BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Battery Mart Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (540) 665-0065 Fax: (540) 665-9623 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Battery Drive, Winchester, VA 22601 http://www.batterymart.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Battery Mart Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Battery Mart Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 27, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 11/01/1983 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Cherie Lauck, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cherie Lauck, GM
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Battery Mart .com Battery Mart of Winchester Inc

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (304) 267-7033(Phone)
  • (304) 267-2646 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/7/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a defective battery. They refunded some of the money but charged with shipping charges. They said that they tested the battery and it checked out so I had to pay for the shipping. So all they have to say is that they checked it out. They did not have it checked by an independent company. On two occasions I almost didn't make it home due to this battery. My mechanic told me he that it had a short in it. They also guarantee 100% complete satisfaction printed on a large gold star. For me that is false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the shipping charge.

Business Response:

Customer placed order on 5/29/13 and received free shipping. 
 
7/5/13 customer contacted Battery Mart with concerns regarding his battery. 
Please note:  when a car or motorcycle stops while running it points to a problem other than the battery. 
 
7/8/13 Battery Mart provided a pre-paid return label with instructions for return.  See copy of email dated 7/8/13.

7/23/13 Customer's battery tested good and customer was credited his original purchase price less the cost of the return shipping.
 
7/26/13 Customer questioned the amount of his credit and our testing methods.
 
7/29/13 Battery Mart responded with details of testing and review of return guidelines.
 
7/30/13  Battery Mart gave further specifics of test results.

For complete details of correspondensce with customer please see attached copy of internal notes from customer's account. 

Credit amount stands at $73.80. 


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

**** ****** *********************3:50 PM (17 hours ago)to meI talked to you today, August 5th, concerning a rejection to batterymart.com reply.   I reject their complaint concerning their testing procedures.   I started having problems with my motorcycle as soon as I installed their battery.  Lets use some common sense.  My old battery still works, I was only replacing it because it was old.   The new battery I purchased from ******* works fine, but their battery caused me problems, and I feel I shouldn’t have to pay shipping on a defective battery that has some internal defects.    If their battery worked, I would not have returned it, my new battery from ******* was more expensive.  
Regards,

***** ******








Business Response: Please refer back to original response and documentation from Battery Mart.

Refund stands at $73.80.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
**** ****** *********************5:19 PM (15 hours ago)to meIn answer to yours is, my complaint still stands.   You should take down that big star that says “Complete Customer Satisfaction” because you don’t honor it, and its false advertisement.    ***** ******


Regards,

***** ******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product is defective after a short period of use. It has a 10 year warranty. Battery Mart Support person #1 asks if I have proof of purchase. Answer is yes. Support person #2 **** says he will not replace or honor the warranty, stating, " I am not sure where you are buying these products and asking us to honor our internet stated warranty (as well as the enclosed warranty statement with the product) but I will not replace this product again. This product has failed multiple times and the last request was done under their pretense of "courtesy" and that they had lost all records of purchase in a computer network change. Made me laugh a little. This request to return the product for testing and confirmation of failure was denied even with proof of purchase. Service support **** has several different excuses, rude, and refused to honor the warranty claim. I have all necessary documents of proof of purchase, a faulty product, and a warranty statement for replacement.

Desired Settlement: Honor the warranty and replace the product as is the warranty statement on the internet site (www.batterymart.com) and enclosed in the product package.

Business Response:

*** ******* purchased a ******* charger (part # ********) from Battery Mart on 11/27/10.

*** * contacted Battery Mart in Jan 2012 requesting a free warranty replacement.  A charger (part #********) was shipped to *** * at no charge on Feb 3, 2012. 

*** * contacted Battery Mart on July 5, 2012 requesting free warranty replacements for two (2) chargers (part #********).  *** * said one of the chargers was purchased from Battery Mart prior to July 2009 but he did not have any receipts or proof of purchase.  

*** * refused to answer questions regarding his use of the chargers.  *** * was abrupt and vague in giving specifics of how the chargers were put into service, which made the task of trying to help or troubleshoot for *** * impossible.  The call center manager approved replacement on both units as a courtesy but advised *** * that Battery Mart would not provide any other free replacements.  *** * was advised that future warranty concerns should be directed to the manufacturer, *******.  *** * said he was not willing to contact *******.

Battery Mart's website clearly states:

In order for any product purchased from BatteryMart.com to be determined defective it must be returned to BatteryMart.com or the manufacturer and accompanied by a Return Authorization Number within the specified warranty period and terms.

*** ******* has received a total of four (4) chargers and paid for one (1).  Battery Mart will not provide any additional free replacements to *** ******* and we ask that he contact:
******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: incorrect information of rebuttal.  I have reciepts of transactins of purchase in 2007 and 2010.  Batterymart has explicitly told me they lost all sales information when they changed a computer system...  The other information submitted in rebuttal is assumptive on their part.  Bottom line...  warranty the product for 10 years.  I have proof of purchase.  Invoice number ********* and invoice number *****.  Product failed, warranty not honored. 


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response:
We acknowledge *** *******'s concerns over ******* chargers not holding up under his specific service usage.  For this reason we are directing him to the manufacturer for support and assistance from their engineers.  Again, the manufacturer's contact information is:

******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************


Contradiction:  In all prior conversations *** ******* said he had no receipts?

Note: We found where *** ******* received an additional free warranty replacement which was listed under his business name of 'Quality Specialist'.  See attached document.  With this discovery it brings *** ******* to having received a total of five (5) FREE replacement charger units.

Battery Mart will not provide any further warranty replacements to *** *******.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: your information is incorrect.  Like I said, I have receipts for the purchase of these units from you.  You should consider why you have had to replace the units (poor quality of a product) and live up to your warranty statements.    False information on a web site is poor business.  Word gets around.....

Warranty replacement is requested....


Regards,

******* *******








Business Response: Battery Mart has sent *** ******* a total of five (5) FREE replacement charger units.   For this reason we are directing him to the manufacturer for support and assistance from their engineers.  Again, the manufacturer's contact information is:

******* ************ *** **** *** ** ***** ******* ** ***** ***** ************ *** ************

 Battery Mart will not provide any further warranty replacements to *** *******.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Unacceptable when I have receipts and Batterymart has claimed they lost records of transactions in 2009.  I sent you the receipts for two units I have purchased with a 10 year warranty.  The warranty request is well within the period of purchase plus 10 years.  Replacement is this unit under warranty is the course of action according to the advertisement on Batterymart's web site and the warranty information. 


Regards,

******* *******








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took 2 batteries from a Homelite 21" electric lawn mower into local store to purchase replacements on 4/20/13 and got there just before they were closing. Associate brought out 2 batteries--different appearance but similar size and with same specifications--rang up the transaction and I took the batteries home, put them in lawnmower and cut lawn. Checked receipt later and found I had not been credited nor provided any reimbursement for core charges for old batteries they kept at store. A sign prominently displaced behind the store counter lists reimbursement for core charges for lawn and garden batteries as $3.00 for each old battery. Stopped back to store on 4/27/13 as I was traveling by it again; had store receipt of purchase with me after being told earlier I needed receipt for the reimbursement that wasnt provided at time of purchase. Associate looked at receipt and told me I wasn't charged for the cores, I told him that no, I wasn't paid nor credited for core charges for the 2 old batteries I brought in the store, which were retained at time of purchase. The associate then completed some form, took $4 in one dollar bills from register and laid it on counter, I pointed to sign behind him and said it listed lawn and garden batteries at $3.00 per core, not $2. He then stated the batteries sold were motorcycle batteries, not lawn and garden, the core charge was $2 for those. I told the original batteries were from an electric lawn mower, not a motorcycle, and slightly different from the the batteries I bought, which work OK in the mower. The associate then stated they would only pay $4, threw it on counter so I left.

Desired Settlement: $6 reimbursement for core charges, which should have been done at time of sale.

Business Response: All of our batteries are sold at a price that includes an exchange (core).   Lead acid batteries turned in that are not core exchanges are paid at a rate of 0.25 per pound.

This customer brought in 2 batteries, was sold 2 batteries, and never charged for cores.  He did not turn in any additional batteries to receive $$ for scrap return.

When the customer returned a week later with concerns he had not received $$ for his cores we explained the above.  He continued to argue the point and in an effort to resolve the issue, the customer was offered $4.00.  He refused to take the $4.00 and left in a very unhappy mood.

After receiving this complaint (dispute is really over $2.00 and not $6.00) we have attempted to call the customer on 4/29/13 but he has not returned our call.

We are willing to pay the customer $4.00 for his "scrap batteries" which were actually his core exchanges.  This is more than fair.


Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Arrogant nature of this business location toward its customers is earning it some bad will.  "More than fair" isnt running a customer back in for a third visit for something that should have been done during the first visit or even asserting no batteries were retained by store during 2nd visit.  Money isnt the issue here as much as rude customer service.
Throwing money on counter toward a customer instead of handing it is rude customer service. Their sign refers to reimbursement for used batteries "lawn and garden batteries $3.00", batteries that were retained by this business were specifically from an electric lawn mower, not a motorcycle. By their posted sign, reimbursement is $6.00 for such batteries.  Their associate didnt pay nor credit for any amount whatsoever at first visit.
Havent called as I have been out of town for work during the day, message was left 2 days ago and now this is written here. 


Regards,

******* ***








Business Response: Customer fails to give details of his demeanor in our store. 

If customer is willing to provide a mailing address we will send him a check for $6.00.


Consumer Response: Hi
I accept the business's response with one caveat.  The tone of the responses from this business from start to finish have seemed arrogant, including last reference to customer's "demeanor".  I did not raise my voice, use profanity of any kind nor interact with anyone at the store in other than a civil manner at any time to request a reimbursement for the used batteries, who inexplicably did not provide for this in the first place, whatever amount was at issue. 
Address they can use to mail what they are now offering here through the BBB is:
*** **** ****** ****** *********** ** ******

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, conditional upon performance of their offer. 

Regards,

******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1