BBB Accredited Business since

Chevy Chase Automotive LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 656-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 7701 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chevychaseacura.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chevy Chase Automotive LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevy Chase Automotive LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Chevy Chase Automotive LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2002 Business started: 02/20/2001 in MD Business started locally: 09/01/1939 Business incorporated 02/01/2001 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Bowis, President Mr. Sam Weaver, VP Mr. Jeff Lee, Service Manager Mr. Matthew Malson, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bowis, President
Principal: Mr. Sam Weaver, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chevy Chase Acura Chevy Chase Nissan

Additional Locations

  • 7701 Wisconsin Ave

    Bethesda, MD 20814 (301) 657-4000

  • 7725 Wisconsin Ave

    Bethesda, MD 20814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, ****** has very misleading sales practices, in that some of the most important components of the lease (involving the end-of-lease vehicle inspection and return) were not explained. No doubt they were somewhere in the fine print, but an explanation of these items would have been appropriate. We relied upon the integrity of the ****** staff and had never experienced such poor customer service before (when dealing with ***** and ******), and we did not aniticiate being taken advantage of in this way. Furthermore, there were inaccuracies in the reported damages to the vehicle. We checked it over carefully before it was turned in, and the damages reported to the wheel covers were non-existent. We were dealt with very shabbily by ****** customer service people at ****** ***** ********** ****. in Dallas, TX, when we called to complain about this issue. Also, we received no mileage credit for having had actual mileage which was nearly 20,000 less than the mileage allowance on the lease contract..

Desired Settlement: The very least I would expect from ****** is the remission of the $388.30 which we were wrongly charged for excess wear and use. (They even had the gall to charge a tax on that!)

Business Response:

The complaint issued by *** ***** should solely be address by ****** Motor Credit. All fines and/or penalties pertaining to a lease are only assessed by ****** Motor Acceptance Corp. *** ***** also mentioned his dissatisfaction with their customer’s service center in Dallas. The inspections and notifications process is done exclusive by them without any involvement from the dealer. The responsibility of Chevy Chase Automotive pertains to storage logistics for leased vehicle.
Please feel free to contact me to further discuss this matter

Respectfully,
Kaveh J

Director of Sales

3/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When looking to lease a ****** ****, I explained to my sales agent that I would not be able to charge my car at work because I am a federal employee, and that it is not allowed. He asked what type of mileage I would be commuting, and I explained that it was around 80 miles round trip. He said that would NOT be a problem; that I would be able to go more that 100 miles, and based on the fact that the A/C and Heater are powered by the Solar Panel, I would also be able to utilize the A/C and heater at will. To my surprise, now in the excessive summer and winter temps, this was not true. The solar panel charges an accessory battery which powers the audio system, supplemental restraint systems, headlights and windshield wipers. When utilizing the A/C and heater systems, the mileage is significantly reduced, leaving me unable to make my required distances that was promised originally by the sales staff. At this point I am forced to drive the vehicle with my windows down, exposing me to allergens and commuter exhaust in in the summer, and wrapped in blankets (which I assume is degrading my safety and ability to properly react) in the winter months.

Desired Settlement: Fair settlement will be the return of the vehicle and termination of the lease agreement without any penalty to me. Additionally, compensation for my time spent having to stop and charge my vehicle during the high summer and low winter temps may be warranted. Also, a policy should be put in effect where sales staff are required to explain in detail the effects weather may have on the vehicles performance, and a transparent understanding of how the systems work.

Business Response: From: Kaveh J**** 
Sent: Saturday, February 28, 2015 5:58 PM
To: *** ******
Subject: BBB response to *** ******
 
ID#********
****** ******
 
  The vehicle specification and information explained to *** ****** was provided by the ****** Motor Company.  The sales agent referenced to ******’s ******** label which details the Electric Vehicles driving range.  The ******** label states that average distance is 80 miles. The ******** label also shows that the vehicle has the ability to exceed 100 miles on the highway or 120 miles in the city contingent on the driver habits and modes.  During the test drive the sales agent demonstrated the ****’s different driver modes.  He fully explained that the optimum driving modes are brake mode (for capacity regeneration) and eco Mode (to conserve consumption) used in conjunction to maximizing driving range.
  
Chevy Chase ****** will provide the following options to assist  *** ******.
·       Schedule an appointment for a sales agent to demonstrate the vehicles driving modes.

·       Explore the option of trading  to a vehicle that better fits his need

 
Respectfully,
Kaveh J**** | Director of Sales 
Chevy Chase Automotive
7725 Wisconsin Avenue | Bethesda MD 20814
Direct:###-###-####
Main:  ###-###-####
Email: *****@chevychasecars.com
 
 

*** Celebrating 75 Years 1939 - 2014 ***



-- 

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently an Iowa resident, and serve in the United States Air Force. On 02 December 2013, I leased a brand new ****** **** from Chevy Chase Automotive; **** ********* ******* ********* MD *****. Prior to 12 February 2014, I was assigned to the National Capital Region and resided in Washington, D.C. The temporary tag issued to me by the dealership expired on 1 February 2014. It was not until 26 February 2014, that the dealership called me to let me know my plates were in for pickup. Since I am not in the area, I sent someone on my behalf to pick up the plates. When they got there, Chevy Chase told them I was $651.00 short. This was unknown to me. I had signed two leases, as the first one was too high and Chevy Chase had to redo it to adjust for my tax, title, and license. I asked **. *** ********, Finance Director, to send me an e-mail with an itemized invoice showing where I was $651.00 short. He sent me an invoice, and in pencil at the top of it, was “Short, $651.00.” I, of course, immediately questioned this and emailed **. ******** back. I never received a response, and followed up on 2 March 2014. After I did not receive a response to my second email, I called Chevy Chase and asked to speak with a manager. I spoke with **. ****** *****. He told me he would look into it, and call me back. He also told me any tickets I received, they would gladly take care of them. I never received a phone call back. I then called ****** Consumer Affairs, on 11 March 2014. I filed a complaint, case # ******** with ****** Consumer Affairs at ###-###-####. I generally speak with ****, extension ******. ****** Consumer Affairs reached out to the dealership, and finally called me back stating I was charged $200.00 for them getting my plates, and the rest of the difference was for taxes. He also told me since the issue involved Iowa state taxes, that I would have to pay that amount. I have no problem paying the taxed amount. However, ****** never provided me with an itemized receipt even after I called ****** Consumer Affairs. I really do not know what I am being charged for, etc. I then called ****** Consumer Affairs back and told them I do not think it is fair I am being charged $200.00 for a service that was not provided (me getting my plates by 1 February 2014). I also told them no one from the dealership has reached out to me. They took my information, and called the dealership. I am constantly in contact with ****** Consumer Affairs, and have not received any final resolution on this matter. As a direct result of their lack of diligence, I have received $200.00 worth of tickets for failing to display current tags. I want Chevy Chase to pay the $200.00 fee for not getting me my plates in a timely manner, and also to pay me the $200.00 in tickets I have received so far due to them not trying to resolve this issue in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Chevy Chase ****** pay the $200.00 for the tickets I have received in DC for failure to display current tags. Also, Chevy Chase pay the $200.00 fee charged to me for my tax, title, license as they did not complete the service by the date my Temporary Tag expired (1 February 2014). Chevy Chase did not contact me, and let me know my plates were in until 26 Feb 2014.

Business Response:

Dear Sir or Madam:

 

Thank you for attempting to resolve this matter.  The pertinent facts are as follows:

 

The dealership paid the following amounts: $755.19 for a DMV sales tax, $355.00 for DMV Regulation fee, and a $10.00 DMV Lien fee.  The total paid by the dealership is $1,120.19.  (We also paid a $130.00 Out-of-State fee but the customer was not charged this amount). 

 

**. ***** paid the following: $268.23 in sales tax, and $200.00 in license and title fees.  The total paid by **. **** is $468.23.

 

The difference between the amounts is $651.96.  However, as a customer courtesy, our dealership is willing to pay $200.00 toward **. *****’s tickets.

Therefore, **. **** owes the dealership $451.96.

 

Attached, please find the documents to support the above facts.  My contact information is below if you have any questions about this matter.

I look forward to your reply.

 

 

***** ***** | Director of Sales 
CHEVY CHASE ACURA

CHEVY CHASE NISSAN
7725 Wisconsin Avenue | Bethesda MD 20814
Direct:###-###-####
Main:  ###-###-####
Email: ************************

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chevy Chase Automotive completed the body work on my daughter's 2013 Nissan Altima. The repair job was inferior at best. We had to return on several occasions prior to taking possession of the vehicle to ask for work to be completed. The car still has an odor, from which was originally there. The paint is not the same color throught the car and is extremely noticeable. Lastly the repair work was inferior as the details on finishing touches were not done to satisfaction. I complained to the service manager and the company president for that division. I never received any response from anyone, except to tell me that the shop would not do anything else to fix the repair.

Desired Settlement: A credit to be used towards services, partial refund to get it repaired somewhere else.

Business Response:

***. ******'s vehicle was apparently stolen and defacated in. Chevy Chase Automotive Collision Center repaired the vehicle as per the estimate and approval from *****. The vehicle was inspected by **** ******* (***** Adjuster). The condition of the vehicle was deemed satisfactory. Any disputes the insurance claim must be started with ***** Insurance. The claim was paid by the insurance company, we can't refund anything since repairs have been paid by 3rd Party.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I have received and reviewed the response from Chevy Chase Cars regarding the body shop repair work performed not to my satisfaction. ***** has not taken any liability for the repair work done to the car since it was not repaired at a ***** facility. The ownest of the work product is on Chevy Chase Cars to deliver a car to the customer that is in the same condition prior to the accident. This is what that contractly agreed to do. The items performed on the estimate were not done adequately or correctly.

The car has been taken to a reputable shop with many years experience and they have provided an estimate of what is needs to be done to correct the items not repaired properly by Chevy Chase Cars. I would like to submit this estimate to Chevy Chase Cars to be addressed. The shop owner of the body shop that performed the estimate attempted to contact **** ****** in the body shop to discuss the repairs needed. He did not agree to work through to resolve the matter nor to visit the shop to view the corrective measures needed.

 

At this point, the only way to resolve this matter is to for Chevy Chase to understand the car still had many issues when we took final delivery. It doesn't matter who paid for the car, the repair work was done subpar at best.  There was overspray issues, the bumper not attached properly, paint color issues, and the list goes on. This car was urchased brand new from their showroom less than six months ago and now the car has lost its value. We trusted Chevy Chase Cars and returned to allow them to do the body shop work, thinking that they would deliver us a good work product. This just didnt' happen.

 

I will forward the estimate under separate cover. Will someone  please step up and realize that you have wronged your customer and it has nothing to do with *****.


Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

In response to the rejection;

Chevy Chase Automotive Collision Center is a ***** repair facility. ***** Adjuster **** ******* inspected and approved work performed. The vehicle was a theft recovery that was dammaged on both side of the vehicle. The vehicle was also defacated in. The vehicle was repaired as per ***** estimate as well as detailed and deodorized. Chevy Chase Automotive will be happy to address any issues ***** has with the repairs.

 

**** ***

Service Director

Chevy Chase Automotive


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Chevy Chase Automotive LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart