This business is not BBB accredited.

The Blue Dot

Phone: (800) 690-1543 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Mill Rd  Ste 24, Clifton Hts, PA 19018 http://www.thebluedot.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Blue Dot include:

  • Failure to respond to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for The Blue Dot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Blue Dot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2007 in PA Business incorporated 12/20/2007 in PA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Samaras, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Samaras, President/Owner
Business Category

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
The Blue Dot, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Mill Rd
    Ste 24

    Clifton Hts, PA 19018

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cell phone on ***** from this company. There was a 30-day warranty on the phone. It was being used by my mother's boyfriend in the Kansas oilfield. Just before the warranty expired the phone stopped working. I contacted the com[any and was told that since they had been notified prior to the end of the warranty it would be honored. They sent him a shipping label to return the phone; he never received it. They sent another label to me and my mother and drove to Kansas and returned the phone via USPS. The phone was delivered to the company, I have a copy of the tracking record, however I never received a refund. This was all done with the approval of the Returns Manager. Much time and many emails have been exchanged with no refund. The company has stopped responding to my emails and efforts to contact them by phone have resulted in a recorded message saying:"The number you are trying to reach is temporarily unavailable."

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund I was promised by the Returns Manager.

9/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased and paid for an *** *** * phone that was advertised as having 32GB of onboard storage through ****. I received the phone and got it set up with my carrier successfully and began using the phone at the end of June. I recently tried to download an app and the phone alerted me that I did not have enough storage space. As a result, I looked for the info on the total storage, and found that it was only 16GB! I purposely bought a phone with more storage since there was no way to add more storage to this particular phone. I could have gotten a phone with less storage for less cost, but instead bought from The Blue Dot because they had the phone that I wanted. So, i opened an **** case back on 8-12 and despite having emailed the seller 4 times (most through **** but also a couple directly through *****), and tried to call the number that was listed on the ****** receipt (which was not a working number when i tried to call on Monday, 8/25) I have gotten absolutely zero response. I checked my spam, trash, etc. and looked at the **** case and no response has been returned. I cannot escalate within **** since it is beyond their coverage period.

Desired Settlement: I want the phone i PURCHASED (the new condition *** *** * 4G *** **** with 32GB of space) to be sent to me immediately. I will then transfer my contents over and activate the new phone, wipe the 16gb phone they sent in error, and then return the incorrect phone to them promptly. I am also requesting a prepaid shipping label to return their incorrect equipment to them.

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a phone from this company via ****. Within one week the phone began to malfunction, a couple of days later it would no longer power on. I contacted The Blue Dot and told them of the defective product. I requested an immediate replacement, as they had already cost me time and money by delivering the phone approximately one week later than the latest estimate they had provided. They informed me that my only option was to return the phone for a refund, and they provided me with a return shipping label. Shortly thereafter I shipped the phone back to them using their label. That was the last I ever heard from The Blue Dot. I have tried numerous times to contact this company concerning the return and my refund. They have never once responded. I even informed them that I would be filing this complaint, still no response. They now have my money and their defective phone. I have dated email chains to back all of this up.

Desired Settlement: I would like The Blue Dot to refund the purchase costs to my ****** account.

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a phone on in May that was defective. I sent an email and I was sent a label to return it for an exchange. The new phone arrived with the same programming problem. I have contacted the owner and customer service to let them know that the replacement phone was defective and to request a return label, I have attempted contact more than 5 times to no avail. Ebay will not open a case because it is beyone the 30 days for the original transaction, despite being within 30 days of receiving the replacement phone. I have contacted customer service on: June 16, June 28, July 12, July 16, July 17, July 21, July 22, July 25

Desired Settlement: I want a return label sent to me so that I can send them back the defective phone and have them issue a refund.

Business Response: I am sorry however we do not accept returns past our 30 day return policy. 

Additionally, we have recently phased out the **** portion of our company so we have not received any correspondence since July 11th,  31 days past our June 11th shut down date. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I sent a message on July 3rd about the replacement phone not working (Please see below).  According to the response above, BLUEDOT ws still receiving messages at that time, in addition, I received an emai confirming email receipt from Blue Dot Customer Care.  AND the July 3rd request for a shipping label was well within the 30 day time line from receiving the phone on June 16th.  Please note that I also emailed Bluedot directly from my gmail account to the support@bluedot.net email address that is listed on the website.  This was in addition to the emails sent through ebay. 

Returns: ******** sent a message about ** ******** ***** 3 XT-862 - Black (*******) Smartphone 8MP Camera (B) #************

From:  ********

Sent:  Jul-03-14 07:38 AM

                       

eBay sent this message to ****** ******** (********).
Your registered name is included to show this message originated from ****. Learn more.

This member has a question for you.

Dear thebluedot,

Hello,
We had no luck with this one either. Same issue with the Data not connecting.. not sure what the issue is- we have been online, in the store and called the toll free help and none can get it to work...
Looks like we will need to return. I will look for the Return Label in my email.

Thanks!

- ********

 

 

 

****** ********

 

                       

 
 




 

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ****** ** from The Blue Dot . Soon after the charging port on the phone stopped working and I contacted The Blue Dot customer service to see if i could send it in to be fixed. They responded with instructions on how to return the phone with an attached shipping label. I i followed the instructions that were given and repackaged the phone in the box that it was sent to me in and sent it back through USPS. After about a week or two I attempted to contact The Blue Dot and ask had my phone been received by their company but got no reply. I waited another week and attempted to contact The Blue Dot again and still no reply. I then waited another two weeks and sent yet another email in attempt to contact The Blue Dot and still no reply. At this point I tracked the package through USPS and found that it was delivered to the address that was provided on the shipping label. I then emailed The Blue Dot once more regarding the where abouts of my phone and have still not got a reply. Even when I called within their listed business hours i was unable to reach anyone. By there automated messenger, I was asked to leave a name and number and though I did so I still have not received a call back or anything.To this date I have not received a refund nor my phone nor even as little as an email about my phone.

Desired Settlement: I simply wish to have my Phone replaced or properly repaired and sent back to me or a full refund of my money

Business Response: I am sorry for no response to your correspondence.  We are no longer selling phones online at this time. 

I see you purchased your device back in march and then returned the device nearly 4 months later. The person who handled our returns is no longer with the company. 
I will look to see if the phone is still available and will gladly send it back to you. 
I am sorry for any inconvenience that has occurred. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, However I don't understand why my phone would not be available as i have tracked my it and it was in fact delivered to The Blue Dot facility.
 

Regards,

****** *********








9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cell phone from this company on ****. I bought it early as it was a good price for the phone. It was to be given to my daughter for her birthday several months away. When we tried to get the phone activated ******* said the phone was flagged as Stolen and could not be activated and was locked. I paid them 99.95 for the phone. I am taking it to the local sheriffs office tomorrow and try to file a complaint there as well. I emailed the company twice and got nothing but an automated response both times saying they would contact me with in 3 business days. I have contacted **** and ******* I used my credit card to pay for it through ****** as a guest. I have my receipt and all of the information pertaining to this item.

Desired Settlement: I would like my 99.95 back since the phone is not usable.

Business Response: Hi ****:

Unfortunately your return period expired several months ago. We can no longer accept this device back to us. 
We offer a 30 day guarantee on all products we sell however your phone was purchased nearly 6 months ago. 
You can most likely find this device on **** for a discount rate from another seller. We are no longer offering phones online. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]
 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  ******* will not allow the phone to be used because it has been flagged as stolen.  Do you make a habit of selling your customers stolen goods.  I purchased the phone as a gift and put it away until I needed it.  I think the phone being sold to me stolen allows me to have the opportunity to get my money back.  If you prefer I can get the police involved and see how many newpapers and news stations are willing to listen to the fact that you sold me a stolen phone.  I will also be contacting a lawyer since you feel this is just some every day ordinary situation.


Regards,

**** *******








9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company sold me a ******** ****** Cellphone on April 1 2014. I purchased this item for a Father's Day gift for my father. Upon trying to activate this cell phone, I was informed that it was a stolen cell phone that could not be activated!!!! I contacted the Blue Dot immediately whereupon I was informed that they would not honor a refund due to the fact that it was after the 30 days purchase period for a warranty. I believe that due to the fact that they sold me a STOLEN Cell Phone, the 30 day warranty should be beside the point and that I should be offered a refund! They will not speak to me in person or via email.

Desired Settlement: I would like all monies returned!!!

Business Response: Please understand that we back all of our items 100% for 30 x days and will even back our products for up to 60 x days in cases like these. The customer contacted us outside this 60 x day window.  We check all ESNs with the carriers and pay a service to assure ESNs are good for activation prior to shipping our phones and in the event of any issues we back our products 100%. 

I am sorry but due to amount of time outside of warranty period we will not be able to accept this device back for a refund. We can however offer you a replacement device at cost if you would like to replace your phone. 
If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. 

Consumer Response: If this company is willing to send a Cellphone that can be activated with a PROPER ESN, then I will accept the offer. Verizon has informed me that the Cellphone I purchased was STOLEN and COULD NOT BE ACTIVATED!!! Surely they DID NOT CHECK THE ESN!!! If they are NOT willing to replace the Cellphone with a WORKING and NOT STOLEN Cellphone, then I will REJECT the offer.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: I will make sure this is processed for you in the next few days. 

We had some major turn of events over the past several weeks. I am sorry for any delays. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I WILL NOT complete this complaint until I have received a full refund in this matter!!!!

Regards,

***** *******








7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a refurbished cell phone from this company on 04/01/2014 through ****. The item number was ***********. The item description on **** was ******* ******* ****** * **** ******** Unlocked Smartphone. The item was shipped and received in April (I do not have the date off hand). After using the phone I started developing problems with the phone not responding, freezing up, not restarting or shutting off unless you remove the battery, and several other phone and performance problems. I had contacted customer support through their links on the **** site for the item that I bought and at first there were no issues, they agreed to take the phone back and refund the purchase price of $64.00. They had sent me an email with a prepaid USPS return label with tracking number **** **** **** **** **** **. The item was returned to the company and the USPS.COM postal website shows that the item was received over a month ago and I still received no refund. I had contacted the company several times through the email, which was used before to contact them, and never receive a reply back. When you contact the company by phone ###-###-####, no matter what option you select, you get routed to a voicemail messaging system, which I leave messages on, but still no reply. The latest contact that I attempted was on 7/7/2014 through phone and email. The phone contact yet again routes you to email. I do have copies of the emails that have been sent & received, including the copy of the return authorization label.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund back for the full $64 purchase price, as previously agreed. Either refunded by check or refunded back through the credit card.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

We have issued a full refund to the buyer via ******. 
Best Regards, 
****** *
Returns Manager 
TheBlueDot.net
Family owned and operated since 2006. 

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an item from this company on 5/28/2014 and received the phone, followed their start up instructions and then had the phone activated with my carrier. I have since had numerous issues and went to their site to see their return policy. It indicated to contact them via e-mail before just sending the item back and their goal is to return correspondence within 3 hours, but to allow up to 24 hours for a response. The first e-mail was sent Monday, June 9, 2014, and I received an automated confirmation e-mail that they received my e-mail the same day at 10:04 am central time. I waiting until the following morning, and re-resent the e-mail indicating in the subject line that it was the second e-mail and again received an automated confirmation e-mail from them at 11:45 am central time on Tuesday, June 10, 2014. All I would like to do is return the phone and other items that came with it so I may get my money back. They give a 30 day return period and I would like to get this taken care of with in that time frame.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted so I may send this phone back and have the funds refunded to my card asap!

Business Response:

Hi *******:

My customer service team is reaching out to you right now! We recently made some major personnel changes here to ultimately provide a better buying experience to our customers however we are currently short handed and do apologize for any delays in getting back to you. 

Will get this resolved for you ASAP!

6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company offered to give cash for my slightly used phone. Blue Dot provided a shipping label to send the phone in. Quote was for 150 dollars. When they received the phone The Blue Dot gave a new quote for 135 dollars due to more wear on the phone. I agreed and accepted the requote of 135 dollars. I chose for the money to be deposited in my ****** account. This was over 1 month ago. I have sent several emails and have called several times . I have receive no coorespondence. No one answers the phone and I have left several messages. No returns my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Payment for the phone I sent The Blue Dot in the amount promised of 135 dollars. Otherwise The Blue Dot should return my phone to me .

Business Response: We recently lost our Trade-Ins processor and this must have fallen through the cracks and will be looked into immediately.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions. We truly appreciate your business and hope you shop with us again in the near future. 
Best Regards, 
***** ******** 
Customer Loyalty Team Lead 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As of today ****h 11th I have still not received any response from The Blue Dot. No email , no phone call.I just want my money that is owed to me or for the company to send me back my phone... I appreciate the BBB helping me to resolve this matter. At this point I am not sure how to move forward with getting this resolved.


Regards,

**** **********








Business Response:

**** - I was looking through the correspondence back in ****h and see the following email you sent from ****h 21st. 

Could you please double check your records to see if this has been completed?

Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 4:45 PM

Hi ******
This was taken care of by ********* last week.. ********* was the only one to answer the phone
for the first time in a month…********* took care of the issue and had the boss send me the money to my *** ***. Copy of email is below…Thanks for following up …
****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** **********

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a cellphone through **** and the product was not in working order as it stated. I tried to have the carrier to fix to no avail. At that point I reached out to Bluedot which offered to refund me after I sent them the phone. I sent the phone and the company verified it's receipt. Still no refund. I reached out again via email and was promised a refund through ****** within 3 business day. Still over 5 weeks since the phone was sent and no refund was issued.

Desired Settlement: Please send my refund as promised via ****** or check.

Business Response: We tried several times to issue the refund but weren't fprovided with the information till March 7th with that information to issue a refund. This has since been done and the consumer should log into their ****** account to accept the transfer of funds

 
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions. We truly appreciate your business and hope you shop with us again in the near future. 
 
Best Regards, 
***** ********
Customer Loyalty Team Lead 
 
 

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Blue Dot
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)