BBB Accredited Business since

Solar Tours, Inc.

Phone: (800) 388-7652 Fax: (202) 452-0905 View Additional Phone Numbers 5640 Nicholson Ln Ste 215, Rockville, MD 20852 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.solartours.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solar Tours, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solar Tours, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Solar Tours, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 1999 Business started: 10/10/1984 in MD Business started locally: 03/01/2012 Business incorporated 02/09/2012 in MD
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rafael A. Checa, CEO Ms. Marybell Montes, Assistant Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rafael A. Checa, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Marybell Montes, Assistant Manager
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
beachdestinations.com EuropeanDestinations.com LatinDestinations.com TripMasters.com
Additional Information

Travel Packages
A travel package is a prearranged vacation. Usually, these packages are assembled by an independent tour operator and are sold through travel agents. Purchasing a travel package has the advantage of convenience and, in many cases, value. Paying attention to the following can help you choose wisely:

Small Print or Asterisks: Make sure that asterisks or small print are not used as a means of altering the meaning of any advertising statement. Asterisks are commonly used to indicate restrictions -- required length of stay, particular days and/or times of departure or additional charges.
Availability: Make sure that the travel services are currently available at advertised prices. If the travel service at the advertised price is not immediately effective, availability should be stated in the advertisement.
Extra Charges: Any extra charges such as port taxes, service charges or single supplement charges should be clearly and conspicuously disclosed.
Features: If the brochure/advertisement states, for example, that you can play golf or that you can visit an amusement park nearby, it does not necessarily mean that these attractions will be included in the travel program for the advertised price. Make sure to look for the following:
What features are included in package price? Ask about:
airfare
hotel
transfers
sightseeing
gratuities
baggage handling
meals
car rental mileage
The total number of nights in each city and hotel, as well as the amount of free time you will have on the tour.
The daily itinerary/schedule of events.
The name of each hotel and the type (grade) of accommodations offered by each.
Is the tour escorted and to what degree?

Conditions: You should pay special attention to the contents of the "conditions" clause, usually found in fine print on the last page of the brochure:
How firm is the price? (i.e. does the tour operator have the right to increase the fare?)
What are the cancellation penalties? What is considered a valid reason for either you or the tour operator to cancel the trip?
What are the conditions under which you can receive a full refund?
Abbreviations: Common abbreviations used in travel ads and brochures include:
AP (American plan) -- hotel rate includes bed, breakfast, lunch and dinner.
CP (continental plan) -- hotel rate includes bed and continental breakfast.
FIT (frequent independent travel) -- a prepaid, custom-designed travel package with many individualized arrangements.
GIT (group inclusive tour) -- a pre-paid tour of specific group size, components and value.
single supp. (single supplement) -- extra charge for a single accommodations tour.
pp. dbl. occ. (per person double occupancy) -- price per person for a room to be shared.
OW (one way) -- one way airfare.
RT (round trip) -- round trip airfare.
dep. (departure date) -- date of departure.
Quick Check List
Before finalizing any vacation or travel plans, you should do the following:

Deal with a business you know or have checked out with the BBB or other reliable groups like those listed on the back of this brochure;
Verify everything before you pay.Be cautious about prepaying for multiple years. Timeshares, campgrounds or travel clubs may offer to sell membership vacation accommodations for five years or more. Take into account your physical and financial health, a company’s solvency, potential rising membership and maintenance fees, and the often poor appreciat ion of such investments;
Watch out for instant travel offers. If a company offers special identification that they say will guarantee discounted travel rates, be wary. No company has control over discounts. Only suppliers of travel such as cruiselines, hotel companies, car rental companies, or airlines can decide to extend such professional courtesies.
Vacation Scam "Red Flags"
Be alert to the following "redflags" that may signal fraudulent vacation promotions:

Salespersons who use high pressured tactics such as:
demanding your credit card number before explaining all the conditions of an offer;
requesting that you identify yourself by your credit card number (a sign of possible misuse of your card);
or refusing to provide all the information about the total cost of a vacation or travel offer.
Post card or fax promotional mailings that require you to pay a fee or to purchase membership in a travel club, in order to claim a vacation or travel prize.
Low rates on air travel that require you to purchase an additional ticket for a companion.
Offers by companies attempting to subvert U.S. postal authorities by requiring a messenger or courier to deliver the travel package to you in exchange for your payment.
How to Protect Yourself
To avoid falling prey to a vacation or travel scam, heed the following advice:

Be wary of “great deals” and low- priced offers.
Be suspicious of companies that require you to wait at least 60 days before taking your trip.
Ask detailed questions.
Get all information in writing before you agree to buy.
Don’t give your credit card number or bank information over the phone unless you have confidence in the company you are dealing with.
Don’t send money by messenger or overnight mail.
Check out a company with the Better Business Bureau before you buy.
Don’t be pressured into buying.
If in doubt, say “NO.”
Outside Contact
To learn more about vacation and travel issues, contact the following:

Your Local Better Business Bureau
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF TRAVEL AGENTS at 703.739.8739
THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION at 202.382.4357
NATIONAL TOUR ASSOCIATION at 606.226.4444
U.S. TOUR OPERATORS ASSOCIATION at 212.599.6599
* If you find any of the web sites listed above to be inactive, please contact the respective organization. Also, be aware that the above phone numbers may be subject to change without notice.





Additional Locations

  • 5640 Nicholson Ln Ste 215

    Rockville, MD 20852 (202) 349-7506 (202) 349-7507 (202) 861-5864 (800) 430-0484 (866) 645-2846 (877) 267-2247 (800) 388-7652

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2015 Delivery Issues
3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A scheduled tour was booked to Macchu Picchu including flights to Ft. Lauderdale, flight out to Lima, hotels, transfers, etc. When the initial flight was cancelled by *** ****, the entire first half of the itinerary had to be rebooked with new flights and hotels, minus one night in Cusco. over the span of 10-11 hours, the company could not book a different train to, and admission for, Macchu Picchu, and that was done by us, the consumer. The first hotel night lost they said was nonrefundable, then made us pay out of pocket for the new hotel for the first night, they said due to short notice. We were never refunded a portion of our initial payment amount, which included the train tickets that were cancelled, the hotel night we didn't use, or reimburse us for the hotel we had to purchase in addition to the initial payment.

Desired Settlement: $300

Consumer Response: From: ***** ****** <***********************>
Date: Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 7:22 PM
Subject: ID ********
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


After reviewing the credit card statements for the charges associated with my complaint, the train tickets were $420 and the hotel was $158, so the disputed amount and request for refund should be $600.

******** ******* ****
********** ** ******** ** *******
********** ** ************ *******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

The client booked the packaged with us on 3/20/2014 with travel dates of 05/17-05/23 2014. Which they agreed to the terms and conditions(http://www.***********.com/Terms.aspx) at time of booking and they also declined twice Travel Insurance(http://www.***********.com/insurance.aspx).

All services were confirmed as requested and vouchers were sent out on 4/4/2014 1:01:41 PM. 

Please note that it is clearly stated on our Terms and Conditions the following:

We are not responsible for any missed connections that the airlines might cause. We are not liable for cancelled flights, flights that are missed or flights with missed connections due to any airline scheduled changes. We are not able to compensate for hotel overnights if such may occur due to an airline schedule change.

Changes to a reservation is permitted up to 10 days prior to departure after this all services become non-refundable.  Train tickets are non-refundable once issued and confirmed.  Hotel have strict penalties and no refunds will be processed (No-Show)due to trip interruptions.

Reason for Trip Interruption:

The client's flight was cancelled due to airline mechanical problems; which we do not have any control over.

Our company sent an urgent message to the supplier in Peru so they can adjust their schedule due to the new flight scheduled provided by the client.

We did our best to re-accommodate under the extreme circumstance and the little time frame we had to work with.

Transfer service were re-booked at no additional cost to the client.  5/18 Original date 5/17

***** Hotel scheduled to arrive on 5/17 is non-refundable due to No-Show hotel policy.

Rail pass modification of dates and/or times change fee is 90.00 per person schedule date 5/19 @ 745AM.

All other services were adjusted in order to meets the clients new flight information. 

Unfortunately no refunds were provided from our suppliers since services are non-refundable.  For this reason we are not able to refund the client. 

This is why we highly recommend travel insurance so that clients can have the extra travel protection for these unforeseen circumstances.  We did our best to assist the client due to the circumstances presented; which were completely out of our control.

Kind Regards,

Marybell M*****

Assistant Manager 

6/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from Solar Tours after i came back from my trip on April 21st -May 1, 2014 stating I owe $190.55. I called them tonight and ask why i was charged and the customer service could not give me an answer and states that a supervisor would have to call me back. I stated I was not going to pay the bill and would contact my bank and write to the BBB. I also informed the rep that I have my receipt of PAID IN FULL AND $0 balance.

Desired Settlement: Fix my bill and apology. I have all email and receipt of this company.

Business Response:

DEar BBB,

 

This client does not owe this amount. There was a data entry problem we encountered and have since corrected the issue.

 

REgards,

******** ******

 

Solar Tours

 

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked for our trip to Costa Rica (Dec 2013) through *****************.com which is owned by Solar Tours Inc. We were confirmed reservation for 2 days for 7 people in ****** ******* Resort and Spa for 2 days (Dec 29 - Dec 31) for Superior Rooms. After payment from us, we got confirmation for this reservation along with the vouchers for the 2 day stay. Solar Tours seem to have booked the hotel only for one day even though we have paid for 2 days. We checked into the hotel and after one day, our things were removed from our rooms and we were left with no where to go. We lost a significant amount due to this (about $100 per person -we were a party of 7). We contacted Solar Tours in Costa Rica as well as when we got back from the United States and after innumerable amount of calls and emails, they have not compensated us for the loss we suffered during our vacation because of their error. The service supervisor **** *******, though very polite, has not been able to help us as he keeps saying that he need to get approval from Management.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be compensated for the loss we occurred due to their error in booking. Although we have paid for 2 days, they had only booked for 1 day at the Hotel.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

Please receive our answer in regards the complaint ID of ******* received by email on February 11th 2014. **. ********'s complaint was previously received on Tue 1/7/2014 after a phone conversation we held in reference to the problems he experienced during his vacations in Costa Rica. His travel package was for 7 people, including one night of stay in *** **** at the ******* ******** *** Lodge and two nights stay in ****** at the ****** ******* Resort and Spa confirmed with a total package price of $788.84. It is important mention that the original request for hotel in ****** was not available, therefore we sent him a quote with an alternative with the service priced as previously detailed.

The problem with this package was that due to an error from our fulfillment department, only two nights were confirmed by the hotel supplier, one for the hotel in *** **** and another for the hotel night in ******. The stay in ****** was wrongly confirmed, therefore, the price we confirmed was only for one night instead of two nights in ******. The clients were already in their destination when the problem was detected and our supplier brought the issue to our attention. The hotel ****** ******* Resort and Spa was capable to accommodate the 7 guests in some rooms that they had available, but not with the same category of the room booked for the first night. The hotel provided a complimentary late check out and fruits with chocolates due to the inconvenience they experienced.

Solar Tours by the other side has absorbed the cost of the additional night in order to avoid any additional charges processed towards to our client's credit card and to correct the problem caused. The additional cost absorbed was of US$330.05 in concept of one additional night on standard rooms.

 

We truly regret the inconveniences that this problem has generated to **. ******** and his family, but in order to correct the situation with his booking; the extra cost for accommodations was absorbed, as well as the compensation we offered for a credit discount for $100.00 valid for a year. Unfortunately, **. ******** considered that this is not enough, but we are not in position to provide more refunds than the compensation offered.

We hope that our answer helps to clarify the this case, however, if further assistance is required or there are any questions please let us know at *************************************

Sincerely,

**** ******* | CS Supervisor

SOLARTOURS.COM

5640 Nicholson Lane, Suite 215

Rockville, MD 20852

Phone: ###-###-#### Ext ***

Fax: ###-###-####

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
The main issue was that due to the time duration when we were kicked out of our rooms and working on a resolution, we lost about 5 hours in the evening. We had booked and paid for a spa at a nearby location which we were not able use as we were anxiously waiting on our fate for the night. It was traumatic to see someone else in our rooms and all of our luggage in big trash bags somewhere. It was too late to go after we got the new rooms and so lost our money. 
 
Secondly, the rooms which were given accommodations for the 2nd night was a very small room with rickety beds - very different than the superior rooms we had booked and paid for. The partner company which we were in contact with in Costa Rica kept saying that they will compensate us for all of this when we get back to the US.
 
We did not get any complimentary fruits with chocolates from the hotel but they did allow us to have a late checkout (1 hour more) since it was so late before we got our rooms. We in turn, because of their hospitality, booked a zip lining excursion through them in the morning before we left.
 
I understand that Solar Tours incurred this additional cost, but it was not our fault that this happened. All we want is proper compensation for the traumatic experience we went through - left in the lurch without any accommodations in a new country, sitting in a lobby of a hotel for hours not knowing what is going to happen as there were no other rooms in ANY hotels in the are for that night and missing out on the main highlight of this area - the Spa and hot springs.
 
The credit they offered ($100 total) is for a discount towards another travel booked through them, that too to be used within this year! How can we in our right minds take this offer.
 
We were trying to avoid the legal route until we see what happens here, but we might have to go that route for proper resolution of this. 


Regards,

****** ********








3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called a few times and talk to different customer service agents at Solar Tours--no support on resolving a name correction--on an Airline ticket. I talked to **** then **** and these representatives would not correct the name on my airline ticket. I have ********* ******** ******* on my ticket but I need the correction of: ********* ******** *******-********, but they refuse to help. I understand the Terms & Condition for a passenger change but this is NOT a passenger change, instead this is the same passenger. Finally, *****, at Sour Tours, informs me that I have to pay $950 to get this corrected! I can get a refund of $500 in 2 months but this will not cover the $950 ticket correction. You see--I paid $3096 already--for this travel package. Booking #******. Air Reser. code: ****** Please, help me to resolve this matter! Thank you! *********

Desired Settlement: Solar Tours should either fix the name on the Airline tickets or issue new tickets with the name correction.

Consumer Response:

Info
9:37 AM (21 minutes ago)
tome
 
 
 
 
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: *** ********* <******************>
Date: Sat, Feb 1, 2014 at 4:42 PM
Subject: Re: Your complaint has been received
To: "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org>


Please attach this email to my case and complaint:  **** ********* vs. Solar Tours, Inc.
 
 
Today at 4:31 PM
Dear *********, at Solar Tours or European Destinations,
 
The 2nd Attachment of Terms & Conditions has a paragraph that you over-looked about the penalty of a name revision.  This revision is $25 and NOT a fee of $975 that you're trying to get from me.  I already paid the cost of $3096.
I have informed an outside agencies to investigate the fair & balance practice of your revision fee and your companies Terms & Conditions for a name revision.  You will be hearing from them, soon.
Sincerely,
**** *********
 
On Friday, January 31, 2014 12:30 PM, "info@mybbb.org" <info@mybbb.org> wrote:
We have received your complaint and we are currently reviewing it.
Thank you. 

This is a post-only mailing. Replies to this message are not monitored or answered. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at ###-###-####

BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania (Washington, DC) 1411 K St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005-3404 Phone: ###-###-#### Fax: ###-###-#### Email: info@mybbb.org Web: www.mybbb.org
Confidentiality Notice: This e-mail message (including any attachments or embedded documents) is intended for the exclusive and confidential use of the individual or entity to which this message is addressed, and unless otherwise expressly indicated, is confidential and privileged information of BBB. Any dissemination, distribution or copying of the enclosed material is prohibited.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

We were able to change the name for the following booking. This required special assistance from our sales representative. The cient needed to understand even if this is the same passenger these changes are NOT FREE of charge and we were trying to get a waiver that can sometimes take time. This was not a case of the agents no helping this client. This has been resolved and name has been changed,

 

 

Best regards,

******** ******

Solar Tours

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: European Destinations promised to contact the airline and/or refund the money for our tickets and has done nothing. No call, no email, no text. They were to do this on 8/26/2012 from the previous complaint and have done nothing. Left us stranded in the airport and would not help.

Desired Settlement: Want my refund that I am entitled to for 3 tickets from London to Paris and a one hotel night in Paris

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We were in contact with this passenger back in August of this year. Please see the following correspondence. The airline is not granting a refund as the client was unable to contact them before departure to cancel due to the daughter being sick. They also did not purchase the recommended insurance plan we offer that would have covered them for the penalties. We will send a follow up with the airline to see if taxes can be refunded. However, this is not guaranteed. It's unfortunate that these passengers were not able to contact the airline prior to departure time to cancel or change. This still would result in penalties to be paid. We will try and reopen this case with the airline to see if anything further can be done. 

From: ********@************ [mailto:********@************]
Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2013 10:08 AM
To: ********************************
Subject: Re: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

I had no way of "checking" in 24 hours in advance.  As you know, I did not have my cell phone and my husband was unable to "check" in with his even though he tried many times, the airline website would not let us.  It is not our fault that our child was sick.  I have absolutely no control over that.  If you had a chronically ill child, you would understand.  I could not put a child on the subway who was vomiting so we could be sure to get there three hours in advance.  You really have no compassion at all.  Your company should have stepped up to the plate and got us on one of the next two flights that were leaving that evening.  As I've stated before, I told your agent, *********, I would have paid the difference in the ticket price from what you paid for the tickets and the new price.  But you would not do that, you wanted me to purchase the tickets all over again for nearly $1000 dollars, and that's not right.  Your highlighted information below states that tickets are not refundable in case of a NO SHOW.  We were NOT a no show, WE WERE THERE at the airport.  You also did not send the information I requested regarding where to send certified correspondence.  Should I send it to the Maryland address?

 

Sincerely,

**. ***** ******

From: "********************************" <********************************>
To: ********@************
Sent: Wednesday, August 21, 2013 11:43 AM
Subject: RE: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

Dear *****,

 

Thank you for writing.

We would like to take a moment to explain about airline process.

We cannot refund monies for passenger’s late arrival at check-in. Passengers are responsible to arrive at airport within a timely manner and must check itineraries at least 24 hours prior to departure.

You also must understand that purchasing tickets on date of departure will increase and the price will not be the same as the original purchased. Please find below our terms and conditions which you agreed on and airline rules:

 

“We will not refund any money due to passengers arriving late for check-in. Passengers should plan to check in 3 hours prior international flight times and 2 hours prior regional flight times.
Passengers are responsible for verifying their air itineraries with the airline 24 hours before departure. We will not refund moneys for missed flights due to airline schedule changes.”

 

  CANCELLATIONS                                                                

                                                                                

    BEFORE DEPARTURE                                                           

      CHARGE USD 250.00.                                                       

      CHILD/INFANT DISCOUNTS APPLY.                                            

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.                                                  

                                                                               

    AFTER DEPARTURE                                                             

      TICKET IS NON-REFUNDABLE.                                                

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.

  ANY TIME                                                                   

      TICKET IS NON-REFUNDABLE IN CASE OF NO-SHOW.                             

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.

 

However, please note that we will try to get a refund on the tax amount of these tickets. Since they are non-refundable, this is the only thing we are able to request them to process at this time. This process can take 6-8 weeks to be resolved, we would appreciate your patience in advance.

 

Best regards,

EuropeanDestinations.com

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
You did not contact the airline as stated.  They have no record of it.  They said your company was responsible to refund our ticket.  You have done nothing to assist us and we believe your company is fraudulent, took our money, and did not show good faith toward a consumer who gave you over 5000 dollars.

Sincerely,

***** ******








Business Response:

Dear BBB,

The client is not entitled to a refund for the following reasons:

1. She did not cancel the NON refundable tickets BEFORE departure time.

2. She did not purchase travel insurance that would protect her on these non refundable tickets due to her daughters illness.

Denial from airline Below:

-----Original Message-----
From: ********************* [mailto:*********************] On Behalf Of *****************
Sent: Friday, August 23, 2013 1:39 PM
To: ***** ****; *****************; ******************
Cc: ***********************
Subject: IB - Partial Refund Request - Tks *************** *************** ************** Solar Tours Bk# ****** / ******

Hi *****,

If we check the booking passenger were Noshow for BA 322 on 13Aug, hence we won't be able to provide any waiver on this. Even after being a noshow they were allowed to use the return flight as a goodwill gesture because as per the rules tickets cannot be used out of sequence.

Kindly note no waiver can be given for this.

Regards

Iberia

__________________

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  I had no possible way to cancel the tickets by contacting you as our cell phones did not work in Europe even though we had made arrangements with phone company before we left

2.  We paid you over five thousands  dollars and just wanted you to show good faith by booking us on the next flight 

3.  We were more than willing to pay whatever the difference was in the ticket

3.  We expected your company to show some compassion to a child dying of a brain tumor for God sake!

Regards,

***** ******








10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MARYLAND -- I booked air and hotel to Ecuador/Galapagos. I provided all the information and was informed they needed additional information. I provided the information immediately because of time constraints. My airfare was confirmed as I was informed. I called Sept. 30,2013 to insure my seat assignment and was advised by ****** that all was good. Therefore, I waited to hear from agency with the vouchers etc. Since I did not hear from them I called Oct. 2, 2013 to be informed that my flight had been CANCELED!! I never had received notification of this. I was leaving in 3 days.. We spent time going back and forth to no avail. Apparently, the air had been confirmed and they were waiting to confirm hotel. In the meantime, ******* canceled my reservations. What they were offering me had a layover of 6 hours and an early departure. Today, I was informed that they could book me on a flight and ground package for $10,000 for two passengers. This was more than I originally booked . SO I HAVE NO FLIGHT NOR PACKAGE.. IT WAS NOT DIFFICULT FOR them to say good-bye.. your are not going anywhere! What happen to customer service? Had the worked on this immediately, I would have had a flight . I informed ****, agent that the first order of business should have been to insure that I had a flight for Saturday, However, the concern with them is that they do not want to incur the incidentals that this cancellation has provoked (in booking another flight). The customer needs to be assured that a flight had been booked especially given the time constraints and not be concerned with paying for this huge mistake which was not my fault. If they agency could not handle bookings in a short period of time than they should not take the bookings etc. In addition, ***** *********** supposedly has an office in Maryland. However, when you telephone them you are speaking to someone in the ***********. When asked if you can speak to someone in MD they deny you the name of the person in charge. Another reason not to do business with them because of outsourcing communicating with their agents effectively is a problem. Again, I have no flight and was just informed that the land portion was just cancelled as well. I may not be taking this trip this Saturday, but I will make sure that FOLKS do not use this COMPANY!!! They refer to the terms and conditions but they results are that they cannot handle immediate bookings than they should not. Between the time I booked online and travel was 1 week. They say 3-5 business days is what they need.. The fact that I had not received a telephone call nor email is not good customer service since I only have 2 days before flight.. Now all of a sudden as a result of their omission I will not be taking this trip as planned.

Desired Settlement: Reinstate my trip with air and land as it's original rate.. or pay the additional fee on the designated flight. I have all the documents that reflect they were at fault.

Business Response:

Dear ******* *******,

Before focus our clarification to the client complaint, the first point to stress out is that our company policy respond to the Terms and Conditions published online for public knowledge and before any request is submitted, our clients must have read and accept that they agree with the regulation established to acquiring  our services.

It is clearly specified during the request process and in our Terms and Conditions that all Vacation Packages require from us to request confirmation of the components or services selected for an itinerary. It is also stated that requests are quotes according to price of services. Spaces are not held (not confirmed) at the time of request and prices are subject to change based on availability. The Payment Information is required to request confirmation of services the procedure generally takes from 2 - 5 working days. We inform that the Credit Card will not be charged until all services are confirmed exactly as requested/quoted and If that is not the case, we must be able to contact our customers with an alternative and get an approval in writing.

In this case, the client's request was placed on Friday, September 27th 2013 at 11:26 AM EST through ********************** the direct consumer division of Solar Tours Inc. The service request consisted of confirming a vacation package with airlines, cruise and hotel services for 12 days, departing on October 6th and returning on October 18th. The original cabin requested for the cruise was not available, therefore our fulfillment department informed about a change of service and the new price informing that the services were not on hold. The client accepted the change and we continued with the booking procedure. One of our agents provided help assigning seats through airline reservations on Monday's morning, September  30th; however the fares are not guaranteed until the whole package is finalized and the full payment is processed. The reservation was cancelled during the afternoon or September 30th by airline's robots, and the rest of the services were not confirmed yet. At the time the customer contacted us to do a follow up, this issue was notified and our supervisors facilitated several alternatives, but none of the options seemed meet this client's expectation.

On Wednesday afternoon, October 2nd all other services were confirmed, and since that moment five different alternatives were offered on a range of prices between $6,970.40 to $10,479.52, however none of the options were accepted. All the options were subject to cancellation/change due to lack of payments and time constraints, therefore while the client was not decided, the services for the package were cancelled and fees for cancellations were absorbed by Latin Destinations. (No fee was charged to the client and there were previous notifications that the package was subject to availability and cancellation due to lack of payment)

We tried our best to assist this client, but we could not recover the original reservation since the original flights were unavailable and spaces were sold out, but we did not left the passenger without flight options since several alternatives were facilitated and none of them were accepted. (Please find attached files that support this letter)

We hope that this information serve to elucidate this inconvenience and we thank you once more time the opportunity to elucidate this matter.

Sincerely,

 

**** ******* on behalf of ******* ******

Solar tours - ***** ************

5640 Nicholson Lane, Suite 215

Rockville, MD 20852

Phone: ###-###-####

Fax:###-###-####

 

 

10/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: European Destinations is NOT a reputable or customer service friendly site. I have basically been robbed of $2500. I recently booked my 4th trip in 3 years with European Destinations. There was an error with my airline ticket, so I was told by European Destinations that my only course of action was to cancel the two tickets that were booked and repurchase two new tickets. I was told that I would get a refund on the tickets that were canceled minus a cancellation fee of $275 per ticket. I was not happy about the cancellation fee and was told that I could put in a request to wave the cancellation fee. Then the day before I left for my trip after calling multiple times and getting the run around was told that not only was not getting reimbursed for the cancellation fee but I was not getting a refund on the balance of the canceled tickets. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told I would get a call back from one but it’s now two weeks later and I have yet to hear a word from anyone at European Destinations. I called multiple times to speak with someone and still have been told I would get a call back. You would think after my loyalty to the company having used them 4 times in 3 years and after referring countless people to their site that they would have taken more care and consideration in my situation but obviously they do not care about keeping customers. I think that it is a poor business practice to convey a message to a consumer and then go back on your word and not even have the decency to return calls or explain what went wrong in the transaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the courtesy of a European Destinations Supervisor to call me and explain why they are not honoring thieir original agreement of a refund. Ultimately, I would like to have the refund credited to the accounts that were charged.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We are sorry to hear our client is not happy with our responses. There is a procedure that we MUST follow when exchanging or changing airline tickets. Typically the airline takes about 4-6 weeks to refund any unused tickets. This is all noted in the terms. The client gave us the WRONG name on her passport causing the changes in tickets. The refund is currently being processed. They should expect the refund to appear on their card within the next 5-7 business days.

Best regards

******** ******

Solar Tours

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid up front and in full for our vacation. The part of our vacation that included a flight from London to Paris was closed by the time we arrived at the airport because we had a sick child that was vomiting. We arrived 45 minutes prior to departure and were not allowed to get on the plane. When I called the company to get rebooked on one of the next two flights leaving London, they would only do it if I paid even more than the asking price for the new tickets. I said I would pay the difference if the tickets cost more (because I had already paid for the flight) but they refused. They wanted me to pay nearly $1000 for the new tickets which was more than what the ticket agent said they cost. We had to take our sick child back in the subway with all our luggage, find a bus terminal, only to find out there was one bus leaving that night but it was full. My husband went to every hotel he could find but they were booked solid and we were left in a freezing bus terminal overnight being accosted for money by people that were living in the terminal. This was all in addition to having a very sick child. The company refused to help us and tried to extort even more money out of us. The vacation was purchased as a package deal and I asked how much those tickets were out of the total price. They refused to tell me. I got a manager on the phone and she refused to tell me or help. They told me their company was based out of Maryland but I believe the company is really based out of the Philippines. Our dream vacation turned into our worst nightmare. I have contacted the company but they told me their policy is, if you are a NO SHOW at the airport, you will not get a refund. We were not a no show, we were there at the airport but were not allowed to board because it was 45 minutes in advance which not soon enough. I suspect that this company has done similar things to others. I searched the internet and found other nightmare scenarios from this company.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund for the tickets that we already paid for. Because the company will not tell me the exact amount we already paid for that portion of our trip (3 airline tickets from London to Paris) I can only estimate that it was $1000. We want a refund for the cost of the bus tickets because they would not allow us to pay the difference for the new airline tickets (3 tickets from London to Paris - which took an entire day instead of an hour flight) It cost $214. We have a receipt. We want a refund for cost of the subway (3 tickets from airport to bus station) - $12 We would like a refund for the cost our prepaid museum tickets (3 tickets to Versaille) - $80 due to missed day in Paris. We have a receipt.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

WE have adressed this matter with our client and it is still under claim with the airlines. In fact the claim was just reported to us so we could file with airline which could take 6-8 weeks. Please see the correspondence with our client so you are aware why we cannot just refund thier ticket. Please note this client also did not purchase travel insurance.

As of now this claim has been filed and we are awaiting a repsonse from the airline about refunding the taxes on these tickets. The tax amount is a large portion of the tickets so we hope they will refund this amount. Otherwise there is not much we can do as the client did not follow the correct procedures.

Please see all correspondance with client below.

REgards,

******** ******

Solar Tours

From: European Destinations [mailto:*******************************]
Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2013 12:01 PM
To: *********************
Cc: ******************************
Subject: RE: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

Hello *****,

Please understand that these are not our rules but the airlines rules on the ticket that was purchased. Being late to the airport is considered a “no show” by airline standards. This is their terminology for being late or not showing up prior to gates closing. We did explain below that we will file a claim with the airline for anything that can be refunded. We have sent this off to them  for review.

Remember that insurance was NOT purchased on this package and we highly recommend this to all of our clients for things that are beyond our control. If your child is chronically ill then even more reason to purchase the insurance offered.

Please note that we are trying to get what we can back for you but must follow the airlines procedures. If the airlines had let us changed the tickets for a penalty only then of course we would have done so. This was not the case as the time of departure had passed making the tickets have NO VALUE.

If you would like to send us something then the Maryland address is the correct address to send any mail to. However, we will be responding to this by explaining the penalties and the procedure we are in the process of starting with the airline.

Regards,

Europeandestinations.com

From: ********************* [mailto:*********************]
Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2013 10:08 AM
To: ********************************
Subject: Re: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

 

I had no way of "checking" in 24 hours in advance.  As you know, I did not have my cell phone and my husband was unable to "check" in with his even though he tried many times, the airline website would not let us.  It is not our fault that our child was sick.  I have absolutely no control over that.  If you had a chronically ill child, you would understand.  I could not put a child on the subway who was vomiting so we could be sure to get there three hours in advance.  You really have no compassion at all.  Your company should have stepped up to the plate and got us on one of the next two flights that were leaving that evening.  As I've stated before, I told your agent, *********, I would have paid the difference in the ticket price from what you paid for the tickets and the new price.  But you would not do that, you wanted me to purchase the tickets all over again for nearly $1000 dollars, and that's not right.  Your highlighted information below states that tickets are not refundable in case of a NO SHOW.  We were NOT a no show, WE WERE THERE at the airport.  You also did not send the information I requested regarding where to send certified correspondence.  Should I send it to the Maryland address?

 

Sincerely,

**. ***** ******

From: "********************************" <********************************>
To: *********************
Sent: Wednesday, August 21, 2013 11:43 AM
Subject: RE: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

Dear *****,

 

Thank you for writing.

We would like to take a moment to explain about airline process.

We cannot refund monies for passenger’s late arrival at check-in. Passengers are responsible to arrive at airport within a timely manner and must check itineraries at least 24 hours prior to departure.

You also must understand that purchasing tickets on date of departure will increase and the price will not be the same as the original purchased. Please find below our terms and conditions which you agreed on and airline rules:

 

“We will not refund any money due to passengers arriving late for check-in. Passengers should plan to check in 3 hours prior international flight times and 2 hours prior regional flight times.
Passengers are responsible for verifying their air itineraries with the airline 24 hours before departure. We will not refund moneys for missed flights due to airline schedule changes.”

 

  CANCELLATIONS                                                                

                                                                                

    BEFORE DEPARTURE                                                           

      CHARGE USD 250.00.                                                       

      CHILD/INFANT DISCOUNTS APPLY.                                            

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.                                                  

                                                                               

    AFTER DEPARTURE                                                             

      TICKET IS NON-REFUNDABLE.                                                

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.

  ANY TIME                                                                   

      TICKET IS NON-REFUNDABLE IN CASE OF NO-SHOW.                             

         NOTE -                                                                

          WAIVED FOR DEATH OF A PASSENGERS FAMILY MEMBER UP                    

          TO FIRST DEGREE RELATIONS OR FOR PASSENGERS                          

          HOSPITAL ADMISSION.

 

However, please note that we will try to get a refund on the tax amount of these tickets. Since they are non-refundable, this is the only thing we are able to request them to process at this time. This process can take 6-8 weeks to be resolved, we would appreciate your patience in advance.

 

Best regards,

EuropeanDestinations.com

 

 

From: ********************* [mailto:*********************]
Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 9:31 AM
To: ********************************
Subject: Re: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

 

Dear *********,

 

If you do not at least refund me the price of 3 tickets from London to Paris, I have no choice but to sue your company and contact the media and blogs about the way my family was treated.  You left us stranded in the airport with a sick child and no way to get to our destination.  We had already paid for the tickets and you would not help us at all.  You have no idea what we went through with our sick child and I promise you that if we are not refunded for the tickets we will have no choice but to sue for severe emotional distress.  You put our lives in danger because we had to first find and then stay at a bus station overnight and were accosted by people who appeared to be living there.  It was not safe and we were fearful for our lives.  My child became even sicker because of your lack of compassion and responsibility to get us on another plane.  I agreed to pay the difference for the price of the new tickets but even that wasn't good enough for you.  You wanted me to pay even more than the full price that the tickets were being offered at even though I already paid for the tickets up front and in full.

 

Please send all your contact information so if it comes to a lawsuit, my lawyer can begin proceedings.

 

Sincerely,

**. ***** ****** 

 

 

 

 

From: "********************************" <********************************>
To: *********************
Sent: Tuesday, August 13, 2013 7:47 PM
Subject: Bkg No. ****** - Regarding your Onward tickets

 

Dear *****,

 

We are very sorry about your missed flight in London, but please be aware that we are monitoring your onward ticket on Aug 17. We called your hotel in Paris and advised them to keep your room and wait until you check-in because of the flight interruption. We are avoiding your Paris – Newark ticket to be forfeited, so please try to contact us and let us know if you are able to board for the today.  Please reply to this e-mail if you were able to receive this message and we will try to contact you in your hotel.

 

Please keep in mind that you are not being neglected, we are trying to do our best to help you in the best possible that we can.

 

 

Yours Truly,

 

********* ************

Ext. ***

 

 

v

 

5/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We planned a vacation with Solar Tours through ************************. The company booked 2 hotels (one in Paris and one in Rome) and airfare for the trip. We had to reschedule the vacation due to our own scheduling changes. As expected, there were cancellation charges with the airlines which was no problem. We contacted our hotels and they confirmed there would be no charge for the change since we notified them of the change in plenty of time. When we contacted Solar Tours, we were told they would reschedule everything for us. Solar Tours charged us for the airline change fee but claimed that our hotel in Rome was non-refundable so we'd have to pay the whole room fee again. (Our Paris hotel was changed with no fee). I contacted the Rome Hotel again and they confirmed there was no charge for the reschedule. I informed Solar Tours about this but they refused to refund our money for the Rome Hotel. They said we booked it as non-refundable. Nothing in our receipt or tour package said the hotel was non-refundable. Plus the hotel wasn't claiming it as non-refundable. We were charged twice for the same hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, they told us we had 2 reservations: the one we originally made that was moved and the new one Solar Tours booked. They said they were only going to charge one. I have been in contact with Solar Tours about this but they won't take action. I asked to speak with a supervisor and since then no one has contacted me. Solar Tours has not refunded our money for this hotel. Their claim the charge was non-refundable was fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $603.00 for the duplicate charge for this hotel to due Solar Tours fraudulent claims.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

Thank you for contacting us regards to this reservation. All our products do say if they are non refundable before booking them. Even if they did not appear the client has agreed to the terms and cancellation penalties of the package when confirming they would like the package.

The website clearly states the following with an icon saying no money back.

Non-Refundable Rooms

We also note this in our terms and conditions as follows: If a non refundable property is booked during the booking process the client is responsible for the TOTAL price of the non refundable property that has been reserved.

Unfortunately, the people who answer at the hotel do not always understand the contracted rate the suppliers provide our company. We get discounted rates in bulk to keep these rates very low but may have a stiff penalty to cancel or change. However, in the meantime we have sent the clients complaint to our supplier for further review as the clients were advised they did not have to pay for both. We cannot gurantee any refund to the client but will push our suppliers for some kind of answer.

 

Best regards

******** ******

Solar Tours

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The website did not state the rooms were non-refunable nor did it say no money back. Niether the Paris nor Rome room showed non-refundable. We were not charged for the rescheduled Paris room. Furthermore, our second booking for the Rome hotel was refundable per your agent. Therefore this is not a practice of the hotel to charge only non-refundable rates. If the room was non-refundable there would have been something in my reservation or confirmation suggesting otherwise. Nothing in your own documents shows the reservation as non-refundable. 




Regards,

***** ********







Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Please keep in mind we have filed a formal complaint with our supplier to see if we can get a refund on the non refundable rate that was sold to client. As of now we have not gotten a reponse. We have just sent a follow up to this request. These resolutions can take anywhere from 4-6 weeks to be resolved. We will update the client accordingly.

 

Regards,

******** ******

12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service