BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc.

Phone: (570) 588-6661 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 447  Route 209, Bushkill, PA 18324 http://www.resortsusa.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bushkill Group Inc markets and maintains timeshares.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 26 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 26

Additional Complaint Information

Consumer Tips when considering the purchase of a time share:

Read and understand any contract your are asked to sign, Request that all promises are put in writing and are part of the agreement. Do not look at a time-share strictly as a real estate investment. The future value of a time-share depends on many unpredictable factors and resale may be difficult. Normally you should consider a time-share and camp site purchase as a prepaid vacation plan. Make certain the resort is one you will want to return to year after year. If the exchange program is an important part of your buying decision, investigate the limits on your exchange opportunities prior to buying the unit.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 30, 1981 Business started: 07/28/1965 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nicole Graham, Senior Paralegal
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nicole Graham, Senior Paralegal
Business Category

Vacation Time Share Hotels Resorts

Alternate Business Names
The Villas (Treetops and Fairway)

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 447  Route 209

    Bushkill, PA 18324

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (570) 588-1903 (Fax)
  • (570) 588-6680 (Fax)
  • (570) 588-9757 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a time share from the Bushkill Group on July 27, 2013 in the amount of $17, 758.00. Monies were paid in full on the spot. All monies were withdrawn from my bank account immediately. Sales representative informed us that all inclusive fees at resorts would be about 40-80 dollars. When we arrived at home, we were not able to access the computer system. Only then after we called our sales representative were we informed that access to the website which lists all resorts and amenities would take 4-6 weeks. Sales representative never informed us of the 7 day refund policy. No mention whatsoever was made regarding the refund policy. How can I make a sound judgement if I cannot access the website which lists the services offered until way after the cancellation period has expired? Only when did we call to complain about the time it took for us to be granted availability to the website was our membership pushed thru but it took over 3 weeks to have access. Yet payment for the membership was extracted from my bank account immediately. Two weeks after I paid in full I still did not have access to the website and since we did not have access to the website, we were offered the assistance of a Bushkill travel agent. Only then did I find out that the all inclusive fees are not 40-80 dollars as represented in the sales presentation but can range up to $2000. per person per week. When we tried to book a end of year vacation, all the resorts we were interested in were not available. Those that were available had very high all-inclusive fees or were in places we had no interested in vacationing in. Though we did not have access to the website I was contacted by a sales representative of the Bushkill Group in effort to obtain sales referrals and leads. I have made numerous attempts to contact The Bushkill Group regarding my desire to cancel this time share via email, have left messages for Managers, ***** ******* and *** ***** and no one has returned my calls. I have not used any of the resorts nor do I intend to do so.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of all monies paid in the amount of $17,758.00

Business Response: September 17, 2013

Dear ***. *******:

I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Please be advised that **. ******* purchased a points membership through our company on July 27, 2013. Reservations are made through the independent RCI exchange system rather than through the “home resort” where the membership was purchased.

The RCI exchange program is utilized by a large majority of our timeshare owners. RCI allows access to numerous timeshare resorts throughout the world. As RCI is an independent company, we cannot respond to any difficulties **. ******* may be experiencing in booking reservations through RCI.

I would like to address **. *******’s concerns that he was never informed at the time of sale that his points membership would take for 4-6 weeks to be active and that he was never informed of his right of rescission.

Enclosed please find a copy of the Acknowledgement of Representations **. ******* initialed and signed at the time of his purchase. Please refer to numbers 7 and 15 of the Acknowledgement which specify both the window of time for his RCI membership to become active as well as the rescission period.

I have also enclosed a copy of **. *******’s Retail Installment Contract which also addresses his right of rescission. As you will note, the rescission clause was initialed by **. *******.

I would also like to note that **. ******* received a copy of the Public Offering Plan at the time of his purchase. The Offering Plan provided him with all of the details of his membership plan.

With respect to a cancellation of **. *******’s membership account, it is the corporation’s position that he is subject to a valid timeshare contract and there is no basis for a cancellation of that contract as requested.

Very truly yours,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello my name is ******** *******. In March 2013, I purchased a time share with the bush kill group in Pennsylvania with **** ******* as the co signer. The member number is ********.The promises made were outstanding during the first few days. We were offered free stays and even a $200 vacation anywhere in the world. As soon as they received their first payment from us, their service declined 100%. I could no longer get in contact with them, there was back and forth answers to my questions, I was not able of booking a vacation online and I no longer had access to the free stays and vacation promised when I originally purchased it. With the amount of money this timeshare has taken from us, we could have booked 2 other vacations easily through ******* or ********* or done it ourselves instead of giving money to a timeshare that can't do anything for us. I have been on a vacation this year and never decided to use the timeshare because honestly it is way easier to book it myself elsewhere than through my own timeshare. The customer service is the worst I have witnessed. There is nothing that they can do for unsatisfied customers and I am a witness to that. They promised to change our representative and months later I have yet to know what is the status on that. There have been numerous complaints and letters sent to rci headquarters in Indiana as well as a consumer complaint letter directly to the bush kill timeshare. It is my upmost desire to find resolution to this dragged on issue. I have been fighting this same issue since the beginning of may 2013 and would like an end to this. I would like for bush kill to cancel my membership with a full refund.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome for the past couple months and now is for them to completely cancel my membership with a full refund. There's no possible reason why I would desire to keep a timeshare where the employees that work there can't do anything for me except take my money for their benefit and not mine. I would like my down payment refund of $1,500 as well as the payments made from march until now. This membership should be canceled because I have never and will never use any of their services since nothing was done for me since march 2013 until the present time.

Business Response:

Attached please find a copy of a response letter sent to **. *******, dated August 9, 2013, from ****** *****, Customer Service Supervisor. 

It is our position that **. ***** addressed **. *******'s concerns in his response letter.  Accordingly, please accept **. *****'s letter as a response to **. *******'s complaint with your office.

August 9, 2013

Dear **. *******,

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for your displeasure with your membership. I would like to take a few minutes to go over the concerns listed in your letter.

According to our records there have been several telephone calls from both **. ******* ******* as well as **. *** ***** in an effort to assist you. A complimentary stay was given to you on March 27,2013, as well as a complimentary stay for your membership review, which is scheduled for September 13, 2013. On June 19,2013 a voice message was left, and not returned with alternative vacation locations in place of the Aruba location that was unavailable for the time period you were searching for. In regards to the referral parties, *** ****** ** **** **** and ******* have a large member base and we are unable to invite every member to every party.

With this in mind, I have forwarded your contract and request to cancel your membership to die appropriate corporate personnel. The Corporation stands fully prepared to honor its obligation under the contract and will expect the same from its members.

Your *** Points membership affords the maximum flexibility in a program that allows you to break up your vacation interval into any combination of days at most resorts if you choose to. Along with the ability to break up your week, with *** Points you may also change the size of your accommodation, rent cars, borrow and bank Points for future use, and also book airline tickets or cruise tickets. With this flexibility, owners have the possibility of multiple vacations.

Currently *** has approximately 3,600 week’s resorts and 1,400 point’s resorts throughout their network from which you can select a vacatioa Also, with a points membership not only would you be able to choose from the Point affiliated resorts, you could also choose a vacation at any *** affiliated weeks resort. This gives owners the choice of over 4,000 vacation destinations based upon each individual resort's availability. The fees for a points resort can vary between $39.00 to $159.00 when booking online and $49.00 to $169.00 when booking through ***’s call center. If booking at a week’s resort the fees can vary from $189.00 to $209.00

We hope that you will avail yourselves the opportunity to use and enjoy the many benefits your membership has to offer.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am accepting of sending a cancelation to corporate but a lot of the statements made in the response have faults. I am rejecting this response because everything stated to us is not what was said at the time of signing up for this membership. You say that ******* and *** called us and they did to an extent. The conversations had with them did not fix any current issues we had. If need be provide the recordings to our conversations.. Our conversations should have led to help but as you can see it has not and nothing got resolved. Bush kill did provide a complimentary stay in March 27 because at the time of purchase, on March 10th, it was offered to us by ******* if we decided to buy the membership. It wasn't something that we received after being members but it was used to sell us the timeshare. The other stay for September is and will not be used for reasons that we do not like the bush kill group. As far as the vacation locations go, it was impossible to book a vacation that we wanted. We spoke to ***, ******* and *** to help us. Also *** responded and left us a voice mail about different locations and I did return the phone call with a response regarding where we wanted to book a vacation, But nothing that we were interested in was available and it was never explained that we would have a hard time booking places. It was said that we are members and have priority in getting our vacation. If I knew this, I would have never bought the timeshare because websites such as ******* or ********* give us what we want with no headaches and the places are available. There was also issues getting on the website that even ******* ******* didn't know how to fix. You say you have a large member base but if I am paying for a luxury to get into hotels and resorts around the world, we should not have the headache to book something like we did the past couple months. I am very hopeful that corporate will respond to the cancelation with a full refund especially that we continue to pay for a service that is not responsive or being provided to us. Believe us that we would not like to cause any problems or any issues to anyone we'd just like to get a service that is worth our hard earned money and get what was so called provided to us. At this point we are disgusted and disappointed of the service provided with the bush kill group and would not like to continue in business with them any longer. This issue needs to come to a conclusion and to avoid further headaches between both parties at this moment.


Regards,

******** ******* and **** ******* 








Business Response: August 29, 2013

Dear ***. *******:
I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Please be advised that **. ******* and **. ******* purchased a points membership through our company. Reservations are made through the independent *** exchange system rather than through the “home resort” where the membership was purchased.

The *** exchange program is utilized by a large majority of our timeshare owners. *** allows access to numerous timeshare resorts throughout the world. As *** is an independent company, we cannot respond to any difficulties **. ******* and **. ******* may be experiencing in booking reservations through ***.

As such their complaint appears to be misdirected to our company and should be addressed to ***.

Nevertheless, it is my understanding that **. ******* and **. ******* are currently scheduled for a complimentary stay at our resort in September for a review of their membership. During their membership review they would meet with our representative who wrnld be happy to explain how best to utilize theirpoints membership and answer any questions or concerns they may have about their membership.

With respect to a cancellation of their account, it is the corporation’s position that **. ******* and **. ******* are subject to a valid timeshare contract and there is no basis for a cancellation of that contract as requested.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this issue has nothing to do with ***. At the time of purchase, **. ******* specifically stated that all questions and bookings should be directed to him. It was never stated that *** is an independent company, he never said that it would take 3 months to be enrolled online and he never said that booking a vacation where we wanted meant it could be impossible. Why is it that I should have to pay for a time share that I can't have what I want? For that, I would have never signed up. If I knew I would be getting the run around and questions upon questions every time I call, I would have never signed up. I trusted bushkill in giving me a  service that I am paying for. *** has nothing to do with this issue because they still have my points and resorts. My problem is directed to Bush kill because for months, we have been getting the run around. We do not want to pay you for a service that we are not getting. You say we have a stay in September but again, I will repeat, we are not going to accept the stay. You want to give us free stays as part of signing up but that will not help the disappointment of the service I've been given at Bushkill. I would appreciate it if this case was closed immediately with a full refund of money that was never used for a vacation because Bush kill did not confirm many hidden details about our timeshare until months later. 


Regards,

******** ******* 

**** *******








Business Response: September 4, 2013
Dear ***. *******:

I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Enclosed pleased find copies of the Retail Installment Contract and Acknowledgement of Representation that were signed by **. ******* and **. *******.

Please refer to section 13 of the Retail Installment Contract which specifically states that **** **** has no affiliation with *** and that they are an independent exchange company.

Furthermore, please refer to section 8 of the Acknowledgement of Representation which specifically states that all reservations including those for the home resort are to be made through ***

I would also like to note that **. ******* and **. ******* received a copy of the Public Offering Plan The Offering Plan provided them with all of the details of their membership plan.

Accordingly, the corporation’s position remains the same as stated in our previous correspondence to your office, dated August 29, 2013.

Very truly yours,


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WHEN THIS CONTRACT WAS ESTABLISHED I WAS TOLD THAT IF I WAS DEPLOYED THAT I WOULD BE ABL TO FORFEIT MY COMMITMENT AND BE RELEASED OF ALL OBLIGATIONS. I WOULD LOSE ANY MONEYS INVESTED BUT WOULD NOT HAVE MY CREDIT EFFECTED AND WOULD NOT BE DUE TO PAY ANY FURTHER AND WOULD LOSE OWNERSHIP AND ALL WOULD CANCEL ACCORDINGLY.

Desired Settlement: A LETTER STATING THAT THE CONTRACT IS NULL AND VOID. RELIEVED FROM ANY COLLECTIONS ACTIONS ETC. DUE TO MY DEPLOYMENT I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE OR BENEFIT FROM THE TIMESHARE. I WANT RELIEF OF THIS AND IT IS UNFAIR. MY FIRST DEPLOYMENT I ASK THEM OVER AND OVER TO PLEASE RELIEVE ME AND THEY WOULD NOT. I CONTINUED TO STRUGGLE AND PAID AND PAID BUT DECIDED TO CONTACT BBB BECAUSE I THINK THIS IS UNFAIR. I AM A SOLDIER THAT DEPLOYS OFTERN. I WASN;T AT TIME OF PURCHASE BUT CLEARLY ASKED WHEN I WAS BEING TALKED INTO PURCHASE. I WAS TOLD THEY SUPPORT SOLDIERS AND IF MY STATUS CHANGED I WOULD CLEARLY BE ABLE TO CANCEL MY OBLIGATION WITH NO PROBLEM.

Business Response: Please see the attached.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY FIANCE ******* ******. HERE IS EVERYTHING THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON AND THIS IS ALSO THE LETTER THAT WE SENT TO THEM. THEY WILL NOT CANCEL IT. THE FIRST TIME THAT WE WENT UP WE HAD TO BE MOVED FROM ON VILLA TO THE NEXT BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE MUST HAVE BEEN SLEEPING IN THE VILLA. THE BLANKET WAS PULLED BACK AS IF SOMEONE JUST GOT OUT OF THE BED BECAUSE THE REST OF THE BED WAS SPREAD. THE GARBAGE WAS OVER FLOWING. THE SECOND TIME WE WENT SOME KITCHEN WARES WERE MISSING THEY HAD TO BRING THEM OVER, THE THIRD TIME THE WASHER MACHINE WAS NOT SPINNING SO IT WAS DIS FUNCTIONAL AND WE HAD TO TRANSFER ALL THE CLOTHES FROM ONE VILLA TO THE NEXT TO USE ANOTHER WASHER MACHINE. THE FOURTH TIME THE HEAT AND HOT WATER WAS NOT WORKING. THE FIFTH TIME THE CHAIN ON THE DOOR WAS POPPED AND THERE IS A HOLE IN THE FLOOR THAT THEY PUT CARPET OVER IT TO COVER IT INSTEAD OF FIXING IT. I AM NOW WORKING TO HAVE THE CITY COME OUT TO INSPECT. THE BEDS ARE DISGUSTING AND NASTY IN SOME VILLAS THE PULL OUT COUCHES ARE FALLING APART. IT IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE. THESE PEOPLE ARE FORCING US TO STAY WITH THEM WHEN WE TRIED EVERYTHING TO GET OUT OF IT. *** THE SALES REP SAID TO US THE LAST TIME WE CAME UP AFTER WE COMPLAINED AND THEY ASKED TO SEE US BEFORE WE CANCEL FOR GOOD. ONCE WE TOLD HER ABOUT THE CHAIN AND THE HOLE IN THE FLOOR SHE SAID OH MY GOD THIS WAS NOT THE VILLA YOU GUYS WERE TO BE IN. SHE SAID THAT SHE WENT UP TO THE VILLA THAT WE WERE TO STAY IN AND INSPECTED IT HER SELF. HOW CAN SHE SAY SOMETHING LIKE THAT WHEN EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE A VILLA THAT IS NICE AND DECENT FOR THEM TO STAY IN WHEN THEY ARE SPENDING THAT TYPE OF MONEY. WE SHOULD NOT BE SUBJECTED TO WHERE WE SHOULD BE AND WHO SHOULD BE THERE. THAT IS DISCRIMINATION. WE HAVE SO MANY TEXT MESSAGES WITH THE SALES REP *** ASKING AND TELLING THAT WE WANT TO CANCEL BEFORE THE MEMBER SHIP EVEN STARTED. PLEASE READ BELOW THE LETTER THAT WE SENT TO THE ********...... LETTER TO **** ****: We signed up to become memebers of the ********. However we have been dissatisfied with the service almost everytime that we came up to visit. On every occassion there has been serveral problems with the villas and that is not what we signed up for. We have been trying to get in contact with someone at the ******** to cancel our memebership, however we have been given the run around. Everytime we were being transfered and brushed off. We have contacted *** in sales on several ocassions and didnt get anything accomplished with going through her as soon as we mentioned cancelling. We spoke to a ***** who was to have someone in finanace call us back because they were busy and again we got no call back. We called several times after that and just got the voice mail. I do not want to speak to a voice message service because when I signed up for this everyone was available. This is not right.We then spoke a **** who helped us as much as he could by getting us in contact with *** and that was after the call was transfered to him from security. He helped us because we were begging for help. *** spoke with us and said before we cancel let him bring us up to go over somethings with the share and again we never got to speak or see him. Also the villa that we were put in again was a slum. We are asking for you to cancel our memebership due to all if the stress and aggravation that the ******** has cause. We understand that it is pass a 7 day line but we have been trying everything to cancel and no one would help way before this started. I also heard from someone else that this is another game that the ******** played with them when they cancelled so now I am starting to believe whenever you say cancel ythe fernwood are set up and designed to give you this run around. I would hate to have to make this more public and complain to someone higher than the ********. I am begging for you to have sympothy by doing the right thing.

Desired Settlement: WE WANT THIS CONTRACT TO BE CANCELLED OUT OF OUR NAME AND HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE RIP OFFS AND THIS PLACE IS NOT SUITABLE.

Business Response: Attached please find our response.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/24/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1