This business is not BBB accredited.

Autobody Dimensions

Phone: (301) 670-6343 Fax: (301) 977-0389 View Additional Phone Numbers 7559 Rickenbacker Drive, Gaithersburg, MD 20879 http://www.autobodydimensions.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Autobody Dimensions include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Autobody Dimensions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Autobody Dimensions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 1998 Business started: 01/19/1991
Business Management
Mr. Charlie Herbert, President Ms. Sharon Herbert, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie Herbert, President
Principal: Ms. Sharon Herbert, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7559 Rickenbacker Drive

    Gaithersburg, MD 20879

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Autobody Dimensions did body repairs on my 2003 ******** **** V12 and repaired incorrectly. Every time I had to go back and see it not repaired, took pictures and leaving the car with them to correct the problems, it took them over 4 (four) month's to accomplish the repairs. I was told and not to come back there by an employee. Since one of the worker of Autobody Dimensions was an old acquaintance I decided to give them one more chance and gave them my older 1992 ******** ****** V12 to get repairs done. Repairs on the body were done correctly but the door lock (the door repaired by them) did not operate. I return the car back to them and asked them to repair the door lock after the body work done on that door, had to wait about month and nothing was done, I was upset and went there to pick my car and get it repaired by another professional, this time door did not lock, tires were flat and car did not drive in reverse. My car is still there and don't know what to do anymore. Best regards, ******** **********.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job and give my car back with running condition (I don't know what happened to the transmission when test driven by them), passenger side front door lock repaired and if the tires are ruined (internally) by sitting on the ground being flat. Also honor the warranty they offer after the repairs.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

My name is **** ***** (Operations Manager). I am a new employee of Autobody Dimensions as of April 7th 2014. I was recently made aware of the customer ******** ********** concerns with the 1992 ****** ******** regarding the repairs and drivability performed back in September/ October 2013.  Autobody Dimensions was authorized to replace the left front door with a recycled used door based on an estimate provided and approved back in Sept 2013.

The car came in to the shop on September 30th 2013 and was picked up on October 24th 2013.  Our overall exit review showed the door locks were working when **, ********** picked up the car and at the time the client had no complaints or issues with his 22 year old car.

**. ********** brought the car in question back over a month later on November 27th 2013 and gave the keys to an Autobody Dimensions employee and friend (*****) out in the parking lot when he came and picked up another vehicle that was repaired to his satisfaction. He said at the time he didn’t have anyone to drive home the other car and he left the car in a public parking spot near our shop. According to ***** he never asked ***** or Autobody Dimensions to look into anything. He never mentioned any issues at that time and ***** held on to his keys as a personal favor and in good faith  with the understanding that he would pick up his vehicle in the immediate future. Autobody Dimensions was not asked to make any repairs on the vehicle, given authorization to work on the vehicle, nor where they ever notified  in writing or verbally of any problems with their work from Sept/ Oct. ***** held the key as a personal favor for a friend.

Sometime later (unsure of dates) **. ********** then contacted ***** directly (personally) and mentioned at that time that the door locks didn’t work. Again this was not mentioned at the time he left the car in November nor does Autobody Dimensions have anything on file about this issue.  At the time of his complaint to ***** (as a friend)  **. ********** was instructed to go in the Autobody Dimensions office in ************ to sign authorizing forms to look into his concern about the door locks if he wanted them to analyze the car.  The car continued to sit in the lot. No contact was made to our office.....

The car sat in the same public parking space from Nov 2013 until recently.

We explained to **. ********** that with-out the proper procedures completed by the owner we were not authorized to work on a car.

The next several months it is our understanding the owner was in and out of the hospital. We learned from ** ********** in an email sent through our website on March 4 that one night he came to the parking lot to pick up the car after hours without contacting us.  ** ********** then left a message that the car could not go in to reverse at that time so he left it. Our employee (*****) tried calling the owner and left several massages trying to explain the repairs that were done to the door would not affect the car going into reverse, and mentioned again if he could give the shop authorization we would send the car to a mechanical shop to verify the problem, determine the cause of the problem and if it was related to our repairs.  We never heard anything and have nothing on file requesting any work only his complaint and some follow up emails to *****. We were asked to contact his lawyer in the online request. Our shop called and did not get return calls from the lawyer.  At that point a signed authorization from **. ********** had still not been received after several requests and our shop could not proceed with diagnostics on the car that was sitting in a public spot outside of our business since Nov 2013.

We have been a very busy shop and at that point we left the responsibility on **. **********. June 1 we received the complaint from the BBB.

I personally contacted the owner on June 2nd 2014. The owner said he would have the car towed out of the parking lot. The owner had his car picked up on June 3rd by a tow company of his choice. At that time none of the concerns were addressed due to lack of authorization and we do not know if any or both of the concerns are related to the repairs because he never authorized us to look at the car and have it evaluated properly. As for tires, again it was **. ********** choice to leave his car in a public parking lot undriven and unprotected for at least 6 months.

We have emails available if needed. Both ABD and ***** have gone over and above trying to rectify this situation. We do our very best to provide quality service and have had great success in over 20 years of business and three locations. We have many happy clients and many positive reviews from satisfied customers. Unfortunately we feel ABD is being unfairly and unjustly being accused of poor service when we were not given the opportunity to analyze it properly.

At this time **. ********** has his vehicle. We completed the work we were authorized and paid by insurance to do back in Sept/ Oct appropriately.  Autobody Dimensions stands by its word that we did everything we could to help rectify the situation once we received notification in March on the work we performed back in Sept/Oct.  ABD stands by its policy that it was the responsibility of the consumer to follow our protocol if we were to be made responsible for an issue that was completed back in Oct 2013.

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. I hope this helps put things in order. Please feel free to contact me directly at the office in ************.

**** *****

Operations Manager

Autobody Dimensions

**** ************ ***  

************, Md. *****

###-###-####

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Dates and facts are incorrect, car was brought back within 2 days and told ***** ***** the door ABD fixed the lock doesn't work.  I had the car towed away from there 2 days ago still door lock doesn't work.  Transmission doesn't have reverse, they didn't pay for the keys also car have new scratches and small dents all over it.  I baby sit my car, was picked up this car from California and did cross country with it with no hick ups.  Suddenly door is replaced (with rusted one) and the lock doesn't work.  
My other issue is why my 2003 **** ******* took 4 different times to repair and took 4 month's to get it semi done right (still head lights are not aligned and don't have my secondary key).  When I told the car was not done right third time (have tons of pictures of bad repairs) some one at your place told me to go away and never come back again, GREAT REPAIR SHOP.


Regards,

******** **********








Business Response:

 

***** ********** was a customer referral to Autobody Dimensions – ************, from ***** from “****** ********”. **. ********** was a customer who followed *****- now an employee of Autobody Dimensions when he closed the “****** ********” business.  **. ********** brought several repairs to Autobody Dimensions including his daughters *** **, her 2005 *** *** **, his 2003 ******** **** and his 1992 ******** *** ***. We performed and documented repairs on these vehicles in February, May, August and November of 2013.

 

**. ********** repeatedly returned to the shop when he needed auto body repairs. We have documentation to support dates of all work performed as approved and substantiated by both *********** and ******** estimates and payments.

 

The two repairs in question involve the ******** **** automobiles.

 

We had replaced the fender on his white 2003 **** without incident.

 

The problems began when he brought the car back for repairs to the right front bumper headlamp and fender.

 

This was an ******** Insurance claim.

 

The owner (**. **********) wanted some of the damages repaired but not all of them. He requested we not replace the wheel and tire. In addition he wanted to repair the left front headlamp himself. He asked us to call ******** and claim the suspension problems with the left front shock leaking as part of the claim. 

 

This is where we believe the problems started.

 

As mentioned, the owner repaired the headlamp ******** paid to replace himself. Autobody Dimensions repaired the fender and brackets to that light. **. ********** was not satisfied with the alignment of the headlamp to the fender. We told him he needed to replace the headlamp because that was the issue. We then waited for an owner supplied used headlamp.  We re-repaired the fender and painted it. We needed to have ******** come out and re-inspect the car for an additional headlamp mounting panel. All documented and all time consuming.

 

The owner came to pick up the vehicle and was not happy with the bumper alignment.

We then disassembled the car and found damage to the front cross member and absorber.

This was not addressed originally, because the owner would not give us permission to repair the car as per the insurance companies’ original estimate. He wanted us to save him money and ask for additional parts and labor without doing all the paid repairs. He repeatedly asked for us to tell the insurance company that the suspension was part of the claim.  We refused to follow his request. He asked his personal mechanic to do the same. His mechanic (*** **********) also refused stating that the suspension problem was pre-existing.

 

In the process of these repairs and over the course of months the shop lost track of one of the keys to the car.

 

The owner picked up the vehicle quite unhappy that we would not further pursue the ******** claim. When he picked up the vehicle we informed him we would pay for a replacement key. We called ************* in ********** and made arrangements for him to have a replacement key made at our expense.  By policy the dealer needs the owner present to issue the key. It was agreed when he picked up the vehicle that he would go to the dealer and we would pay the bill. He never followed thru. We were and still are happy to pay for this key- unfortunately the responsibility is on him to take care of it and then the dealer will contact us to make payment.

 

Now onto the repair brought up in the second complaint. This is a separate *********** repair on the 1992 ******** *** ***. This vehicle arrived with electrical issues. The entire dash and instrument cluster were not operational. *********** Insurance wrote an estimate (documented) to replace the right front fender and door usedThe vehicle would have been declared a total loss with new parts. We repaired the vehicle as per the *********** estimate. After picking up the vehicle the owner claimed the right front power door lock was not working. We informed him that we would look at it and check the locks at his convenience.  He never followed up with us.

 

This is where the second set of issues arose.

 

The owner came and picked up the white 2003 ******** **** in November 2013 and left the 1992 because he had no one to come with him to pick up the vehicle. He requested that we check the door locks for function. We informed him he needed to come into the Autobody Dimensions office and sign an authorization and follow shop intake procedure so we could check out the issue. He stated he didn’t have time to go into the office and check in the vehicle as per company procedure. It is standard Autobody Dimensions policy to not do any repairs to any vehicle without written authorization and approval. The vehicle was placed in a parking spot by ***** (ABD Employee) personally and locked up awaiting the owner’s authorization.

The owner basically abandoned the vehicle thru the entire winter months. It never moved out of the common ground parking space. The shop attempted to contact the owner and the owner’s lawyer to get a signed authorization to work on the vehicle. We learned the owner was ill for some time. As stated we never received authorization. The owner came on a Saturday (while we were closed) with a spare key and attempted to take the vehicle. He says that it would not start or go into reverse. We never touched the vehicle in question. It sat in the same spot since the day he left it to pick up his 2003 ********.  Any issues with that vehicle are not relevant since it was left abandoned with no work order, authorization, estimate or documentation requesting Autobody Dimensions to perform an estimate or work.

 

In conclusion, the shop admittedly owes the owner for one key to his White ******** ****. He was instructed at least 3 times to go to ************* in **********, have the key made (again – the only way ******** will make it for the owner) and have it direct billed to the shop. That is the only issue on this repair and one we have painstakingly tried to take care of with the owner.

 

As mentioned in the first rebuttal the owner finally removed the vehicle from the common ground in June of 2014.

The lock issue may or may not be covered under the *********** claim and/or shop warranty on the 1992 ******** *** ***. Without an owner authorized teardown the shop could not diagnose whether or not this issue is related to the repairs performed. Any other issues with this vehicle are not the responsibility of Autobody Dimensions. 

 

We feel we have gone over and above our responsibility as a business and have performed well within the guidelines both *********** and ******** ensure we provide their customers. As an approved DRPS for many insurance companies we have many guidelines we must follow and do our very best to provide reliable, documented, honest service.   We take pride in our reputation. We are sorry **. ********** is having issues but feel he is being unfair in his complaint and follow up response and is misrepresenting the work we completed on his 22 year old automobile.  As stated once more, we have all dates, estimates, claims, payouts and losses documented  if you need any paperwork to additionally support our statements. Once the owner is ready to get the key made he can reach out to ************* in ********** at his convenience and have that taken care of- otherwise at this point we hope that with this supporting documentation from ******** and *********** we can close this matter.

 

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

 

**** *****

Operations Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

******** **********,

Little story I have for the gentlemant who gave this statement,  **. ***** ***** who bankruped his business and closed his shop almost with my 1987 ******* ***** in it, never told me he was closing the shop but a friend called me to tell me to get the car towed out of there that day!  As soon as I got my towed out of his shop the doors were closed.  
During the repairs of my ******* (took 3 years and never finished the work).  He replicated my wife's signature for insurance checks and deposited them for my ******* repairs.  These checks (I still have them with fake signature) were not suppose to be cashed until the customer is satisfied with repairs but he was an old friend turned to crook but I didn't take any action then. 
Real story here is I get my own rims repaired (I pay more), I just don't trust thir work, Autobody Dimensions did it once before and I had to re-done it again, they can't balance tires, they can't do alignment of the front end or adjust the head lights but they do charge for it.   
Car is repaired by other ******** specialist, I have no further no problems.  Also I was never was told what dealer I'm suppose to to pick up my keys and when.  They broke one of my 1993 ******** ****** keys and never offered replacement, they lost my 2003 ******** **** key and this much tells all about theitr operation.
Overall its a pretty bad repair shop with bad additude people working there.  I don't know about their repair shop friend (just another repair shops opinion), they are close friends so their opinion won't count in my book or other ******** specialists! 
As I said the car is fixed in expensively by another repair shop, head lights are aligned, front end is aligned, paid out of pocket money but I'm happy to pay for good and ownest service.  All I need is my key for the 2003 **** ******** and the pay me the cost of the key they broke ($160.00).  
I'm done with them, will never say anything good about these group of jokers, sorry.
Regards,
******** **********.   








5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable