BBB Accredited Business since

Blaise Alexander Chevrolet Buick

Additional Locations

Phone: (570) 368-8677 Fax: (570) 368-1010 View Additional Phone Numbers 933 Broad St, Montoursville, PA 17754 http://www.blaisealexander.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells and services new and used autos. They are an authorized Chevrolet,Buick,Cadillac, GMC Truck, Kia, Subaru, Ford, Nissan, Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge, & Toyota Dealership with 9 locations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blaise Alexander Chevrolet Buick meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blaise Alexander Chevrolet Buick include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blaise Alexander Chevrolet Buick
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1987 Business started: 08/01/1980 in PA Business incorporated 07/28/1980 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation (Interstate Movers)-Federal
1200 New Jersey Av SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.protectyourmove.gov
Phone Number: 202-366-2519
The number is VD000043A.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blaise Alexander, President Ms. Cindy E. Baugher, General Manager Mr. ALAN SHANHOLTZ, GENERAL MANAGER Mr. Adam Alexander, Sec/Treasurer Mr. Dave Hornline, Service Manager Mr. Matt Lutz, Vice President Mr. Mike Mcrae, Gen. Mgr. Mr. John Panko Ms. Meredith Powell, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blaise Alexander, President
Principal: Ms. Cindy E. Baugher, General Manager
Principal: Mr. ALAN SHANHOLTZ, GENERAL MANAGER
Customer Contact: Ms. Elsie Wessner, Assistant
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Alexander Buick Cadillac GMC Truck Alexander Family Buick GMC Truck Alexander Kia Alexander Nissan Alexander Subaru Aubrey Alexander Toyota Blaise Alexander Chrysler Jeep Blaise Alexander Chrysler, Dodge, Ram Blaise Alexander Ford Blaise Alexander Ford of Ephrata Blaise Alexander Greencastle Blaise Alexander Hyundai Mazda Blaise Alexander Phillipsburg

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1080 E College Ave

    State College, PA 16801 (814) 234-4321 (877) 253-4141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    113 Walton Street

    Philipsburg, PA 16866 (814) 342-3223 (800) 462-1519

  • 125 Lycoming Mall Road

    Pennsdale, PA 17756 (570) 546-4925

  • 1325 N Susquehanna Trl

    Selinsgrove, PA 17870 (570) 743-1171 (800) 983-7235

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1703 W College Ave

    State College, PA 16801 (814) 234-2886

  • 2265 Old Turnpike Rd

    Lewisburg, PA 17837 (570) 524-2079

  • 2501 Lycoming Creek Rd

    Williamsport, PA 17701 (570) 494-0121 (800) 326-8113

  • 2830 Lycoming Creek Rd

    Williamsport, PA 17701 (800) 998-1965 (570) 494-1170

  • 37 Berlin Street

    Spring Grove, PA 17362 (717) 229-2167 (717) 225-5622

  • 399 Central Boulevard

    Bloomsburg, PA 17815 (800) 598-5089 (570) 784-0794

  • 620 N. Reading Rd.

    Ephrata, PA 17522 (717) 733-4700

  • 650 N Antrim Way

    Greencastle, PA 17225 (717) 597-2133 (877) 250-6401

  • 800 Market St

    Sunbury, PA 17801 (800) 326-9230 (570) 286-4541

  • 933 Broad St

    Montoursville, PA 17754 (570) 368-8677 (800) 326-9260

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car on 1-30-14. My payment was due 3-7-14. I went to pay and was not in the system. I was told to come back on 3-10-14 and I did and was still unable to make a payment. I then had to call the loan company and tell them according to the dealership that I put $1000 cash down. My car was shut off on 3-12-14 for non payment. The car sat at the dealership until 3-26-14 when I finally got a call I could go pick it up and make a payment. I made 2 payments and the car was ripped about from the dealership. They the said they would fix it and bring it to me. They picked up the loaner car and did not deliver my car. They said I owed 2 payments for a car I did not even have. I told them I did not want the car since they had me sitting and never verififed my income before giving me the cAR HENCE WHY IT WAS SHUT OFF FOR NON PAYMENT. I told them I was done and turned the keys in on Saturday. Then I get an call from the loan company saying my payment was not due until the 7th after I made 2 payments and the dealership said I owed on the 1st. Today I come home from work with an envelope between my doors with the keys and saying they parked it on the street after I told them I dont want it. I keep getting calls from them and they are forcing the car on me after they already sold my other car. If the employment verification needed done prior to making a payment then that should have been done before haNDING OVER KEYS TO A CAR. The dealership also said there was no purchase after the 3 year lease and the leasing compnay says there is. They change the policy to fit their needs and the consumer is left holding the bag.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the car back and stop changing policies. They broke the contract when I was not set up to make payments.

Business Response:

***./* *******,

FIRSTLY, THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER BY BEING A NON-BIASED INTERMEDIARY.

OUR CUSTOMER IS CORRECT: ON 1/30/2014 SHE CAME TO OUR LOCATION AND ASKED US TO ASSIST HER IN FINANCING A VEHICLE.  AT THAT TIME WE WERE ABLE TO PROCURE AN APPROVAL FOR HER WITH THE PROVISION  THAT SHE RPOVIDE ACCURATE PROOF OF PAY AND EMPLOYMENT.  AS PART OF HER TRANSACTION SHE HAD UNTIL 2/10/2014 TO PROVIDE SAID PROOF BEFORE HER VEHICLE WOULD BE RENDERED INOPERABLE FOR NON-PAYMENT.  DURING THE AFORE MENTIONED 10 DAY TIME FRAME , THE LENDING INSTITUTION AND THE DEALERSHIP MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT HER AND HER EMPLOYER TO VALIDATE HER EMPLOYMENT AND INCOME THAT SHE STATED ON THE CREDIT APPLICATION.  WHEN 2/10/2014 ARRIVED AND NEITHER OUR CUSTOMER NOR HER EMPLOYER HAD PROVIDED US WITH VERIFIABLE PROOF OF THE STATED INCOME OR FULL TIME EMPLOYMENT STATUS, HER VEHICLE DID CEASE TO WORK.  AT THIS TIME THE DEALERSHIP MADE THE DECISION TO PROVIDE OUR CUSTOMER WITH ONE OF OUR SERVICE LOANER VEHICLES, MAKING SURE THAT SHE CONTINUED TO HAVE SAFE AND RELIABLE TRANSPORTATION.

THE BALANCE OF THE STIPULATIONS TOOK UNITL 2/20/2014 TO GET COMPLETED, ALL THE WHILE OUR CUSTOMER CONTINUED TO DRIVE OUR LOANER. AT THAT TIME, WE ASKED HER TO RETURN OUR VEHICLE AND TAKE HERS.  WHEN SHE DID, IT CAME TO EVERYONE'S ATTENTION THAT THE DEALERSHIP NEEDED TO MAKE A MINOR ASSEMBLY TO HER DASH.  AT THIS TIME, THERE WERE NO TECHNICIANS TO FACILITATE THIS, SO, I ALLOWED HER TO RETAIN OUR VEHCILE ONE MORE DAY.  THE FOLLOWING MORNING , OUR  TECHNICIAN DISCOVERED THAT HER VEHICLE WOULD NOT START.  AFTER SOME INVESTIGATION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE 2 PAYMENTS THAT OUR CUSTOMER HAD MADE THE NIGHT BEFORE BROUGHT HER CURRENT WITH THE BANK TILL 2/14/2014.  THIS MEANT THAT SHE WOULD HAVE TO MAKE ANOTHER WEEKLY PAYMENT IN ORDER TO MAKE HER VEHICLE START.  THIS WAS THE POINT AT WHICH SHE SAID THAT SHE FELT THE SHE DID NOT NEED TO MAKE THE PAYMENT AND WOULD LIKE HER OLD CAR BACK AND WOULD LIKE TO PERSUE LEGAL ACTION.  THE FOLLOWING DAY OUR CUSTOMER ENLISTED THE ASSISTANCE OF A FRIEND, ASKING HER FRIEND TO DROP THE KEYS OFF WITH US, STATING THAT SHE WANTED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE BACK.

THIS DILEMMA CONTINUED TILL 02/26/2014, AT WHICH POINT OUR CUSTOMER THREATENED LEGAL ACTION AND STATED THAT WE HAD BREACHED THE CONTRACT.  AT THIS TIME SHE STILL HAD NOT MADE THE ONE PAYMENT NECESSARY TO ACTIVATE HER CAR , NOR THE UPCOMING PAYMENT TO KEEP IT OPERATIONAL THE UPCOMING WEEK.  ON 2/27/2014 I WAS ABLE TO WORK WITH THE LENDER TO ABSOLVE OR "SKIP"  THOSE 2 PAYMENTS AS GOOD FAITH FOR THE LENGTH OF TIME INVOLVED IN RESOLVING THE FINAL STEPS NECESSARY TO RATIFY HER LOAN. 

AS YOU MENTIONED, THERE ARE ALWAYS 2 SIDES TO EVERY DISPUTE.  I HOPE THAT THIS LETTER HELPS PROVIDE THE NECESSARY DETAIL TO COME TO A SPEEDY RESOLUTION.

RESPECTFULLY,

****** *****, BUSINESS MANAGER

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: tHEY WERE VERBALLY TOLD THAT i DID NOT WANT THE CAR WHEN THEY FAILED TO BRING IT TO ME THE NEXT DAY AFTER PAYMENT WAS MADE. ****** WAS VERBALLY TOLD i DID NOT WANT IT NOW AFTER THE DIFFERENT STORIES. THE INFORMATION i DID PROVIDE IN PAY STUBS WAS GIVEN THE DAY AFTER THE PURCHASE. THEY WANTED MORE INFORMATION AND NEEDED TO CONTACT MY COMPANY IN CALIFORNIA. THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE BEFORE GIVING ME A CAR. HAD THAT BEEN DONE, THERE WOULD BE NO ISSUES. NOT ONLY AFTER i TOLD HIM i DID NOT WANT THE CAR, 3 DAYS LATER THEY DROPPED IT OFF ON THE STREET WITH KEYS IN AN ENVELOPE AND STUCK THEM IN MY MAILBOX. IT WAS FORCED UPON ME NOW. IT IS NOT BEING DRIVEN AT ALL.


Regards,

**** ******








4/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck to Blaise Alexander ****** in *************, PA on 3/31/14 for inspection. After waiting for 2 hrs I was finally told that my truck needed a new gas cap and they could have it in 20 mins. I said okay. An hour later I had someone come out and tell me my truck was done. I paid and was told my car would be out in 4-5 mins. 10 mins later my car was brought out. If not waiting for your truck for 3 hrs. for an inspection is not bad enough! I was approached 2 and 1/2 hrs after I was there and asked "Are you still here?" That's sad! There was nothing major wrong with my car to be there that long. I then left and got on the highway to go home. As I got on the highway I noticed the hood of truck looked a little off. I had no ware to pull over at that time so I had to keep moving down the highway. I then hit a little bump on the highway and noticed there was a BIG problem with the hood of my truck! It was not latched down all the way. It was being held down by the safety latch not the main latch. When I hit the bump the hood of my truck came up a little because it was not properly latched. Had that safety latch not been holding I would had been in serious trouble!! I had to pull along side the highway and latch my hood down. My truck was just in for inspection!!!! If the service people can't even latch a vehicle's hood how can they be trusted to inspect a vehicle. Not only was the hood of my truck left up. They didn't even put the correct gas cap on my truck. They took the manufacture cap and rope off and took the screw out and put an over the counter cap on with no rope on. They never even put my screw back in the empty hole. They NEVER informed me that I was not getting the manufacture cap put back on either. When I got home from the Dealer I called to speak with the Service Manager and told him what happened. All's he said was "Sorry that is not except able and if you want to bring it back up we will make sure the latch isn't broke." Are you kidding me!!! I could have been seriously injured or worse dead because their Service Dept cannot do what they are supposed to do correctly. Thank Goodness my kids weren't in the car with me when this happened and it wasn't a serious injury! My latches are not broke!! They just failed to complete a job from beginning to end the correct way. I'm not a mechanic, but my husband knows his way around cars/trucks very well and he always double and triple checks his work and any area's he was in during the fix. Now if a everyday man can do this why can't a trained mechanic do this? I understand mistakes happen. Especially when you are busy, but a mistake like this could have taken a life or multiply lives. That's a pretty big mistake!!! Never once was I asked if I was okay or was offered to make things right in any way shape or form. Just bring it back to make sure the latch isn't broke. Well after I shut my hood completely I knew my latch wasn't broke when he said that because it was pushed down all the way and no more bouncing when the wind grabbed it or a bump was hit.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for my gas cap that was put on my vehicle and have the correct one ordered. FREE OF CHARGE!!! I would also like some compensation for the wait time for my vehicle that had NO major problems. I would also like someone to do something about what I went threw with my vehicles hood.

Business Response:

04/02/14

THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU

DEAR ******* *******,

                REGARDING ID #*******, THE CUSTOMER BROUGHT IN THEIR ‘06’ **** ******** FOR STATE AND EMISSIONS INSPECTION ON MARCH 31ST . UPON PERFORMING THE EMISSIONS INSPECTION, THE GAS CAP SEAL TEST HAD FAILED AND IT WAS RECOMMENDED TO THE CUSTOMER TO PURCHASE A NEW GAS CAP TO PASS THE TEST AND RECEIVE A NEW EMISSIONS STICKER. THE CUSTOMER AGREED AND WE INSTALLED A NEW GAS CAP ON THE VEHICLE. THE NEW GAS CAP WAS THE PROPER CAP BUT DID NOT HAVE A TEATHER ATTATCHED. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN WASHED AND RETURNED TO THE CUSTOMER AFTER THE BILL WAS PAID.

                AT APPROXIMATELY 12:45 P.M. THE CUSTOMER CALLED AND HAD STATED THAT THE HOOD HAD POPPED UP WHILE HITTING A BUMP ON THE HIGHWAY. THE SECONDARY SAFETY LATCH CAUGHT AND THE HOOD CAME UP AN INCH OR TWO. THE CUSTOMER TOLD ME THAT IT DID LATCH PROPERLY AFTER THEY HAD STOPPED ALONG THE ROAD AND INSPECTED IT. I APOLOGIZED TO THE CUSTOMER MULTIPLE TIMES AND TOLD THEM THAT THAT WAS UNACCEPTABLE AND I THEN OFFERED TO CHECK THE LATCH FUNCTION AND MAKE SURE THERE WAS NO DAMAGE DONE TO THE VEHICLE. THE CUSTOMER DECLINED TO HAVE US INSPECT THE LATCH SYSTEM OR CHECK FOR DAMAGE AT THIS TIME.

                AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE CUSTOMER ON 4/1/14 WE HAD AGREED UPON REPLACING THE GAS CAP WITH THE PROPER MANUFACTURERS GAS CAP WITH THE TEATHER ATTACTHED AND TO REIMBURSE THEM THEIR TOTAL BILL TO COMPENSATE FOR THE WAIT TIME AND THE INCONVIENIENCE OF THE HOOD POPPING UP. THE CUSTOMER IS STOPPING AT OUR DEALERSHIP THE MORNING OF 4/3/14 TO HAVE US INSTALL THE GAS CAP AND PICK UP THE REIMBURSMENT CHECK.

                IF YOU SHOULD HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT ME.

REGARDS,

***** *******

SERVICE MANAGER

ALEXNADER ******

###-###-####

****************************

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I believe that damage was done to my vehicle while at Blaise Alexander Subaru for a routine service appointment. I do not feel that they are working to resolve the claims in a professional manner. I was primarily in contact with the Service manager of Blaise Alexander Subaru. I had to call him multiple times about the status of our situation, and he made no effort to contact me or make me feel as though it was an important situation to him or the company. They claimed that they did not have anything to do with the damages before ever assessing the vehicle, and are relying solely on the word of their technician and denying any responsibility for said damages. The damage to the tires was severe, and it was very unprofessional for me to be allowed to leave the premises with the the tires in that condition. Had the damages caused an accident while on the road, I could have lost my life, or taken others needlessly.

Desired Settlement: I would like full replacement of the two damaged driver's side wheels, and all 4 of my tires must be replaced because my vehichle requires all tires to have the same amount of tread wear, also the vehicle will need an alignment

Business Response:

10/18/2013

Re: ***** ***** ******

**. ****** was in for a service appointment on October 7, 2013 for an oil change and  a noise  in the suspension. We did the oil change and addressed his concern and found the front sway bar links loose.  We tightened the front sway bar links, test drove and  the concern was addressed and repaired.

Our trained service advisors and  technicians  do a visual inspection of our customers vehicles and note any damages or needs prior to servicing the vehicle.  No such damages were reported before or after  the vehicle was serviced by our technician.  **. ******  picked up his vehicle on October 7, 2013 before closing and did not address any other concerns with our service department.

**. ****** called  on October 10, 2013, early evening, accusing us of damaging his vehicle on October 7, 2013.  He then called on October 11, 2013, and talked to ***** ******, our service manager.  On October 14, 2013,  three of my managers met with **. ****** at his residence to address his concerns and to take pictures of the vehicle.  After concurring with my managers we found that we are not at fault for the damages on **. ******s vehicle.

 

**** ******

General Manager 

Blaise Alexander Subaru 

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inferior repairs. DAMAGES to vehicle. They refuse to even try to Resolve ISSUES!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!!

Desired Settlement: at one would point, I was willing to leave vehicle to have it repaired property, and damages corrected!!. But after I was called to see if I was available for a schedule appointment with the General Manager and technician and I agreed to time and date. They had no intentions of even trying to resolve issues!!!!! The GENERAL MANAGER OR TECH. did not even show.

Business Response: This customer had her vehicle in for a trip check, new tires, and new brakes.  After looking at the vehicle we made some recommendations to the customer and they authorized all of the work.  The day after she picked up the vehicle she came back accusing us of damaging all 4 of her wheels.  Both the service manager and the technician that worked on the car stated the wheels where damaged when the vehicle was brought in and said the type of damage was clearly from “curbing” and did not show signs of damage from tire changing. I was not involved in the situation at the time when she was supposed to meet with the general manager so I don’t know if someone told her he would be here for her to talk to when she came in. Several weeks later we received a credit card dispute stating the work to the vehicle was never performed.  We sent copies of the signed Repair Orders to the credit card company showing the customer signed when picking up the vehicle and the credit card company ruled in our favor. After receiving the BBB complaint on September 21st I called ***. ********* and offered to meet her at the dealership to look at the damaged wheels myself and would help her get them repaired.  She said she would call me back if she wanted to take me up on the offer after she talked to her husband.  I have not heard anything from her and left a message for her on September 25th asking her to call me back.  As of Today, September 27th I have not heard back from her.  Until she comes to the dealership to meet with me I don’t think there is anything further I can do to resolve the issue. Joel    

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service