BBB Accredited Business since

Dunlap Bennett &Ludwig PLLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 747-9354 View Additional Phone Numbers 211 Church St SE, Leesburg, VA 20175 http://dbllawyers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dunlap Bennett &Ludwig PLLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dunlap Bennett &Ludwig PLLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dunlap Bennett &Ludwig PLLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 03, 2004 Business started: 12/15/2001 Business incorporated 01/17/2002 in VA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Dunlap, Attorney
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Dunlap, Attorney
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers


Additional Locations

  • 1717 Pennsylvania Ave NW ste 1025

    Washington, DC 20006

  • 211 Church St SE

    Leesburg, VA 20175

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well, the where supposed to provide proper legal assistance and support to prosecute a patent application. Now, the previous attorney made some mistakes that they where supposed to be able to fix and get the patent awarded, they looked at the application before taking the case and assured me that it would be no problem. I do not have a tremendous amount of money and they charged me 3500 dollars which I paid quickly. With in one week of the payment they all of a sudden quit communications with and refunded the money, which is not what I wanted! I wanted them to provide the service i paid for. This issue was time sensitive as a patent application always is and they knew this and still decided to drop the representation known they where leaving with less time and having to wait for a refund, how am I supposed to find another lawyer with no and the clock ticking which even if got another attorney he would say we have no time to study the case and he would want at least 3000 dollars or more?

Desired Settlement: They should prepare new claims and a RCE and CIP to fix any problems with the patent application and make sure it gets awarded this time. Give me a guarantee that they will get it awarded!

Business Response: We are very sorry we were not able to assist this gentleman with his legal matter.  We discovered that our law firm had a conflict and that we were not able to handle his case.   As indicated in the post we immediately and fully refunded all amounts paid and suggested some other patent law firms with which he could work. 

 
 Obviously, as is clear from the submission, there is no amount in dispute as we immediately and completely fully refunded all amounts paid.
 
Unfortunately not every law firm can handle every client's needs.  This was one of those cases where we could not.   We wish him the very best success with his future endeavors and apologize for whatever inconvenience he may have suffered.
 
Best
 
DunlapWeaver