BBB Accredited Business since

Chapman Ford of Lancaster

Phone: (717) 299-4331 Fax: (717) 431-2402 5201 Manheim Pike, E Petersburg, PA 17520 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chapmanautogroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chapman Ford of Lancaster meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Chapman Ford of Lancaster include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Chapman Ford of Lancaster include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Chapman Ford of Lancaster
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1929 in PA Business started locally: 09/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Professional & Occupational Affairs (BPOA)-PA
PO Box 2649, Harrisburg PA 17105
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/account
Phone Number: 717-783-1404
Fax Number: 717-705-5540
ST-ACCOUNTANCY@pa.gov
The number is 856410.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Raymond V.J. Garraffa, President Ms. Shirley Davies, Controller Mr. Norm Eshleman, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Shirley Davies, Controller
Principal: Mr. Raymond V.J. Garraffa, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chapman Auto Group
Industry Tips
BUYING A USED VEHICLE

Additional Locations

  • 5201 Manheim Pike

    E Petersburg, PA 17520

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2014 ford *** in to Chapman ford on 10/31/2014 to have my tires rotated. When they finished I noticed that the rims on the back 2 tires had damage done to them . They had gouged the rims and the service manager admitted that the machine was faulty. They offered to try and fix them . I allowed them to because my truck was only a few months old. When they brought the truck out to me the 2 rims were a different shade of metal and did not match the original rims and you could also see where they had sanded them down . These rims are worth $844.00 each and were now ruined. My new truck has bad looking back rims. I have contacted them numerous times and have asked that they replace the rims with new ones just like my old one. They have refused and stated that they were just fine.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the back two rims replaced with new ones that will match the old ones.

Business Response:

*** ******* did have his F-*** truck at our facility to have a tire rotation performed on his dual rear wheel vehicle at the customers request, which require the tires to be dismounted from the wheels.  While performing the dismounting of the tires from the wheels, there were very light dimples into the wheel caused by the tire machines clamping device.  Chapman Ford completely admitted to the light damage to the wheels and rectified the concern by having a professionl wheel refinishing company repair the wheels.  I Mike D******, Service Director, inspected the wheels after the repair and found no signs of damage.  The wheels were more than acceptable.  *** ******* mentioned to myself about this happening at another facility, and had his wheels replaced on a prior vehicle.  I feel that *** ******* is attempting to have us unneccassarily replace his wheels for no reason due to the fact upon my inspection after the repair the wheels were more than acceptable.  If the repair of his wheels were questionable by any means, we would have been more than willing to assist in replacement of the wheels.  At this time Chapman Ford stands by a correct repair being done, and the wheels do not require replacement.  If you have any further questions in regards to this matter please don't hesitate to personally give me a call at ###-###-#### Ext: ****.

Very truly yours,

Michael P. D******

Service Directer @ Chapman Ford of Lancaster/Columbia

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The rims are a total different color and do not match the other part of the rims. There is still marks and scratches. I am  not trying to get something that is not due to me . And yes this problem did happen on my old truck and the dealership did what they should have done and rectified the problem that they caused and replace the rims to their new condition. It is a shame that Chapman would not put my truck in the condition that it was when I brought it in to them. Now I have rims that in my opinion are ruined for further trade in value.


Regards,

****** *******








Business Response:
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mike D****** <MD******@chapmanautogroup.com>
Date: Thu, May 7, 2015 at 2:50 PM
Subject: ****** ******* ID ********
To: *** ******* <********@mybbb.org>
Cc: *** ******** <*********@chapmanautogroup.com>


Good Afternoon,
 
As per our conversation this morning, Chapman Ford of Lancaster is willing to pay a total of $300.00 and not to exceed that amount to the dealership that states they are able to repair Mr. ****** *******’s wheels on his 2014 Ford F-***.  Payment will only be made to the dealership upon completion of the repairs and the following:
 
-          Signed invoice by *** *******

-          Signed statement by *** ******* stating 100% satisfied with repairs

-          Pictures of the completed repairs

-          All of the above must be sent to Chapman Ford via email (md******@chapmanautogroup.com) prior to payment

 
Very truly yours,
 
Michael P. D******
Service Manager
Chapman Auto Stores
Lancaster, PA and Columbia, PA

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]
I have talked to the dealer that will fix the rims and he said that it will be between $200. to $250. per rim. If this sis approved I will comply with the reply.
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******

11/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I do not have the dates and times of all the occurances but this by no means should deminish the fact that I was treated so unprofessionally. I'll start with my saleman John W****** first. I noticed a few recoginition plaques for customer service in his cubicle so immediately I assumed I'd be in good hands. I was could not be more wrong. I specifically asked him if he could do better on the sticker price on the windshield of the vehicle I was intrested in buying. He told me he could probaly do better than that and that he'd be rite back. He came back with a monthly payment offer which I assumed was better then the windshield price. Later I found out that the windsheild price was for Ford financing, veterans and first time buyer program (undisclosed to me). I also told John that I wanted him to go through ***** because I just refinanced my trade in and they gave me 2.9% intrest. He said to me that the finance crew work with serveral banks and would get me the best deal. After serveral hours of waiting he came back with the lender ******** **** @ 4.9%. I just assumed that I got turned down by PSECE and continued to seal the purchase. A week or two later I got a call to come back to the dealership to sign new paper in that there was a mistake in the paperwork. What they did for reasons unbenounced to me was to switch me over to *** bank at same the intrest rate. I didn't think much of it. As days past I received a few decline letters from banks (approx 6). No *****. I called ***** and I refinanced immediately over the phone @ 2.9% I was angry at this point that my specific request to go with ***** was totally disreguarded, just like he ignored telling me about the sticker price requirements. Then a few months later I get a bill in the mail from ***** for the amount of $ 73.00. This is the fee for the certificate of title that they need to have. I would never would have incurred this fee had John listened to his customer's specific request. I called Gary H*** and he acted like he had no idea what I was talking about. I called back the next day and specifically told him about the $73 fee on his voicemail and I said I'd like to have that amount returned to me since they did not go with ***** initally. No phone call returned. In other matters ***** sent me letters saying that they never recieved the title. Possible because they sent it out the the first finance company and then to the second. I don't know. Several months later they finally recieved the title. On the day of my purchase I waited for serveral hours for approval. Instead of John showing me all my new vehicle features he just sat around. I left without anyone ever showing me because the girl who does that job was busy showing someone else. I also left that day with no spare key (lost) and no operations manual (stole I was told). I got a letter in the mail from Lyta *. R**** (custome care advocate) on March 7, 2014 asking me to please fill out a survey and if for any reason I wasnt satisfied to please call. I did... I got a letter from Ray G****** basically stating the same thing on March 4, 2014 . I called. Ray and Lyta said that they would look into the matter and I never heard back from either on. I wasn't going to say anything about the poor service and smoke and mirrors but when I got that $73 bill I had enough. This is a perfect example of a business getting to big and consumed with making their big profits. I work very hard for my money and for them to just spend it like they seem fit it not acceptable. i.e. the 4.9% and the $73 title fee.

Desired Settlement: I would ultimately like my $73.00 back. I would also like an apology for them simply not gettting back to me on anything and thinking i'd just go away. John was just as bad as the other 3 for not owning up to his errors and listening to his customer and not making it rite.

Business Response: Chapman Ford is sorry for any confusion there was regarding the purchase of your new vehicle. You will receive a check for $73.00 shortly. Ray G******* Owner/Operator

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

11/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ***** **** ******* 2006 on 8/09/14 that had apparently been recently inspected and was sold to me under the understanding that the car was in very good condition and was safe and fit to drive. This vehicle was purchased from **** ** ******, who accompanied me in a test drive of the vehicle. During this test drive, there were no warning lights or apparent problems. However, after arriving home post-purchase, the car sensor activated the warning light to inform me that the engine was low on oil, and upon inspecting it, I determined it was more than half empty on oil which is extremely problematic and indicative of a failure to ensure the vehicle as roadworthy, as required by law. I went to purchase oil to resolve this, wanting to give a renown dealership the benefit of the doubt. Shortly after this, on a weekend, I took the car out into traffic for the first time (the first instance driving the car longer than 15 minutes outside of a rural or residential area at a time). During some slightly congested traffic, the warning lights then began indicating that the engine was overheating. I proceeded to my destination with caution and the following Monday morning I made a phone call to **** ** ****** on both his cell and work number, leaving a message. No return call was received. I called the following day and had to request to speak with him. I expressed my concern, and his response to me when I asked if he knew whether this was a pre-existing problem with the vehicle before he sold it was "I don't know, I have never had a problem with mine." I reminded him that I was not talking about his ******* ***** ****. He made it clear within a couple of minutes that he had no intention of resolving the problem. I called and spoke with David R****** the following day, and after becoming a little more assertive, he agreed to have his service team take a look at my car for free so that I could at least know what was wrong with it and go from there. On 9/3/14, the service was performed, and I received a call stating that the vehicle had a leaking water pump which was going to cost me an estimated $498.83. At this point I became very upset and asked him one final time if he was willing to remedy this problem. He was very eager to dismiss my concern and informed me that after speaking to the owner of the dealership he more or less did not care whether or not I contacted the BBB or a lawyer because he believes he does not have an obligation to do anything based on the nature of the sale. It is and always will be unfeasible for a customer to inspect a vehicle on a lot for a leaking or damaged water pump, an integral component of a functioning, roadworthy car, and there is no conceivable way this damage occurred while I was operating it-- I believe the issue simply required a longer drive to present itself. This car is unsafe to drive, and is requiring a serious repair only weeks from having been purchased for $7500. When driven home from the assessment, the car immediately overheated significantly worse & faster than it had prior, and was a fourth of gas low. I do not believe this was necessary overwork to the already damaged car in order to inform me of the problem at hand. The paperwork provided from the assessment states that during testing, "engine overheated, thermostat seized from overheating". This indicates to me that the service team overheated my engine, broke my thermostat, and made no kind of cautionary statement to me regarding that before they gave me back my vehicle and let me drive it to the point of potentially extreme, serious damage. The car went from barely acceptably functioning (it was running at acceptable temperature for the purpose of transporting myself to work) to being domestically useless.

Desired Settlement: For the vehicle to be repaired or reimbursement for the repairs to the point that it would be safe to drive within reason, or a total refund and the car to be returned.

Business Response:

I have foward this complaint to my service director.  We should have a responses within a few business day.  Thank you.

Ray G*******

Owner/Operator.

 

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This is in reply to *** ****s concerns in regards to his 2006 ******* ***** ****.  The customer purchased this vehicle, a used as is vehicle, from Chapman Ford of Lancaster on 8-9-14.  *** **** did test drive the vehicle prior to purchase with no concerns, and at that time was informed that this vehicle is an AS-IS vehicle and has no warranty.  *** **** signed the buyers agreement and buyers guide which states that this vehicle is not under any type of warranty and is an AS-IS vehicle.  Documentation will  be attached showing the according customer signatures, and AS-IS documentation.  The 2006 ******* ***** **** went through our service shop on July 25th, 2014 with minimal concerns.  There were no warning lights illuminated, and no signs of overheating.  The vehicle went through PA State Inspection and Emission tests without failure.  Chapman Ford of Lancaster did performed in excess of $777 worth of additional work on the vehicle which is as follows:

1.) Chapman Ford Vehicle Safety Check

2.) PA State Inspection

3.) PA State Emission

4.) Repair of tire

5.) Replacement of wheel stud

6.) Replacement of front brake pads

7.) Replacement of front rotors

If the waterpump leak was present or seen by the technician we would have repaired the concern, or the vehicle would have failed and not have been available for sale.  Chapman Ford understands the customers frustration in regards to the repair needed for the vehicle after weeks of ownership.  Chapman Ford at this time will agree to split the cost of the waterpump repair, but would like to reiterate that this is being done as a good will gesture to the customer and that this vehicle was knowningly purchased as an AS-IS vehicle. 

Sincerely,

Michael *. D******

Service Director

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The nature of my complaint could be repair, sales and service related. We took our car to repair our starter in Jan 2014. In March, the same issue had come up. This time the issue was also combined with a transmittion problem. Chapman did honor the parts warranty and replaced the starter again. They then mentioned they would need to do a rebuild of the transmittion and the cost would be close to 4k. Thankfully a family member used to be a mechanic for ford and asked what codes they were receiving. After providing the information, he told me to ask them if it could be an issue related to the ignition not causing the proper voltage to go towards the transmition. When Chapman got back to me I was told they would not check that specifc problem, since it would take over two hours to look at. On top of that in my frustration I mentioned trading in the car. The mention of a trade in became their main focus, not fixing the problem at hand. The service representative *** mentioned, "I actually have a sales representative in front of me now." I asked them to fix the starter problem and hold off on the transmition. My father helped pick the car up for me and when he went to start the car, it wouldnt start. He was then told it takes a little for the new part to break in before it works. I have delt with bad cable companies, phone companies etc, but never a company so unfocused on service and client satisfaction. Im sorry for my long response. In summary the first problem (starter) was never fixed. Secondly they tried to sell or replace and not fix the new transmition problem.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the first "fix" of my starter and an secondly the service manager and owner to be aware that complaints have been filed.

Business Response:

*** ********* *** purchased a vehicle at our **** ********** location January 13th, 2011.  It was a 2008 ******* ******* with 29,516 miles on it.  He has been a loyal customer to this location since then and has done numerous repairs with us.  Dec 27th, 2013 he had his vehicle to our facility for repairs (Yearly inspections, diagnosis of vehicle being tough to start, exhaust leak, and traction control light), and at this point the vehicle had 93,794 miles.  His concern was the customer must jiggle the keys at times to start the vehicle.  It was found that his ignition switch assembly was the cause of the concern due to it being worn out with pluger binding up.  Customer approved repair of the ignition switch.  The new ignition switch was installed and shimmed.  At that time the concern was resolved and all other repairs were performed as needed, and there was no concern expressed to us at the time *** ********* *** picked up his vehicle. 

Vehicle returned to our dealership on March 10th, 2014 for a drivetrain transmission concern with the milage of 97,450 miles with nothing mentioned in regards to previous repairs.  The technician performed diagnosis on the vehicle for the transmission, and performed an electronic test pulling code *****.  The vehicle at that time had no second gear.  Performed Ford pin point test that they provided, and at that time the transmission would need to be inspected internally.  Removal of the pan andpossible removal of the transmisson and dissemble to find cause of failure.  At that point the customer was notified and customer declined any further diagnosis to the vehicle.

While the vehicle was in (3-10-14) we felt a concern with the ignition switch again.  A second ignition switch was installed at no charge to the customer.  The customer was only charged for the first hour of diagnosis for the transmission concern.  The customers transmission concern was never fully diagnosed without the removal of the pan or disassembly of the transmission and is in no way related to the ignition that was repaired originally. 

Chapman Ford has performed all diagnostics and repairs that were approved by the customer and the customer was correctly billed.  We do not feel that we are responsible for a refund of the first repair due to the fact that he was no charged for the second repair of the ignition switch because we absorbed the cost of the second repair.  If any documentation is needed, we are more than willing to supply the support documentation.  If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerly,

**** *******

Service Manager

Chapman Ford Sales/Service

**** *********** ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The starter was never fixed either time. When we picked up the car after the second 'fix' of the starter. We brought up the fact it still would not start. We were told the part needs time to 'break in'. It never did.

Regards,

***** *********








Consumer Response: Documents


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Chapman Ford of Lancaster
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart