This business is not BBB accredited.

Yellow Pages Online

Phone: (866) 976-9976 11350 Random Hills Rd Ste 800, Fairfax, VA 22030


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Small businesses across the county have contacted the BBB regarding complaints concerning billing contacts for unauthorized purchases for directory advertising listings.  Customers that dispute the transaction report that they are provided recordings of telephone conversations that the company purports to be authorization to purchase, but which the customers assert were yes and no answers to confirm their company name and location. According to the company, all transactions are originated in telephone conversation,  without any written contract documentation.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Yellow Pages Online include:

  • Failure to respond to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Yellow Pages Online include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints in BBB files allege that billing was presented for payment when no purchase was authorized.  The company responses usually state that it does not engage in questionable sales practices and that it will write off the invoice after examining the transaction.  Sometimes, the company initially maintains an order was placed and payment is due and will offer to reduce the invoice amount to settle the account.

BBB files indicate that this  business has a pattern of complaints concerning billing for services that had not been authorized, and the use of telephone recordings that complainants allege were altered to indicate that an order was being placed when it had not been.  The BBB wrote to the company in April, 2013 regarding these issues, asking that it address these practices and modify them to reduce the complaint volume generated from the practices and to correct its marketing practices.  The company has failed to respond to the BBB about these overall issues to date.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Yellow Pages Online
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2010 in VA
Business Management
Mr. Michael Donohue, President Mr. David Bowman, Complaint Analyst
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Bowman, Complaint Analyst
Principal: Mr. Michael Donohue, President
Business Category

Yellow Page Advertising

Additional Information

Although the company invoices show the address in Fairfax, the firm is not at that location.  The physical location of this entity is unknown at this time.

Industry Tips
Phony Invoices

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11350 Random Hills Rd Ste 800

    Fairfax, VA 22030 (866) 976-9976

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yellow Pages Online says I signed up to 2 yr contracts for years but all they did was ask me to verify my business information on the phone and recorded me saying yes. I never agreed to advertising but I have paid them hundreds of dollars over the years because I did not know this was a scam. on 1/21/15 i was contacted by a ***** ******* with a legal service associated with yellow Pages online saying I owed $2385.81 in delinquent charges from 2012. I told him I'd paid $820 to them in 2013 to CLOSE ALL ACCOUNTS and he said they needed the 2nd half of the payment. I said this was a scam and he became abusive and threatened legal action against me in New York courts in Feb. He gave me an address for Yellow Pages Online that is not verifiable, it is a "virtual office" ** *** *** **** *** ** *****. He would give me no proof or invoice and wanted me to pay HIM over phone with credit card. He said if I paid now he'd lower amount to $1998.99 and promise to put me on all yellow page "do not call" lists and this would "never happen again." This is what they promised me in 2013! I have mistakenly paid this company thousands of dollars before realizing I was being scammed and I will not continue this. I want ***** ******* investigated via his phone number since his address is fake, and Yellow Pages online to cease and desist all calls to my company.

Desired Settlement: I want Yellow Pages Online to cease and desist calling this institution forthwith and forever.

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Boldly said they were yellowpagesonline and they are not. Took $730.15 from my business for advertising online because supposedly my advertising was about to expire.

Desired Settlement: 730.15

12/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yellow pages has unauthorized information on the internet. We don't advertise with the yellow pages. We have never authorized yellow pages to post any information about our company. We are requesting that this site be removed completely from the internet.

Desired Settlement: Complete removal of link on internet.

12/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early spring of 2012, our business was contacted by Yellow Pages Online and was solicited to renew an advertising agreement with their company, I began by stating that we had not ever had any type of agreement with their company. They then asked me a series of yes or no questions confirming the business name, address, and phone number and who had authorization to make financial decisions. I confirmed that the business information was correct and denied having authorization to make financial decisions, and ended the call stating that we would not be interested in their services at this time. From there, we began receiving collection calls and faxes from Yellow Pages Online stating that we had an unpaid invoice in the amount of $667.35 for advertising services they claimed they provided. At that time, the owner of our business, ***** ****, stepped in and denied any transactions with the company as well as anyone other than himself having authorization to make financial or advertising decisions for the company. They claimed I had stated that I was an authorized financial officer and could prove as much with the recording, At that point, they threatened to damage my credit as well as that as the business, if we refused to pay. He instructed them not to contact anyone but him in the matter from this point on and that Crow's Alignment would not be paying for unsolicited services, at which time said they would be able to speak with anyone other than myself because this was a matter between myself and Yellow Pages Online. Since then, I have received harassing phone calls and fax messages and invoices to our business. I have repeatedly asked them to stop contacting me but they refused to do so and continued to threaten to harm my personal credit and the business' if the invoice was left unpaid. Our company has it's own website and online advertising that is handled by the webdesign company and have no reason to solicit outside advertisement. We have had no previous dealings with this company as they stated we have and do not plan to do so in the future. After listening to their recording, I feel they have taken my responses to their yes and no questions and applied to them to where it fits for them. We have no intentions of paying this outstanding bill for services never rendered or requested and are very concerned by the threat of negative credit reports for me personally and the business. We would like this company to stop contacting us, as requested.

Desired Settlement: Stop contacting me and not negatively affect mine or our business' credit.

11/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2013 Yellow Pages Online called to update information and renew online advertising service. I had recently taken over my position and assumed it was a continuation of an existing service--the company sounded legitimate. However, I was skeptical when told of the fees and was aware of scams involving fake Yellow Pages "affliated" companies in the past and intended to research. They sent a few invoices in quick succession, which we did not pay. I researched the company and learned it was involved in many complaints for the same reason. I informed them we would not be paying the charges due to what I had found, and to close the account and not contact us again--and that I would file reports with authorities. Further, I have seen no evidence that we actually received any product or service from this company. All of the calls from various individuals, in different departments, have had the same voice--although the customer service rep usually identified themselves as ***** *****. I have had not heard from this company for several months, until today. An unidentified person in the legal department saying they had filed a complaint with BBB that we failed to respond to and the case has been closed. At this point they say we owe $750. I informed them we have received no notice from the BBB, and as I stated previously I believed they were a fraudulant company, would be filing my own complaints with authorities and did not wish to be contacted again.

Desired Settlement: Removal of all charges billed; close account and remove our company from database (place on do not call list). I will also file reports with the Attorneys General for the states of Virginia and Florida.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 11/10/2013 4:32 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place and while we acknowledge concerns expressed by the client, we must stress the fact that our organization is not engaged in a fraud as allegedly stated by **. ******** in her complaint to BBB.

Unfortunately though, we do understand that there are other unrelated and/or of no association, online business listing/advertising companies that may perhaps be using misleading formats as implied by **. ********. Once again, these are not our solicitation practices or the format we conduct business with.

We have thoroughly reviewed the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client and we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and in an effort to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.  On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ******* ******** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.


Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our church pastor received a cold call for a 2-year listing in Yellow Pages Online in the amount of $599.95. He did not authorize this contract, even though the recording purports that he did. The church has received numerous calls requesting payment for the original price plus delinquent fees. ******* ***** was the "pre-legal collections" agent. During my conversation with her on 9/30/13 she stated they were BBB accredited and resolved all complaints with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: This was not an authorized transaction. No billing should be allowed. There should not be any collection efforts undertaken, nor should there be any reporting made to any credit bureau regarding this.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 10/6/2013 2:15 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by **. *****. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.  On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ******* ***** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yellow Pages Online contacted the pastor of the church by phone stating that we had agreed to 2 years of advertising with them. The first year was free and it was now time to pay for the second year. The pastor wasn't sure how to handle and felt pressured to make payment so he provided payment via credit card. After discussing the matter with the chair person of the Finance committee, and the secretary it was decided that no one in the church had authorized the agreement and that this was a scam. We worked with the credit card company and was able to cancel the credit card payment. The church has subsequently received collection notices and attempts to contact the collection department have been unsuccessful. A member of the church who is an attorney has informed this company that any attempts to contact the church regarding this matter must be made to her.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to remove from their books all charges and late fees associated with this unauthorized transaction and ensure that no collection action will be taken.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 9/8/2013 8:53 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by **. ******. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.  On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ***** ****** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

10/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by this company to continue an ad in the yellow pages online website. The initial conversation led me to believe that our church already had an ad with them and that we needed to pay for the previous two years and that we could continue for 2 more years for free if we wanted to do so. I was somewhat skeptical, but I said that we would do so. Several weeks later, more than 30 days, I received a phone call that we needed to pay the invoice. When I told her that we had changed our mind and that we wanted our ad removed, the lady told me that they could not do that and that we owed the money ($599). She emailed me an invoice. I discussed this w/ our church treasurer and she said it was a scam. I called Yellow Pages Online back and got another person on the phone, who was very rude, attacking and hung up on me - 3 times! So I emailed Yellow Pages Online that we did not want the ad due to the fact that the person was very rude, we were sold the ad under false pretenses and that we had not received any notification w/in 30 days of the original conversation as was promised. I told her that we would not pay the bill with its increasing charges. She has since sent 2 bills threatening legal action if we do not pay the invoice.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the yellow pages online to stop contacting me, to remove our ad and to close our account.

Business Response: From: <cs@yellowpagesonline.net>
Date: Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 6:08 PM
Subject: Response to complaint # ******* - Response Link Not Available
To: ****** ******* ********************


Dear *** *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 9/8/2013 8:53 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by *** *******. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

On behalf of  Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and *** ***** ******* shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email: ************************

10/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call saying that a former pastor had signed up for their services and that payment was due. When I told them to send me the bill, the bill came in my name. This bill did not arrive until after the 30 day cancellation date. I did not agree to purchase their services. I have attempted by phone and by mail to cancel the contract. I have told them to take our name off their website and they continue to list us. When calling I have been told that the person I am speaking to does not have the authority to remove the listing, but I cannot speak to someone who does.

Desired Settlement: We do not want their services and we will not pay for their services, so they need to stop sending us bills.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 9/8/2013 8:54 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by **. ****. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.  On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ******* **** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2012, I was contacted by someone claiming they were from Yellow Pages and asking to verify our church's contact information. Two months later, I started receiving phone calls, faxes and mailings from YellowPagesOnline.net, saying that our church owed money for previous placement on their website. When I discovered that this was a scam and refused to pay it, they played a doctored phone conversation, stating that I was approving the billing for their services, but the recording only had me saying "yes" and the person who called me - going by the name ***** ***** - stated this conversation took place on December 19, 2012. (I was out of the office that day) After several attempts by them to get my money or my church's money, they have recently ended conversations with, "Okay, we'll see you in court." Today, I have gotten the latest mailing from them, stating that this is a "Notice Before Legal Action" and that my account "will be transferred to a third party debt collection agency."

Desired Settlement: The only thing I want is an apology from them for wasting my time and for trying to scam money from a church, and then I want them to delete our record and stay out of my life.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sun 9/8/2013 8:53 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by **. ******. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ****** ****** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** **** *********** ***. is a general contractor working in the Multi-Family Housing Industry. We only advertise in Multi-Family Housing publications. We have never advertised to the general public for our services. A representative for “Yellow Pages Online” called our office stating that we had a past due balance for an ad we had placed with them for $599.95. I explained that we had not placed such an ad and we do not advertise for the general public because we only do Multi-Family work. The representative said that *** ****** (Owner) had placed the ad and there was a recording of the conversation. I asked about a signature or contract and they said it was a verbal recorded agreement. I disputed the agreement again knowing we do not advertise anywhere except for Multi-Family Housing publications. They proceeded to say we had a past due balance and the account would continue to accrue charges until cancelled. I said I wanted everything cancelled and we did not owe anything because we had not placed an ad. I was transferred to a different person and back to the original several times like they were playing games with me. I was told the only way to dispute the charges and cancel the account was by paying with a credit card to close out the account or they could send an invoice and then I could dispute the charges. I said I would not be paying for anything but they could send an invoice. That is when they asked me to give our billing address to verify they had it correct. I had been badgered into frustration between two representatives and told the account would accrue another annual charge for the ad if not resolved so I gave our billing address. When we call to dispute the charges they play a recording of only the part of our conversation when I told them to send an invoice and provided the billing information. I have never seen a “Yellow Pages Online” ad for our company and they do not have a signature of approval from anyone in this company. We were not shown an ad “proof” to approve or given a link to view our ad if it existed. There is no evidence of our approval for this ad before the billing. There are hundreds of very similar complaints listed online about this false billing from “Yellow Pages Online” and “Yellow Pages”. Sincerely, ***** ***** Vice President

Desired Settlement: The account needs to be closed with a "0" balance owed.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

We are writing in response to the email message that was forwarded to our office on Sat 9/14/2013 10:03 PM regarding the above referenced complaint.

Our organization aims to consistently deliver professional services to our existing and prospective clients. We have strict quality control measures in place; however we acknowledge concerns expressed by **. *****. After a thorough review of the above mentioned account and the information submitted to BBB by the client, we agree that the usual high standards of our services were not met in this case and to amicably resolve this matter we have cancelled all outstanding charges on this account.

We would like you to know that we are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.  On behalf of Yellow Pages Online, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured that your office and **. ***** ***** shall have no further cause for any concern in relation to this matter.

Truly,

***** ******
Complaint Analyst
Yellow Pages Online
Email:
************************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Yellow Pages Online
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)