BBB Accredited Business since

Jeff Daniel's Jeep

Phone: (215) 256-8090 Fax: (215) 256-8999 495 Indian Creek Rd, Harleysville, PA 19438 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jeffdanielsjeeps.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This Company Specializes in Restoring and Customizing Jeeps


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jeff Daniel's Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jeff Daniel's Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jeff Daniel's Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2001 in PA Business incorporated 01/17/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Drive Clean Pennsylvania
Riverfront Office Center, 1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/default.htm
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us
The number is AN73.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Ziegler, Owner Mr. Shawn McNally, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Shawn McNally, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Dan Ziegler, Owner
Business Category

Auto Customizing Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Products & Services

Jeff Daniel's Jeep sells the following brand(s): All Major Brands

Jeff Daniel's Jeep offers the following product(s): Jeep Parts and Accessories, Truck Parts and Accessories

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa/Mastercard/Discover/American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
Any new item is returnable in its original, unopened box; or if there is a problem with it. Used parts are not returnable.
Alternate Business Names
JD Customs Jeff Daniels Jeep Customizing

Additional Locations

  • 495 Indian Creek Rd

    Harleysville, PA 19438 (215) 256-8090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told 20,000 or less for veh restortation but was charged 40,000.00 I supplied dash gauges which is stated on my bill but was still charged for gauges. Charged for spark plugs that were never replaced. After paying the outragous bill the **** was leaking oil and transmission fluid, They agreed to fix it but never did and told me they are not responsible for that after keeping it for 3weeks !Also the speedometer milage indicator dosen't work which they did not fix but agreed to fix in writing. Valve covers leaking. Owner, Dan Z****** did not respond to my e-mails about these isshues. Also many items were billed at extreamly unfair prices ie: locktite at 18.00 , tie wraps at 45.00, a roll of paper towels at 5.50 etc

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount to repair my vehicle so that it can be drivin safely without mech problems. I would also like to be refunded for the products i provided to him and was charged for the same items and have the bill adjusted to reflect fair pricing.

Business Response:

**** **** asked Jeff D****** to estimate a job, site unseen, ?to assemble his CJ5.  We were told it was at another restoration shop for two or more years and he was not satisfied with their work.  He explained that the **** and chassis were in good condition and running.

** **** said the **** body was painted and ready to be assembled with all new parts that he had purchased. 

Based on his description he was quoted a $20000 to finish the **** restoration and assembley and have all systems working as long as all components to be installed are new or in good working order. 

The **** was brought to Jeff D****** ?with the body in an unfinished state with a single coat of paint inside and outside the body with no clear coat.  A good paint process needs at least two if not three coats of good paint and a good clear coat.

The paint ?that was applied was a single stage process to skip the clear coat step

The bottom of the body had no paint on at all

The body was not fitted for doors, holes etc...

Not fitted for heater and heater core nor holes and ports for hoses etc...

Not fitted for fuel fill and fuel vent mount ?port out the body side to put fuel in 

No fuel tank or skid plate ?which had to be purchased

Not fitted for tail gate latch and chains which had to be purchased 

Not fitted for windshield holes and mounts

Not fitted for holes for a new soft top ?and bars that ** **** ordered

Not fitted for the trans tower/shifter plate and we needed to purchase two shift boots

These all needed to be done/fitted before painting the body and body components, all in addition to the original quote 

In addition to all the extra body work;

The transmission was not tight to the engine

The front drive shaft was wore beyond repair

The front engine crank pulley was bolt the main source of belt drive was stripped out and we had to repair the threads to the main crank shaft 

The power steering and alternator bracket were missing and needed to be purchased along with all belts and hoses

The spring shackles were too long and had to be replaced with smaller ones as ** **** did not like the angle it sat at or how it handled. We changed them at our expense.

The engine that I had been told by ** **** was in good running condition ?and there was no reason to do anything to it but install lock washers to the intake bolts. This was done the first week we started on it. 

Once running, oil started leaking out the front trans seal, the valve covers, the rear main seal, the oil pan gaskets and front timing cover - items Jeff D****** did not install and was not asked to install as the engine was supposed to come to us in good, running condition.

?Other items needing to be re purchased are all lights and a few control gauges 

The rear frame cross member was rotted and needed to be replaced 

The rear axle assembly was out of a **** ******* and and needed to be replaced

The **** had two different ?size wheels and needed to be replaced 

The windshield was original and was chipped and scratched 

All the heat controls and switches had to be replaced 

All the brake lines needed to be replaced 

All oils coolant and other fluids needed go be purchased  

The **** had unfinished exhaust and needed new. ** **** wanted coated headers and side pipes instead from the current exhaust that was on the ****

** **** added a new front and a new rear swing out spare tire bumpers 

** **** ordered new front and rear matching seats 

No seat belts were provided and had to be purchased 

A new brake power booster and brake master cylinder had to be purchased 

Etc, etc, etc... This project is way above what we were lead to believe.

** **** knew of the issues we were having with undoing and redoing much of the previous work from the previous garage

** **** said well it must all get done and told us to move forward.

It was pushed to go over and review the steps needed but there was no time to worry about it - ** **** just wanted it done 

** **** payed Jeff D****** as the job went along to $25000 and said that he will just pay the rest once it was done 

Jeff D****** explained that the amount is going to be much higher than quoted as many parts were not usable as first stated and the previous work had to be redone 

In turn Jeff D****** gave 10% off parts and labor to aid in his dilemma  ?and even started to repair the engine and transmission oil leak issues to help 

As the project went on *** **** pushed for delivery of the vehicle, not allowing enough drive time on our side. When the **** left here there were no known issues, as the **** was driven several leaks started - not uncommon for a vehicle that sat for years. 

*** **** brought the **** back with the issues, some where our problem, some were not - either way we fixed them at our expense (over $4K) just to help him out - again he pushed to have the **** back by a certain day, threatening to go the authorities even though we only had the **** for a short while. He took delivery without us having drive time first and found another leak (did not leak when it left here) - we said he can just go to his local mechanic and we will pay the bill as it is easier for him (he is not very close to us). Jeff D******* cannot be held responsible for another shops poor craftsmanship/poor engine build, yet we still offered to pay. We have done the best we can without actually replacing or rebuilding the engine. Anytime a restoration is done there will be some issues, when a vehicle sits for a long time it creates a lot more issues, we have taken care off all problems that fell back on us as well as the original shop -  new problems have arose and I expect a few more will as well. 

Jeff D******* stands 100% behind our work - we do not stand behind someone elses. At the end of the day we took on a project site unseen that was no where near what was described to us and did the best we can without completely starting over and working with the customer to meet his needs.

As far as his other complaints - Dan was out of town (in ***** doing mission work), Shawn helped Neal the first time Neal called and got him and they stayed in contact. Prior to that Neal would call/email constantly and Dan would respond as he could, we cannot update every customer every day with every single detail. He was told like others that we will call him when the **** is ready or if any issues arise.

Our pricing is fair, but we are not a discount store either. Loctite for $18 is the same price you would pay at a ****, tie wraps are widely used, at $0.45 a piece it adds up, etc

** **** got burned by the previous shop and is now trying to pin all the issues on Jeff Daniel's, we have been more then fair to him and have given him plenty of discounts already including fixing stuff that was not our problem for no charge. So in retrospect we have already given him what he is asking for as settlement - a billing adjustment. We cannot do anything else for this customer.

For the most part ** **** was pleasant to deal with, it is a shame that it came to this - even though we offered to pay for the leaking valve cover and make it right, he chose to open a complaint instead... ???

Business Response: ****, we did not build or buy the engine - some other shop did - that's my point! Yes, we checked it out and it ran good, as it still does. As an engine/trans/t-case/axles sit, seals and gaskets can dry up, eventually causing leaks - once again that's why we wanted to hold on to it and drive it more but you wanted it back... Furthermore you mentioned Dan agreed to fix mechanical problems, a leaking gasket is not mechanical - so once again, we fulfilled our obligation. 

No verbal agreement is binding, especially when changes are made! And again - the **** did not come to us as described - The body was not prepped or fitted, the paint was poor, etc etc we keep going back and fourth on the same subjects, my response will never change.
Dan was in contact with you during the whole process and talked about pricing, he even tried to go over it with you and you said 'we're good' - you just wanted it done, you also added extra work/parts on during the build - all this was mentioned in my first response to this complaint. Everything was actually mentioned in my first response. Neal I am done bickering over this, I have stated my case and it is beyond solid. 
I want every customer to leave here happy and satisfied, and 99% of them do, unfortunately you are not and we are at an impasse - I feel like like no matter what happens you will never be happy. Sorry things couldn't end better.
Take care,
Shawn

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Shawn, first off, i only spoke to you over 1 weekend when Dan was away. 2nd , everything you are telling me is heresay! I spoke to Dan , not you. There is so many things wrong with the ****, the latest is the rear leaf spring shackle boots are blown out. Whoever put them on also tightened the bottom bolt too much and bent the shackle. The manifold bolts were finger tight, one of the trans mounting bolts is just sitting there stripped, valve cover gaskets were leaking, the list goes on and on. What was the money for that i paid? Not for the engine or trans you say? Then for what? How can u justify charging me 40,000.00 After a verbal agreement for 20,000.00 Dan speaks from both sides of his mouth. On one side he said" the engine and trans was not his resposability yet i have a written letter signed by Dan stating he will fix all the oil leaks and  problems and when he couldn' he spoke from the other side " its not my responsibility"  Also, i think Dan needs to check into the legal aspects of a verbal agreement. He has stated in a previous post that he did agree verbally to 20,000.00.. I am not bickering shawn, i worked very hard to make that kind of money and i refuse to be taken advantage of and thats what Dan did. Dan is your boss (your words) and you will say anything Dan tells you to say, Your job depends on it!I have nothing to say any further to you Shawn. 
Regards,

**** ****









Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Jeff Daniel's Jeep
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)