however your phone was purchased nearly 6 months ago. 
You can most likely find this device on **** for a discount rate from another seller. We are no longer offering phones online. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  ******* will not allow the phone to be used because it has been flagged as stolen.  Do you make a habit of selling your customers stolen goods.  I purchased the phone as a gift and put it away until I needed it.  I think the phone being sold to me stolen allows me to have the opportunity to get my money back.  If you prefer I can get the police involved and see how many newpapers and news stations are willing to listen to the fact that you sold me a stolen phone.  I will also be contacting a lawyer since you feel this is just some every day ordinary situation.


Regards,

**** *******








9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold me a ******** ****** Cellphone on April 1 2014. I purchased this item for a Father's Day gift for my father. Upon trying to activate this cell phone, I was informed that it was a stolen cell phone that could not be activated!!!! I contacted the Blue Dot immediately whereupon I was informed that they would not honor a refund due to the fact that it was after the 30 days purchase period for a warranty. I believe that due to the fact that they sold me a STOLEN Cell Phone, the 30 day warranty should be beside the point and that I should be offered a refund! They will not speak to me in person or via email.

Desired Settlement: I would like all monies returned!!!

Business Response: Please understand that we back all of our items 100% for 30 x days and will even back our products for up to 60 x days in cases like these. The customer contacted us outside this 60 x day window.  We check all ESNs with the carriers and pay a service to assure ESNs are good for activation prior to shipping our phones and in the event of any issues we back our products 100%. 

I am sorry but due to amount of time outside of warranty period we will not be able to accept this device back for a refund. We can however offer you a replacement device at cost if you would like to replace your phone. 
If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. 

Consumer Response: If this company is willing to send a Cellphone that can be activated with a PROPER ESN, then I will accept the offer. Verizon has informed me that the Cellphone I purchased was STOLEN and COULD NOT BE ACTIVATED!!! Surely they DID NOT CHECK THE ESN!!! If they are NOT willing to replace the Cellphone with a WORKING and NOT STOLEN Cellphone, then I will REJECT the offer.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: I will make sure this is processed for you in the next few days. 

We had some major turn of events over the past several weeks. I am sorry for any delays. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I WILL NOT complete this complaint until I have received a full refund in this matter!!!!

Regards,

***** *******








7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a refurbished cell phone from this company on 04/01/2014 through ****. The item number was ***********. The item description on **** was ******* ******* ****** * **** ******** Unlocked Smartphone. The item was shipped and received in April (I do not have the date off hand). After using the phone I started developing problems with the phone not responding, freezing up, not restarting or shutting off unless you remove the battery, and several other phone and performance problems. I had contacted customer support through their links on the **** site for the item that I bought and at first there were no issues, they agreed to take the phone back and refund the purchase price of $64.00. They had sent me an email with a prepaid USPS return label with tracking number **** **** **** **** **** **. The item was returned to the company and the USPS.COM postal website shows that the item was received over a month ago and I still received no refund. I had contacted the company several times through the email, which was used before to contact them, and never receive a reply back. When you contact the company by phone ###-###-####, no matter what option you select, you get routed to a voicemail messaging system, which I leave messages on, but still no reply. The latest contact that I attempted was on 7/7/2014 through phone and email. The phone contact yet again routes you to email. I do have copies of the emails that have been sent & received, including the copy of the return authorization label.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund back for the full $64 purchase price, as previously agreed. Either refunded by check or refunded back through the credit card.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

We have issued a full refund to the buyer via ******. 
Best Regards, 
****** *
Returns Manager 
TheBlueDot.net
Family owned and operated since 2006. 

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item from this company on 5/28/2014 and received the phone, followed their start up instructions and then had the phone activated with my carrier. I have since had numerous issues and went to their site to see their return policy. It indicated to contact them via e-mail before just sending the item back and their goal is to return correspondence within 3 hours, but to allow up to 24 hours for a response. The first e-mail was sent Monday, June 9, 2014, and I received an automated confirmation e-mail that they received my e-mail the same day at 10:04 am central time. I waiting until the following morning, and re-resent the e-mail indicating in the subject line that it was the second e-mail and again received an automated confirmation e-mail from them at 11:45 am central time on Tuesday, June 10, 2014. All I would like to do is return the phone and other items that came with it so I may get my money back. They give a 30 day return period and I would like to get this taken care of with in that time frame.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted so I may send this phone back and have the funds refunded to my card asap!

Business Response:

Hi *******:

My customer service team is reaching out to you right now! We recently made some major personnel changes here to ultimately provide a better buying experience to our customers however we are currently short handed and do apologize for any delays in getting back to you. 

Will get this resolved for you ASAP!

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company offered to give cash for my slightly used phone. Blue Dot provided a shipping label to send the phone in. Quote was for 150 dollars. When they received the phone The Blue Dot gave a new quote for 135 dollars due to more wear on the phone. I agreed and accepted the requote of 135 dollars. I chose for the money to be deposited in my ****** account. This was over 1 month ago. I have sent several emails and have called several times . I have receive no coorespondence. No one answers the phone and I have left several messages. No returns my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Payment for the phone I sent The Blue Dot in the amount promised of 135 dollars. Otherwise The Blue Dot should return my phone to me .

Business Response: We recently lost our Trade-Ins processor and this must have fallen through the cracks and will be looked into immediately.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions. We truly appreciate your business and hope you shop with us again in the near future. 
Best Regards, 
***** ******** 
Customer Loyalty Team Lead 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As of today ****h 11th I have still not received any response from The Blue Dot. No email , no phone call.I just want my money that is owed to me or for the company to send me back my phone... I appreciate the BBB helping me to resolve this matter. At this point I am not sure how to move forward with getting this resolved.


Regards,

**** **********








Business Response:

**** - I was looking through the correspondence back in ****h and see the following email you sent from ****h 21st. 

Could you please double check your records to see if this has been completed?

Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 4:45 PM

Hi ******
This was taken care of by ********* last week.. ********* was the only one to answer the phone
for the first time in a month…********* took care of the issue and had the boss send me the money to my *** ***. Copy of email is below…Thanks for following up …
****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** **********

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cellphone through **** and the product was not in working order as it stated. I tried to have the carrier to fix to no avail. At that point I reached out to Bluedot which offered to refund me after I sent them the phone. I sent the phone and the company verified it's receipt. Still no refund. I reached out again via email and was promised a refund through ****** within 3 business day. Still over 5 weeks since the phone was sent and no refund was issued.

Desired Settlement: Please send my refund as promised via ****** or check.

Business Response: We tried several times to issue the refund but weren't fprovided with the information till March 7th with that information to issue a refund. This has since been done and the consumer should log into their ****** account to accept the transfer of funds

 
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions. We truly appreciate your business and hope you shop with us again in the near future. 
 
Best Regards, 
***** ********
Customer Loyalty Team Lead 
 
 

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We returned to this seller the phone we bought from them 6 months ago (described as NEW condition)in order to be fixed or replaced. We sent the original phone,box and charger. Seller replied that the sale of item is over 30 days and that they cant fix nor replace item. They mailed phone back in generic box out of its original phone packaging and missing original charger. we sent request for original items to be returned. Seller replied they didnt retain original packaging that phone was sent in and that they will send a charger. Charger sent was a generic kind, not the original 2-piece charger specific for Motorola droid A855.

Desired Settlement: Return original Motorola Droid A855 kit: packaging and 2-pc charger.

Business Response:
Dear ******* *******,This customer made his purchase 
Date: Jan 25, 2013 

Without following the proper guidelines for a return, the customer return his phone. 

We only allow returns within a 30 day period. He sent his phone back after 6 months of usage. 

When we received his broken phone, we informed him that we would not refund him for it. Normally, in cases where a customer ignores our return process we ask them to pay the return shipping of their device. 

We did not in this case ask for the customer to pay for the return shipping. The box that the item arrived in was a generic box that was damaged in shipping. It was not an OEM box. We switched to a new company box months ago and no longer keep this style of generic box. His item was returned to him in one of our new boxes. 

He requested that we send his charger, which we did not see included in his return shipment. Regardless, in good faith we sent him the same charger that all our products receive. Again, with no request for shipping to be paid by the customer. 

After he received the products back, he demanded that the destroyed box the phone arrived in be returned, and claimed that his charging cable was slightly different. 

We have been very accommodating with this client, however, they have been demanding and unwilling to work with us. 

Best Regards, 
**** ********
Customer Loyalty Lead::**********************

TheBlueDot Customer Service via 3fuklsuc29py.a-br5cmag.a.bnc.salesforce.com 
1:09 PM (3 minutes ago)
to me

Dear ******* *******,

This customer made his purchase 
Date: Jan 25, 2013 

Without following the proper guidelines for a return, the customer return his phone. 

We only allow returns within a 30 day period. He sent his phone back after 6 months of usage. 

When we received his broken phone, we informed him that we would not refund him for it. Normally, in cases where a customer ignores our return process we ask them to pay the return shipping of their device. 

We did not in this case ask for the customer to pay for the return shipping. The box that the item arrived in was a generic box that was damaged in shipping. It was not an OEM box. We switched to a new company box months ago and no longer keep this style of generic box. His item was returned to him in one of our new boxes. 

He requested that we send his charger, which we did not see included in his return shipment. Regardless, in good faith we sent him the same charger that all our products receive. Again, with no request for shipping to be paid by the customer. 

After he received the products back, he demanded that the destroyed box the phone arrived in be returned, and claimed that his charging cable was slightly different. 

We have been very accommodating with this client, however, they have been demanding and unwilling to work with us. 

Best Regards, 
**** Callahan 
Customer Loyalty Lead

8/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This person lied and said item shipped on July 10,2013. It actually shipped July 16,2013. The advertisement for the phone said it was guaranteed to be able to be activated on ******* or ******** and had a clean esn. Numerous lies. Phone is actually stolen. Refuses to refund my money until i ship the phone back to him. He asked for the meid # so that he could contact ******* to check the status of "stolen" and never heard back. I told him i would ship the phone back to him once i got my money back since he has proved numerois times to be less than trustworthy and i have at least kept my word through the whole transaction. No reaponse. I told him to ship me a different phone, i have a special needs child, i have been without a phone for over 2 weeks now dealing with company that has chosen these sort of business practices. Ive given him several options as to resolve this. To get no response. He sold me a stolen phone then stole my money. Sad... i want my $ back then he can have his stolen phone back. I need a phone, i cannot keep waiting on this man. Do they not have a conscience? After reading their recent ebay feedback this seems to be a common practice for them. They should not have an "a" rating. They are conmen... they are cruel. To leave a mother with a special needs child without a phone is cruel and heartlesss.

Desired Settlement: My $ back so i can buy a phone from someone reputable so that i can be contacted if there is an issue with my special needs child. I need a phone like LAST WEEK!

Business Response: We were able to resolve this issue with the customer. She's been provided a full refund, and a refund of the extra shipping charges she accrued when shipping the phone back with extra insurance. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ***

10/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service