BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals

Phone: (304) 258-5300 64 S Green St, Berkeley Spgs, WV 25411 http://www.berkeleyspringscottagerentals.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 06, 2007 Business started: 08/25/2000 in WV Business started locally: 08/25/2000 Business incorporated: 08/25/2000 in WV
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Rebant, Vice President Ms. Diana Slough, President Mr. Ryan Rebant, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ryan Rebant, Operations Manager
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Rebant, Vice President
Principal: Ms. Diana Slough, President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
DSL Enterprises, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 64 S Green St

    Berkeley Spgs, WV 25411 (304) 258-5300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a cottage for my significant other's 30th birthday weekend and the weekend was a disaster because the cottage I rented was nothing like the advertisement. It was old and out dated to the point of being uncomfortable and dirty. The most frustrating and prominent deception was the "master suite" and it's "king" bed. It was not a master suite at all. The king bed was not a king it was two 30 year old + mattresses pushed together. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had staying anywhere and don't know how a company can stay in business renting out dirty, dingy cabins with furniture that is so old it is no longer effective at supporting a person let alone is terribly uncomfortable.

Desired Settlement: I want Berkeley springs to just take responsibility and apologize for ruining a once in a life time experience and putting me through all these disputes and refund my money ($308.00)

Business Response:

We are truly sorry the guest did not like the property.  This property was checked prior to the guest's arrival by myself and my wife.  If was found to be very clean and ready to enjoy for the weekend.  Please find the supporting documents attached from the multiple credit card disputes this guest has asked for. A copy of our rental agreement with the guest's electronic acceptance is also attached. The requests for chargeback have been denied multiple times by ******** *******.  I am truly sorry again that the guest did not have a good time.   Our company does not wish to provide a refund due to the conditions of the rental agreement not being met and the fact that the guests stayed the weekend.  Most guests do not stay if they find conditions to be as terrible as these conditions were made to be.  Hundreds of guests have stayed in this particular cabin over the past 9 years and none have *******ed these same issues.  In addition, this guest cancelled at the last minute in mid February 2012 and we gave them the benefit of the doubt and did not charge any kind of penalty.  Getting the cabin ready for the weekend that the guests did not stay costs approximately $45 in utilities and labor.  This includes employee time, and paying someone to drive to go shut it down after the cancellation.  But again, this was not reflected to the guest.  Our office has over $200 in labor,printing materials, and phone calls on this case in addition to the previously mentioned costs in the last minute cancellation.  We have made no money on this reservation and continue to lose money that occurred nearly a year ago. The owner of this property is a WWII vet and had made updates to this and two other cabins that he has on the program over the past 9 years.  This is despite his advanced age and the possibility of no financial payback due to the economy slowing down.  There are a total of 4 cabins in that area within walking distance of each other.  The point is that if we had known then there could have been a possibility of making the guests happy. We go out of our way to ensure guests are happy and come back to the area.  I would personally stay at this property myself with my family without question.  I swear this statement to be true and accurate in all accounts.  We take this very seriously.

Sincerely,

 **** ******

**************************************

###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:the respondent is not being honest as they claim.  I have been disputing this with ******** ******* for almost a year and ******** ******* has made it very clear that they are between a rock and a hard place because we are both their customers.  The bottom line is that this unit is not fit to be rented out with out disclosing that it is out of date to the point of being uncomfortable and additionally was not clean, and I have pictures that speak for themselves as well which I am happy to provide.  The entire unit was dusty and musty and had large amounts of animal hair on the floor in one room, obviously had not been cleaned recently.  Not to mention the large interior staircase that is made of high polished wood that I feel down because it is so slick and unsafe with no handrails or carpet or anything.  ALL of the beds were at least 20 + years old, I believe the "king" bed, that was really two twins pushed together was 30 + years old (I have pictures of this as well) and were so old and so worn that they did not expand all the way.  Yes, the mattresses we slept on for my significant other's 30th birthday celebration, that was supposed to be romantic, were older than we were and maybe 4 inches in depth and hurt our backs so badly neither one of us was able to actually sleep.  We went to the other bedroom that was advertised as having two twins instead of the master suite which was advertised as having a king bed (and just to speak to the character of Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals, when I brought this to their attention they changed their website and then lied about what was actually advertised at the time of my reservation to ******** *******) to see if those twin beds were any better and they were just as bad as the ones pushed together, so we decided to get up and have some warm milk on the couch together and we were not even able to sit on the couch together!  It is so old and worn that two people cannot sit on the couch at the same time.  You literally roll into the person next to you and end up being lumped together very uncomfortably, not actually sitting at all.  I have rented from Berkeley Springs in the past and always had positive experiences and was very upset and frustrated that anyone would consider this "cabin" (I call it a shed for junk, because that is all that is in it) acceptable to be rented out is laughable as I have stayed in $39.99/night motels that are nicer, cleaner and more comfortable.  If you are going to rent a property there are basic standards for when you have to replace the furniture to make sure that it is still comfortable and can be properly used.  Please note that I said nothing of modern or trendy or anything related to visual pleasure because that was not and is not my complaint.  In a nutshell, I paid $308 to stay in a 20/30 year old unsafe dirty dump that the most comfortable place to sleep was on the floor and that is a problem for me as it would be for anyone.  I hope the BBB can do what ******** ******* could not and hold Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals responsible for their subpar accommodations, their lies and deceit and their very poor customer service.  


Regards,

****** ****



Business Response:

I am sorry **. **** did not enjoy her stay at the Rocky Ridge II cabin. If a member of the BBB wishes to inspect the cabin as a impartial third party I would be happy to accommodate.  I wish *** **** no ill will and hope she has a good New Year.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:because it is not appropriate and fails to address the issues that have been raised.  I have pictures of the space as it was when I rented it and that is what is in question.  Please leave off the irrelevant and ridiculous commentary, such as the property owner being a veteran, etc.  That is very nice and I appreciate his service to our country, but that in no way negates Berkley Springs Cottage Rental's obligation to ensure that the properties they rent out are actually suitable to be rented out and meet the basic standards that are recognized across the board in the hospitality industry.  Please stop wasting everyone's time and just come to terms with the fact that the property you rented me was subpar and needs to be updated with furniture that is capable of supporting the weight of an average sized adult and then refund my money for the false advertisement and poor accommodations. 


Regards,

****** ****



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.