BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone Firestone - All Locations in BBB of Eastern Pennsylvania

Additional Locations

Phone: (215) 222-6821 View Additional Phone Numbers District Office - 211 Welsh Pool Road, Suite 220A, Exton, PA 19341 http://www.bridgestone-firestone.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files, this company operates a chain of more than 1600 company owned tire and service stores throughout the United States

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone Firestone - All Locations in BBB of Eastern Pennsylvania meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

This company's headquarters and compay-owned locations throughout the country participateas system wide members of the Better Business Bureau. This means they support the Bureau's services to the public and meet our membership standards.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bridgestone Firestone - All Locations in BBB of Eastern Pennsylvania include:

  • 20 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Bridgestone Firestone - All Locations in BBB of Eastern Pennsylvania include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Additional Complaint Information

Local BBB experience with the firm is reflected in the following data.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1900
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike DeNardo, Complaint Contact Mr. Larry R. Perdue, Mgr, Customer Retention Mr. Bill Perkins, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike DeNardo, Complaint Contact
Principal: Mr. Larry R. Perdue, Mgr, Customer Retention
Principal: Mr. Bill Perkins, District Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Tire Retread & Repair Wholesalers & Distributors Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Battery Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Bridgestone Bridgestone Firestone, Inc. Expert Tire Firestone Firestone Commercial & Farm Stores Firestone Complete Auto Care Firestone Tire & Rubber Company Firestone Tire & Service Center Mark Morris Tire
Business Management

This firm also does business as:

Expert Tire
Mark Morris Tire
Tire Station
Firestone Commercial and Farm Stores


Additional Locations

  • 100 Lehigh Valley

    Whitehall, PA 18052

  • 1059 North Church Street

    Hazleton, PA 18201

  • 1070 Congdon Ave.Firestone Tire Store 17eh

    Stroudsburg, PA 18360

  • 1143 Quentin Road

    Lebanon, PA 17042

  • 1242 Turner Street

    Allentown, PA 18102

  • 1305 West Chester Pike

    West Chester, PA 19382

  • 131 South Frankllin Street

    Chambersburg, PA 17201

  • 14 W Germantown Pike

    Norristown, PA 19401

  • 1475 Old York Road

    Abington, PA 19001

  • 151 Levittown Parkway

    Levittown, PA 19055

  • 1524 East High Street

    Pottstown, PA 19464

  • 1530 Oregon Pike

    Lancaster, PA 17601

  • 1751 Airport Road

    Allentown, PA 18109

  • 180 Northern Way

    York, PA 17402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    181 Sierra Drive

    Altoona, PA 16601

  • 1923 Street Road

    Bensalem, PA 19020

  • 200 South Hanover

    Carlisle, PA 17013

  • 208 West Orange Street

    Lancaster, PA 17603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2165 S Atherton Street

    State College, PA 16801

  • 2201 Paxton Street

    Harrisburg, PA 17111

  • 244 Penn Street

    Reading, PA 19602

  • 270 West Lincoln Highway

    Exton, PA 19341

  • 2738 West Ridge Pike

    Norristown, PA 19403

  • 305 East Lancaster Avenue

    Wynnewood, PA 19096

  • 31 West City Avenue

    Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004

  • 3161 Lancaster

    Philadelphia, PA 19104

  • 350 Montgomery Mall

    North Wales, PA 19454

  • 3804 Easton Nazareth Highway

    Lower Nazareth, PA 18045

  • 3812 West Lincoln Highway

    Downingtown, PA 19335

  • 415 Wyoming Valley Mall

    Wilkes Barre, PA 18702

  • 4719 Carlisle Pike

    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

  • 486 N Hampton St., Store 1791

    Kingston, PA 18704

  • 700 North 2nd Street

    Harrisburg, PA 17102

  • 700 North Second Street

    Harrisburg, PA 17102

  • 777 Middletown Boulevard

    Langhorne, PA 19047

  • 81 Viewmont Mall - Route 6, Store 17fr  REPORT OF ALL NE PENNSYLVANIA LOCATIONS

    Scranton, PA 18508

  • 909 Fourth Street, Expert Tire #17h8

    Sunbury, PA 17801

  • District Office - 211 Welsh Pool Road, Suite 220A

    Exton, PA 19341

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (215) 362-1050(Phone)
  • (215) 638-9545(Phone)
  • (215) 673-5500(Phone)
  • (215) 725-6550(Phone)
  • (215) 752-2224(Phone)
  • (215) 885-5913(Phone)
  • (412) 856-0220(Phone)
  • (570) 286-7111(Phone)
  • (570) 288-6591(Phone)
  • (570) 343-1288(Phone)
  • (570) 346-7027(Phone)
  • (570) 421-3601(Phone)
  • (570) 455-7552(Phone)
  • (570) 622-5920(Phone)
  • (570) 829-3800(Phone)
  • (610) 275-5660(Phone)
  • (610) 326-5120(Phone)
  • (610) 376-7306(Phone)
  • (610) 430-0601(Phone)
  • (610) 433-4206(Phone)
  • (610) 630-4910(Phone)
  • (610) 649-6500(Phone)
  • (610) 873-2590(Phone)
  • (630) 259-9000(Phone)
  • (717) 234-4979(Phone)
  • (717) 238-8197(Phone)
  • (717) 243-5818(Phone)
  • (717) 264-6804(Phone)
  • (717) 273-8111(Phone)
  • (717) 392-4134(Phone)
  • (717) 393-3982(Phone)
  • (717) 731-0955(Phone)
  • (717) 840-9395(Phone)
  • (570) 346-5153 (Fax)
  • (847) 981-3914 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/3/2013 I was visiting my hometown in Pennsylvania and decided to get a routine oil change before heading back to ******* Alabama. I took my car to Expert Tire in ******* as it was recommended by a family member. The mechanic didn't attach the oil filter correctly on my vehicle, so by the time I returned to AL, most of the oil had drained from my car. Once I arrived in AL, my entire engine seized, stopped, and left me stranded along a highway. My husband and I had the car towed to our local garage where they investigated and told me the oil filter had not been attached properly causing all the oil to leak out. It was due to this garage's negligence that I had to replace my entire engine, timing belt, etc costing me $4,000. When I reached out to Expert Tire's customer service division and explained the situation, I was told that because I had the car repaired, that they were not responsible. I believe they are taking advantage of the fact that I live out of state and had no choice but to get my car repaired so I could continue to have transportation for work, etc.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Expert Tire owes me the total cost for the engine replacement. I'm not expecting additional funds for expenses that occurred due to the fact that I was without a car while it was being repaired, but they are responsible for the destruction of my engine and should refund me the total I had to spend which was exactly: $3,988.93

Business Response:

My name is ***** ****** and i have corresponded via e-mail with ***. ****. The Expert Tire store in ******* did change the oil in this customer car on 07/03/13.  I recieved a request for reimbursement in late September.  I believe that the date of the repair invoice was 09/28/13.  I explained via e-mail that we cannot accept responsibilty unless we are afforded the opportunity to investigate the allegation.  As the customer had not contacted us prior to the repairs and then proceeded with the repairs, we have no way of detrmining fault or responsibility

We are within our rights to send an independant or company employed investigator to investigate any allegation of negligence.  Unfortunately, as the repairs have been performed, we cannot garner our own opinions.  Without our participation in the repair and investigation process, we canot accept responsibility.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

While I respect Expert Tires obligation to protect themselves against fraudulent claims, because I live out of state and depend on my car for my livelihood, I had no choice but to tow the car to my garage and begin repairs.  As soon as my garage was able to confirm the cause of the damage to me, I initiated contact with Expert Tire and provided my garage manager’s contact info to discuss.  (I explained via those emails that I was hard of hearing so phone calls were difficult for me, but thought **. ****** could speak directly to my contact to save time).

At the time of the oil change in *******, I also spent close to $800 replacing all my tires at the recommendation of Expert Tire because I trusted them.  I grew up not far from *******, PA and am in complete awe that my situation would be so easily dismissed without any effort on their part to hear my side of the story.  I simply cannot afford to pay for their costly mistake, which has completely wiped out my savings and put me in a very pressing financial situation.

I am in the process of having my garage document all their findings and will present them via BBB as soon as they are available next week.

Regards,

***** ****








Business Response: While I can understand the dissatisfaction of ***. ****, we cannot and will not pay for repairs when we have not had the opportunity to examine the vehicle and draw our conclusions to support or deny the claim of the customer.  In every court of law in America, the defendant has the right to face the accuser and prepare a defense based on the information and evidence that has been collected.  We only have the statement of a mechanic and a customer with which to determine fault.  If ***. **** had contacted us prior to the repairs, we would have sent an investigator to determine if we were at fault and if we were deemed negligent, we would have handled the problem.  While I am in no way accusing ***. **** of  falsely accusing us of wrongdoing, we must take a firm stance to protect ourselves against ill-founded accusations.  Without the abilty to investgate a claim, we will not assume responsibilty.  *** **** can obtain statements and information but it will not change our position.  I am sorry that this happened but I cannot make a decision to reimburse a customer based on the information that has been presented. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Attention BBB:

Regardless of Expert Tire's refusal to change their position or review documents, I am in the process of providing written testimony to the cause of my engine failure, and am also working with my insurance company to follow up on these claims. 

I would like to keep this complaint at BBB open until I am able to provide that information (which should be within the next 2-3 business days), and will review status at that time.

Regards,

***** ****








Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

I have explained our position on this matter in the past to **. ****.  Unfortunately, she did not contact Firestone about her situation until after she had the repairs performed (engine was replaced).  As we could not examine the issue prior to the completion of the repairs, we could not determine if we were at fault.  If we are not afforded the opportunity to investigate, we cannot assume responsibility for the loss.

 

I am sorry that we cannot assist this customer. 

 

***** ******

ESPA District Office

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because I provided all the proper evidence - due to not living in the state of the incident/fault - there would have been no way of having them investigate the issue prior to repairing it. It would not have been possible to tow my car without a working engine from AL to PA to have them "investigate". They are taking advantage of my living out of state. Meanwhile I am struggling financially and having to pay interest on the money I had to borrow to cover this expense. If the BBB can assist further, please let me know. Otherwise I will proceed via other channels.

Business Response:

I have been in contact with ***** ********* about this issue.

I have requested special consideration from my company but i have not heard back yet.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 18, 2013 I took my car to Firestone for inspection and other work needed to be done to complete inspection. **** ****** put the wrong equipment on the car causing car to be disabled and needed to be driven to the junk yard leaving me without a car and a bill for $1,710.09 which is now in collections because I cannot afford to pay what they want each month as I am on disability and only make so much. I spoke with Service Advisor *** on 5/23/13 explaining the outcome and asking for full credit because I got a 2nd opinion from another service station who told me Firestone used the wrong equipment which made the car undrivable because the exhaust was going inside the car because they used the wrong equipment. I nicely asked them to refund the money they charged me and he said "that cannot be done because the work was done" even though it ruined the car. This left me without transportation unexpectedly, I was unable to get anywhere and had to replace the car. They charged for inspection, said Emissions Failed becaue of the work they did and still charged the full amount and would not credit any money they charged for a car they ruined.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill credited the full amount of $1,710.09 since I had to pay to replace the car and pay for new tags, registration, etc. I would also like them to remove my name from the collection agency they put me in for collection for this work so my credit is not ruined because of their negligence. Needless to say I will never return to any Firestone nor will I refer any friends, family, etc to Firestone and have told people what happened so they don't have the same thing happen to them.

Business Response:

I have reviewed this case and would like to respectfully decline any refund for services rendered.  The vehicle came into our shop for a state inspection and failed for multiple items.  (all documentation available upon request). The customer declined all work except the EGR valve.  The store made the customer well aware of the additional issues required to pass inspection and informed him that this repair would only solve part of the problem.  **** completed the repair and **. ******* was charged $334.10.  *** provided the customer with an estimate to replace the remaining items necessary to pass inspection but informed him that an exhaust shop may be able to weld the broken pipe and save him $900.00.  Our intention was to help the customer and save him some money.  The technician did not use the wrong parts, the part installed was the correct part for the application and it was properly installed.  If this portion of the job was done incorrectly, the car would not run and would not have been able to leave the shop.    Also, we do not have the ability to remove a customer from a collection agency.  Once a customer authorizes a credit transaction, it is the responsibility of that customer to make the necessary payments.  We cannot control what actions are taken by the bank.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/17/13 I was traveling from ME. to FL. I had my car serviced at Firestone ********,PA. They installed a new coolant recovery tank and refilled with the wrong coolant and radiator cap that didn't fit. Hundreds of miles later in VA. the car overheated and died. I a senior citizen was stranded on the biggest heat wave of the summer. Car was towed to Firestone,******* who couldn't repair. Towed again to Ford dealer who put a new water pump,head gasket,timing belt,thermostat and additional parts to the tune of $1700.00. I was in a motel for six days. Firestone refuses to take responsibility for the damages. And another thing now that I'm home I discovered they didn't put a cover under glove box and a ac vent under there back in place. A stream of water is coming into the car under dash. ( they worked on ac also ) I have made an appointment this Fri. here in *** ***** my home at Firestone to make this good. Honestly I hate to go back to ANY Firestone !

Desired Settlement: I would like the Ford bill refunded to me. My $270.00 motel bill and the $606.00 Firestone bill discarded.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 I have spoken to this customer on numerous occassions.  The Firestone store in ******** PA replaced a leaking coolant overflow bottle and a radiator cap to fix a coolant leak that the customer had inquired about.  The customer stated that she smelled antifreeze burning.  We found the hole in the coolant overflow bottle and showed it to the customer.  The customer authorized the repair.  We also corrected a problem with her AC blower motor which has not been in question in previous conversations.

The customer drove off of the lot and it is my understanding that she set out for Florida.  Approximately 360 miles later she went to a Firestone in Virginia who informed her that her cylinder head gasket had an issue and, as a courtesy, we had the vehicle towed to a local Ford dealer for repairs as that particular store in VA was not comfortable doing that repair.

The Ford dealer initially informed the customer that the head gasket was ok but that the waterpump was bad.  The story changed a day or two later and the head gasket and waterpump were replaced by Ford.  I recieved copies of the bill from Ford and a letter from Ford that stated that the radiator cap was incorrect on the vehicle and that incorrect antifreeze was used in the car.  The letter did not state that these issues were the reason for the failure of the head gasket and/or waterpump. 

There was no explanation given on what was wrong with either the antifreeze or the radiator cap.  I researched the cap and found that the cap that was installed by Firestone was rated for the proper pressure in her engine.  The antifreeze that was installed at Firestone was gold and the Ford dealer said it should be green.  There was no determination made that the coolant installed by Firestone was not adequate for the vehicle.  Antifreeze can come in many different colors and all are acceptable providing they meet the manufacturers requirements for performance.

I have not found any negligence in the work performed by the Firestone store.  It is my opinion that the car had deeper cooling system issues than we observed when we replaced the leaking overflow tank.  The customer drove quite a few miles prior to experiencing any issues with her car after we had completed the repairs.  The car had almost 150,000 miles on it when it was worked on by Firestone and Ford.  It is highly likley that the problems that the customer experienced were normal wear and tear items that can occur on a car with high mileage.

Thank you for your time

 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 
I have gathered much information on the matter of using the wrong coolant and radiator cap regarding a car. Conclusively this will damage a car's engine.  I have a statement from the Ford dealer in *******,VA. which states the wrong coolant and cap were put in. I am awaiting more specific documentation from the dealer. I have gathered opinions from other mechanics to support this. Another tech  from a  Ford dealer who has worked on my car in *********,GA. ( ***** **** ) substantiates this to be true and valid ..wrong coolant,wrong cap spells disaster. I will have his statement formally soon. Firestone claims the car was driven over 300 miles after they worked on it. True....it takes some miles put on the car before the affects of wrong coolant/wrong rad. cap happens. Firestone exaggerates the mileage on my car to make it appear to be an old clunker. Actual miles when in the ********,PA. Firestone shop were 146,977. This car has been excellently maintained and looks like new inside and out... As for them towing my car to a Ford dealer from their shop. This was the least they could do since they were in err. Since I've been home another issue with their workmanship has cropped up. The only reason I initially took my car to their business was for ac issue. They installed a blower moter. Apparently the mechanic was impatient jerking the cover under the dash ( below glove box ) as it is now damaged and Firestone *** *****,FL. Is having trouble locating another. This cover hold things in place under the dash. Old one was put back on as better than nothing. However mgr. couldn't guarantee it will stay on. This cover has perforations and clips that hold it on...the perforations are sliced. This doesn't happen from age. It had to have been pulled harshly to occur. This is small potatoes compared to the other damage to my car. Yet it indicates one more example of shoddy work and the carelessness my car was subjected to. 
Corporate Firestone ***** ****** told me the only difference between coolant was the dye. This is a ridiculous remark ...even his mgr. at Firestone ********,PA. agrees with me on this. Coolant matters and they differ ! 


Regards,

***** *********








Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

This issue has been elevated to our Claims department and an investigation will be performed.  Our Claims department will be contacting customer soon to get the pertinent information and documentation.

***** ******

ESPA District Office

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues