BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Value Blinds & Heirloom Draperies, Inc

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 44927 George Washington Blvd., Suite100, Ashburn, VA 20147 http://www.valueblinddesign.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Value Blinds & Heirloom Draperies, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1999 Business started: 11/05/1997 in VA Business incorporated: 11/01/1997 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Giglio, President Ms. Pat Giglio, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Giglio, President
Principal: Ms. Pat Giglio, Accounting Manager
Business Category

Window Shades Blinds Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Venetian Blinds - Dealers Vertical Blinds Window Shades


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    44927 George Washington Blvd., Suite100

    Ashburn, VA 20147

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 948

    Ashburn, VA 20147 (703) 627-4587

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (703) 858-9760(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to provide the requested product in a timely manner due to erroneous measurements. Company made amends by offering $500 credit and air shipment of product from China at their expense. Owner of Company left several voicemails (transcribed and provided to legal counsel and ********* Police Department) stating invoice was paid in full. On day of final installation service installer demanded to be paid before leaving. Employee was advised to wait outside the residence while the invoice discrepancy was discussed. Employee refused to leave resulting in customer forcibly removing employee from the inside of home and calling 911. ********* Police arrived to customer residence and after investigating situation (listening to voicemails/invoice etc) advised Value Blind employee to leave or be charged with trespassing and civil assault. Employee stated to police that he was advised by his boss (***** ******) to remain in the customers home which placed him in a "bad situation." Final three shutters which were installed are incorrect as specified on order number ***** dated 4/2/2013. I have met with legal counsel regarding filing civil assault charges against Value Blind/***** ****** based on statements his employee ***** ***** made in front of two ********* Police Department officers (officers have been interviewed). Finally the general public/law enforcement needs to be aware of the poor customer service this company provided as well as the threatening business practices the owner has instilled/encouraged in his employees. This was the second employee to demonstrate extremely unprofessional behavior to include assault and profanity inside a customers home. More importantly I have emails, voicemails and text messages from Value Blind employees demonstrating these actions and inappropriate behavior.

Desired Settlement: I would like a third party (not associated with Value Blind) to review my sales order (*****) and compare against what was specified against what was installed on September 9, 2013. I would then like the correct product completed and installed.

Business Response: -Original Message-----
From: ******** <****************>
To: ******** *********************
Sent: Tue, Oct 22, 2013 11:31 am
Subject: ******* Value BLind & Heirloom Draperies

Response to complaint *******. **** Jordan Two small shutters of the original order were not made as specified on the order, we did tell customer that we would be able to install them as an outside mount with some minor modifications and customer did agree to that.  We gave the customer a $500 credit towards the shutters.  Shutters were installed and customer told us he was satisfied.  Customer had an outstanding balance on his blinds that he did not want to pay.  We sent him a five-day letter requesting payment.  Customer did respond to our letter stating that the shutters 'are not the product specified on the sales order'  and that he will pay for the blinds when he is satisfied with shutters.  The letter is dated October 7, 2013 and that is the first time customer told us he was not happy with the shutters.  We have sent a letter to the customer asking him to call our showroom and schedule a time for us to come to his home and asses the shutters.  We will re-measure, re-order and install new shutters if that is what the customer wants.   Customer does still owe us $859.10 for the blinds and customer says in his letter to us dated October 7, 2013 that he will pay this    Attached is a copy of the letter customer sent to us on October 7, 2013 and a copy of the letter we sent to customer on October 21, 2013.Thank you,*** ******Value Blind & Heirloom Draperies  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased window shades from Value Blinds on April 11, 2013, and originally received the incorrect shades for most of our windows. Value Blinds then replaced the shades with the correct ones, except for one window in our living room, in which they replaced the shade with another incorrect one. We notified Value Blinds of the problem, so they replaced it with the correct shade, but the wrong size. So we notified them again, and they replaced it with the correct size, but wrong shade. So we notified them AGAIN, and they AGAIN replaced it with the correct size, but wrong shade. We have been dealing with this problem for four and a half months. Each time they make a mistake, it takes a long time to get a replacement (which, inevitably, is the wrong one anyways) because I have to give them so many reminders. I have to stay on top of them because they do not take initiative to communicate with me. We feel that Value Blinds has been continuously negligent in correctly fulfilling the order we placed with them back in April. Not once has the owner of the company communicated with us about this issue. At this point in time, we hope that he does.

Desired Settlement: We want the correct shade for our living room window (the one we actually ordered), delivered to us within 1 week, so that it gives us privacy and matches every other shade we have in our house. The correct shade is Item #*******, "Hunter Douglas Provenance Woven Wood Shades w/ Top Down Bottom Up, Rolling Meadows Fabric, Color - Barley Fields, Inside Mount, Opacity Level 4." This shade can be found on the Hunter Douglas website here - ************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The sales representative from Value Blinds that came to our home, copied the correct shade down on our order (which we have a copy of). Value Blinds should have the correct size of the window on file.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1