BBB Accredited Business since

Chevy Chase Automotive LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (301) 656-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 7701 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chevychaseacura.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chevy Chase Automotive LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chevy Chase Automotive LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chevy Chase Automotive LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2002 Business started: 02/20/2001 in MD Business started locally: 09/01/1939 Business incorporated 02/01/2001 in MD
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Bowis, President Mr. Sam Weaver, VP Mr. Jeff Lee, Service Manager Mr. Matthew Malson, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bowis, President
Principal: Mr. Sam Weaver, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Chevy Chase Acura Chevy Chase Nissan

Additional Locations

  • 7701 Wisconsin Ave

    Bethesda, MD 20814 (301) 657-4000

  • 7725 Wisconsin Ave

    Bethesda, MD 20814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am currently an Iowa resident, and serve in the United States Air Force. On 02 December 2013, I leased a brand new ****** **** from Chevy Chase Automotive; **** ********* ******* ********* MD *****. Prior to 12 February 2014, I was assigned to the National Capital Region and resided in Washington, D.C. The temporary tag issued to me by the dealership expired on 1 February 2014. It was not until 26 February 2014, that the dealership called me to let me know my plates were in for pickup. Since I am not in the area, I sent someone on my behalf to pick up the plates. When they got there, Chevy Chase told them I was $651.00 short. This was unknown to me. I had signed two leases, as the first one was too high and Chevy Chase had to redo it to adjust for my tax, title, and license. I asked **. *** ********, Finance Director, to send me an e-mail with an itemized invoice showing where I was $651.00 short. He sent me an invoice, and in pencil at the top of it, was “Short, $651.00.” I, of course, immediately questioned this and emailed **. ******** back. I never received a response, and followed up on 2 March 2014. After I did not receive a response to my second email, I called Chevy Chase and asked to speak with a manager. I spoke with **. ****** *****. He told me he would look into it, and call me back. He also told me any tickets I received, they would gladly take care of them. I never received a phone call back. I then called ****** Consumer Affairs, on 11 March 2014. I filed a complaint, case # ******** with ****** Consumer Affairs at ###-###-####. I generally speak with ****, extension ******. ****** Consumer Affairs reached out to the dealership, and finally called me back stating I was charged $200.00 for them getting my plates, and the rest of the difference was for taxes. He also told me since the issue involved Iowa state taxes, that I would have to pay that amount. I have no problem paying the taxed amount. However, ****** never provided me with an itemized receipt even after I called ****** Consumer Affairs. I really do not know what I am being charged for, etc. I then called ****** Consumer Affairs back and told them I do not think it is fair I am being charged $200.00 for a service that was not provided (me getting my plates by 1 February 2014). I also told them no one from the dealership has reached out to me. They took my information, and called the dealership. I am constantly in contact with ****** Consumer Affairs, and have not received any final resolution on this matter. As a direct result of their lack of diligence, I have received $200.00 worth of tickets for failing to display current tags. I want Chevy Chase to pay the $200.00 fee for not getting me my plates in a timely manner, and also to pay me the $200.00 in tickets I have received so far due to them not trying to resolve this issue in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Chevy Chase ****** pay the $200.00 for the tickets I have received in DC for failure to display current tags. Also, Chevy Chase pay the $200.00 fee charged to me for my tax, title, license as they did not complete the service by the date my Temporary Tag expired (1 February 2014). Chevy Chase did not contact me, and let me know my plates were in until 26 Feb 2014.

Business Response:

Dear Sir or Madam:

 

Thank you for attempting to resolve this matter.  The pertinent facts are as follows:

 

The dealership paid the following amounts: $755.19 for a DMV sales tax, $355.00 for DMV Regulation fee, and a $10.00 DMV Lien fee.  The total paid by the dealership is $1,120.19.  (We also paid a $130.00 Out-of-State fee but the customer was not charged this amount). 

 

**. ***** paid the following: $268.23 in sales tax, and $200.00 in license and title fees.  The total paid by **. **** is $468.23.

 

The difference between the amounts is $651.96.  However, as a customer courtesy, our dealership is willing to pay $200.00 toward **. *****’s tickets.

Therefore, **. **** owes the dealership $451.96.

 

Attached, please find the documents to support the above facts.  My contact information is below if you have any questions about this matter.

I look forward to your reply.

 

 

***** ***** | Director of Sales 
CHEVY CHASE ACURA

CHEVY CHASE NISSAN
7725 Wisconsin Avenue | Bethesda MD 20814
Direct:###-###-####
Main:  ###-###-####
Email: ************************

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chevy Chase Automotive completed the body work on my daughter's 2013 Nissan Altima. The repair job was inferior at best. We had to return on several occasions prior to taking possession of the vehicle to ask for work to be completed. The car still has an odor, from which was originally there. The paint is not the same color throught the car and is extremely noticeable. Lastly the repair work was inferior as the details on finishing touches were not done to satisfaction. I complained to the service manager and the company president for that division. I never received any response from anyone, except to tell me that the shop would not do anything else to fix the repair.

Desired Settlement: A credit to be used towards services, partial refund to get it repaired somewhere else.

Business Response:

***. ******'s vehicle was apparently stolen and defacated in. Chevy Chase Automotive Collision Center repaired the vehicle as per the estimate and approval from *****. The vehicle was inspected by **** ******* (***** Adjuster). The condition of the vehicle was deemed satisfactory. Any disputes the insurance claim must be started with ***** Insurance. The claim was paid by the insurance company, we can't refund anything since repairs have been paid by 3rd Party.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I have received and reviewed the response from Chevy Chase Cars regarding the body shop repair work performed not to my satisfaction. ***** has not taken any liability for the repair work done to the car since it was not repaired at a ***** facility. The ownest of the work product is on Chevy Chase Cars to deliver a car to the customer that is in the same condition prior to the accident. This is what that contractly agreed to do. The items performed on the estimate were not done adequately or correctly.

The car has been taken to a reputable shop with many years experience and they have provided an estimate of what is needs to be done to correct the items not repaired properly by Chevy Chase Cars. I would like to submit this estimate to Chevy Chase Cars to be addressed. The shop owner of the body shop that performed the estimate attempted to contact **** ****** in the body shop to discuss the repairs needed. He did not agree to work through to resolve the matter nor to visit the shop to view the corrective measures needed.

 

At this point, the only way to resolve this matter is to for Chevy Chase to understand the car still had many issues when we took final delivery. It doesn't matter who paid for the car, the repair work was done subpar at best.  There was overspray issues, the bumper not attached properly, paint color issues, and the list goes on. This car was urchased brand new from their showroom less than six months ago and now the car has lost its value. We trusted Chevy Chase Cars and returned to allow them to do the body shop work, thinking that they would deliver us a good work product. This just didnt' happen.

 

I will forward the estimate under separate cover. Will someone  please step up and realize that you have wronged your customer and it has nothing to do with *****.


Regards,

**** ******








Business Response:

In response to the rejection;

Chevy Chase Automotive Collision Center is a ***** repair facility. ***** Adjuster **** ******* inspected and approved work performed. The vehicle was a theft recovery that was dammaged on both side of the vehicle. The vehicle was also defacated in. The vehicle was repaired as per ***** estimate as well as detailed and deodorized. Chevy Chase Automotive will be happy to address any issues ***** has with the repairs.

 

**** ***

Service Director

Chevy Chase Automotive

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was sold on June 24, 2013. I soon discover there was no vehicle manual, poor detailing and the SiriusXM expired in less than a month and a half. Prior to leaving with my car on June 24, 2013, I soon noticed that there was no manual in the club compartment. I asked my salesman to order me one. Before I left he said one had been ordered. As part of my car loyalty program, I receive free washes, so I take my car to be washed once a week. I would occasionally stop by to see if the manual was in and the salesman would avoid the question. He would fail to follow-up or return my call and provide a status on the manual. Long story short, I have yet to receive a manual. On one occasion, I explained that they must not have detailed my car thoroughly following the purchase, because I dropped my keys between the seat one day and when the keys were retrieved they had a chewed piece of gum on them. I had not chewed gum in the car, so it must have happen while the car was on display in the showroom. My salesman did a quick clean to the inside, but did not have time to fully detail the inside like I should have received prior to leaving the dealership. There are other minor issues that occurred, but I was assisted, so I shall leave those unmentioned for the sake of covering the last important item. I turned on my radio a couple of weeks ago and notice that SiriusXM was no longer available. I called the dealership and the manager told me to call SiriusXM about the 90 day trial. I call SiriusXM and they informed me that the dealership activated the SiriusXM on May 1, 2013. I called the manager back at the dealership and he ask me had I contacted my salesman. I said yes. I said that I call more than once and he has not called me back. He informed me that he would have my salesman: ***** ***** return my call. This was Thursday and ***** has still not returned my call. This is not uncommon and has been the case since I bought the car. In order to receive any type of status on the loose ends for the car, I had to stop and check to see for myself (i.e. if my plates were in, the poor detailing and the missing car manual. My salesman has been unresponsive to phone calls (i.e. business line/cell) and I just want results.

Desired Settlement: I have been a pleasant customer and patient. I just want to understand what they plan to do to take care of my month and a half or more lost of SiriusXM radio. I believe the dealership should have let me know from the beginning that it had been previously activated, and since they did not they should cover the time that I was without service. I would also like to know when my manual will be coming in and when can I bring my car in for a full detail job that should have been done prior to me leaving the lot. I just want good customer service. I have tried to work with my salesman time and time again with no results. I need results. This is a huge investment for me and I do not take it lightly. I appreciate any help BBB can provide me.

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a very unpleasant experience at Chevy Chase Acura. I was given some ball-park numbers for trading in my 2011 TL for a used 2013 TL with a tech package of a difference about $7-8000. I needed to talk with my wife, and do some on-line research, and indicated I could work with $4-5000 and e-mailed them. I explicitly asked them to let me know if they could not work with those numbers, and just to let me know. Instead, I was told they could, and to come in. When I got there, they tried to sell me a new car for much more money, then told me my e-mail communication did not matter, it was their "business practice" to have people come in. I was told I should speak with the General Sales Manager the next day. After a long discussion, he indicated he would speak with the owner about the case, and get back to me the next day. He called me today, and told me that he could do nothing with the promised 2013, and the best he could do with a 2012 is a difference $6500 + taxes, etc.. He never mentioned if he even spoke with the owner, so I believe that I am just being manipulated again. I am wondering if this occurred because I am a servicemember, and I told them I was leaving town soon. The sales manager mentioned to me that car sales has a bad reputation, and I certainly understand why. I wrote a letter to the owner, and asked him to contact me, but that did not happen either.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the deal as represented to me - trade in my 2011 TL and purchase the 2013 TL with tech package for an additional $4-5000. If they can't sell the certified 2013 used, at this point, I think they should offer a new 2013 for the same price due to their poor business practices and the manipulation that has gone on for the past several days.

Business Response: See Attachment

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This was not a simple case of miscommunication. The e-mails were clear on what my offer was, and the e-mails I got back were clear that they

were something that could be worked on. If my offer was not acceptable, it should have been made clear in responses back to me. It was quite obvious when I got to the car dealer, they had 
no intention of working with what the offer was. They tried to sell me a new car. When I rejected that, they then told me the used cars would be much more expensive than what was 
mentioned in my offer. **. ****** also said that the used cars would not be available for at least 90 days from when I came in. What sort of car dealer makes a deal on a car they can't deliver
for 90 days?  It was quite obvious they had no intention of trying to be fair, and had every intention of trying to cheat me. I think the right term is "bait and switch." I spoke with the ******** police department regarding a possible public display of Chevy Chase Acura's poor business practices, and the policeman I spoke with told me that he would not buy another car there due to the poor
treatment he received there! It is obvious that Chevy Chase Acura has a very poor business model, and I just seem to be a person willing to speak out.
As for the "continue to work with him on this issue" - I have received a total of zero communications from them offering to try and make this right. Chevy Chase Acura does not want to admit their mistake and make it right, unless it is on their terms - meaning I pay a lot of money, they make a lot of money. I am happy to provide BBB with the e-mails. Everyone I have shown them to agrees that they are very straightforward, and **. ******'s assertion of miscommunication is one of trying to misdirect the complaint.

Regards,

**** ******








8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A 2012 Nissan Murano was offered on ******** and the dealer's website at the price of: $29,349. After a prolonged sales pitch the sales manager told us that the car could not be offered at the price because that was only available with the price incentives for military and recent college grads. The price would be more than 1,000 dollars more. He said that it was not the store's fault but it was nissan corporate policy. Note, no one ever asked us if we were military or recent college grad. The explanation from the sales manager seemed entirely fictitious and unrealistic. Essentially they didn't want to let us buy the car at their advertised price. This is deceptive adverstising nowhere on the website does it list that the store will in fact not honor the price that it lists its cars for sale at: ****************************************************************************************** *** **** ***** ** ****** ** ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. The salesperson we dealt with also acknowledged that it did not make a lot of sense in the advertising since their was no indication that the price required some special incentives.

Desired Settlement: Stop being unethical in your advertising. It is irresponsible and wrong.

Business Response: See attachment or check attachment tab.