BBB Accredited Business since

The Recon Store, Inc.

Phone: (717) 393-9133 Fax: (717) 393-1902 View Additional Phone Numbers 1254 Manheim Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Recon Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Recon Store, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Recon Store, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2000 Business started: 12/01/1999 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
PO Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105
Phone Number: 717-783-1404
Fax Number: 717-705-5540
The number is VD#ED022452L.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Beth Melamed, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Melamed, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
The Finance Store, Inc. Ticket To Ride Auto
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1254 Manheim Pike

    Lancaster, PA 17601


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well my problem happened when i first walked in ticket to ride, I financed a car from them in October 2013 2004 ******** ******** ****. down payment with a warranty for a year or 12000 miles whichever was first and my deductible was 50.00 no matter how much work. About two weeks into having the car the car had a fuel system issue and the check engine light was on. When you fill the tank up to full and it reaches a half a tank it drops to empty like there is no gas in it when in reality there is a half a tank im putting 20 to 30 dollars everyday because of this. I told them this issue of course they couldn't fix it right away i didn't mind i know they have other cars before mine so as soon as they can they will take a look at it . Now this is my only car and i had to get a rental to cover the time they fix it because they don't pay for rentals. So they got it in there took about 2 days for them to get back to me and a week to fix it. They told me it was something wrong with the fuel system and they had to send it to ******** because the gas wasn't spilling into a extra tank that feeds to the engine so since its covered under warranty i don't have to pay anything and since it was 2 weeks into having the car i didn't pay the deductible. I got it back in a week and it seemed like it was fine until another 2 weeks later same problem and now with more problems than the first time now its doing the same thing with the gas and the sensors on the car wasn't working either tire pressure, gas gauge, etc. and there was a oil leak under the car. So upset i call them and say hay still the same problem and new ones they say well ok we have to get it back in here i don't have money to keep shoving out for a rental so through all this im trying to be calm and be understanding so they get it back in there shop another couple of days again everything's suppose to be fixed. So now the car appears to be ok and not nothing happens for a while 6 or 7 months in same problem again so seeing as there is nothing else wrong with it but the gas and the check engine light on i continue to drive it with that problem and just keep putting gas in it cause i don't have money for a rental , i have a job i need to get to plus i have kids one with special needs i need the car but i make them aware it still has the same problem. So im driving down fruitville pike a major street with my kids and i hear a clank sound the car's steering wheel locks up and i cant turn it not even hard as if it didn't have power steering i crash in some bushes on the side of a road with 18 wheelers going past holding a baby thinking what the heck happen immediately i put my kids off to the side of the road so they are away from danger and i call a tow truck yet again money i don't have and i called them and i was very irate and said my car was suppose to be fix still has the same problems now new problems i have a warranty what is going on. He said well we have to get it in here i said you always say that and fix nothing so long story short another damn rental thankfully my friend let me use her car every now and then. Got the tow truck guy to take it there said they wasn't looking at it today maybe tomorrow. Already irate i just said call me an let me know whats going on. finally got a call and they said it needs a new engine my jaw dropped are you kidding me and he said well dont worry its covered i know damn well it is cause im not paying for a engine so they have the car for about 4 days cause they have to get parts so telling them again please fix everything with the car old problems and new. I go to pick up the car an they try to charge 55 dollars. I lost it that was the final straw how dare you charge me for a car that had problems that you never fix it wasnt even the amount because it was the deductible but how dare you this car threw me an my children to the side of the road caused me emotional and physical distressed and your yelling at me saying i have to pay this i argued with ed the mechanic for about 25 min and kindly said i want a manger. The manger came out and said i have to pay it to and i said no theses are the same issues and the engine broke then he tried to say no its not the same problems ,i said read the notes and he did and i didn't have to pay the deductible why because i was telling the truth. Its a shame that i have to basically get irate for people to care and listen. So again everything was suppose to be fixed correct, No again check engine light was still on only thing i could tell that they fixed was the oil leak. Now its to the point i'm fed up been fed up but i tried to be understanding in the mean time of all this im still making payments on the car they may be late but im still paying it being as though i keep having to rent cars. So i bring it in again this time one of the finance mangers says they want to be my advocate between me an the mechanic so now they tell me its the battery that's messed up i told them its not they said well i think it is because now their pulling all types of codes from the car like 6 different ones and again the fuel system is still one , so anyway they say go to auto zone and get the battery and charging system check and im thinking to myself your a shop why cant you do that here they didn't have the .equipment at the time I really feel they made me go on purpose so i went to auto zone and they check it for free and guess what no problems with the battery or charging system, brought the paper back and gave it to them and they looked puzzled I honestly believe they have No idea what they are doing now so now he says well i guess we will bring it in in 2 weeks my face dropped again the advocate jeff i believe his name was immediately looked at me and said we will give you a rental for 2 days so we can fix i think he knew what i was going to say and to avoid yet another argument they paid for a rental so whatever fine and i'm thinking to myself there not going to fix it i will always have to shove out 30 dollars a day for gas. So finally they called me after having the rental for 2 days and what i heard next was unbelievable. Ed the mechanic said well we found the issue its the catalytic converter and that's whats causing problems i say why didn't you find this the first or second or third time he said well these things just break i said OK he said well i have a quote for that i said wait i have to pay for it he said yea 406.00... WHAT.. im not paying that he said well if you want it fixed, i said this is ridiculous but that's not even it he said oh yea the fuel system cant be fixed sorry i said what he said yea we cant never fixed that i said but if you don't the check engine light will always be on and i cant get it inspected and if i cant get it inspected i cant drive and he said yea theirs nothing i can do but you can still pay the 406.00 my jaw dropped and i hung up.. Can you imagine how i feel paying on a car that can never be inspected and i don't want to hear they didn't know because they could have said something the first time. I lost money paying on this car, I lost my down payment , I lost money on a rental and i have no choice but to give the car back because it cant be inspected which means i might lose my job I have kids again one with special needs i don't have extra money just lying around this whole ordeal has caused me nothing but pain and stressed money that i don't have I have lost so much with this car and me describing the issue dosen't even come close to what i have and still going through and all they can say and badger me about when im going to make a payment how cruel can you be.

Desired Settlement: First off an apology My down payment back that's not even close to what i already spent and not on my credit report as a repossession

Business Response: *** *******’s vehicle was in our facility for service a number of times over the past 10 months. As always we worked to resolve any issues with the vehicle in a timely manner with minimal expense to the customer. To do so Ticket To Ride paid for *** ******* to rent a vehicle for several days, replaced her transmission at no cost, and replaced her vehicle’s engine at no cost to the customer. Unfortunately the vehicle had an issue with the gas tank indicator which our company brought to the manufacturer for service. The manufacturer found that *** *******’s gas tank issue is caused by a manufacturer defect that cannot be resolved. We have since spoken to *** ******* and taken further steps to ensure that she will not have any further issues with this vehicle. We believe *** ******* was satisfied.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
They replaced the car I had with another one which right now seems to be working fine they paid the previous car off an now I have a new loan so I appreciate 
the effort in helping with the situation even though it was a frustrating ordeal for me and my children, but I'm thankful for ticket to ride for accomadating me and my family.  Regards,

******* *******