BBB Accredited Business since

Movies Unlimited

Fax: (215) 637-2429 View Additional Phone Numbers 3015 Darnell Rd, Philadelphia, PA 19154 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.moviesunlimited.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Movies Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Movies Unlimited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Movies Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1978 in PA Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Frebowitz, President Ricardo Mejorado, Director Sales Support
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Frebowitz, President
Principal: Ricardo Mejorado, Director Sales Support
Business Category

Video Tapes & Discs - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • 3015 Darnell Rd

    Philadelphia, PA 19154

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting for my movie from Movies Unlimited for 3 weeks. I want my refund back. We have communicated with them repeatedly and while they assure us that a copy has been sent, we have received nothing. The mailing address that we gave them is accurate and we are tired of waiting.

Desired Settlement: While we would prefer the movie that we ordered, if this is not possible, then we desire a refund.

Business Response: We have contacted *** ****** who was the person who placed the order and he indicated that he did receive the movie in question (reshipped based on an initial inquiry) within the last 24 hours and is now satisfied.  No further action is required.

1/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 7, 2013 I ordered 8 videos off this company. I received six with two on Back Order. In about a week I received one more. I have not received a box set of the TV series "Beauty and the Beast." I sent three e-mails to the company's web site which specifically is supposed to handle this type of request. I have received NO replies to my inquiries.The listed price for this DVD box set is $38.39.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund in the form of a check, NOT a credit, from Movies Unlimited. Further due to their totally ignoring me, removal from their mail lists. I will no longer be doing any business with a company which ignores their customers.

Business Response:

Unfortunately the manufacturer of the item in question is having problems with the title and we still have not received it from them.  We did receive an inquiry from **. ***** on December 25th (Christmas Day) regarding the title.  We responded the next day indicating the title was still on backorder.  We did not receive a request for a refund until this complaint.  Had we received that request earlier his money would have been refunded immediately.  We did try to contact **. ***** on the phone but we did not have his number on file.

A refund check for the item has been processed and he should be receiving it within the next week.

We try very hard to keep our customers satisfied, but in this instance it was out of our hands.  Please be assured of our cooperation at all times.

 

Respectfully,

** *****, General Manager

MOVIES UNLIMITED

 

4/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us to respond to *** ******* complaint.

There was a problem with *** ******* order which caused him to return the items to us.  His payments were fully refunded and we have removed his name form our mailing lists per his request.  At this point no further action is required.

Please be assured of our cooperation at all times.

Respectfully,

****** *****

General Manager