BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

The Cruise Web Inc.

Phone: (800) 377-9383 View Additional Phone Numbers 3901 Calverton Blvd Ste 350, Calverton, MD 20705 View Additional Email Addresses http://cruiseweb.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Cruise Web Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Cruise Web Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 11, 1999 Business started: 05/23/1994 in DC Business started locally: 05/23/1994 Business incorporated: 09/03/2004 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frans G. Hansen, President Ms. Julie Atkins, Client Services
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Julie Atkins, Client Services
Principal: Mr. Frans G. Hansen, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Products & Services

The Cruise Web Inc. offers the following product(s): Cruise Tours, Cruise Vacations, Land Vacations, River Cruises


Additional Locations

  • 3901 Calverton Blvd Ste 350

    Calverton, MD 20705 (240) 487-0155 (800) 377-9383

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (240) 487-0155(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our family of 7 booked a cruise from Cruise Web on April 7, 2013 and cancelled it on April 28, 2013 for a sailing date of June 22, 2013. The reason for cancellation is we tried to ignore the fact that ******** Cruise Line were having continuous issues. From the time I booked the cruise and cancelled the cruise ******** hit the media two more times. Once, for losing electricity for 12 minutes and the other for failing inspection. This frightened me quite a bit with traveling with my three children, so I decided I wanted to cancel the vacation. Since then the two cabins that we had reserved have been sold, there is no reason why we should be charged $250.00 pp to cancel. We never signed or verbally agreed to a cancellation contract stating that once this reservation is made you can't cancel it. I have written to ******** and they told me that since it was booked through a travel agent I need to dispute it with them. I attempted to contact Cruise Web through their general email last week but I haven't heard back from them. The other thing that is confusing to me is that we agreed to the travel insurance and that was never put on our booking information. I don't want to get anyone in trouble but I think it is absolutely horrible to try and charge us $1750.00 for cabins that other families are staying in. ******** cruises is not out any money and neither is the travel agency.

Desired Settlement: I just want this charge to go away and for us not to be responsible for this money.

Business Response:

The charge in question was all to ******** Cruise Line (***).  The Cruise Web has no funds from this transaction.  The cancellation penalty in question was imposed by ******** Cruise Line (***) and is standard for the booking category.  We asked *** to waive the penalty, but ******** Cruiselines declined.  At this point, the matter is entirely out of the control of The Cruise Web. 

Thank you

***** ******

Manager, Client Services

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason why I am rejecting the response from Cruise Web is I feel they failed to provide complete details when booking the cruise.  Like I said in my previous complaint insurance was supposed to be on the booking and never was and also we were never informed when booking the cruise that once you book the cruise today there are no refunds and the cancellation fee is very expensive even if the cruise line rebooks the cabins. 


Regards,

******** ********








Business Response:

We are working one more time with the client to approach the to the cruise line to see if there is any concession that ******** might be willing to make once the cruise in questions ends on June 29th.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The representative did not identify himself or the company he represented in his initial remarks, then insisted on knowing my first name and insinuated the he would not help me without it! Since I do not know this person or company, demanding anything, let alone my name, would be considered rude and inappropriate. In most cases such conduct would be violation of a companies business ethics standards.

Desired Settlement: This company should immediately correct and retrain it's employees on proper conduct and phone etiquette, so as not to disrupt other potential customers lives with this behavior.

Business Response:

With reference to ID # *******.

We received a request for more information submitted on line by a ** ****** on 3/1 at 10:22 a.m.; this person had taken the time to complete our request form found on our website www.cruiseweb.com requesting cruise information. Our cruise consultants respond to those leads via telephone. Soon after ** ****** submitted the request, our consultant called the client on the number included on the request and asked to speak with ** ******. The person who answered the phone said they were not ** ****** and our consultant said, “I received a request from a ** ****** for cruise information”.  The person on the phone responded, “I guess”. Our consultant then asked for the name of the person with whom they were speaking as a courtesy, since this was not ** ******. Our consultant then asked the person if they would like help with a cruise. The person said ‘no’ at which point our consultant ended the call.

This call was recorded, and the other party on the line was notified that the call was being recording.  Based on our listening to the call, no other conversation took place in which any of the behaviors this person describes took place.

As a company, we take our consultants through training and regularly monitor calls for training purposes.  We do not believe that our consultant was rude or in way expressed inappropriate behavior.  Again, this was not a cold call but our response to the client’s request for information.

Our goal at The Cruise Web is to provide all our clients and potential new ones with the very best in personal service and cruise consultation. Hence, why our consultant asked for this person’s name; so they could try to gain a rapport and therefore provide our very best service.  In addition, by asking the name, the consultant is also trying to determine if the client has worked with us in the past.

There was no motive or intention to do anything other than to help and assist ** ****** with a cruise request.  In investigating this notification, we also noticed the telephone number ** ****** provided also placed a call to our office latter the same day at 10:20 p.m. outside of our office hours.

As noted above, it appears that we did not connect with the person who submitted the cruise request and are not sure why the person who answered the call reacted in this manner.  We certainly did not force the individual’s name.   As a company, we talk with thousands of persons a year interested in cruises.  Our company has been in business for 19 years, and it is an extremely rare occasion for us to hear that one of our consultants was rude.   If the person on the phone with our consultant was any way offended, we offer our sincere apology.

***** ******

Manager, Client Services

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service