BBB Accredited Business since

Lehigh Valley Tile and Marble

Phone: (610) 770-8953 1222 N 17th St, Allentown, PA 18104

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This Company Specializes in the Installation and Service of Above Ground Pools and is also a Tile and Marble Contractor

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lehigh Valley Tile and Marble meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lehigh Valley Tile and Marble include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lehigh Valley Tile and Marble
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 21, 2010 Business started: 04/29/2002 Business incorporated 04/29/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of the Attorney General-PA
Strawberry Square, 14th Floor, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 800-441-2555
The number is PA003071.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Leonard Motolese, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard Motolese, Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Alternate Business Names
Lehigh Valley T & M Lehigh Valley T and M Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 24, 2014, Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble installed an above-ground pool liner for my wife and me. A check was placed under the mat on our back porch to pay for the service, as no one would be home that day while the work was completed. My sons both had baseball games that night, so my family and I got home after dark. My wife and I could see that a new liner was installed, but that was it. There are no exterior lights by the pool and we did not examine the liner at this time. A hose was running so that the pool would fill overnight and the process of getting the pool opened for the season could begin. My wife and I returned home from at the same time the next afternoon and went to inspect the pool. We noticed that the water level was extremely low and began to investigate reasons why. Immediately, we saw a large tear in the pool liner. I made a phone call to the individual who set up the installation for us with LVT&M and explained the problem. He contacted Lenny, the installer from Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble. Lenny would come out over the next few days, look at the liner and be in touch. Lenny deemed the liner tear a seam separation and a new liner was ordered under the liner warranty. We would be contacted when the new liner was in a ready to be installed. A few weeks later, we were contacted that the new liner was in and that we could have it installed within the next few days. There was no charge for the new liner, as that was covered under the manufacturer's warranty. However,it would cost my wife and I and additional $300 to have Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble install the 2nd liner. My wife and I refused to pay Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble a 2nd time. The tear was NOT on the seam as Lenny from Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble stated. It was actually below the seam. I tried several times (2) to speak with Lenny. I left voicemail messages on his cell phone to further discuss the issue. As of today, he has never returned my calls. Before proceeding with anything, my wife and I contacted ****** **** Pools in *********, which is our local pool supply store. We asked if they could recommend any installers because we wanted a 2nd opinion about what caused the liner tear and if we were correct in our belief that Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble should not be charging us a 2nd time for installation. ****** **** Pools gave us the name of **** ********* * ****. This is the only installation company that ****** **** Pools uses and trusts. We called and **** came out the next night to look at our pool. **** determined that the liner tear was definitely NOT a seam separation, but was caused by improper installation by Lenny from Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble. Lenny hung the liner too tightly and improperly installed the liner, causing the floor of the liner to be up on the walls of the pool and not the floor. The tightening of the liner combined with the addition of the water caused the liner to tear. So, in addition to damaging the liner, Lenny filed a faulty warranty claim with the liner manufacturer, but that is not my concern here. **** ********* was here on June 19th and installed the replacement liner. My wife and I had to pay him $400 for the installation, plus $300 for water to refill our pool and an additional $60 for a ton of sand because much of the sand was washed away when the liner tore. My wife and I have had to spend an additional $760 to have our pool liner installed properly because of the negligence of Lenny and Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble. Again, I have reached out to Lenny twice, but he has never returned my calls. My wife and I have even contacted a lawyer about this, but are hoping the BBB can get us a desired result without having to go to court. We have pictures of the damaged liner, as well as a written statement from **** *********, showing that the damage to liner was caused by an improper installation by Lenny and Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble.

Desired Settlement: My wife and I want to be reimbursed the $760 for installation, water and sand. This all could have been avoided if Lenny and Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble would have called me back and owned up to their mistake. Rather than taking responsibility for the improper installation, my family and I have had to wait for a second installer (**** Hunsicker) to have an open date in his schedule for us so the new liner could be installed. We've had erosion of the sand beneath our pool and have had to pay twice to fill our pool with water. We've spent countless hours discussing things with a lawyer and continue to spend money for a job that should have been done correctly the first time. We feel that we've given Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble the opportunity to fix this, without issue, but they wanted an additional $300 to reinstall the liner and have failed to discuss the matter with us.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

I received a call from the pool store that there was a problem with the liner that was installed for *** ******. Two days later I stopped out to see what happened. The pool was three quarters of the way filled and I could see that there was a seem separation. I called the pool store to let them know what happened. They ordered a new liner for *** ***** and delivered it to him free of charge. There was no false warranty claim filled. I offered to install the liner for $300.00 giving *** ****** a $100.00 discount because I felt bad about the whole situation, I have an A+ ratting with the BBB and tried to resolve this issue. The liner warranty does not cover water, sand, or labor on seem separations. *** ****** was informed of this by the pool store. Unfortunately seem separations do occur and it’s a defect from the factory. *** ****** decided to pay another contactor $400.00 to have the liner installed. I have been installing liners for over 20 years and the liner was installed properly.
Thank you,

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Good Morning and thank you for the opportunity to reply.  We were informed by ****** from **** ***** (in ******, PA ---this is the store that sold us the liner) that Mr. M******* did stop out to our house to observe the tear in the liner.  I called Mr. M******* twice to discuss this matter with him directly, but he never returned my calls.  Mr. M******** did report that it was a seam separation to ****** from **** *****.  However, ********* * ****, the 2nd installer, can attest to the fact that the seam tear was the result of an improper installation.  I understand that Mr. M******* has been installing pool liners for more than 20 years, but in this instance, he made a mistake.   The original liner installed by Mr. M******* was hung too tightly and that caused the damage to the liner. (Please see the attached estimate from ********* * ****.)

We appreciate the fact that Mr. M******* offered to take $100 off the second installation price, but we do not feel that this was satisfactory.  In the 2nd attachment, you can see that the tear is below the seam, not on it.  Also the seam of the pool liner is approximately 8 inches up the side of the wall causing the liner to be pulled too tightly.  (**** ********* stated this seam should have been around the bottom of the wall.) 

Please call **** ********* at ###-###-#### and speak with him further about this situation. 


***** *****

Business Response: Dear BBB,
I again attest that what I seen with my own eyes was a seem separation and not a tear in the liner. I also called **** ********* on 7/7/14 and left a voice message for him to call me back regarding this issue. As of today, 7/14/2014 I have not heard from him. I have no problem owning up to a problem if there was one but what happened here was not on my behalf. Seem separations unfortunately do happen and *** ***** experienced it. ****** from the pool store was in contact with me and *** ***** regarding the issue.
Lehigh Valley Tile and Marble

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Mr. M******* from Lehigh Valley Tile & Marble continues to claim the problem with my pool liner was a seam separation.  This is impossible, since the tear in my pool liner occurs BELOW the seam.  Mr. M*******'s logic is comparable to saying that I have a broken ankle, but putting my shoulder in a sling.  Attached here is a photo of the liner while it was still attached to the pool frame.  You can clearly see that the tear is below the seam and is not a mere separation, but a gigantic tear.

Mr. M******* references his friend, ******, from **** ***** ---this is the store that sold us the original liner.  ****** was at my house on May 12th at 6:30 PM.  He arrived and met my wife out at the pool.  He was checking out the liner when I returned from baseball practice.  ****** stated: "That's not a seam separation, it's actually below the seam, but I've gotta go with what Lenny says, so I can get the new liner covered under the warranty..."  **** and I were stunned!  In fact, several seconds of silence went by before ****** said: "I'll let Lenny know the liner is here.  He'll give you a call and you can work out the details."

Mr. M******* was not present when his friend, ******, showed up to look at the liner.  He cannot claim to know what ****** said.  My wife and I were here and wrote everything down once ****** left because we were SO shocked by what had transpired.

I've spoken with ****** ****** at the BBB and with ****** from ********* * **** **** ************.  ****** is aware of what's going on and is more than willing to speak with the BBB.  My wife and I have proved every detail, along with pictures, to describe this ordeal.  Please feel free to contact me by phone so this can be resolved.


***** *****