This business is not BBB accredited.

Rainbow Tool & Party Rentals, Inc.

Phone: (703) 916-0800 6705-A Electronic Drive, Springfield, VA 22151 http://www.rainbow-rental.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a general rental business. Primary Tent rental, tables, chairs and children's party equipment.
We are a full tool rental business. We are a full homeowner and contractor business. We also rent trucks and trailers. We offer delivery 24/7.  We also offer take down and set up.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rainbow Tool & Party Rentals, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rainbow Tool & Party Rentals, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1989 in VA Business incorporated 06/06/1991 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melissa Carter-Pell, President Mr. Franklyn Lara, GM Mr. David T Pell, VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melissa Carter-Pell, President
Business Category

Tents - Rental Party Supplies

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards
Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a store credit
Alternate Business Names
Rainbow Rentals, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6705-A Electronic Drive

    Springfield, VA 22151

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) I needed rental chairs and equipment for my daughters wedding which was on the 12th of July, I contacted 'Rainbow Rentals' and specifically ordered 70 non-folding padded chairs. On the day of the wedding, the rental delivered the wrong chairs and refused to change it back to the ones i ordered yet charged me $273 for the wrong chairs. 2) I also needed what is called a skirt for the stage of the wedding event in the color white but instead the rental delivered black skirt with which our decorator refused to work but the rental refused to exchange it for the one that we paid $84 to have. 3) When i confronted the management about the issue about the skirt he offered to refund the $84 dollars but refused to compensate me for the chairs so when i said that i will file a grievance he got angry and took the $84 back also. 4) I spent a total of $808.94 and did not get a dime back for the inconvenience that the company has caused my daughter's wedding.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for my inconvenience as well as refunded for the chairs i did not order and the skirt i did not order.

Business Response: See Attachment

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

In response to Mr. ********’s response, from what he wrote and my last response one can deduce that this was a case of to many chiefs. Mr. ******** says he ordered one thing but there is another on the actual ticket. Anyone who answers the phone here at our company is very capable of helping our customers. If Mr. ******** would have said conference chairs he would have received conference chairs. When Mr. ********* was here in person he didn’t say conference chair, because, I repeat if he had they would have received them. We do not gain from giving Mr. ******** the wrong chairs. The simple fact is its always been there in black and white from day one. The chairs were never changed in two phone exchanges and one in-person visit.

Mr. ******** does not want to acknowledge his part in this “confusion”. I stated before the contract is the last line of defense against mistakes, and Mr. ******** did not read it, admittedly. Our conference chairs are listed as conference chairs and conference chairs are not listed on his contract. He wants to just breeze over that part. Mr. ******** also wants to glaze over the fact that it wasn’t just him putting the order in. A young lady also called in who I am assuming was his daughter, too many chiefs.

We hurriedly tried to make amends with Mr. ******** and his family for the stage skirting. When he came to the store, management heard him out sympathized and offered him a refund on the spot. In my opinion this shows that we are being objective about the situation. We were able to view the stage skirt situation from Mr. ********’s view point and attempt to remedy that situation.

Mr. ******** also wants to paint the picture that he and his family were on the same page when it came to the overall look they wanted for the wedding, but the fact is reality is quite contrary. When we first dropped the chairs no one said anything about them being wrong. In fact, my driver says that they just started doing a chair set (setting up chairs) in one of the rooms. Now if everybody was on the same page and the chairs were wrong, then I would want to believe that someone would have said something then and there, but no one did. Not until Mr. ********* arrived was anything said about the chairs. These chairs could not possibly ruin a wedding, because these are one of the most popular wedding chairs, rented on par with chivari chairs or maybe even rented more. They are all white, sturdy and have a premium look. If they had said the chairs were wrong then there would have been enough time to switch them out. None of this though changes the fact that we delivered what he signed for. Our offer remains the same.

 

 

Sincerely,

Rainbow Rental, Inc.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because
:


   1. Rainbow Party Rentals had previously offered a refund for the $84 for the skirt (which was never used).  This offer was retracted     only because I told them that I was filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  This $84 should have already been             refunded to me.

2.   2. A store credit does absolutely nothing for me.  I was so unsatisfied with my previous transaction, that I would not do business       with them again.

3.   3. As to having signed for the chairs, since “folding chairs” were not specified on the contract, I assumed I was renting conference     chairs as I had previously discussed with one of their employees by phone.

 

 Regards,


****** ******** 

1.  












Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rainbow Tool & Party Rentals, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)