BBB Accredited Business since

Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc.

Phone: (570) 588-6661 Fax: (570) 588-1903 PO Box 447  Route 209, Bushkill, PA 18324 http://bushkillgroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bushkill Group Inc markets and maintains timeshares.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 25

Additional Complaint Information

Consumer Tips when considering the purchase of a time share:

Read and understand any contract your are asked to sign, Request that all promises are put in writing and are part of the agreement. Do not look at a time-share strictly as a real estate investment. The future value of a time-share depends on many unpredictable factors and resale may be difficult. Normally you should consider a time-share and camp site purchase as a prepaid vacation plan. Make certain the resort is one you will want to return to year after year. If the exchange program is an important part of your buying decision, investigate the limits on your exchange opportunities prior to buying the unit.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bushkill Group Inc. f/k/a Resorts USA Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 1981 Business started: 07/28/1965 in PA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nicole Graham, Senior Paralegal Ms. Gina, Marketing Mr. Andrew Wolf, Corporate Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nicole Graham, Senior Paralegal
Business Category

Vacation Time Share Resorts

Alternate Business Names
Minisink Financial The Villas (Treetops and Fairway)

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 447
    Route 209

    Bushkill, PA 18324

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally signed up for vacation ownership through the resort what time I received two voucher was used in April second one was used in November .when I reserve the room for the one in November my room was booked over the phone and it was me and two friends.upon check-in I was checked in by two employees who apologized to me as it was their first time on a busy check in I was given my room number we went to the villa we checked in we checked out on Sunday at any of those times nothing was ever said to me I had to go to any seminars nor was I provided with a time frame a day of which the seminar was .I saw there was a charge to my bank account for the resort when i phone them and ask them why I was charged they said it was because I never attended the seminar that was included with the voucher they advised me this information was sent in an email. and also that I had sent email to the business asking for a confirmation email before my friends and I traveled all the way up there since I didn't have the physical valley sure when I made the reservation.the girl on the phone confirm the reservation and said everything was set and that we could still check in and that I was unaware that this was part of using the voucher it has now been another week and I have received no phone call back from the supervisor advising me how I can get the money refunded to me when I called today I was told that the supervisor I spoke with was not in again I explain to them that my bank account has been charged the money and we're weeks away from Christmas and I really need the money refunded to me seeing how it wasn't explained to me nor was verification of any sort sent to me about the seminar and that when I spoke to the supervisor she said that we could possibly get it sorted out maybe over the phone or in my home about the seminar.it has now been a week and nothing has been done I can't get any answers when I call and the workers tell me that there's nothing they can do but the only person that's there that can help me I have not had any contact with since last Tuesday. I want a refund.i feel its unfair practice and a counterproductive way to do business as i have already paid my dues as a vacation owner. Please help me resolve this because i feel like i was mislead and i have done everything to resolve this.i have also not received any verification that this email explaining what I had to do was ever sent evrn after verifying i sent an email questioning why I received no email confirming my stay.

Business Response:

December 4, 2014

Dear *** ******:

I am writing in response to your email correspondence of December 3, 2014 in the above referenced complaint. Upon receipt of the complaint, I reviewed our records concerning the one (1) year ****** at **** **** timeshare membership purchased by ******* and ****** ***** during a marketing visit to our resort in March of this year. The ****** did receive a certificate for a complimentary stay at the resort in April as a bonus for their purchase. They also used the actual time that they purchased and for which they paid their maintenance fee during a stay in September.

The visit at issue in the complaint involved a marketing stay from November 7 through November 9, 2014. The purpose of that offer to the ****** was to encourage them to renew their membership at our resort. The process for scheduling such marketing visits involves the offer of a complimentary stay, provided that the guest attends a timeshare marketing presentation. In order to avoid any doubt as to the arrangement, this requirement is explained verbally and in writing on three (3) occasions. I have enclosed a sample email conformation letter that is sent to marketing guests which clearly explains the requirements for a complimentary visit and the charges that will be incurred if the guest fails to attend the presentation.

The ****** were charged for their visit because they did not attend the marketing presentation. It is our position that this requirement was clearly stated to the ******. I would also point out that the ****** had attended a similar marketing presentation as a condition of a complimentary stay less that a year ago. Nevertheless, our company is willing to refund the charges for the ****** November stay, provided that they attend a sales presentation at our resort. They should contact Laura at ###-###-#### to make the necessary arrangements.

I trust that this will resolve the complaint with your office. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me. Thank you.

Very truly yours,

F. Andrew W

Corporate Counsel

11/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought timeshare from this company inthe 1990s. Over the years we have come to realize this was a waste of money. The company calls us continuously even though we have asked them no to. We have tried not answering, cussing them out on the phone asking them not to call. Sometimes calls are noted on my phone 5 or 6 times daily. The company called me in October. They told me they wanted to send someone to my home to take a survey of how I liked their product. They told me the visit would take no more than 30 minutes. I made it clear to them that we were not interested in spending not even a dime on time share.I was assured that would not be the focus of the visit. I was also informed we would receive a voucher for $100.00. We agreed to the visit. The man who came appeared to be drunk.(I smelled alcohol on his breath). Again we expressed to him that if this wAs for the purpose of timeshare sales he should leave. He stated he did not work on commission, that he was an employee of Bushkill Group and would get paid regardless. Several times throughout the visiitnI informed this man I was not interested. My husband was away for most of the visit and only came in during the last few minutes. We told the man we were to interested. We were in the process of planning our retirement and did not want to take on any additional debt. The man then stated that in order to get the $100.00 coupon my husband and I would need to sign the form. He gave us the coupon. We told him we would think about it. He gave us his card and asked us to call him to say yes or no . We never called him. We did no want any time share and most of all did not want this man to return to our home. To our surprise, over the past 2 weeks we have begun to get calls for bush group asking when they can come to discuss our deed. Despite our many phone calls toBushkill informing them that we never even came close to purchasing any new timeshares we have not been able to resolve this. Some one referred me to the financial services and I spoke to Gladys H********. First off she stated my name was not on the new contract only my husbands and she would not be able to take a complaint from me. She also stated she did not have all the information and could not respond to our complaint for another week on November 12. The thing about it is that we are both completely against timeshares. I believe Bushkill use fraudulent means to gain access to our home to attempt to pressure us. At no time during this visit was a survey discussed. We were adamant through the visit that we did not want an additional products. Bushkill sent an unscrupulous salesman to our home. And last but not least we never agreed to buy anything. No copies of any documents were ever left with us . Our position is we never purchased any additional services. Therefore we are not expecting any form of deeds or requests for payment. Furthermore we do not wNt any further contact from bushkill

Desired Settlement: We would like this to go away We do not wish to hear from Bushkill again Any so called deeds or any thing to do with any so called purchase related to need to be dissolved immediately

Business Response:

November 10, 2014

Dear *** ******:
I am writing in response to your email correspondence of November 7, 2014 in the above referenced complaint. On the same day that we received the complaint, the *********** contacted our Customer Service Department with their concerns.
Upon receipt of the complaint, I reviewed our records concerning the ****** ** **** **** timeshare membership purchased by **** and ****** ********** on November 6, 1994. I also reviewed marketing contacts related to that account which indicate that although the *********** did receive a recent marketing contact as referenced in their complaint, there was no change in their existing membership with our company as a result of that visit to their home. As such, there is no deed or other paperwork to dissolve as requested in the complaint.
With respect to the request that Bushkill not contact the *********** again, I have included their names and telephone number on our internal Do Not Call list so that they are not contacted for future marketing offers. However, because the *********** do have a pre-existing timeshare membership with our company, they will continue to receive annual maintenance fee billings and contact from our Financial Services representatives relating to maintenance fees for that membership.
I trust that this will resolve the complaint with your office. If you have questions, please feel free to contact me. Thank you.
Very truly yours,

F. Andrew W

Corporate Counsel

10/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was lied to and was misrepresented the facts regarding a time share ownership. I was told the Time share was a good investment when in actuality it is not an investment at all. At the time it was sold to me using high pressure sales, I had a credit score of around 530. I believe the company acted in bad faith approving my credit application knowing I had such a low score and was a default risk. I am now getting near the need to file bankruptcy for a product I did not have an opportunity to even use in the 3 years I was paying for it. The sales practices of this company are deceptive and I believe fraud was committed.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to cut my losses and part with all i paid to just get out of my contract so i do not have to pay anymore. I just want out of my contract they can keep the nearly 8k i already paid i just want out!

Business Response:

May 20, 2014
Better Business Bureau,
I am writing concerning the complaint filed by ******* *****. She purchased and received a transmission for a 2003 ****** ***. When she picked up the transmission from us she brought up the old transmission to compare them, they matched, if our transmission was different so was original one in her vehicle. However, she waited 3 months to contact us stating there was a problem. Our policy is that we only guarantee our parts for 30 days, we do not guarantee any labor costs. We did return her call once, but never heard more from her until now. We intend to call her to make arrangements to have her drive the vehicle to our business.
Then we will drive the vehicle to determine the problem and try to remedy the situation.
Sincerely,

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company''s practice in forcing consumers to sign a contract while giving false information. They advertize a low cost stay at the property, then force you to sign a contract while many of them hover over you and will not let you leave if you dont sign their forms. We paid for the time we used their facility. They continue to harrass us with calls and letters about a membership we did not want. As victims of hurricane sandy we asked them to leave us alone as we had no place to live and did not want the membership they claimed we signed as the time. They are falsely billing us.

Desired Settlement: Cancel this membership we were misinformed about and was held hostage to sign.

Business Response:

April 21, 2014

Dear **. *******:

I am writing in response to your email correspondence of April 16, 2014 in the above referenced complaint. Upon receipt of the complaint, I reviewed our records which indicate that the ****** ** **** **** vacation points membership is actually owned by ******* ******** and ***** ******. Inasmuch as the complaint refers to “we” and the fact that the membership records contain the same mailing address for both parties, I will include **. ****** in my response.

With respect to the complaint, the membership purchased by **. ******** and **. ****** was a three (3) year membership. The three (3) year term is expressly stated in the Agreement directly above where **. ******** and **. ****** signed when they purchased on April 9, 2012. They have properly received billings for the second and third years’ fees that remain outstanding. Moreover, our company representatives are not in the practice of holding guests “hostage” or otherwise forcing them to enter into any agreement. **. ******** and **. ****** participated in a reduced fee stay at our resort during which they attended a marketing program as a condition of the reduced accommodation rate.

What appears to be the real issue is the extremely unfortunate change in circumstances for **. ******** and **. ******, hi light of those changed circumstances, our company will agree to release them from the unpaid financial obligations. I have enclosed a General Release which must be signed by ******* ******** and ***** ******, notarized and returned to my office in order to complete the cancellation of their contract as they have requested.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below.
Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

3/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserve a 1 bd villa with this organization. Upon check-in, I sign the paperwork and was told that because of the package I choose I would be able to take a 90 minute tour of the property in exchange they would offer us a free 3 day two night stay; which we agreed to. When arrive the next morning for the 90 minute tour, we found out it was a time share presentation that didn't last 1 1/2 hrs to 2. While there I discover that I had been overcharged for my snow tubing package. I noticed this when the sales agent looked at the copy of our reservations and billing. She called out how much we paid to come up to the ******* and I told her no that's not what I agreed to when I reserved my package online. She told me she would let some guy n the back know. When we talk to the guy in the back office(can't remember his name) he told me to go the young lady at the front counter. When I went to her she went to get someone from the back that was suppose to check on the billing error for me. Out of the blue the sales agent came back to me and said I now needed to go back to check-in for help. I went back to check-in and was told that my villa was $199 per night and that I was charged for snow tubing. I explained that when I reserved online my snow tubing package was $398 without tax and it including snow tubing. She then called another lady. She told us that she was waiting on this person to return her call. After a couple of moments, she called the person again. I told her that we will come back after we eat. The lady at check-in took our number down. Later on I got a call from reservations and told the rep what was going on. She told me the same thing as the lady did at check-in counter and I told her the same info. I even offered to send her my emails and screenshots of my package. She wouldn't accept. I was then referred to someone named ***** *******; whom has yet to return my call. During check-out today, I tried once again to resolved this and once again I was told there was nothing that they could do by the check-out and reservations. My package was $398 without tax including snow tubing. I was charged $438 plus $34.92 for tax; which is inaccurate. No one can explain what the extra charge came from. I want what I reserved online in February. I feel like they got us up to the ******* and intentionally overcharged. But mainly to close a sale on their time share opportunity. I would never pay to come listen to a timeshare presentation. I definitely never let anyone overcharge me for ANYtHiNG. I don't just give money away. When I sign up for something and you say it's this specific way, I expect exactly that. If not, you need to tell me upfront or days n advance. Don't try to put me in a bad situation far away from home.

Desired Settlement: I want the difference of what I reserve to pay for($398 plus tax) and what I was actually charged for($438 plus $34.92).

Business Response: March 11, 2014

Dear ***. *******:

I am in receipt of your most recent email regarding the above referenced matter.

Please be advised that according to our records Ms. Patterson’s original reservation was for a Thursday and Friday night. **. ********* changed her reservation to a Friday and Saturday night. Rates for a Friday and Saturday are higher than those of a Thursday and Friday. Therefore, there was an increase in the amount she was charged.

Nevertheless, **. ********* was refunded $43.60. Accordingly, the corporation considers this matter resolved.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below, extension ****.

Very truly yours,

2/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our contract began when we went to a presentation at *** (******* *****) in the early 90’s. The program was just what we thought we needed for our family. This enabled us to take our children out of the City for mini vacations and weekend trips at a minimal cost. By the late 90’s, (August 1999), we were sent to another presentation with *** **** *** ******. This was when we were promised “all things great and wonderful” only to find ourselves in deep debt. We were satisfied with what we were offered (4 seasons with point value, 178,000) at the time. After numerous sit downs with various agents, (sale reps), whom we believed to have our best interest in mind only got us deeper and deeper in debt. We listened to everything they said they had to offer only to find that what was being offered just came with a bigger payout by us. We were told how to rent weeks and if we upgrade we would get first takes on good locations needed by renters (this was to offset the maintenance cost) only to find out we have to go through RCI which had additional costly increasing fees. As we stated before, we listened and took the advice of the sales reps and it seems like the only promise that came true was that they received a good commissions from our upgrades. To date we have less points and weeks for more money (our point value is now 98,000 plus two weeks). We have been paying into this program with no end in sight. We did ask, due to our financial changes if we could reverse our upgrade (downsize) but sadly no one was able to help us. At this point we would like to recover what we can from our losses and be completely done with timeshare ownership.

Desired Settlement: We would like to cancel our contract with *** ****** ** **** *** and recover any funds due us.

Business Response: January 3, 2014

Dear **. and ***. *****:

I am writing on behalf of Bushkill Group Inc. formerly known as Resorts USA, Inc. and parent company of HRP Corp. d/b/a ******* ****** in response to your letter dated November 3, 2013 (postmarked December 6, 2013). Your letter suggests that you are disputing the validity of your account with our company. Accordingly, in response to your dispute I have enclosed copies of the ******* ****** Contract for Deed and Contract for Sale of Real Estate that you signed for each of the two (2) memberships you purchased on October 14, 2012. Those documents set forth the financial information relating to your obligation to Bushkill Group Inc. As you know, the current memberships are only the most recent of many membership changes you have made with our company.

With respect to your current memberships, the amount of points usage has changed in accordance with your various downgrade and upgrade transactions. The high points total of 178,000 that you reference was actually related to your former Fifth Share membership. The most recent transaction resulted in a cancellation of your Four Season membership #******** (77,950 points) to a 2 Bedroom Summer week and a 2 Bedroom Ski week (98,900 points). Although you do have fewer points than the Fifth Share, your most recent transaction resulted in a considerable increase in points usage.

Your letter indicates that you will not make further payments on your account. Your account is presently due for the November 2013 monthly payments and thereafter. Please refer to the Default provisions in the enclosed documents with respect to failure to make required payments. Also, in accordance with your contract and loan application with our company, the status of your account is reported to the Credit Reporting Agencies.

If you wish to discuss options concerning your account, please contact our Financial Services Department at ###-###-####.
Very truly yours,

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited the resort and met with salesman ******* to view a presentation for purchasing a timeshare. I was given a number of purchase options. Since I was interested, I asked about the process of purchasing, but informed ******* that I would not be making a decision at that moment. I explained that when I am making big decisions, I like to think about it and since this would be something I'd do for my children, I'd like to bring them to see the resort. ******* said he understood and said he would give a free weekend for me to bring my childrent to visit. He said that I'd need to sign up that day, because the rates would be higher later. He said that I would have 60 days to cancel if I changed my mind. Because of the cancellation time he told me I'd have, I signed up. I found out shortly after, when I tried to cancel, that what he told me wasn't true. I spoke with his manager, who said he'd discuss it with *******, but nothing ever happened. I never received a call back. Another issue that I recently came across was my committment to the timeshare. While discussing how the purchasing process worked, I asked if the purchase was something that was reported to the credit bureau, ******* said that it wasn't. I explained that I had some things I was planning to do in the near future and could not have anything added to or impacting my credit. ******* assured me that this would not happen and said that if I ever came to a point that I no longer wanted to own the timeshare that I would simply stop paying and end my ownership rights. I found out recently that this wasn't accurate. After having a terrible experience on the weekend of Nov. 22, I was contemplating canceling my membership. I was contacted by a financial rep named ******, who told me that canceling was not an option. I explained to her what ******* told me and she said all that I could do was to send in a certified letter of complaint, but that I was required to continue through with the purchase. She also said that this had been reported to the credit bureau and already reporting negatively since I hadn't made the payment with her. I again explained to her a number of inaccuracies with what ******* told me during the sales process. I explained that the dates of the down payment weren't taken down accurately, so one of the payments came out of my account one week early, I told her that when I tried to cancel within the cancellation time period that I was told, I wasn't allowed, and now I was told that this was something that would not effect my credit and those were all lies. Even the way the "last call" site worked was something that he fabricated. She told me that the only chance I had to possibly resolve and come to some kind of agreement was to submit a certified letter, but that there was no guarantee of anything happen. Much of what the salesperson told me were lies, especially the cancellation period, which would've allowed me to walk away from all of this and receive my down payment before this went on so far. After being told that I wasn't able to cancel the membership and receive my downpayment back, I still tried to work things out with ******* and ******, but got no where. I feel that ******* took advantage of the trust I put in him, which I only trusted him because of a friend arranged the referral. I trusted his word and once I agreed, he and his back office staff rushed me through paperwork that was supposed to outline all of the information that had been discussed AS IT WAS discussed. Because I had kept him in his office over an hour past his closing time, I rushed through the documents with ******* and his wife and he assured me that he would be an agent that I would come to for everything. I have had minimal contact with ******* since signing up and since I've had all of these issues. He fails to return calls. The one time that I did get a return call from him, after reaching his manager, he lied and tried to tell me that I simply misunderstood the ter** as he explained. I feel that ******* said whatever he felt was necessary to get me to buy. Now I am stuck with a product that I was told I'd be able to simply "stop paying and walk away". In addition, I am out the down payment and the monthly payments that I've made all because he chose to misrepresent the ter** of the timeshare.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of my down payment and monthly payments and to have the contract voided. I'd also like to know that none of the referrals I submitted will be contacted because I do not want my friends and family to be sold this product without having the true ter** explained to them. I definitely do not want them to have interaction with ******* because his sales practices consist of misleading and simply lying to get the sale.

Business Response: January 2, 2014

Dear **. *******:

I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated December 30, 2013 in the above referenced complaint. Upon receipt of the complaint, I reviewed our records which indicate that ******** ***** purchased a Tree Tops timeshare membership on July 20, 2013. This purchase involved a down payment and a loan to finance the balance of the purchase price for the timeshare membership. Per our normal procedure, **. ***** had 60 days in which to complete her down payment of $738. She made the last of three payments toward the down payment on September 13, 2013. In addition to the down payment, **. ***** made one (1) monthly loan payment of $144.21 toward the purchase price.

The complaint indicates a misrepresentation concerning the right to cancel the timeshare purchase contract. The purchase contract and Acknowledgment of Representations form both signed by **. ***** clearly state that any cancellation must be done within seven (7) business days of signing the contract. Moreover, **. *****’ complaint indicates that she first “contemplated” canceling her membership after her stay at our resort on November 22, 2013. This was nearly 120 days after she signed her purchase contract for the membership. Even if she was confused about the cancellation deadline, she made no attempt to cancel the contract within either time frame.

The second principal allegation of the complaint relates to credit reporting of **. *****’ credit account with our company. The purchase contract includes default provisions and remedies for failure to make required payments. Furthermore, the loan application signed by **. ***** expressly authorizes our company to report her credit status to the Credit Bureaus. In accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, we are required to report accurate information concerning **. *****’ account, including late and missing payments. Under the circu**tances, we cannot agree to her demands to resolve this complaint.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below.
Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Please see a more thorough account in the attached document that conflicts with the generic response from the legal counsel of the Bushkill Group.

Regards,

******** *****

Dear **. *******

I am writing in response to the letter sent to you from the Bushkill Group in response to my initial complaint. I would like to address each point listed by **. ****, as there are inaccuracies in his account of their records and to add additional information that I failed to present in my initial complaint. The first issue I have with **. **** s response is timeline for which the contract was signed, executed and when I first requested to have my membership cancelled. I signed the contract on July 20, 2013 and on this day I put a $100 deposit towards my down payment, which I was told was for the purposes of a “good faith payment” and a way to insure that the current price that was only being offered that particular weekend would be locked in. The $100 deposit was actually funds that had already been paid as the security deposit for my weekend stay. The salesman, ******* ********, told me that I had sixty days to cancel and that the contract would not be completed until after the final installment of the down payment was made. He told me this because of my reservations about making a quick decision. The down payment was split between two payments, not three as **. **** states, one made in August and the last being made on September.

In September, I called the Villas at Tree Top seeking information about cancelling the membership, thinking I had sixty days to cancel as stated by *******. After several attempts to reach someone to help me I was told that I “misunderstood” what ******* meant in regards to sixty days. After talking to the sales manager I was then informed that I had seven days from the date of the transaction to cancel. My argument with the sales manager was that even if I “misunderstood” what ******* said in regards to the 60 days, that I still was within the 7 days stated in the contract because the contract could not be executed until the final installment of the down payment was made, as explained to me by **. ********. The final payment was made on September 13, 2013 and I called regarding cancellation a September 20, 2013 regarding the cancellation. This would have given me time to write a notice of cancellation and submit it to fall in line with their 7-day time frame. One of my conversations of discussing the cancellation was with ******, my financial representative, who documented this along with the other inaccuracies I explained to her. The notion that I tried to cancel after 120 days is completely inaccurate and misleading as they have records of all the calls I made to the Villas regarding this matter, specifically, my conversations in September.

After I was told there was nothing more I could do about canceling and being refunded my down payment, I made one of the monthly payments thinking I didn 'thave any options. Since ******* told me that I could simply stop paying and walk away if I ever decided I no longer wanted to be a member, and I already was planning to take a trip for my birthday, I figured I’d take a trip in November to The Villas and then decide whether to cut my losses for what I had already paid or continue with the membership. The final problem occurred in November where I was completely fed up with the lies that were told to me during the initial sales presentation by *******. I was told that whenever I had a referral come to the Villas I would be able to get a free room for myself and that my guest would pay a $100 deposit that would be refunded after the sat through the sales presentation.

On the weekend of November 22, 2013 I had four people who wanted to come view the villas, one couple and two others. I did not want to deal with ******* directly as he said I should when bringing guest, so I called the booking department directly. They informed me that it was not their policy to offer a free room to members when they bring guests, that they only did this when there was a promotion going on.

After hearing this I becoming infuriated that I had been told another lie, I called ******* directly. He told me that its true that it is not the policy but something the sales people do as an incentive for members to bring guest and that is why I needed to call him directly to reserve rooms when we were bringing guest. That was an unacceptable response because that is not what I was told during the sales presentation. At anytime they can stop doing this and I would not have any recourse because it was never apart of their policy. Another problem that occurred that weekend was that three of my guest were allowed to come up for the free weekend but the forth was told that he had to pay $300 in order to stay, again another contradiction to what was told to me.

After several other problems that weekend I decided I would cut my losses and just end the membership by not paying, as I thought I could do. This is when ****** told me that “canceling is not an option” and this was being reported to the Credit Bureaus so I could not simply walk away as ******* said during the presentation. I would have never signed up for this if I knew it was being reported to the credit bureaus, as it would affect my debt to income ratio for a loan I was planning to obtain for real estate.

I understand that I should have read all of the documents that I was signing that would have notified me of the credit issue, but we were rushing because not only did the meeting last for a few hours due to all of the questions I asked, but it also lasted until after hours. After gaining trust in *******, having sat with him for hours, I was listening and relying on what he told me that each of the documents were as I signed off, furthermore I was under the impression that I had 60 days to cancel.

To summarize my complaint, I believe my initial request to cancel in September should be honored because the contract could not be executed until after the final payment for the down payment was made; which would still have been within the 7 days that are stated in the contract. The fact that the information provided to the credit bureaus shows that the account was opened in September 2013 and the fact that we could not take part in any of the benefits of being a member until after the final payment was made shows that the contract was not executed until September 13, 2013. I believe that because of the lies and misleading information that was presented to my husband and me during the presentation, that the Bushkill Group should be willing to work with me to resolve the issue.

Especially in regard to the reporting of the account to the credit bureaus because that was an specific question that I asked *******, where there were no grey areas or something we could have “misunderstood,” he responded clearly with “no” when I asked will it be reported to the credit bureaus.

As mentioned, I am willing to cut my losses in regards to the down payment of $783 and monthly payment of $144. At this point I think this matter could be resolved if The Bushkill Group is willing to terminate the contract and remove all information reported to all major credit bureaus. I think this is fair to all parties involved.
Sincerely,

Business Response: January 13, 2014

Dear ***. Dondero:
I am in receipt of your most recent email regarding the above referenced matter.

I have reviewed *** *****’s recent correspondence as well as her sales file. As **. **** stated in his January 2, 2014 correspondence, *** ***** was given sixty (60) days to complete her down payment. While *** ***** is correct in her statement that she made two payments in order to complete her down payment, it does not have any bearing on her completion date of September 13, 2013. Upon that completion on September 13, 2013, *** ***** was provided with a seven (7) day rescission period. Nowhere in her contractual documents does it state that she was provided with a sixty (60) day right of rescission.

I do note on *** *****’s account that she spoke with ****** in our Financial Services Department on September 27, 2013 inquiring about the rescission period. There is no record of *** ***** calling prior to that date. Furthermore, in accordance with the rescission clause on the contract, if a rescission is desired, the consumer is required to notify the corporation in writing and such notice would be given by any bona fide means which provided a receipt of delivery of such notice. We have never received such notice in accordance with this requirement. As for **. ***** comments regarding her not “contemplating” cancellation of the account until November and therefore being one hundred-twenty (120) days past rescission, he was simply responding to her own account of what transpired.

With respect to *** *****’s allegations of misrepresentations by our salesperson, I have been unable to confirm her version of the sales presentation and/or claims regarding referral reservations. In fact her allegations are inconsistent with the contractual documents which she signed.

Accordingly, it is our position that *** ***** has a valid contract with the corporation and therefore, there is no basis for a cancellation of her contractual obligations.

Please advise *** ***** that due to the delinquency of her account, if satisfactory arrangements are not made to bring the account current, a cancellation of her account will be pursued in accordance with the default provisions of her contract. A cancellation of her account due to default would result in a charge off notation on her credit report. As **. **** stated in his prior correspondence, we are required to report accurate information concerning her account to the Credit Bureaus per the Fair Credit Reporting Act. The loan application signed by *** ***** expressly authorized our company to report her credit status to the Credit Bureaus.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below, extension ****.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

In response to the details laid out by **. ******, I still have a few things that I disagree on, some of which are the basis of my complaint.  In my initial complaint submitted to the Better Business Bureau, based on the drop down menu of reasons for complaint, I indicated that my reasoning was A sales presentation that had a verbal representation not consistent with the written agreement.  While I’ve laid out a number of inaccuracies that I’ve come to find throughout this process, they can all be summed up with that statement.  I feel that no part of this has been addressed.  Instead, **. **** and **. ****** both are focusing solely on the contract that I signed.  I understand that they are simply relying on what they have in writing.  Based on that fact, neither can deny or admit that what was sold to me verbally was different than what was presented contractually.  As explained previously, after having held the salesman and back office for several hours and well past their closing time, I took *******’s word.  As he and his wife presented me, with documents, explaining what each was for as we went along, I trusted them both.  Yes, I can admit that a poor decision to do so was made on my part, but I feel that not only was I simply mislead by *******, but he took advantage of the relationship. Having been referred by good friends, who described ******* as a “good guy” and his wife as a “sweetheart”, I trusted that he’d take care of me and that what he was offering would be received.  Having learned of the relationships between my two friends and the ********’, I truly thought I was in good hands and was getting all of the things laid out in the presentation.  ******* took advantage of that and said all of the right things to get me to commit. 

**. ******’s response also states that my allegations are inconsistent with the contractual documents that I signed.  This is the very reason for my complaint.  What I was told verbally, greatly differs from the written agreement.  I could continue to revisit all of the different inaccuracies, many of which I’ve voiced verbally to ****** in the finance department, to *******, and to *******’s manager, but it see** that those things are all falling on deaf ears.  As a business, the finance department and the legal department want to simply focus on what has been written instead of focusing on why this issue has come about.  It doesn’t appear that they are at all concerned with the customer service end or even the negative reputation that has come about as a result of misleading sales practices, such as those displayed by *******.  

Lastly, I would like to explain that the most crucial lie told to me was that purchasing the timeshare would not be something reflected on my credit report.  If ******* had been truthful and let me know that it would be reported, this situation would not be going on because I would not have signed up for the membership.  This entire situation has hurt me in a number of ways that go beyond the contractual documents that was signed.  I can not emphasize enough, with sincerity, that I have been actively working on steps to purchase a home.  I was advised early on to not open any new credit or allow any credit inquiries as they could be damaging to the ability for me to finance as planned.  I would not have jeopardized the purchase of a home for my family just to purchase a timeshare had I known that it would result in new credit opened and would be reported to the credit bureaus.  

I genuinely liked the accommodations, based on what I saw on my own and I enjoyed hearing about the benefits that would come with the membership as described to me verbally.  I truly saw benefit in obtaining a membership for my family and I, as well as for possible use for future business incentives.  Had I been truthfully informed of the cancellation period, credit reporting, membership details, referrals program benefits, last call site, etc., my decision to obtain membership would have been different and something that I would have held off on.

If no resolution or compromise can be made, my complaint should remain as reported so that others can be cautioned and aware of the practices used by the Salesperson.  What was relayed to me verbally was inconsistent with what was in the documentation.  I understand the ramifications relayed in the Bushkill Group’s previous response.  Since this situation has already caused me a significant loss in derailing my plans to purchase a home, it is my hope that we can come to some sort of resolve and this can be put behind all of us.  

 

Regards,


******** *****

1/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My boyfriend and I attended a sales presentation for a timeshare in Feb 2012. The presentation lasted several hours. At the end of the tour we encouraged to purchase the timeshare. We made it clear to the sales rep, **** ****, that we desired the ability to have several local vacations a year (within driving distance) from our home in New Jersey because we have small children. Airfare for our large family was not in our budget. **** showed us a vacation package with RCI that allowed us to use points for travel. He informed us that booking 30 days in advance allowed us to use less points for vacations which would allows us the several vacations a year we were looking for. Based on our needs, **** gave us his suggested point package for RCI. We requested time to think over the decision but we were told that the offer would not be available tomorrow and had to sign the contract that same day. **** was such a convincing salesman, and we trusted his judgment, so we agreed to sign up for the vacations we were promised. We were informed that it would take sometime to get our account active with RCI and would not have access to the vacation network right away. In May 2012 we gained our access to RCI and found that **** had made several false promises. The point package we purchased allowed us to only take one vacation a year, because the places we wanted to travel to require you to book more than 30 days in advance. Booking that far out would result in us using all of our points, leaving us with one vacation per year. When compared the money we would spend on one vacation with the Bushkill group, vs. what we would pay for one vacation on our own, we became very upset and angry. We contacted the bushkill group several times without a response. It was not until we stopped paying the loan that we began to get phone calls from the company. Each rep told us that we signed a contract and there was nothing we could do. We signed the contract based on the information our sales rep **** had given us on RCI. By the time we found out we were in a bad deal, we were past our cooling off period and could not cancel the contract. The company made false promises based on a program that they knew we would not have access to until months later. Bushkill committed fraud by with holding this information from the consumer and falsifying the product. If we had access to what RCI truly was in the beginning we would have immediately cancelled our contract. At this point our credit has taken a significant hit, and feel helpless to get out the situation. Or attempts for resolution have been meet with legal jargon and no real solution.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of contract and a full refund of all monies paid

Business Response: January 3, 2014

Dear **. *******:
I am writing in response to your email correspondence dated December 30, 2013 in the above referenced complaint. Upon receipt of the complaint, I reviewed our records which indicate that I had previously responded to a letter from ********* ****** and co-owner Darren Ha** on this membership. **. ****** is apparently now known as ********* *****. I have enclosed a copy of the letter dated April

3,    2013 from **. ****** and **. ******, as well as a copy of my response letter of April 15, 2013. We have had no further contact from **. ***** until receipt of the complaint filed with your office.

The complaint filed with your office is somewhat different from the allegations raised by **. ***** in her previous letter in that the complaint appears to focus primarily on difficulties concerning **. *****’ attempts to use her RCI Points membership. Initially, **. ***** purchased the lowest level points membership available. That is a limiting factor, particularly if **. ***** was seeking to use her annual points for both travel and accommodations as suggested by her statement. Second, a points membership typically involves usage of vacation time at other resorts throughout the world based upon the purchaser’s own choice. Although we certainly do assist our members with points usage, our company does not control availability of vacation time at the other resorts at which **. ***** apparently wanted to vacation. Although a points membership does allow a member to potentially maximize usage by booking short term reservations, this does not in any way guarantee availability, particularly during the most popular vacation times.

With respect to the alleged withholding of this information until after the time to cancel the contract had expired, in addition to the sales presentation all points membership purchasers receive an RCI membership book at the time of purchase. This book contains not only RCI exchange policies and procedures, but also includes contact information for the various resorts. This certainly would have allowed **. ***** to determine what usage she could make of her RCI Points based upon where and when she wanted to travel.
Finally, the complaint references damage to **. *****’ credit report. **. ***** has elected to stop paying on her purchase contract. The purchase contract includes default provisions and remedies for failure to make required payments. Furthermore, the loan application signed by **. ***** expressly authorizes our company to report her credit status to the Credit Bureaus. In accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, we are required to report accurate information concerning **. *****’ account, including late and missing payments. In accordance with the information contained in my letter of April 15, 2013 and the above, we cannot agree to her demands to resolve this complaint.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below.
Very truly yours,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The company has not offered a resolution to the issue and has responded in the same manor that they have in the past, refusing to admit any wrong doing. The RCI book that is referenced in the letter only gives access to their resorts and how the system operates and is in no means a substitute to the live system. Once in the live environment, you are then able to see what travel options are. We were not interested in the world wide system, only the east coast as we stated several times with our sales rep. As, mentioned previously the point package we purchased was based on advice from the sales rep based on our travel expectations. We were purchased based on a sales presentation that focused on RCI. What we discussed with our sales rep was travel using the RCI program and we are not satisfied with what we received. I remain true to the statements made in my previous correspondence with The Bushkill group, that they used high pressure sales tactics and misrepresented the product we were purchasing. Several other people have encountered similar experiences with this company that have also been reported to the BBB. They have provided our requested resolution to other customers with similar complaints and do not understand why we are being denied the same arrangement. 

Regards,

********* *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The company refuses to settle the account. I'm not really sure what else to do. They are now informing me that the account will go into charge off status but will not make arrangements to settle the account. They have previously offered to modify my contact in the past an have done so with other customer complaints and have even cancelled contracts for disgruntled customers. They are not offering any resolutions. I would like to resolve this issue before it goes into charge off status. What are my options to resolve this dispute?

Regards,

********* *****

Business Response: January 14, 2014

Tree Tops Membership #******** Your File #*******

Dear ***. *******:

I am in receipt of your most recent email regarding the above referenced matter.

As we have previously stated, it is the corporation’s position that **. ***** has a valid contract and therefore there is no basis for a cancellation of that contract.

With respect to a settlement of the account, the corporation is under no obligation to offer **. ***** a settlement. If **. ***** would like to resolve the delinquency of her account she may contact our Financial Services Department at ###-###-####. A financial services representative will be more than happy to discuss the options available to **. ***** to bring her account current.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at the number below, extension ****.

10/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a time share from the Bushkill Group on July 27, 2013 in the amount of $17, 758.00. Monies were paid in full on the spot. All monies were withdrawn from my bank account immediately. Sales representative informed us that all inclusive fees at resorts would be about 40-80 dollars. When we arrived at home, we were not able to access the computer system. Only then after we called our sales representative were we informed that access to the website which lists all resorts and amenities would take 4-6 weeks. Sales representative never informed us of the 7 day refund policy. No mention whatsoever was made regarding the refund policy. How can I make a sound judgement if I cannot access the website which lists the services offered until way after the cancellation period has expired? Only when did we call to complain about the time it took for us to be granted availability to the website was our membership pushed thru but it took over 3 weeks to have access. Yet payment for the membership was extracted from my bank account immediately. Two weeks after I paid in full I still did not have access to the website and since we did not have access to the website, we were offered the assistance of a Bushkill travel agent. Only then did I find out that the all inclusive fees are not 40-80 dollars as represented in the sales presentation but can range up to $2000. per person per week. When we tried to book a end of year vacation, all the resorts we were interested in were not available. Those that were available had very high all-inclusive fees or were in places we had no interested in vacationing in. Though we did not have access to the website I was contacted by a sales representative of the Bushkill Group in effort to obtain sales referrals and leads. I have made numerous attempts to contact The Bushkill Group regarding my desire to cancel this time share via email, have left messages for Managers, ***** ******* and *** ***** and no one has returned my calls. I have not used any of the resorts nor do I intend to do so.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund of all monies paid in the amount of $17,758.00

Business Response: September 17, 2013

Dear ***. *******:

I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Please be advised that **. ******* purchased a points membership through our company on July 27, 2013. Reservations are made through the independent RCI exchange system rather than through the “home resort” where the membership was purchased.

The RCI exchange program is utilized by a large majority of our timeshare owners. RCI allows access to numerous timeshare resorts throughout the world. As RCI is an independent company, we cannot respond to any difficulties **. ******* may be experiencing in booking reservations through RCI.

I would like to address **. *******’s concerns that he was never informed at the time of sale that his points membership would take for 4-6 weeks to be active and that he was never informed of his right of rescission.

Enclosed please find a copy of the Acknowledgement of Representations **. ******* initialed and signed at the time of his purchase. Please refer to numbers 7 and 15 of the Acknowledgement which specify both the window of time for his RCI membership to become active as well as the rescission period.

I have also enclosed a copy of **. *******’s Retail Installment Contract which also addresses his right of rescission. As you will note, the rescission clause was initialed by **. *******.

I would also like to note that **. ******* received a copy of the Public Offering Plan at the time of his purchase. The Offering Plan provided him with all of the details of his membership plan.

With respect to a cancellation of **. *******’s membership account, it is the corporation’s position that he is subject to a valid timeshare contract and there is no basis for a cancellation of that contract as requested.

Very truly yours,

9/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello my name is ******** *******. In March 2013, I purchased a time share with the bush kill group in Pennsylvania with **** ******* as the co signer. The member number is ********.The promises made were outstanding during the first few days. We were offered free stays and even a $200 vacation anywhere in the world. As soon as they received their first payment from us, their service declined 100%. I could no longer get in contact with them, there was back and forth answers to my questions, I was not able of booking a vacation online and I no longer had access to the free stays and vacation promised when I originally purchased it. With the amount of money this timeshare has taken from us, we could have booked 2 other vacations easily through ******* or ********* or done it ourselves instead of giving money to a timeshare that can't do anything for us. I have been on a vacation this year and never decided to use the timeshare because honestly it is way easier to book it myself elsewhere than through my own timeshare. The customer service is the worst I have witnessed. There is nothing that they can do for unsatisfied customers and I am a witness to that. They promised to change our representative and months later I have yet to know what is the status on that. There have been numerous complaints and letters sent to rci headquarters in Indiana as well as a consumer complaint letter directly to the bush kill timeshare. It is my upmost desire to find resolution to this dragged on issue. I have been fighting this same issue since the beginning of may 2013 and would like an end to this. I would like for bush kill to cancel my membership with a full refund.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome for the past couple months and now is for them to completely cancel my membership with a full refund. There's no possible reason why I would desire to keep a timeshare where the employees that work there can't do anything for me except take my money for their benefit and not mine. I would like my down payment refund of $1,500 as well as the payments made from march until now. This membership should be canceled because I have never and will never use any of their services since nothing was done for me since march 2013 until the present time.

Business Response:

Attached please find a copy of a response letter sent to **. *******, dated August 9, 2013, from ****** *****, Customer Service Supervisor. 

It is our position that **. ***** addressed **. *******'s concerns in his response letter.  Accordingly, please accept **. *****'s letter as a response to **. *******'s complaint with your office.

August 9, 2013

Dear **. *******,

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for your displeasure with your membership. I would like to take a few minutes to go over the concerns listed in your letter.

According to our records there have been several telephone calls from both **. ******* ******* as well as **. *** ***** in an effort to assist you. A complimentary stay was given to you on March 27,2013, as well as a complimentary stay for your membership review, which is scheduled for September 13, 2013. On June 19,2013 a voice message was left, and not returned with alternative vacation locations in place of the Aruba location that was unavailable for the time period you were searching for. In regards to the referral parties, *** ****** ** **** **** and ******* have a large member base and we are unable to invite every member to every party.

With this in mind, I have forwarded your contract and request to cancel your membership to die appropriate corporate personnel. The Corporation stands fully prepared to honor its obligation under the contract and will expect the same from its members.

Your *** Points membership affords the maximum flexibility in a program that allows you to break up your vacation interval into any combination of days at most resorts if you choose to. Along with the ability to break up your week, with *** Points you may also change the size of your accommodation, rent cars, borrow and bank Points for future use, and also book airline tickets or cruise tickets. With this flexibility, owners have the possibility of multiple vacations.

Currently *** has approximately 3,600 week’s resorts and 1,400 point’s resorts throughout their network from which you can select a vacatioa Also, with a points membership not only would you be able to choose from the Point affiliated resorts, you could also choose a vacation at any *** affiliated weeks resort. This gives owners the choice of over 4,000 vacation destinations based upon each individual resort's availability. The fees for a points resort can vary between $39.00 to $159.00 when booking online and $49.00 to $169.00 when booking through ***’s call center. If booking at a week’s resort the fees can vary from $189.00 to $209.00

We hope that you will avail yourselves the opportunity to use and enjoy the many benefits your membership has to offer.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am accepting of sending a cancelation to corporate but a lot of the statements made in the response have faults. I am rejecting this response because everything stated to us is not what was said at the time of signing up for this membership. You say that ******* and *** called us and they did to an extent. The conversations had with them did not fix any current issues we had. If need be provide the recordings to our conversations.. Our conversations should have led to help but as you can see it has not and nothing got resolved. Bush kill did provide a complimentary stay in March 27 because at the time of purchase, on March 10th, it was offered to us by ******* if we decided to buy the membership. It wasn't something that we received after being members but it was used to sell us the timeshare. The other stay for September is and will not be used for reasons that we do not like the bush kill group. As far as the vacation locations go, it was impossible to book a vacation that we wanted. We spoke to ***, ******* and *** to help us. Also *** responded and left us a voice mail about different locations and I did return the phone call with a response regarding where we wanted to book a vacation, But nothing that we were interested in was available and it was never explained that we would have a hard time booking places. It was said that we are members and have priority in getting our vacation. If I knew this, I would have never bought the timeshare because websites such as ******* or ********* give us what we want with no headaches and the places are available. There was also issues getting on the website that even ******* ******* didn't know how to fix. You say you have a large member base but if I am paying for a luxury to get into hotels and resorts around the world, we should not have the headache to book something like we did the past couple months. I am very hopeful that corporate will respond to the cancelation with a full refund especially that we continue to pay for a service that is not responsive or being provided to us. Believe us that we would not like to cause any problems or any issues to anyone we'd just like to get a service that is worth our hard earned money and get what was so called provided to us. At this point we are disgusted and disappointed of the service provided with the bush kill group and would not like to continue in business with them any longer. This issue needs to come to a conclusion and to avoid further headaches between both parties at this moment.


Regards,

******** ******* and **** ******* 








Business Response: August 29, 2013

Dear ***. *******:
I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Please be advised that **. ******* and **. ******* purchased a points membership through our company. Reservations are made through the independent *** exchange system rather than through the “home resort” where the membership was purchased.

The *** exchange program is utilized by a large majority of our timeshare owners. *** allows access to numerous timeshare resorts throughout the world. As *** is an independent company, we cannot respond to any difficulties **. ******* and **. ******* may be experiencing in booking reservations through ***.

As such their complaint appears to be misdirected to our company and should be addressed to ***.

Nevertheless, it is my understanding that **. ******* and **. ******* are currently scheduled for a complimentary stay at our resort in September for a review of their membership. During their membership review they would meet with our representative who wrnld be happy to explain how best to utilize theirpoints membership and answer any questions or concerns they may have about their membership.

With respect to a cancellation of their account, it is the corporation’s position that **. ******* and **. ******* are subject to a valid timeshare contract and there is no basis for a cancellation of that contract as requested.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because this issue has nothing to do with ***. At the time of purchase, **. ******* specifically stated that all questions and bookings should be directed to him. It was never stated that *** is an independent company, he never said that it would take 3 months to be enrolled online and he never said that booking a vacation where we wanted meant it could be impossible. Why is it that I should have to pay for a time share that I can't have what I want? For that, I would have never signed up. If I knew I would be getting the run around and questions upon questions every time I call, I would have never signed up. I trusted bushkill in giving me a  service that I am paying for. *** has nothing to do with this issue because they still have my points and resorts. My problem is directed to Bush kill because for months, we have been getting the run around. We do not want to pay you for a service that we are not getting. You say we have a stay in September but again, I will repeat, we are not going to accept the stay. You want to give us free stays as part of signing up but that will not help the disappointment of the service I've been given at Bushkill. I would appreciate it if this case was closed immediately with a full refund of money that was never used for a vacation because Bush kill did not confirm many hidden details about our timeshare until months later. 


Regards,

******** ******* 

**** *******








Business Response: September 4, 2013
Dear ***. *******:

I am writing in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced matter.

Enclosed pleased find copies of the Retail Installment Contract and Acknowledgement of Representation that were signed by **. ******* and **. *******.

Please refer to section 13 of the Retail Installment Contract which specifically states that **** **** has no affiliation with *** and that they are an independent exchange company.

Furthermore, please refer to section 8 of the Acknowledgement of Representation which specifically states that all reservations including those for the home resort are to be made through ***

I would also like to note that **. ******* and **. ******* received a copy of the Public Offering Plan The Offering Plan provided them with all of the details of their membership plan.

Accordingly, the corporation’s position remains the same as stated in our previous correspondence to your office, dated August 29, 2013.

Very truly yours,


7/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WHEN THIS CONTRACT WAS ESTABLISHED I WAS TOLD THAT IF I WAS DEPLOYED THAT I WOULD BE ABL TO FORFEIT MY COMMITMENT AND BE RELEASED OF ALL OBLIGATIONS. I WOULD LOSE ANY MONEYS INVESTED BUT WOULD NOT HAVE MY CREDIT EFFECTED AND WOULD NOT BE DUE TO PAY ANY FURTHER AND WOULD LOSE OWNERSHIP AND ALL WOULD CANCEL ACCORDINGLY.

Desired Settlement: A LETTER STATING THAT THE CONTRACT IS NULL AND VOID. RELIEVED FROM ANY COLLECTIONS ACTIONS ETC. DUE TO MY DEPLOYMENT I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO USE OR BENEFIT FROM THE TIMESHARE. I WANT RELIEF OF THIS AND IT IS UNFAIR. MY FIRST DEPLOYMENT I ASK THEM OVER AND OVER TO PLEASE RELIEVE ME AND THEY WOULD NOT. I CONTINUED TO STRUGGLE AND PAID AND PAID BUT DECIDED TO CONTACT BBB BECAUSE I THINK THIS IS UNFAIR. I AM A SOLDIER THAT DEPLOYS OFTERN. I WASN;T AT TIME OF PURCHASE BUT CLEARLY ASKED WHEN I WAS BEING TALKED INTO PURCHASE. I WAS TOLD THEY SUPPORT SOLDIERS AND IF MY STATUS CHANGED I WOULD CLEARLY BE ABLE TO CANCEL MY OBLIGATION WITH NO PROBLEM.

Business Response: Please see the attached.

7/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY FIANCE ******* ******. HERE IS EVERYTHING THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON AND THIS IS ALSO THE LETTER THAT WE SENT TO THEM. THEY WILL NOT CANCEL IT. THE FIRST TIME THAT WE WENT UP WE HAD TO BE MOVED FROM ON VILLA TO THE NEXT BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE MUST HAVE BEEN SLEEPING IN THE VILLA. THE BLANKET WAS PULLED BACK AS IF SOMEONE JUST GOT OUT OF THE BED BECAUSE THE REST OF THE BED WAS SPREAD. THE GARBAGE WAS OVER FLOWING. THE SECOND TIME WE WENT SOME KITCHEN WARES WERE MISSING THEY HAD TO BRING THEM OVER, THE THIRD TIME THE WASHER MACHINE WAS NOT SPINNING SO IT WAS DIS FUNCTIONAL AND WE HAD TO TRANSFER ALL THE CLOTHES FROM ONE VILLA TO THE NEXT TO USE ANOTHER WASHER MACHINE. THE FOURTH TIME THE HEAT AND HOT WATER WAS NOT WORKING. THE FIFTH TIME THE CHAIN ON THE DOOR WAS POPPED AND THERE IS A HOLE IN THE FLOOR THAT THEY PUT CARPET OVER IT TO COVER IT INSTEAD OF FIXING IT. I AM NOW WORKING TO HAVE THE CITY COME OUT TO INSPECT. THE BEDS ARE DISGUSTING AND NASTY IN SOME VILLAS THE PULL OUT COUCHES ARE FALLING APART. IT IS THE WORST I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE. THESE PEOPLE ARE FORCING US TO STAY WITH THEM WHEN WE TRIED EVERYTHING TO GET OUT OF IT. *** THE SALES REP SAID TO US THE LAST TIME WE CAME UP AFTER WE COMPLAINED AND THEY ASKED TO SEE US BEFORE WE CANCEL FOR GOOD. ONCE WE TOLD HER ABOUT THE CHAIN AND THE HOLE IN THE FLOOR SHE SAID OH MY GOD THIS WAS NOT THE VILLA YOU GUYS WERE TO BE IN. SHE SAID THAT SHE WENT UP TO THE VILLA THAT WE WERE TO STAY IN AND INSPECTED IT HER SELF. HOW CAN SHE SAY SOMETHING LIKE THAT WHEN EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE A VILLA THAT IS NICE AND DECENT FOR THEM TO STAY IN WHEN THEY ARE SPENDING THAT TYPE OF MONEY. WE SHOULD NOT BE SUBJECTED TO WHERE WE SHOULD BE AND WHO SHOULD BE THERE. THAT IS DISCRIMINATION. WE HAVE SO MANY TEXT MESSAGES WITH THE SALES REP *** ASKING AND TELLING THAT WE WANT TO CANCEL BEFORE THE MEMBER SHIP EVEN STARTED. PLEASE READ BELOW THE LETTER THAT WE SENT TO THE ********...... LETTER TO **** ****: We signed up to become memebers of the ********. However we have been dissatisfied with the service almost everytime that we came up to visit. On every occassion there has been serveral problems with the villas and that is not what we signed up for. We have been trying to get in contact with someone at the ******** to cancel our memebership, however we have been given the run around. Everytime we were being transfered and brushed off. We have contacted *** in sales on several ocassions and didnt get anything accomplished with going through her as soon as we mentioned cancelling. We spoke to a ***** who was to have someone in finanace call us back because they were busy and again we got no call back. We called several times after that and just got the voice mail. I do not want to speak to a voice message service because when I signed up for this everyone was available. This is not right.We then spoke a **** who helped us as much as he could by getting us in contact with *** and that was after the call was transfered to him from security. He helped us because we were begging for help. *** spoke with us and said before we cancel let him bring us up to go over somethings with the share and again we never got to speak or see him. Also the villa that we were put in again was a slum. We are asking for you to cancel our memebership due to all if the stress and aggravation that the ******** has cause. We understand that it is pass a 7 day line but we have been trying everything to cancel and no one would help way before this started. I also heard from someone else that this is another game that the ******** played with them when they cancelled so now I am starting to believe whenever you say cancel ythe fernwood are set up and designed to give you this run around. I would hate to have to make this more public and complain to someone higher than the ********. I am begging for you to have sympothy by doing the right thing.

Desired Settlement: WE WANT THIS CONTRACT TO BE CANCELLED OUT OF OUR NAME AND HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE RIP OFFS AND THIS PLACE IS NOT SUITABLE.

Business Response: Attached please find our response.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********

3/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues