BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Steel Seal

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 796-7968   http://www.steelseal.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steel Seal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Steel Seal include:

  • 10 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Steel Seal include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 19, 2006 Business started: 02/15/1997 Business incorporated: 02/15/1997 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian M. Hipple, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian M. Hipple, President
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Scix, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 384 Nina Way

    Warminster, PA 18974

  • 73 Old Dublin Pike ' OLD ADDRESS

    Doylestown, PA 18901

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the head gasket repair kit, and it failed to fix the problem, according to the guarantee, they indicated full refund, when a repair shop stated that it did not work. "Fix Your Head-Gasket in 1 Hour, From Home - Without Paying Anything for 30 Days! It Must Work for You Before You Pay for it, or it's FREE! Proven to Work Since 1990. Recommended by 500 US Repair Shops. As Seen on TV by Award-Winning Car TV Show Host ****** ******." http://www.steelseal.net

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back that I paid for the product.Plus for Steel Seal to change its policy.

Business Response: We issued a full refund on October 8, 2013.

Consumer Response: Thank You for your help.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the head gasket repair kit, and it failed to fix the problem, according to the guarantee, they indicated full refund, when a repair shop stated that it did not work.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back that I paid for the product

Business Response:

May 24, 2013

Complaint # *******


We do offer a full refund (less shipping and handling). The details of our lifetime guarantee as found on our website are listed below:


Steel Seal Lifetime Guarantee


We guarantee that Steel Seal will permanently repair a blown head gasket, cracked head or block. If the Steel Seal fails to repair or fails at any point during the time you own your vehicle you have two choices:

1. You can receive a one-time free replacement to redose your car

                                                     OR

2. You can receive a full refund(less shipping and handling). Simply send us a copy of an estimate from a licensed repair facility which states the vehicle has been diagnosed with a blown head gasket.

 

We would be glad to refund **. ****. If he did send a copy of the estimate from a licensed repair facility as we request above, we never received it. Once we receive the estimate we can credit **. ****’s account.


The estimate can be sent in any of these manners:

Email: ******************

Fax: ************

Mail: **** ***** **** ***** ** **** ************* ** *****

 

Sincerely,

 

Steel Seal

info@steelseal.com

************

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I sent them a statement from a licenced repair shop that has been in business for over 50 years, where is my refund ?



Regards,

******* ****








Business Response:

Hi,

Per our refund policy, we are waiting on a copy of an estimate from a licensed repair facility which states the vehicle has been diagnosed with a blown head gasket. I've checked all emails and faxes that came in to us over the past 30 days as well as the mail and have not come across any estimate.

If **. **** can send a copy of the estimate from a licensed repair facility as we requested above, we can credit **. ****’s account, minus shipping charges.

The estimate can be sent in any of these manners:

Email: *****************

Fax: ************

Mail:

**** ***** **** ***** ** **** ************* ** *****

 

Sincerely,

Steel Seal

info@steelseal.com

800-796-7968

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2011 Delivery Issues
8/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1